Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rubber bandits 1916

• 01-01-2016 5:52pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭

Why isn't this on the iplayer? All programs funded by rte should be accessible through the rate player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭DoctorBoo

It is. I watched it today.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Whereisgalway

DoctorBoo wrote: »
    It is. I watched it today.

I'm lookin through the player via the UPC box, maybe that's the problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭brian_t

brian_t wrote: »

Thanks for the link but can't access it through the UPC box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,437 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

loved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

Easily one of the TV highlights of 2015, even if it was cutting it close! How RTE aren't giving the lads the go ahead to make whatever they want is madness. Everything they touch turns to gold!

Anyone know when it's been repeated?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Monday night I think but as others have said it's up on the player now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,764 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Monday night at 9.30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,739 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Enjoyed it immensely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

Yea I thought it was great.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Good to see The Trout of No Craic make an appearance too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

One of the funniest things on tv for a long time. Really enjoyed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Really good stuff. They're just smart funny f*ckers the pair of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I like the puppets they were ****ing hilarious.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,060 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Wow, I think this is the first time I've ever seen an RTE comedy production receive unanimous praise on a thread here and no one has mentioned the license fee yet :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

I had gone off the rubberbandits previously but this was hilarious. There's not much on rte player I'd watch but this was great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Wow, I think this is the first time I've ever seen an RTE comedy production receive unanimous praise on a thread here and no one has mentioned the license fee yet :eek:

*grumble grumble* License fee well spent! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Is it better than Al Porter show?

different league

It's on again right now. Best thing ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭griffin100

Surprisingly good with some very astute and clever observations. You could nearly show that to school kids it's that educational. That said still can't get Brian Boru holding Cromwell in a headlock or the thoughts of Devalera's speed mickey out of my head.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,709 Mod ✭✭✭✭pinkypinky

I thought it was great but they did repeat that nonsense about DeValera getting off because he was born in America. The truth is he wasn't important enough.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

I was very surprised, I thought it wasn't going to be half as good as it was. Very much liked the digs they gave when reading out the constitution!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭qweerty

I thought it was very funny. But it's limited. It's just the lads d!cking around.

While I know it's not a documentary, it presents a very dubious account of Irish history. Unlike the poster above, I'd be horrified if children were encouraged watch it! It skimmed over De Velera's misogyny (he was the only commander not to allow women to fight in his battalion), ignores the morality of a small group of men (one of whom was Scottish, one of whom was a fanatic and paedophile) unilaterally "claiming the allegiance" of the Irish people and perpetuates the old myth that the Brits were meanies for executing the leaders for actions that resulted in the deaths of hundreds of civilians and the complete destruction of parts of Dublin, at a time when tens of thousands of Irishmen were fighting in France. Again, not a documentary, but it can't be excused of presenting the simistic narrative of that period that somehow still survives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

qweerty wrote: »
    I thought it was very funny. But it's limited. It's just the lads d!cking around.

While I know it's not a documentary, it presents a very dubious account of Irish history. Unlike the poster above, I'd be horrified if children were encouraged watch it! It skimmed over De Velera's misogyny (he was the only commander not to allow women to fight in his battalion), ignores the morality of a small group of men (one of whom was Scottish, one of whom was a fanatic and paedophile) unilaterally "claiming the allegiance" of the Irish people and perpetuates the old myth that the Brits were meanies for executing the leaders for actions that resulted in the deaths of hundreds of civilians and the complete destruction of parts of Dublin, at a time when tens of thousands of Irishmen were fighting in France. Again, not a documentary, but it can't be excused of presenting the simistic narrative of that period that somehow still survives.

The D in Michael D Higgins doesn't stand for dancing either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

Michael Diggins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

Great documentary, everybody should be made watch this. Well done lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Stephen Gawking

ignores the morality of a small group of men (one of whom was Scottish, one of whom was a fanatic and a paedophile)

Ok I'll bite as I've never heard this before... who was (allegedly) a kiddy fiddler?

Lights On wrote: »
    The D in Michael D Higgins doesn't stand for dancing either.

Such wit! I bet you're the smarty pants in your class.

ignores the morality of a small group of men (one of whom was Scottish, one of whom was a fanatic and a paedophile)

Ok I'll bite as I've never heard this before... who was (allegedly) a kiddy fiddler?

