Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A ****ing power cut on Christmas Day

• 25-12-2015 10:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭

A ****ing power cut on Christmas Day In Dublin. Are you joking me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭salamanca22

It seems to happen somewhere every christmas. Happened us a few years ago, turkey couldn't be cooked =/

Hopefully it's turned back on for ye soon!

Merry christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,310 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

You win some you lose some

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Ogn08.gif

Ah, come on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Could be worse. Could be one of the three motorcyclists in the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Was just about to post that's what you get for being a culchie before the edit. What part you in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

I took my Tesco turkey out of the wrapping last night and its green. We have no other meats for dinner apart from a packet of sliced ham!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

North county Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

North county Dublin.

I'm in Balbriggan, have you got any extension leads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Will be back at 11:45. In the meantime play some board games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

North county Dublin.

Fairly big outage in swords according to ESB power checker. Nearly 3,000 houses affected.

Expected back in an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

No power cuts here.

I'm in Balbriggan, have you got any extension leads?

Yeah man. You need some?

North county Dublin.

My oven is available if you want to do you turkey. If you're from Swords, you can **** off though. /Parochialism

Didn't think weather was bad last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

At least you know to ask Santy for a gennie next Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Hope you charged your 3ds yesterday so. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Should have bought batteries!!!

Hope you charged your 3ds yesterday so. ;)

I sure did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Ah the poor Dubs. No power cuts for the Culchies.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Ah the poor Dubs. No power cuts for the Culchies.

That's because yis have no electricity.

• Site Banned Posts: 137 ✭✭MaryAntoinette

Improvise, put the turkey under the bonnet and go for a spin for a couple of hours.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 489 ✭✭AngryDiMaria

Spit roast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭haveringchick

Back to bed so Christmas is cancelled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,542 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Collie D wrote: »
    My oven is available if you want to do your turkey

Oh matron!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭weisses

Gas cooker FTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,431 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

hopefully you ll be back up and running soon op. enjoy the day

https://www.esb.ie/esb-networks/powercheck/index.html

That's because yis have no electricity.

Yes, beacuse a carrier pigeon is composing this message for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

I have a gas cooker and I run the electricity off the gas so no power cuts for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,705 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Yes, beacuse a carrier pigeon is composing this message for me.

you could be using a smart phone or a laptop with a dongle for all we know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Just sit it out and stop complaining about it, you haven't 100 cows waiting to be milked or anything.

Skerries wrote: »

All powered by a bicycle... or something.

Skerries wrote: »

Tablet, connected wirelessly to my mobile dongle actually. Whilst the TV is on, and my turkey roasts in my electric oven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

That happened us the year we had just moved house (about 18 years ago... Seems like yesterday, Scary!) And we ended up cutting the turkey into really small bits and cooking it in a disposable bbq.

We still talk about that year every Christmas!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Just sit it out and stop complaining about it, you haven't 100 cows waiting to be milked or anything.

Jesus, the memories, that just gave me the shivers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Wehaaaay, where's yere civilization now, ye langers :pac:

Got three in a row when I lived in Kerry. 1997, 98 and 99.

Wehaaaay, where's yere civilization now, ye langers :pac:

Yay! I'm going to use extra electricity today in celebration of living in the civilised world!

ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Karsini wrote: »
    Got three in a row when I lived in Kerry. 1997, 98 and 99.

Did ya win a prize?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Wx

How about the poor culchies in Cork, Clare, Sligo and Donegal ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

The swords fix estimation has disappeared.

They're gone for Christmas dinner :)

Wx wrote: »
    How about the poor culchies in Cork, Clare, Sligo and Donegal ?

How are these people poor, Jackeen?

Sam Kade wrote: »
    How are these people poor, Jackeen?

They only have 99 cows

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Spare a thought for the guys desperately working to fix this on Christmas day, likely called away from their families.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

Think of the overtime payments for these guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

My Granda was an ESB electrician who was on call many a Christmas. He would have the yellow Land Rover out the back of the house could be off to fix Bridies power up some boreen in Wicklow. Even back thirty years ago they'd be out in all weathers making sure folk could have Christmas with power.

Much respect for the ESB folk out today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Think of the overtime payments for these guys!

Triple time?Four or five hundred for the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

kneemos wrote: »
    Triple time?Four or five hundred for the morning.
    Before tax. Grr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭SVI40

Who cares how much they get paid. These guys go out in all kinds of weather, at all times of the day or night to get power restored as fast as possible. They earn every cent they make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

It's like the nurses - everyone always says to spare a thought for them but what about every other profession that has to work on Xmas day? What makes the nurses so special - are they not getting paid?