Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

still zero grazing

• 22-12-2015 7:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭

anyone out there still zero grazing with temp in double figures buds on trees and daffodils popping anyone able to get out and take advantage of the growth of is it too wet . the last i saw was 3weeks ago in tipp but Im wondering in the more tropical climate down south getting to Xmas without opening the pit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

sthilmick wrote: »
    anyone out there still zero grazing with temp in double figures buds on trees and daffodils popping anyone able to get out and take advantage of the growth of is it too wet . the last i saw was 3weeks ago in tipp but Im wondering in the more tropical climate down south getting to Xmas without opening the pit

Is it a hovercraft your pulling it with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Be cheaper rig up a coil of 1/2 inch hydro dare pipe and drop it in water trough !!,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭visatorro

wonder was there many of them sold last year. remember looking at a Nuffield scholar on youtube and he basically spread the promises made by salesmen weren't true? shock horror..
    although if the contractor bought one id use him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I'd nearly chance it but I'd be afraid I'd hit a whooper and it's 300 years bad luck apparently for killing a swan!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

visatorro wrote: »
    wonder was there many of them sold last year. remember looking at a Nuffield scholar on youtube and he basically spread the promises made by salesmen weren't true? shock horror..
    although if the contractor bought one id use him.

I know a lad milking 25 cows who bought a new zero grazer for his own use costing €26K this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

tanko wrote: »
    I know a lad milking 25 cows who bought a new zero grazer for his own use costing €26K this year.
    I doubt he makes a living in farming. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Tis so wet here the badgers are going around it pairs, so if one gets stuck the other can go for help!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭visatorro

well I will say in 2012 when there was fifty days rain in a row or something crazy. a neighbour brought in a load for me with his grazer and it didn't mark the field. there was water lying in the field and he drove through it laughing. went straight up the steepest hill aswell no bother. just as he was saying how good a yoke it is, the chain broke!! still not saying I'd make any money out of it but I believe it has a place on some farms some of the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Chap a few miles away has one, cows never graze.
    His production costs are 27 cent per litre.
    Trouble is, he's only getting paid 26.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Nekarsulm wrote: »

26 base plus solids......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Nekarsulm wrote: »

27c including his wages, capital interest etc? And is he increasing his wage to account for the extra hours burning diesel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

So do his cows ever go out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

No idea if he is including a wage in the 27c cost. Cows never out. Buys in a lot of fodder. 100 cows plus followers on about 50 acres. On a hiding to nothing this year.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭J.pilkington

What are people's thoughts on the price of diesel and zero grazers? With diesel at it lowers in 10 years(half what it was a few years ago?) and the fact you need a diesel guzzling big tractor have these artificial low running costs at the moment that may not be sustainable at a time when oil is back up at $140?

I suppose it gives some relief against the low milk prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

What are people's thoughts on the price of diesel and zero grazers? With diesel at it lowers in 10 years(half what it was a few years ago?) and the fact you need a diesel guzzling big tractor have these artificial low running costs at the moment that may not be sustainable at a time when oil is back up at $140?

Just more time in the yard/field, 4 new zone grazers here in local vicinity this year, Interesting to see will they stick it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,723 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I pass one farm that bought one two years ago. Milks maybe 50 cows.
    He uses it for maybe three weeks spring/autumn, so six weeks a year.

For the other 46 weeks it's parked up in the corner if a piece of waste ground. It already looks like a 10 year old piece of kit.

I just couldn't see his investment being returned for such little usage and the depreciation from it lying outside all year is shocking.

The grass growth up to now has been incredible. Ground that was closed up early is ready to graze but the surface is like a sheet of tissue paper floating on a bowl of water. If the future is an ever increasing winter deluge of rain like this then heavy ground is going to get worse and worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭sthilmick

I can't understand why people spend big money on a machine and leave it outside we had an 8 yr old slurry spreader left in the shed after every use when we traided it in the dealer thought it was 3/4 yrs old paint and stickers were like new Shed was a few esb poles and a bit of second hand sheeting 20+grand and leaving out in the weather mental

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

There's some lads out there who think oil will never go above $100 again...