It's accepted in almost all quarters that Pearse was a latent paedophile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Stephen Gawking

I have to admit that's news to me. Any links to anything backing this up? I'm not doubting you its just I've never heard this mentioned before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Jayzus. Lighten up a little. It was a piece of comedy, not a dinner party conversation between Dermot Ferriter and Roy Foster.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Jayzus. Lighten up a little. It was a piece of comedy, not a dinner party conversation between Dermot Ferriter and Roy Foster.

What a silly analogy.

I was expressing regret that a programme that explores history, albeit for comic effect, presents the false narrative of old. For many people watching it, their historical misunderstandings will have been further ingrained. You would likely not be saying the same if they had presented a heavily revisionist narrative.

I have to admit that's news to me. Any links to anything backing this up? I'm not doubting you its just I've never heard this mentioned before.

Eh...

Paedophillia is difficult to prove unless you've found images on their hard drive or a victim comes forward...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

pinkypinky wrote: »
    I thought it was great but they did repeat that nonsense about DeValera getting off because he was born in America. The truth is he wasn't important enough.

He was important enough. There were certainly less high profile people executed. DeValera commanded his own battalion and was one of the last to surrender. I think he was saved simply by having his execution scheduled later than the others.

Probably not the right place to have historical discussion. But I agree that it's as wrong to point to his nationality as being the reason as it is to any other. While he was the last to surrender, that was mainly because Boland's Bakery didn't see much fighting. When he was arrested, he was taken to a different jail from the others. So, probably a combination of not having caused much damage, being court marshalled later than the rest, being at a different jail and maybe the fact that the American consulate supposedly lobbied on his behalf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Jaysus by reading this thread, I think the rubberbandits will have enough material to do another series !

Probably not the right place to have historical discussion. But I agree that it's as wrong to point to his nationality as being the reason as it is to any other. While he was the last to surrender, that was mainly because Boland's Bakery didn't see much fighting. When he was arrested, he was taken to a different jail from the others. So, probably a combination of not having caused much damage, being court marshalled later than the rest, being at a different jail and maybe the fact that the American consulate supposedly lobbied on his behalf.

What about the few bais that were with him?

Jaysus by reading this thread, I think the rubberbandits will have enough material to do another series !

Like an Irish version of horrible histories? That's a great idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

Funny show, some very good observations about Ireland and particularly Dev.

I did think it was gonna be funnier.

Unfortunately I did think the show was let down with their cheap production values my biggest gripe being the radio mic stuck to the outside of one of the lads shirts, u could see the wire and the fluffy thing it was worse than nationwide.
    Just lazy ass production values.

That s easily the worst criticism of the show that I ve seen and there have been a nice few commentators who are clutching at straws trying to hold on to the narrative that the 2 boys are chancers from Limerick with Plastic bags on their heads, despite their continued success well beyond the 15 minutes that they were supposed to have. How dare they prove us wrong sort of thing. I'm not saying you are one of them but I have to ask you, do you genuinely believe that the 2 boys who were smart and clued in enough to write and perform the show in the first place couldn't come up with a way of hiding a radio mic, a wire and a fluffy thing. Do you not think it might have been a conscious thing? How about the packet of crackers instead of Boland's mill? was that an oversight or did they think they were getting away with that also?

Go easy man will you. Firstly it was clearly not 'the lads dicking around' it was a top class piece of work that took a lot of talent and artistry to write, perform and execute on the miserable budget that RTE gave them. Secondly they had 44 minutes to get as much as they could in to it which they felt might be engaging and interesting. Do you not think that there was stuff they simply had to leave on the cutting room floor? [However Devalera's misogyny Id doubt was one of them considering Irish males in the early part of the 20th century were almost exclusively misogynist as was most of the males in the western world, read up on feminism and the fight for equality to confirm this, that said had Devalera displayed feminist qualities [which would be exceptional for a political figure at this time] Id say they might have considered cutting something else to accommodate it.] Lastly anything that gets young people interested in history and away from x factor and snap chat is surely worth a try. The school curriculum sure ain't working or have you not noticed.

