Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dam Christmas!

• 24-12-2015 7:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭

I was happy this morning that I can go to work, so I walked to the train station freezing my hands off.

When I arrived at the train station it seems that the train didn't go 6.47 but 7.05 instead!

What the heck is wrong with the people that planning those times? Some people need to work. This absolutely blows because now I need to walk for half a hour in the cold weather and it's also very windy :(

I hate holiday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Tut tut, awful use of slang in that post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Fail to prepare, prepare to fail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Asmooh

Tut tut, awful use of slang in that post!

Where exactly? What's the bad word and what should it be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Heck, Holiday, Sucks... Go back to Murica yank.

What is a different word for holiday? Vacation? That is not the same.
    Okay heck is hell but since people are so religious in Ireland I thought let's not say that.

Please name a different word for 'sucks' which is not rubbish because that is not the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Asmooh wrote: »
    What is a different word for holiday? Vacation? That is not the same.
    Okay heck is hell but since people are so religious in Ireland I thought let's not say that.

Please name a different word for 'sucks' which is not rubbish because that is not the same.

Blows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

I was happy this morning that I can go to work, so I walked to the train station freezing my hands off.

When I arrived at the train station it seems that the train didn't go 6.47 but 7.05 instead!

Why not wait for the 7.05? And put your hands in your pockets...

I'm in the train now but now I need to walk for half a hour trying to arrive on time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

who the hell has to work today? poor feckers

If I could work 7 days a week I would

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I'm in the train now but now I need to walk for half a hour trying to arrive on time

And if the train arrived at 6.47 you wouldn't have to walk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Bah Humbug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Make this doesnt sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Sounds like the opening lines of a morrissey song.

kneemos wrote: »
    And if the train arrived at 6.47 you wouldn't have to walk?

correct.

Leixlip -> Connolly -> Clontarf road -> Shuttle bus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Hemerodrome

mfceiling wrote: »
    Sounds like the opening lines of a morrissey song.

Broken train ride/ on a platform desolate/ the walk will make a man of me yet

Pretty much every retail worker in Ireland, restaurant staff, care assistants, doctors, nurses, flight attendants, and so on.

I'm off at 4pm :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,437 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

Why would you work 7 days a week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

When in this charming shuttle bus.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

If you must to go work tomorrow, well if I were you I really wouldn't bother.

Because there are finer things in life and I should know because I've seen them.

.....but not very often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

Poor sods working today. I feel for them..

*pours 2nd cup of coffee with home alone on and curls up on the couch with wind howling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,892 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

correct.

Leixlip -> Connolly -> Clontarf road -> Shuttle bus

Should I ask you for the number for Connolly Station, or should I tell you I no longer want tv , phone and broadband?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

It'll be grand. A good walk to start the day.

It's Christmas. Relax. Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,907 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Work to live, don't live to work

Why would you work 7 days a week?

Because if I can I could, because I think it is useless to do other things.

It'll be grand. A good walk to start the day.

It's Christmas. Relax. Enjoy.

I normally do that, but now in the winter I don't enjoy it that much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

A load of me bollix!!!

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Work to live, don't live to work

why not?

Wow that's a sad existence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

I couldn't find a violin small enough for this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,437 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

I never really thought of it that way. It's a good philosophy to have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

If I could I would.

Wow that's a sad existence

no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

I checked up Dart times for today yesterday. And indeed seems like a weekend schedule, ending early.

no

I guess if somebody's life is that empty of anything, and only working 7 days a week could fill in the time, then sure, why not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

Jeez, that's really depressing! You think it's useless to go out and have fun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

This thread has totally dampened my Christmas Mojo. OP you sound like great craic!

I normally do that, but now in the winter I don't enjoy it that much

I've news for you. Northern hemisphere. Christmas is usually in Winter. ;)

I guess if somebody's life is that empty of anything, and only working 7 days a week could fill in the time, then sure, why not

Working 7 days a week, pay your house so you don't have a mortgage or dept at a quite young age, save more if you end up without job you have enough money without having to go to welfare which is also better for the country.

Saving money including interest rates gives you more money.

Don't get into marriage or get kids, those are money wasters

bee06 wrote: »
    Jeez, that's really depressing! You think it's useless to go out and have fun?

Depends on your definition of "fun"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

Depends on your definition of "fun"

It involves wasting my money being married and having kids and crazy things like that. I'm sure I'll regret not working 7 days a week when I'm old and poor of course.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

And buying Ferraris and helicopters.

Working 7 days a week, pay your house so you don't have a mortgage or dept at a quite young age, safe more if you end up without job you have enough money without having to go to welfare which is also better for the country.

And then what? Die young after your body gives up from working constantly, so never enjoy the fruits of your labour?

Nah. Work to live. I work so that I have money to enjoy things and make life fun.

Working 7 days a week, pay your house so you don't have a mortgage or dept at a quite young age, safe more if you end up without job you have enough money without having to go to welfare which is also better for the country.

God can you not see how miserable that is?
    So work and pay your mortgage off 10 years earlier. Then go home to your big empty house.
    As I said, it's a sad existence

Ah come on. I paid off a mortgage early. Retired in my early 50s. Have a great family, plenty of friends, loads of hobbies and a generous pension. And I didn't work 7 days a week. I relaxed and enjoyed life and I certainly let the spirit of Christmas blossom.

No point being miserable. And more importantly, being miserable to those around you. Nobody wants to hear a whinging party pooper on Christmas Eve.

God can you not see how miserable that is?
    So work and pay your mortgage off 10 years earlier. Then go home to your big empty house.
    As I said, it's a sad existence

I don't agree, sorry.
    Why do you need someone in your life, you should be happy by yourself without needing anyone else to make you happy.

If you get home in a big empty house, you know where you have worked for and that should make you happy.

You don't need other people to make you happy, you should make yourself happy.
    That you need other people is an illusion

Ah come on. I paid off a mortgage early. Retired in my early 50s. Have a great family, plenty of friends, loads of hobbies and a generous pension. And I didn't work 7 days a week. I relaxed and enjoyed life and I certainly let the spirit of Christmas blossom.

No point being miserable. And more importantly, being miserable to those around you. Nobody wants to hear a whinging party pooper on Christmas Eve.
    I agree, that's why I decided long long time ago... actually on my 16th already that I won't do Christmas and won't be spending time with family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

Working 7 days a week, pay your house so you don't have a mortgage or dept at a quite young age, save more if you end up without job you have enough money without having to go to welfare which is also better for the country.

and then tomorrow morning when everyone else is enjoying turkey and pressies with their families and watching kids faces light up you will get hit by a bus and die happy in the knowledge that you had paid more of your mortgage than I did.

Except you wont because lucky for you, the bus driver has the day off! :P

(also, this thread, wow talk about first world problems)

Waiiiiitttt a minute. I think the op is Christmas trolling :)
    He/she is the modern day Scrooge. We're the ghosts of Christmas future!

esforum wrote: »
    and then tomorrow morning when everyone else is enjoying turkey and pressies with their families and watching kids faces light up you will get hit by a bus and die happy in the knowledge that you had paid more of your mortgage than I did.

Except you wont because lucky for you, the bus driver has the day off! :P

That would actually the best gift ever, just a personal statement.

I don't believe you OP.

Working 7 days a week. Work today. Yet plenty of time to take part in Boards discussions while doing all this enjoyable work?

You seem to have made a God of Money at the expense of humanity.

Nah! This persona, coupled with other threads, just doesn't gel.