Well I thought it would never go below $150 and I'm stuck with a shed full of beech and oak selling nothing but it's not milk it won't go sour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Carrigogunnell

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Just more time in the yard/field, 4 new zone grazers here in local vicinity this year, Interesting to see will they stick it..

It's definately gaining ground. If the wet weather keeps up could be very useful in spring. Any how there are a few guys leaning towards making small pits of high quality silage rather than going this route. I was chancing a local 400 cow herd that if he was going zero grazing I would have the contract but he maintained milk needed to be at 30 to pay. It's 1 block of land but a lot of fields could be 3 k if not more away. He is leaning towards small pits may 40 acre of stuff 3-7 bale stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

It's definately gaining ground. If the wet weather keeps up could be very useful in spring. Any how there are a few guys leaning towards making small pits of high quality silage rather than going this route. I was chancing a local 400 cow herd that if he was going zero grazing I would have the contract but he maintained milk needed to be at 30 to pay. It's 1 block of land but a lot of fields could be 3 k if not more away. He is leaning towards small pits may 40 acre of stuff 3-7 bale stuff

I cannot see how a tractor and trailer can go in to a field at a time when the cows can not. Maybe here when the ground gets wet nothing can go in and ye lads have drier ground but still. Only reason I can see for a zerograzer is for a fragmented farm

Milked out wrote: »
    I cannot see how a tractor and trailer can go in to a field at a time when the cows can not. Maybe here when the ground gets wet nothing can go in and ye lads have drier ground but still. Only reason I can see for a zerograzer is for a fragmented farm

Well the zero grazers come on 4 flotation tyres with an option of 8 stick your terra tyres on the 4wd tractor and you've got a higher surface area by weight than a man let alone a cow on cloven hoves plus it's a rolling weight as opposed to a walking and dragging weight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Totally agree, I think when ground is wet around its really wet, people with dry ground just don't get it.
    I was at the dairy conference in Kilkenny a few ago in the spring grazing workshop. Michael O'Donovan was hammering into guys that u have to feed more grass in feb, one lad said he has a wettish farm, MOD was having none of it, he was on about multiple gaps into fields, on off grazing, back fencing etc, all the things I'm doing, he just didn't understand when it's wet around here it's really wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭poor farmer

i have been on a few heavy farms where zero grazers are used and the will work in the wet.
    IF the fields are continuously zero grazed all the holes (from cows feet) get filled in by the mower rubbing the ground .You end up with a level surface that the water will run off and a good skin on the field.
    It takes up to a year zero grazing for this to happen but the top layer definately improves.
    You know yourselves if you poach a paddock grazing, then when you go back the next time the surface is very tender .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭White Clover

i have been on a few heavy farms where zero grazers are used and the will work in the wet.
    IF the fields are continuously zero grazed all the holes (from cows feet) get filled in by the mower rubbing the ground .You end up with a level surface that the water will run off and a good skin on the field.
    It takes up to a year zero grazing for this to happen but the top layer definately improves.
    You know yourselves if you poach a paddock grazing, then when you go back the next time the surface is very tender .

Spot on. A clued in pilot is a big plus too. One that won't face her against the hill with the load 80% full!

Well you can't have everything unless you do it Yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭White Clover

Well you can't have everything unless you do it Yourself

Not really asking for much there. No??

Not in my book but others might differ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 kidfarm100

Hi thinking of getting one of these. So doing my research at moment. I seen on facebook that a farmer in Rockchapel Co.Cork was zero grazing until 22nd of Dec. Anyone from that area / know much about ? Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

What are the criteria necessary to consider investing in a zgrazer?

Fragmentation
    Wet ground
    Lack of roadways
    Heavy metal disease
    High SR
    Neighbours are at it
    Greater utilisation
    More milk from grass

I'm sure they're many more.

Now what extra investment is required on farm to facilitate the new system?

Machine
    Tractor (in some cases)
    More feed space
    More slurry to be spread??
    More cows??
    More maintenance
    More depreciation
    Diesel
    Time

Thr fact that I'm a recovering zgraze operator makes me ask these questions. I know of 2 places where they're parked and the system abandoned. I equally know where they are embraced and highly valued.

Where they are highly valued seems to be where labour is employed and therefore a driver is more readily available

I also know a guy who's using his only occasionally as he has failed to sell it.

