Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racist group helps homeless people – good or bad?

• 18-12-2015 8:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭

The BNP (British National Party) is a white supremacist organisation based in the UK. They received significant votes at the European elections in 2009 (943,598 votes), but were pulverised in the 2015 elections (they received a pathetic 1,667).

They are politically incompetent, nasty people – many of whom have criminal records.

Nonetheless, they uploaded a video to their YouTube channel this week of London Mayoral candidate Dave Furness and other BNP members giving sleeping bags and flasks to homeless people in London.

Now, they also used the opportunity to attack the British government for providing shelter for Syrian refugees, while ‘indigenous Britons’ sleep rough in London.

I'm not sure how to feel about this.

The politics of the BNP are revolting to me. Nonetheless, I do feel for the homeless in any country, and providing them with sleeping bags and flasks is certainly something to which I find it hard to object.

Nonetheless, given that Furness used the opportunity to lambaste David Cameron and co for allowing Syrian refugees into the UK, their motives seriously taint this good deed.

What do others think? Are a racist group like the BNP capable of doing something at all admirable?

Which of these most closely sums up your feelings? 31 votes

Helping homeless can only be a good thing, even if it's by a racist group.
    0% 0 votes
    This was a publicity stunt by a group with sinister motivations, and cannot be seen as a good deed.
    100% 31 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,660 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Any of the foreign folks sleeping rough get any free grub?
    A cynical publicity stunt.
    Also shades at night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Personally I think that's discriminatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,802 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

I don't think the homeless people who are getting warm bedding and food really care where it comes from, Personally I think the BNP and their ilk should be banned organisations

I'd prefer if I wasn't included in their list of acceptable humans as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭MakeEmLaugh

Personally I think that's discriminatory.

“Jews are a race of unheroic, greasy, shifty-eyed, sickly money-lenders, rent-racketeers, pornographers and Big Business wide-boys.

If Britain were to become Jew-clean, she would have no nigger neighbours to worry about.”

- John Tyndall, Founder of the BNP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,860 ✭✭✭stimpson

Pornographers you say? Not all bad then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Hemerodrome

They're doing it for PR and legitimacy, but few, if any,will be fooled by them and they will stay a marginal presence. While they're at it, a few people will be helped, so while I have mixed feelings, I reckon let them at it. Besides, bigger, more established groups working with homeless can also have people in them with questionable politics and motives, so taking the BNP out of the picture wouldn't remove racists from the scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

“Jews are a race of unheroic, greasy, shifty-eyed, sickly money-lenders, rent-racketeers, pornographers and Big Business wide-boys.

If Britain were to become Jew-clean, she would have no nigger neighbours to worry about.”

- John Tyndall, Founder of the BNP

what has that to do with needing food and bedding? Are they demanding membership of the homeless? Reminds me of something I said recently , that in need I would accept a house from a certain kerry TD initials HR but would not feel then obligated to vote for him. OK so these BNPs folk feed and clothe only whites? Fine; all the more fr others. Hunger has no politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The likes of UKIP and BNP and other right centre, far right parties is here to stay.

Not just in UK, but Western Europe.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,817 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Graces7 wrote: »
    what has that to do with needing food and bedding? Are they demanding membership of the homeless? Reminds me of something I said recently , that in need I would accept a house from a certain kerry TD initials HR but would not feel then obligated to vote for him. OK so these BNPs folk feed and clothe only whites? Fine; all the more fr others. Hunger has no politics.

I don't think this thread is about the evil homeless accepting help from the BNP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭screamer

I think people or groups should be judged by their impact. In the case of these guys their hate filled spleen has minimal impact easy to see by their annihilation at the elections. But if their impact with this pr stunt is positive for some poor homeless people let them at it. Wondering how many posters here have gone out and directly helped homeless people? I'm not criticising or wanting answers I'm just pondering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I noticed the same here - all of a sudden loads of people giving out about "dem forreners" while all of a sudden "caring" about the homeless.

Always curious what people of this ilk did for the homeless before the current Syrian crisis. And is I just white homeless people that warrant this sudden outpouring? What about if I'm black or dark skinned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

PARlance wrote: »
    I don't think this thread is about the evil homeless accepting help from the BNP.