Dannyriver wrote: »
    Go easy man will you. Firstly it was clearly not 'the lads dicking around' it was a top class piece of work that took a lot of talent and artistry to write, perform and execute on the miserable budget that RTE gave them. Secondly they had 44 minutes to get as much as they could in to it which they felt might be engaging and interesting. Do you not think that there was stuff they simply had to leave on the cutting room floor? [However Devalera's misogyny Id doubt was one of them considering Irish males in the early part of the 20th century were almost exclusively misogynist as was most of the males in the western world, read up on feminism and the fight for equality to confirm this, that said had Devalera displayed feminist qualities [which would be exceptional for a political figure at this time] Id say they might have considered cutting something else to accommodate it.] Lastly anything that gets young people interested in history and away from x factor and snap chat is surely worth a try. The school curriculum sure ain't working or have you not noticed.

Sorry, I realise that "the lads d!cking around" does read as though I'm maligning it. I actually think the Rubberbandits are brilliant. What I meant was that, while it deserves praise, it doesn't represent anything new from them and doesn't have any satirical bite.

As for the rest, though, I maintain that the blinkered narrative given was not a consequence of the genre, the production budget or of length, but of our society's collective amnesia, which is lamentable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Lukehandypants

Dannyriver wrote:
    That s easily the worst criticism of the show that I ve seen and there have been a nice few commentators who are clutching at straws trying to hold on to the narrative that the 2 boys are chancers from Limerick with Plastic bags on their heads, despite their continued success well beyond the 15 minutes that they were supposed to have. How dare they prove us wrong sort of thing. I'm not saying you are one of them but I have to ask you, do you genuinely believe that the 2 boys who were smart and clued in enough to write and perform the show in the first place couldn't come up with a way of hiding a radio mic, a wire and a fluffy thing. Do you not think it might have been a conscious thing? How about the packet of crackers instead of Boland's mill? was that an oversight or did they think they were getting away with that also?

I don't think the fluffy mic thing was a conscious thing. Why would they do that? The Boland mill thing makes sense cause it's a bit ****, I get what u mean but I don't think so.

I was also watching that impossible game show last week that the RB's do the voice over for, do u think that their accents are a bit watered down for the UK market?

I don't think the fluffy mic thing was a conscious thing. Why would they do that? The Boland mill thing makes sense cause it's a bit ****, I get what u mean but I don't think so.

I was also watching that impossible game show last week that the RB's do the voice over for, do u think that their accents are a bit watered down for the UK market?

Jesus man of course it was a conscious thing, if they didn't want them to be seen they d have hidden them No...? Why do you think they didn't hide them? Very interested to know your take or am I missing something obvious.

As for the impossible game show yeah they've definitely watered them down a bit for the UK market, it's working though they've been commissioned to do a second series. Hopefully they might make a few bob out of it cos they re certainly not gonna make it off RTE or in Ireland in general I reckon.

i don;t know, but i'm sure it is....if you're speaking in another country do you not speak clearer??? Not talking like a bogtrotter has made conor mcgregor millions this year.

If it's a conscious thing then why wernt both mics out on their clothes and not just one? That sort of unhidden mic thing really takes me out of the show.
    the show probably isn't for you is it?

If it's a conscious thing then why wernt both mics out on their clothes and not just one? That sort of unhidden mic thing really takes me out of the show.

Because it only takes one to emphasise the low budget aesthetic which has been a staple of Rubberbandits work from the beginning. I.E The illusion that 'we re just chancing our arm all the time when in fact we know exactly what we we are doing.' There are people in Ireland who still think they re just 2 knacker culchie chancers from Limerick, and any clear evidence to the contrary they simply dont want to hear.

Again why do you think they didn't come up with a way of hiding them if it wasn't a conscious thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Mehapoy

Such wit! I bet you're the smarty pants in your class.

It's accepted in almost all quarters that Pearse was a latent paedophile.

That's not quite true, he had some poems etc. that would look off colour by modern standards, but there was a cult of masculinity of youth at that time, saying it is accepted he was a 'latent paedophile' is pushing it! Also they mentioned a few times about the lack of public support the rebels got before and during the insurrection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Lukehandypants

the show probably isn't for you is it?

And now I remember why I don't look at boards anymore...

Did I say something to offend you, I certainly didn't mean to. I'm still genuinely interested as to why they left the mic and fluffy thing to be seen if they didn't consciously do it that s all. I may be wrong you may be wrong but at least I ve tried to justify my stance, on the issue.

Well, it's just in well made TV one would always expect to have hidden mics, it adds a certain quality to the show, when I see mics out on a TV show u get the feeling that the person who put mics out like that wasn't able to get a decent sound out of the mics if they were hidden so there fore I assumed that.
    ah just give up