Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I mad? Virtualize the lot!

Options
2»

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 7,179 ✭✭✭Serephucus

How in the world did you get that lovely sortable table?! :eek:

As regards the build, I'd look at a 1230v3 as well. Very similar chip, but for €40-ish more, you get Hyperthreading, which would probably help you out.

If you're using PFSense, will you need a NIC as well? I'd imagine you won't get very far having a router with 1-2 LAN ports.

As for pre-builds, I have little experience with them. I recently specced out a dev server for the office, and AFAIK they ended up going with a Dell... PowerEdge something or other. They're nice because they have things like redundant PSUs and remote management, but they're not cheap, and probably more than what you need, to be honest.

You can get most of what's on offer with DIY server boards too. ASRock does a bunch of them, all with IPMI, which lets you access the hardware over ethernet (inc. BIOS, power cycling, etc.) through a web UI.

For table formatting, use the 'head' tag in your table tags (use [] not {} ) - {TABLE=head}{/TABLE}

--
    Lenovo TS140 Xeon E3-1226 v3 from ebuyer working out at only £225 after cashback!
    CPU alone costs almost that!
    http://www.ebuyer.com/670719-lenovo-thinkserver-ts140-xeon-e3-1226-v3-3-3ghz-tower-server-70a50022uk

Only 4GB of RAM installed, so will need to pick up 32GBs from elsewhere to replace.