If considering one, please consider the use of hi quality round bales as an alternative.

They allow for
    Gear to depreciate elsewhere
    6-7 days work during summer as opposed to cutting every day
    Wilting of grass
    Increased DM
    Only pay for bales made
    Know exactly what cows are eating
    No effect on solids

What do ye reckon?

What are the criteria necessary to consider investing in a zgrazer?

Fragmentation
    Wet ground
    Lack of roadways
    Heavy metal disease
    High SR
    Neighbours are at it
    Greater utilisation
    More milk from grass

I'm sure they're many more.

Now what extra investment is required on farm to facilitate the new system?

Machine
    Tractor (in some cases)
    More feed space
    More slurry to be spread??
    More cows??
    More maintenance
    More depreciation
    Diesel
    Time

Thr fact that I'm a recovering zgraze operator makes me ask these questions. I know of 2 places where they're parked and the system abandoned. I equally know where they are embraced and highly valued.

Where they are highly valued seems to be where labour is employed and therefore a driver is more readily available

I also know a guy who's using his only occasionally as he has failed to sell it.

If considering one, please consider the use of hi quality round bales as an alternative.

They allow for
    Gear to depreciate elsewhere
    6-7 days work during summer as opposed to cutting every day
    Wilting of grass
    Increased DM
    Only pay for bales made
    Know exactly what cows are eating
    No effect on solids

What do ye reckon?

I agree with u, even though I have 40 acres of dry ground just over a mile from the parlour that would be ideal for zgrazing. I'm going to try and walk the cows there before I start going down that route. Have farm roadways 3/4's of the way but out onto a quite public road for the last 1/4 mile. Am I mad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

I agree with u, even though I have 40 acres of dry ground just over a mile from the parlour that would be ideal for zgrazing. I'm going to try and walk the cows there before I start going down that route. Have farm roadways 3/4's of the way but out onto a quite public road for the last 1/4 mile. Am I mad?

You know what I think, would be interesting to hear other comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,841 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Not really -for the few times in a year that you'd be grazing it - might even pay to get a young fella to help you move them, especially if it dark coming or going ...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Walk em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Walk them i would be thinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,841 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Mind you if you find someone else locally who has a zero grazer and does a bit of contracting you could add that into the mix...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭agriman27

I'd say you'd really have to have loads of slurry storage for zero grazing, I'd imagine you wouldn't be long filling tanks and if a lad is zero grazing because of wet ground getting slurry out could be a problem too, not to mention the extra added cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

I wouldn't think so but I could be wrong. If you can cut grass then you should be able to spread and you'll always have ground able to take slurry but it's all extra work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Would love to know how much your yeilds would go down for them days there doing the long walk. In saying that I wouldn't do it just to long a walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

step back a second and look at the overall picture.is it to increase numbers you going grazing this ground or is it trying to replace silage/concentrate with existing herd.if increasing what does that mean for labour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 kidfarm100

Reply on reasons to go zero grazing

3.5 cows/ha, fragmentation 1000 yards of a busy road is a nightmare (grazing by day), heavy land, last May cows were housed full time on silage for 2 weeks. The whole summer was messy. October did help. Facilities are good head space etc, 25 year old tractor 100 hp x 1, 60 hp tractor x 1 40 years old. Excellent road ways. Contractor does most of the work. Farm is debt free. Dont want to give up dairy farming (enjoy it). I do make a good living from it, zero grazing could help solve a few problems?! A few so called experts (but very good farmers) who said it was a joke of a system 3 years ago have bought machines 2015. Same type of land and stocking rate. Accountant says a serious consideration. tried bales before, lost too much milk, not enough surplus on this farm to make the bales your talking about.

Some of you have zero grazed before and seem it didnt work out. Was that with a specific machine for the job or a silage wagon. I've ruled out wagon, seen it zero grazing, left a lot of grass in field, also too heavy for my land. Lots of info there hope of some help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I'd consider the zero grazer, but get the contractor for the 15 or 20 days that you might need it. (I don't know if there is anyone in your area) The cost and time and diesel wouldn't be worth to get your own one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

farmerjj wrote: »
    Would love to know how much your yeilds would go down for them days there doing the long walk. In saying that I wouldn't do it just to long a walk.

