Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Foul language and drinking on the DART

• 02-01-2016 8:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46

Hi Guys,

I was sitting on the Dart today and there was 4 other passengers drinking and using foul language. I was thinking of reporting them. How is the best way to go about this?

thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Waste of time, that's standard for the DART and Luas any time of the day. People just don't care and staff even less. Just the way society has gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

Realistically, there's nothing you or anybody else can do about it after the fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 SwiftEagle

They were by far the most rude passengers I have ever seen. I think I should email CIE anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

The Department of Transport, Tourism & Sport
    http://www.dttas.ie/contact

Paschal Donohoe TD is the line Minister
    http://paschaldonohoe.ie/contact/

David Franks CEO, Irish Rail, Connolly Station

You could try writing/emailing some of the above. Let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,332 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

go to the driver (probably better to walk up to the cab at a station than use the intercom). He can a) warn them over the PA and b) call the guards if they continue. Whatever about bad language, drinking is banned on the Dart (though not on other trains).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Foul language isn't an offence, don't report it: you'll look silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭ponzook

Don't see the problem unless they were intimidating people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

So long as they weren't hassling people, I find it far worse with gobshytes leaving litter behind in seats especially takeaway coffee that ends up spilling all over the place and staining everywhere.

What do you think guys am I over reacting?? it seems strange that people should get away with such behaviour in this day and age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

SwiftEagle wrote: »
    What do you think guys am I over reacting?? it seems strange that people should get away with such behaviour in this day and age.

What little bubble do you live in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

You can alert the driver who can warn them and/or get the gardai if it escalates. I've seen something similar happen on the bus - the driver called ahead and the gardai were waiting to collect the culprits several stops ahead.

tvnutz wrote: »
    What little bubble do you live in?

True but if the OP was upset by it they should follow it up - the drinking aspect of it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Vic_08

Over reacting? Not necessarily.

Late reacting? Definitely.

What do you expect IE to do about it now? The people are gone.

This sort of nonsense has always puzzled me, on a number of occasions I have had passengers complain to me about something like this at the end of a bus journey with the supposed perpetrators already gone. They stare at me as if there is something I should be doing about a situation that has already passed, what I do not know.

Alcohol is not allowed on "commuter services" but is allowed on Intercity. This makes no sense.

Abusive or unacceptable behaviour should be against the rules on both, whether or not alcohol is involved, and people are well capable of being assholes without alcohol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Hollister11

Swearing - probably a waste of time as AFAIK there is nothing that can/will be done.

Drinking - I'd report this, but unless action was taken at the time of the incident I doubt anything will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

I have sympathy for the OP. I wouldn't put an animal on the DART or Luas. Feral beasts roam the carriages every day. I'd love to see Transport Police taser the **** out of any monosyllabic arsehole who acts the dickhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,332 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Feral beasts roam the carriages every day.

Squirrels? Hedgehogs? Badgers?

Let's keep a little perspective here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

They were by far the most rude passengers I have ever seen. I think I should email CIE anyways.

In the hope of what?

Hilly Bill wrote: »
    In the hope of what?

That it will induce much tut-tuting in head office?

It will only increase the fares for the dart to cover the cost of the dining car :-)

I submitted a "antisocial behaviour" complaint this morning. Does anyone know how.long until I receive a email on the outcome?

I will ask the question again; What outcome are you expecting?

I am genuinely interested, what action do you want IE staff to take to remedy your complaint?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Foul language is commonplace everywhere.

I don't know why people drinking would offend one. Drunkenness I can understand, which is, after all illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Heisenberg1

Waste of time, that's standard for the DART and Luas any time of the day. People just don't care and staff even less. Just the way society has gone.

I can't speak about the Luas as I don't travel on it but I do use the Dart regularly. Drinking and abusive behavior is not common place from what I have seen. I have seen it happen on a late night dart once or twice to say it's standard any time of day is an overreaction IMO.

The will issue an apology for your experience and tell you that drinking and anti social behaviour is not tolerated on the dart. However it's not possible to monitor every single passenger on the train and educate them on how to behave in public. Drinking and swearing is tame compared to a woman taking a dump on the dart and a bloke having a wizz. It's not acceptable but it happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

loyatemu wrote: »
    go to the driver (probably better to walk up to the cab at a station than use the intercom). He can a) warn them over the PA and b) call the guards if they continue. Whatever about bad language, drinking is banned on the Dart (though not on other trains).

Perhaps do this if your getting off at that stop, if your not and intend getting back on the train this could result in harm to yourself if the drinkers knew you made the report, especially if it's an isolated or closed station which most DART stations are in the evenings.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Can I ask what constitutes foul language? Are we talking about lads swearing amongst themselves or roaring abuse at other passengers?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

They have to view the video footage of these outrageous people drinking and swearing keeping to themselves on the Dart, scout facebook to put a face to a name, contact the Garda armed response unit who will track them down, knee cap them and send them to guantanamo bay fot a few minths where they will tortured until they admit that they drank and swore in public. Might here something back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

n97 mini wrote: »
    Alcohol is not allowed on "commuter services" but is allowed on Intercity. This makes no sense.

