Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disastrous Christmas Day?

• 26-12-2015 12:20am
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Did anyone have a disastrous Christmas Day? My day went OK. But I remember one or two Christmasses that were well below par. Especially the one that followed soon after my mam died.

So, did the Xmas dinner get burned? Was there a huge family row? Did the tree fall over? Did the dog go on fire?

Share your disastrous Xmas day memoirs here people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

Father heard me crying in my room....came in fuked me out of it and letted me know i made the day miserable for everyone.

So ya...u could say mine was miserable enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Few years ago had chinese on xmas eve, all 6 of us with food poisoning for the next 24 hours.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Father heard me crying in my room....came in fuked me out of it and letted me know i made the day miserable for everyone.

Were you crying about the turkey he had roasted?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

About the same as always I suppose, I just keep my head down and let it pass by, it's a day for kids and families really, not for eejits like me, just glad it's over :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Gaygooner

5/10 nyeh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Quite a number of years ago, the mother of someone I know had to spend Christmas in hospital. Just as the family sat down for Christmas dinner a call came to get to the hospital immediately, she was dead before they arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Gaygooner wrote: »
    5/10 nyeh

6/10 peeps be getting old. Kids about early then cleared out. Nephew is staying here so had good fun till we all got tired. Tried games but not full on alcohol fueled mayhem like it used to be...everyone is well and happy so who cares. 2mro for full on adult antics...

Daughters mate died on a motorbike earlier today, that family are having a ****ty day.

he was 16.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Daughters mate died on a motorbike earlier today, that family are having a ****ty day.

he was 16.
    That kind of thing destroys Christmas forever. At least if it's an older person it's that bit easier for life to move on given time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Almost had a mini disaster with a toy that cost three figures. Feckin thing fell down the stairs and didnt work all day, then realised it needed to be charged and software had to loaded onto it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

PauloMN - the mod.....

No, the Turkey was A1....depression and loniness just picks the wrong day's to come visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Dog tried to mount granny when she dropped her trifel.
    Must get him nutted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,556 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

kneemos wrote: »
    Must get him nutted.

Or at least his claws trimmed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

he was 16.

I was going to complain about something trivial but I'm not going to now.

Jesus that is just horrific. Its hard to know what to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Spend it in my aunties. Was a fun day with a few beers.

Pie face the kids game was a right laugh as was Phil mitchel on the gargle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

It's been better than most years. Today was the 10th Xmas day without my mam so it's been a bit **** for quite a while.
    2012 was crap because I knew my father was ill and it was a scary, uncertain Xmas.
    2013, he died 7 days before Christmas Day so it was always going to be sad and Christmas will never actually be Christmas again, but if that wasn't bad enough, I woke up Xmas eve 2013 with winter vomitting bug. Very embarrassing.
    2014 was better, spent it by myself and it was actually a lot better. Didn't have to pretend to be happy for anyone and ended up having a lovely day.
    2015 has been the best for me in at least 10 years. Very simple, but I didn't spend it alone and ignoring the day, family rift temporarily mended, and although it was really quiet it was really special and i am happy going to sleep tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Kxiii

I spent all afternoon in a&e.

I went to the mother inlaws for dinner, standing in the kitchen waiting for the roasties to crisp up. When she asked me to put something out in the bin. On the way out the door, I slipped on the wet tiled top step and landed on the edge of the bottom step right across my lower back.

Left out some roar but managed to get myself up and got back into the kitchen but the pain was unbelievable. I pulled up my jumper to have a look and had a bruise from the top of my hip up to my ribs and accross onto my spine. So we decided to take a trip to A&E just to be safe as I've been out of action with two ruptured discs in my neck for the last twelve weeks.

Luckly I didn't break anything just a lot of soft tissue damage. So I'm lying here im black and blue, cant move and full of drugs. And never got my dinner in the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭vagazzled

Ah morphine is better'n turkey anyday.
    Glad nothing broken. Take care of yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Lau2976

It was nice. We just took it easy all day although I got annoyed at my extended "family" when I found out they had a get together and didn't invite us. As much as people encourage you not too all my ties with those people shall be severed in the new year. I certainly won't have people around me who upset my parents like that. They are selfish, horrible people and they can go fester in their own filth until their miserable lives are ended for all I care.

Merry Christmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,695 ✭✭✭✭siblers

My cousins who lost their wife/mother this time last year, spent it with us. I thought they'd be quite somber but they were in really good spirits, was great that they actually enjoyed the day. Can be one of the worst days of the year when someone has passed away recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I have to say that today was a grand ol' christmas day for me, my girlfriend and my family. No major incidents over the years.
    Only thing is that sadly however, the tradition of me and my mam stuffing and cooking the turkey ended in 2009 as she sadly left us. Around this time of year you miss them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Worst Xmas I ever had was when I lived in Vancouver and didn't no anyone in d whole city. I was completely alone. I cried that day after talking to my family on Skype. No Turkey no Xmas tree no Christmas crackers poor me lol . I'm sure there are plenty of people who are alone abroad and homesick today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

MarkY91 wrote: »
    Pie face the kids game was a right laugh as was Phil mitchel on the gargle.

The advert for that looks like it was just made in some random living rooms on a mobile phone with a father and child that were handed €50 for their help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Just stayed home. Drank less than I normally would on a Friday. Did some hoovering and had a bath. I'm moving onto a litre of vodka now though so I might paint my toenails later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

Was grand. Only regret really is that I was running around like a bluearse fly most of the day entertaining family and the time flew by as a result.

everlast75 wrote: »
    Or at least his claws trimmed...