Youd probably lose a litre or so a head but would this litre pay for a zero grazer.

Id only walk them to it during the day. Leave them closer at night. Let them take there time and dont dog them.

Could you try cut it once for silage then graze it afterwards.

You could alway just keep a few cows less and not bother yer hole but thats not going to happen:rolleyes::D

mf240 wrote: »
    Youd probably lose a litre or so a head but would this litre pay for a zero grazer.

Id only walk them to it during the day. Leave them closer at night. Let them take there time and dont dog them.

Could you try cut it once for silage then graze it afterwards.

You could alway just keep a few cows less and not bother yer hole but thats not going to happen:rolleyes::D

Have heard before u lose a litre for every xtra km the cows walk, not sure if this is true or not.
    Will def be taking silage off this ground, possibly two cuts, should only need to take cows there in spring and fall.
    Def only walk cows there OAD, if they were to walk up there twice, it would be close on walking 7/8 Kms/day!

I'd consider the zero grazer, but get the contractor for the 15 or 20 days that you might need it. (I don't know if there is anyone in your area) The cost and time and diesel wouldn't be worth to get your own one

No contractor within 20 odd miles with s zgrazer

keep going wrote: »
    step back a second and look at the overall picture.is it to increase numbers you going grazing this ground or is it trying to replace silage/concentrate with existing herd.if increasing what does that mean for labour.

Yes, it's too increase numbers, but not to replace meal or silage, fed under 350kgs/cow this yr, and cows out on grass til Nov 11th. Will need labour anyway at the numbers I'll have, if I want to have any sort of a life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭howdee

Am considering zero grazing here, very limited land around the parlour due to the m8 motorway built at back of the yard. I want/need to milk more cows. I have my current platform stocked at 3.2lu/ha, going to push that to 3.8 - 4 this year. Calving in compact and more then likely I'm going to need a buffer in the spring, autumn and times of drought. I have a double chop and trailers to draw grass and I have enough room for all the cows to eat together.

No my other option is walk the cows to grass about 1km to a block of land that would take the pressure off. Road is a typical county lane, one junction to get through, 5 houses to pass, would need two if not three people to move. Neighbours would give out if muck got very bad.
    60 cows this year. 70 next year.
    Opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

howdee wrote: »
    Am considering zero grazing here, very limited land around the parlour due to the m8 motorway built at back of the yard. I want/need to milk more cows. I have my current platform stocked at 3.2lu/ha, going to push that to 3.8 - 4 this year. Calving in compact and more then likely I'm going to need a buffer in the spring, autumn and times of drought. I have a double chop and trailers to draw grass and I have enough room for all the cows to eat together.

No my other option is walk the cows to grass about 1km to a block of land that would take the pressure off. Road is a typical county lane, one junction to get through, 5 houses to pass, would need two if not three people to move. Neighbours would give out if muck got very bad.
    Opinions?
    Only thing you might get trouble with is the chippings on the road. Those are very sore if they get in a cows foot. And they have no where to go if a cow steps on them only up into her foot

howdee wrote: »

Opinions?

Cows dirtying the road is my single biggest concern with taking cows to this ground, even though it's only about 500m on the public road, and it is a quite road, passing two houses, and only five more houses on the rest of the it. I reckon bringing 160/170 cows on this piece of road with any regularity could make it v messy.
    Anyone else in this predicament?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Cows dirtying the road is my single biggest concern with taking cows to this ground, even though it's only about 500m on the public road, and it is a quite road, passing two houses, and only five more houses on the rest of the it. I reckon bringing 160/170 cows on this piece of road with any regularity could make it v messy.
    Anyone else in this predicament?
    the key to the road is not to rush the cows or leave them standing at a gate waiting.that said you have to take into account the overall pr of it,its one thing a relatively smaller farmer taking their cows up and down the road everyday as my in laws do but its a different thing when a larger farmer does it(mutterings of does he ever have enough).rough sums i reckon youll clean the block in 12 days and allow an extra half an hour for the extra work in moving them twice a year comes to 12 hrs extra work.lads around here say it takes an hour a load and i think its about 700kgs of dm in a load which means it ll take 28 loads twice a year at 60e aload comes to 3,300.i stand to be corrected on any zg dm figures .