???? Not sure how you misinterpreted my post to get this? Nothing evil re accepting food from wherever it comes was my point. Food is food is food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

first homeless chap was wearing the green,white and orange:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

They might be doing it for the wrong reasons, but feck it, I wouldn't complain if I was being helped out. Still arseholes though.
    The likes of UKIP and BNP and other right centre, far right parties is here to stay.

Where's our far right party? (Not directed at you) Since so many posters here are so insistent about how Irish people are essentially British/English, could they point us towards our reactionary, far right element? In the Euro elections, most of the continent's protest parties were anti-immigrant d!ckheads. Ours were for free water campaigners and parties which want to welcome more foreigners!

Depends how the homeless person feels about being used as a propaganda tool for a party that would ultimately burn them in an oven.

c_man wrote: »
    They might be doing it for the wrong reasons, but feck it, I wouldn't complain if I was being helped out. Still arseholes though.

Where's our far right party? (Not directed at you) Since so many posters here are so insistent about how Irish people are essentially British/English, could they point us towards our reactionary, far right element? In the Euro elections, most of the continent's protest parties were anti-immigrant d!ckheads. Ours were for free water campaigners and parties which want to welcome more foreigners!

I'm all for foreigners coming in, but I also think they have to respect our way of life etc.. In fairness most do.

It's been excellent for country and different ideas is no bad thing.

My only gripe is that it should be standard procedure to check people no matter if from EU or not. That poor woman, who Spoke so well yesterday on Pat Kenny show yesterday, who lost her son to Foreign National who had 42 previous convictions. (worth checking out)

Also seeing ISIS flags in well know part of Cork after Paris attack is not really something any decent human wants to see. But they can't be touched by all accounts.

This is wrong and only leads to isolation, racism, sectarianism etc....

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Given that I think that homeless should dry out and get work for themselves, economically speaking I am now to the right of the BNP.
    It's a little scary out here to be honest.
    But yeah, the BNP are racist clowns. Don't waste your vote.

Good deed. Real thing.

Bad intent. Imaginary thing.

This isnt much of a contest in the real world imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Obviously a self serving publicity stunt, if you happen to be cold and wet you'd probably take the "help".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Orangebrigade

Fair play to the BNP.

Other parties like Sinn Fein do charity work but no one here seems bothered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭orubiru

What do others think? Are a racist group like the BNP capable of doing something at all admirable?

I think an attribute of a lot of these groups is that they can be correct about some things on a very basic level.

From an entirely simplistic point of view the idea that a nation/society would support and shelter many thousands of immigrants, while being unable/unwilling to support and shelter their own citizens, seems wrong indeed.

They might say "well, you wouldn't invite a poor neighbor round to your house for a home cooked meal while you feed your children old packets of ketchup, would you?" Yeah, sure, they'd be right but it doesn't really stop there and real life isn't that simple.

So people might be willing to go along with it but ultimately they are going to try to implant some other more questionable beliefs in your head.

Yes, they are indeed doing something admirable to help the homeless but I can't shake the feeling that there's an ulterior motive here too.

Applaud them for doing something good but do not trust them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Hitler fixed the roads. Still an evil bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The problem is if the likes of the BNP didn't have refugees to pick on they'd probably be demanding the homeless be rounded up and kicked out of the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

ScumLord wrote: »
    The problem is if the likes of the BNP didn't have refugees to pick on they'd probably be demanding the homeless be rounded up and kicked out of the country.

And the question obviously arises as to what do they do at the moment when they come across those who are from a minority and homeless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

It's a good thing but obviously a publicity stunt. at least they put the effort in unlike the other idiots who claim we should be helping the homeless but never gave a **** about them or did anything.

The homeless should enjoy it while it lasts, once refugees arent a popular topic to give out about they'll be claiming the homeless people are lazy and need to get a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

...except for Ireland.

Thankfully their hatred has never got a foothold here.

...except for Ireland.

Thankfully their hatred has never got a foothold here.

If things continue the where they are I give it 15 years and things will change. Not saying it's good thing, sadly will be a result of bad deeds beforehand.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Already mentioned by others but I assume they actively selected white homeless people to help. Now in some parts of Northern England those could simply be the demographics, so it depends where this was done. (didn't watch the video, don't want to give them the views!)