Many Inter City trips sell alcohol on board so it follows that it's allowed :)

Can I ask what constitutes foul language? Are we talking about lads swearing amongst themselves or roaring abuse at other passengers?

It's was swearing amongst themselves. However it was loud enough for the whole carriage to hear. Including my two kids.

Judging from some of the posters here, you should have joined the party with your kids. Well done for complaining even if it achieves nothing. If people complained more, the country would be a better, safer place to live in.

I know that it's probably a long shot. However perhaps they used leap cards so CIE they might get their names and addresses judging on when they use the turnstile. I mentioned in my email what station they got on and off. It's up to them now.

Many Inter City trips sell alcohol on board so it follows that it's allowed :)

I think you know my point was allowing on one and not on the other is somewhat contradictory.

I know that it's probably a long shot. However perhaps they used leap cards so CIE they might get their names and addresses judging on when they use the turnstile. I mentioned in my email what station they got on and off. It's up to them now.

And what exactly would happen if they did? They won't waste their time doing an investigation into this.

Hint: CIE not CSI.

Kids would have heard it before,. This is Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

YES YOU SHOULD

And for those who say 'ahhh that's common now-a-days' well your not helping the ever decreasing standards of Irish society!
    How freaking embarrassing the op's situation sounds :(
    I lived in London in the early 90's and I'm ashamed to say I(and my friends)were probably those guys you seen today... Anyway we weren't long copping ourselves on, and realising it's not and should not be acceptable to behave in such a manner on a public transport system :mad:
    Recently I returned to London and travelled the underground most days for a week, I didn't come across one situation where I felt uneasy or frightened.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

The rise of the under/scum class which is fast becoming a majority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

Foul language isn't an offence, don't report it: you'll look silly.

Foul language is an offence as it would be considered offensive, abusive, threatening or obscene and nothing to look silly about reporting it.

Foul language would be any language deemed to be offensive or an annoyance to others irrespective of who it is aimed for.

Abusive or unacceptable behaviour should be against the rules on both, whether or not alcohol is involved, and people are well capable of being assholes without alcohol.

Abusive or unacceptable behaviour is already an offence.

Alcohol is permitted on all trains (including DART, commuter and Intercity) except the 13:15hrs and 15:10hrs Dublin to Waterford services on Fridays and the 12.40hrs, 15.10hrs and 18.05hrs Waterford to Dublin services on Sundays.

However it is an offence to be intoxicated on trains or in stations, drinking alcohol and intoxication are totally different issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

GM228 wrote: »
    Foul language is an offence if deemed to be offensive, abusive, threatening or obscene and nothing to look silly about reporting it.

Foul language would be any language deemed to be offensive or an annoyance to others irrespective of who it is aimed for.

Alcohol is permitted on all trains except the 13:15hrs and 15:10hrs Dublin to Waterford services on Fridays and the 12.40hrs, 15.10hrs and 18.05hrs Waterford to Dublin services on Sundays.

However it is an offence to be intoxicated on trains, drinking alcohol and intoxicatiorn are totally different issues.

What's the problem with Waterford?

A large number of anti social behaviour incidents on the line, alcohol was a major contributing factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

For reference here is the extract from the CIE bye laws:

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1984/si/109/made/en/print
    17. No person shall at any time while upon the railway or in any vehicle use any threatening, abusive, obscene, or offensive language or behave in a riotous, disorderly, indecent or offensive manner, or write, draw or affix any abusive, obscene or offensive word, representation, or character upon, or wilfully soil or defile, the railway or any lift or vehicle, or molest or wilfully interfere with the comfort or convenience of any passenger or person in or upon the railway or in any vehicle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Athy and Carlow.

No drinking allowed on the dart.

There is no such ban on the DART.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭mackerski

I've seen a poster in Tara Street station that suggests the reverse. It was a while ago.

mackerski wrote: »
    I've seen a poster in Tara Street station that suggests the reverse. It was a while ago.

I've seen plenty of notices around too about no drinking on DART or Commuter.

I'm pretty sure I've heard the automated announcements on board announce something to the same effect.

Yes there is.

There is no policy banning alcohol on any train bar those I mentioned.

There were posters produced regarding alcohol on the DART and Commuter services in the past by certain departments of IE without consultation with the relevant legal departments of IE, they had no legal standing and were supposed to be withdrawn following complaints regarding their enforcement.

There is nothing in any IE policy, bye-law, charter or conditions of carriage which prevent it.

IE has an alcohol policy, and it only states that only those trains I mentioned are alcohol free trains.

So is the dart.