Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tommy Tiernan Show Dec 27th

• 27-12-2015 8:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Sigh.

I am so bored watching films. I mean sooo booooored. Like, super bored.

You know I'm telling the truth, because otherwise there's no way in the world I'd start a thread about the Tommy Tiernan Show.

Honestly, I didn't realise there was a Tommy Tiernan Show until a few mins ago. According to the RTE guide, Tommy himself doesn't even know who his guests are. So it could be interesting.

But don't blame me if it isn't.

RTE 1, 10.30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,770 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I'm prepared to be highly cynical presuming I am still awake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

It's pre record I presume ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

It's pre record I presume ?

I'd imagine so. Is this a one off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Loved Tommy's radio show during the summer, his interview with Donal Ryan was particularly funny. I really hope this show is a success.

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Loved Tommy's radio show during the summer, his interview with Donal Ryan was particularly funny. I really hope this show is a success.

Hmm, not sure about this. Fred Cooke is on it with him. Tommy on his own has potential. Fred, not so much.

Not a great start, I don't know her, either does Tommy lol

Aish the bash. MMA fighter

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Not a great start, I don't know her, either does Tommy lol

MMA fighter.

Jaysus, that's vile :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Richard Whiteley had a similar show on the BBC years ago.

Ah sure, ah least it's something different for RTE. Tommy's radio show was a bit of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,808 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

It will be a shock if your man McGregor was acting out your one's personality in front of us & in front of Tommy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,770 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

UFC the latest sport we are told we should support and like.

The set looks like it was designed before Glenroe was invented.

RobertKK wrote: »

Incredibly popular in this part of the country. I knew lads who work in the traditional martial arts and they tell me that MMA is massive, particularly amongst girls. As someone who spent many years training in judo, I can't warm to MMA for some reason. Think it a bit too 'Vegas' for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,425 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

In fairness is different idea - but could have done with a real guest.

I'd imagine actual famous people may not be up for this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭jjf1974

The set looks like it came from the 80's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭alcea

UFC would not be my cup of tea at all and I am not a fan of Tommy Tiernan, but this is quite a watchable interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,070 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Is there actually an audience there or is it piped in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

I didn't recognise her when she came out. She polishes up well. Have to say the interview is a damn site better than what Tubs or D'Arcy would throw up.

You don't have to support or like any sport. I wouldn't pay to watch UFC on TV, might watch it if its for free, the only thing I hate about it are the bandwagon jumpers.

Tubs would never do something like this, i.e. take a punch from a MMA girl.

that was good. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I'll probably be accused of sexism here, but she doesn't look like your archetypal MMA/UFC/Etc etc fighter.

Berserker wrote: »

Em Tubs would die from that punch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭alcea

And D'arcy would only challange a girl to a push up competition, when she has longer arms than him:D

She's a good laugh. Very easy to interview.

I like her.

Jaysus it's hardly the marriage referendum that you're talking about here. A lot of the D4 media see it as fairly primal. I've heard a few of these "review of the year" shows and the panelists usually say something mealy mouthed like "Oh I appreciate the skill of the man, but it's awfully violent". But there's by no means a huge wave of support for it.

• no idea who she was and no interest in that sport but that was really entertaining!

Tommy for the late late!!

I'll probably be accused of sexism here, but she doesn't look like your archetypal MMA/UFC/Etc etc fighter.

Done up for the television. Trust me, I know plenty of girls who fight, boxing, judo etc and they scrub up well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭space2ground1

That was great craic! I didn't think I'd be mad about the format but it's great so far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Conor McGregor knocked a man out...like actually caused enough trauma to a man that his system couldn't take it and shut down...in 13 seconds. And that's a good thing.

It's absurd.

Em Tubs would die from that punch.

Are you joking, if she tried to punch him in the stomach, she'd keep missing.

Not bad so far. I love the spontaneity. In fact I'd go as far as saying that it's this sort of spontaneity that RTE's other talk shows are completely devoid of. Tubridy's cue cards absolutely choke the Late Late Show.

That was great craic! I didn't think I'd be mad about the format but it's great so far!

My only complaint is that it is too short. It's over at 11.10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,121 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Not bad so far. I love the spontaneity. In fact I'd go as far as saying that it's this sort of spontaneity that RTE's other talk shows are completely devoid of. Tubridy's cue cards absolutely choke the Late Late Show.

Remember Jonah Hill asking Tubs if he was nervous? That was hilarious.

Tommy has got to the stage where he'd play a decent shopping centre Santa Claus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Good so far.

Hopefully the hair will go in time...

That's what my EPG says as well, but surely that cant be right. They cant be coming back from the ad break for ten minutes programming surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,627 ✭✭✭baldbear

Decent show. So Tommy has a 4 min interview left 2 mins talking & a 3 min song!!

No Fred, no. Not Garth Brooks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 820 ✭✭✭BunkMoreland

Fred cook is sh**t. Not sure why Tommy would find him funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭jjf1974

That's what my EPG says as well, but surely that cant be right. They cant be coming back from the ad break for ten minutes programming surely?

Followed by "the best of the imelda may show " until 11.25 ?

So who is this lad? One for the ladies.

Checked the RTE website, and it's on til 11.25pm. :-)

I thought Robert Sheehan was incredibly badly cast as a "hard man" in Love/Hate.

Look , we all know Tommy has been poor for a few years.

But, improv is an important part of comedy.

That is why Tubs struggles, he has tried to let the cards go and the wrong questions when , he should let it flow.

Only thing improv (not sure this is fully improv) - need a small event a few beers. It is going to fall on it's face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Next show is 11.25 according to RTE guide.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Conor McGregor knocked a man out...like actually caused enough trauma to a man that his system couldn't take it and shut down...in 13 seconds. And that's a good thing.

It's absurd.

Boxing is the same, Rugby has also a serious amount of violence attached to it. No real difference IMO.

RTE Guise says 11.25

• Bring back Aisling

Jeans with holes in the knees are plain ridiculous. This fella is a bit of an eejit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

Please lose Fred

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,101 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

jjf1974 wrote: »
    Followed by "the best of the imelda may show "

The credits then....

This must have been a nightmare to edit. Entertaining but I don't know how many episodes it would last.