While I can see the point of sorting out our own homeless people before taking in thousands of other essentially homeless people -- let's remember that many are on the streets because of addictions and complex issues. They can't just be put into a house and expect their problems to be fixed. Mass rehabilitation of the homeless is their primary need.

Refugees need different services to carry on with their lives - so it's a misleading comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,214 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Nodin wrote: »
    And the question obviously arises as to what do they do at the moment when they come across those who are from a minority and homeless.

Exactly. Cant see them helping out homeless Roma or Black people.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

BNP have non white members so they're not exactly the Klan either. They're a far right political party, I don't like any extremes, right or left. In my honest opinion they're doing this as a political stunt to try and win back favour, their vote went down the toilet in last May's General Election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

I don't think the homeless people who are getting warm bedding and food really care where it comes from, Personally I think the BNP and their ilk should be banned organisations

this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,214 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

BNP have non white members

I'd say they fit in a telephone box

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭DarkyHughes

"Were giving homeless people our BNP message of hope" Lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

"Were giving homeless people our BNP message of hope" Lol

"you're never at the bottom of the heap if you can look down at other people - have a BNP Christmas"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭melissak

It is a dilemma for me. Not just the bnp but anyone you are opposed to. On one hand it is a good thing that anyone does good actions, but if these good actions are to promote what we consider to be bad intentions then what? I don't know at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,453 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Fair play to the BNP.

because sf do actually care. the BNP, well, don't
    They can't just be put into a house and expect their problems to be fixed.

absolutely agree. this is something the usual "lk aftr r own frst" types keep missing.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

melissak wrote: »
    It is a dilemma for me. Not just the bnp but anyone you are opposed to. On one hand it is a good thing that anyone does good actions, but if these good actions are to promote what we consider to be bad intentions then what? I don't know at all.

Well the Nazi's did a lot of good things for Germans, created jobs, built nice roads & did some other nice things all to get public opinion on their side for a conquest of Eastern Europe.

It's not a hard choice, doing good things for a evil end is bad.

Fair play to the BNP.

Ah the Orange brigade is out in full force this evening.

I always thought the BNP & other far-right British parties had a lot in common with Loyalists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Personally I think the BNP and their ilk should be banned organisations
    I think banning organisations is pretty fascist.

Do you think the Italian Fascist party should be unbanned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,084 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Nodin wrote: »

They would probably have a solution at hand for them. I'm trying to think of a word to describe it...terminal? Concluding? Culminating?

because sf do actually care. the BNP, well, don't

absolutely agree. this is something the usual "lk aftr r own frst" types keep missing.
    So Sinn Fein care because they are wonderful people? What a load of rubbish.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,084 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

So Sinn Fein care because they are wonderful people? What a load of rubbish.:rolleyes:

Pot, meet kettle!

Oh wait, they're both black. That won't do for a BNP apologist.

Ah the Orange brigade is out in full force this evening.

I always thought the BNP & other far-right British parties had a lot in common with Loyalists.
    Unlike the BNP, Unionists have political influence.

Which makes their bigoted ideologies more dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

If a paedophile helps an old lady to cross the road, he's still a ****ing paedophile.

Which makes their bigoted ideologies more dangerous.
    What are you on about? You have no problem voting for murderers, so why have a go at Unionist voters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

It doesn't make them a good group of people. Marginalising one group whilst helping another would make me think helping the former had alterior motives which would legitimatise and humanise their party, that way more people would support their group and not just seem them as crazy racists
    Doubt they give two ****s about the homeless. Just helps reach their main goal of demonising non white immigrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭Alexis Sanchez

If a paedophile helps an old lady to cross the road, he's still a ****ing paedophile.

It's kind of ironic that you should mention paedophiles because Pakistani child grooming gangs were fueling the BNP with votes by sexually abusing white girls.

It's no surprise that the National front was formed after "the British Nationality Act 1948 was passed to allow the 800 million subjects in the British Empire to live and work in the United Kingdom without needing a visa."

24 years later, they halted this.

The BNP and the National Front are ignorant bastards alright, but the root cause of the problem is mass immigration and multiculturalism not working.