Throw a mat over her,might bring back memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

brohug

Our second Christmas without my dad and it's been better than most of the Christmases with my dad! I think we've managed to get back to being a family again after last year, and hate to say it cause I love the auld bastard for ever, but my dad was a terrible sh*tstirrer. And moody! No one has fought, so far, though came close over a game of scrabble earlier. Games, we didn't play any last year, but the games came back out this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

brohug

2nd xmas without Da kids didnt get presents from granny, awkward answering that question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

Working night duty away from home, so went home this morning and slept for the day, woke up at 6pm quick chat with friends and family and back into work again.

I've had better christmas's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭haveringchick

All quiet on the western front
    18 year old daughter tolerated us oldies for 24 hours so all good
    Kudos to those who struggled and battled through what is , for many, and for many reasons, a very very difficult day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Diamond Doll

I stayed in Dublin rather than going home to Sligo, in the hope of seeing my son for a couple of hours.

It didn't happen. I woke up very ill, wasn't able to collect him, and his dad doesn't drive, so bringing him to me wasn't an option.

But I got so many nice messages and texts and offers today that it really restored my faith in humanity. Offers to bring me to hospital or GP, offers to join other families for Christmas dinner, etc. I didn't realise how many people cared about me. :o

I'm still sick, I still didn't really see anyone today ... but I don't feel lonely or isolated. Lots of nice people out there!

kneemos wrote: »
    Must get him nutted.

It would be cheaper to tell granny not to dress so goddam sexy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭gazzamc

Been sick all day, couldn't get in the mood, I've had better Christmas days :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Senna wrote: »
    The advert for that looks like it was just made in some random living rooms on a mobile phone with a father and child that were handed €50 for their help

The ad for that is the youtube clip of them playing the game. I think it went viral and thats how the game was so popular this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Gaygooner

2nd xmas without Da kids didnt get presents from granny, awkward answering that question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Get away from that b*llox asap. You deserve better than that. Are you ok now?

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Get away from that b*llox asap. You deserve better than that. Are you ok now?

Unless he was right, the poster was being melodramatic and spoiling the day for his/her family.

I'm not saying s/he was, merely that there is not enough info in the post to advise that someone should get away from their father ASAP. A later post refers to "depression and loneliness", without clarifying whether the former is a clinical diagnosis.

Unless he was right, the poster was being melodramatic and spoiling the day for his/her family.

I'm not saying s/he was, merely that there is not enough info in the post to advise that someone should get away from their father ASAP. A later post refers to "depression and loneliness", without clarifying whether the former is a clinical diagnosis.

True . Sometimes parents just aren't worth the effort. Hard to break parental ties though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

Have a bad flu/fever, tried my best but it's relentless. Worried about sleeping after last night. Can barely breath in bed.

But it's minor compared to some of the stories here and that poor family with the missing boy in Galway. Feel for them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

I'm down at my girlfriend's house for Christmas. Her family kindly offered to take me in for the holiday, so in return I made them Christmas dinner.

My girlfriend just woke me in the middle of the night to say she needs to vomit then ran to the bathroom. I'm lying here waiting for her to get back. I think I hear the rest of the family waking and moving around....

I'm pretty sure I cooked that Turkey fully........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Worst Xmas I ever had was when I lived in Vancouver and didn't no anyone in d whole city. I was completely alone. I cried that day after talking to my family on Skype. No Turkey no Xmas tree no Christmas crackers poor me lol . I'm sure there are plenty of people who are alone abroad and homesick today.

Wish I had known; I have family in BC who would have been there for you.... There will be such people here in Ireland too you know.. many old ones alone..

BIG HUGS to everyone.... had a peaceful and yes happy here alone, listening to the rain, letting the lights shine out, watching carols and films on youtube, knitting, cooking and eating. But it has taken me decades to reach this and years of being and suffering like some of the posters here, so take heart; it does get better as we age. The M.E means that being with people is totally exhausting so a breath of relief to come home and close the doors. Was out of it soon after 4 pm as it was and that is fine. My close family are all long gone, tragically as some here and time softens. Some kinder memories come now. And Christmas to me is Christ-mass. No desire or need for it to be other than it is. May this day be easier for you all...

Irish_rat wrote: »
    Have a bad flu/fever, tried my best but it's relentless. Worried about sleeping after last night. Can barely breath in bed.

But it's minor compared to some of the stories here and that poor family with the missing boy in Galway. Feel for them

Not minor; pain is pain is pain.. hope you feel better soon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

If the poster refers to depression and loneliness then it doesn't exactly put the father's actions in good light either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I was really sick, there was a huge argument among my family that started at 10am and went on till the end of the day, there was lots of crying and snide comments.

So overall, it was one of our best days :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

steddyeddy wrote: »
    If the poster refers to depression and loneliness then it doesn't exactly put the father's actions in good light either.

Tbh one of my girlfriend's friends is a munchausen type who isn't happy until people are feeling sorry for her. Dealing with that type if person is incredibly frustrating as they go out of their way to sabotage other peoples' happiness.

The vague posts we've seen here could be a similar attempt. In fact, I've seen almost the exact same text word for word from the munchausen girl to my girlfriend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

We were both dreading Christmas dinner, with a relative really sick.

As it was it turned out great. Hats off to my SIL, she did a fantastic job. I didn't feel great the whole day - sick sort of head ache. Only just got out of bed and wouldn't mind if I'd drunk anything.

Now the relative is back in hospital :(