Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you ever haggle?

• 17-12-2015 8:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,149 ✭✭✭

I haggle when I am buying a car, when I bought my house and buying souvenirs when I am abroad. I imagine boarders with a farming background haggle often. Do you? Are you good at it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

My mam is a master haggler. She'd get a €100 item for €20 on a good day.

I never do it. Don't have the bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,372 ✭✭✭893bet

Depends.

They say you can do it in harvey norman.

It depends on context. Buying things on DoneDeal or Adverts.ie has brought out my inner haggler. It's much easier when dealing with a regular person than dealing with, say, someone in retail. But will do it in a Harvey Normans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,752 ✭✭✭DeBurca

YES you can do it in Harvey Norman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Sprog 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,372 ✭✭✭893bet

DeBurca wrote: »
    YES you can do it in Harvey Norman

You have to or else you are being anally raped by "the man".

My wife want a 2.5 K couch from there......it looks like a nice couch but I just know its gonna wear like a cheap condom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I buy and sell stuff for a living.

Never accept the first price as the best one when buying, it's usual there's a better one there, but why would you expect the seller to willingly offer it, if he thinks you're happy with the first one?

When selling, always ask for more than you're actually looking for something, because of the reasons above.

There's certain guys I deal with, two or three times a week, lads who always need to "win", so it soon becomes second nature to add a small token sum on too your (actual) rock bottom price you're willing to sell at.

Gives them a feeling they've "won" something and have out-maneuvered you, even if both parties know it's a charade.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I will give you five euros for this thread.

I might haggle if I'm buying things from other people. Never in a large shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,149 ✭✭✭blackcard

My dad would haggle anywhere, in a restaurant, in a clothes shop, in the butchers. Used to be mortified but he nearly always got a good deal

blackcard wrote: »
    My dad would haggle anywhere, in a restaurant, in a clothes shop, in the butchers. Used to be mortified but he nearly always got a good deal

My friend has completely misunderstood the whole rounding up/down in the stops lately. In eurospar the other evening, the fella working oj the till tells him his bill comes to €17.44.

The mate spat in his palm, held it out and said "€15 do ya rightly"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Peregrine wrote: »

Make it four and you've got a deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

Peregrine wrote: »

Can you do it for €6 and we'll shake on it...

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Make it four and you've got a deal.
    Can you do it for €6 and we'll shake on it...
    Meet me halfway?

Wait, neither of you are the OP! It's a scam! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I actually love the haggling that goes on on adverts.

'Xbox one and FIFA 16 €200 ono. Must be collected.'

'Would ya take a collection of Western DvD's, an Italia 90 Ireland Jersey, and a Garth Brooks concert ticket?

And can ya deliver it?'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Can I Haggle?

No way, I stopped learning new dances after the Mashed Potato.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I haggle when I am buying a car, when I bought my house and buying souvenirs when I am abroad. I imagine boarders with a farming background haggle often. Do you? Are you good at it?
    Is this the best you can do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

A friend from the Phillipines tried to haggle over the price of her groceries in Dunnes Stores when she first moved to Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,149 ✭✭✭blackcard

I was expecting someone to say that they had haggled with a hooker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

I've walked away from my husband in shops. He tried to haggle in fecking Centra one day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,961 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

My mam is a master haggler. She'd get a €100 item for €20 on a good day.

Mine too. She had bad time in during the Celtic Tiger years, not because of the prices, but there were too many non-native English speakers on the tills. She'd find a t-shirt or a dress that she wanted to buy (usually for one of the grandchildren), then go rooting through the racks till she found one with stain on it, or bit of bad stitching and take that to the till and ask for a discount.

"Eeees 14.99"
    "Ah you can knock bit off, can't you?"
    "Eeees 14.99"
    "But look at way this seam's coming undone, you can't sell it at full price."
    "Eeees 14.99"
    ":mad:"

I've inherited that gene, but it's feck-all use with the French. They don't understand market economics. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

heldel00 wrote: »
    A friend from the Phillipines tried to haggle over the price of her groceries in Dunnes Stores when she first moved to Ireland!

Yeah Asia is a continent full of hagglers, theres no such thing as a fixed price there (except for maybe luxury goods, flights, etc). In China if you don't haggle you're viewed as being a bit simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I know a lad, Irish born & bred, who tried haggling the driver down on a regular dublin bus, had a few drinks in him but still. Was always at it in shops and worked more than I would have thought.
    Muahahaha wrote: »
    Yeah Asia is a continent full of hagglers, theres no such thing as a fixed price there (except for maybe luxury goods, flights, etc). In China if you don't haggle you're viewed as being a bit simple.
    I was in China & they would type the price in a calculator and hand it over, then you would minus whatever off it and hand it back, over and over.

I hate it all, its like the reverse of tipping, just tell me the fucking price you are willing to accept.

I was expecting someone to say that they had haggled with a hooker
    how do you make a female hormone? don't pay her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,596 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

if im in a store with bad service or bad attitude )you cant avoid them sometimes) then I ask what is the best you can do. hardware stores etc will discount a bit

in my local tools and hardware store I never haggle. in all the years I don't think I have asked for anything cheaper
    I always know the price of what im looking for else where if its close but a bit dearer I will buy it local just to support them. they know this and appreciate it.
    when they are the cheapest I will point it out just to show that I shopping around but buying from them . service is based on more than price

in all the years in there they have given me accessories and even a drill for free . they appreciate me so I treat them accordingly

I don't mind haggling on adverts etc but I always try to be realistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Estate agent told me she had another bidder that had put in an offer 5k more than me when buying my house. Fair enough I said and dropped my price by 5k and told her she had 24 hours to come back to me.

Got a call firsr thing the next morning, offer accepted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Do you ever haggle?

I'll rarely pay an asking price and I'll always get a nice discount. When I furnished the house a few years back, I reckon I saved about €8,500 through haggling in various stores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Was booking a pub for Xmas drinks. Asked for food and he quoted me a price. I gave him a lower one buy not by much and he then offered me an even lower one. Think he felt sorry for me with my **** haggling skills.

In hindsight should have asked him to just give us free finger food as I've just guaranteed him fifty paying customers for the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

There was a legendary haggler who would walk rings around you given the chance back in the 1980s. His name was Marvin. He was marvelous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭wilhelm roentgen

One of my Jewish friends is so tight he tried to haggle with a vending machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I'm too nice. I'd rather spend more on an object if the alternative was being drawn into a battle of wits. I don't like confrontation. Hold me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Oh crikey yes. Especially if it looks like I've got a Wide Boy 'avin a fackin' giraffe wiv me bruv, innit??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭wilhelm roentgen

Classic.....
    "Come on big nose let's haggle"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Corpus Twisty

I buy and sell stuff for a living.

Never accept the first price as the best one when buying, it's usual there's a better one there, but why would you expect the seller to willingly offer it, if he thinks you're happy with the first one?

When selling, always ask for more than you're actually looking for something, because of the reasons above.

There's certain guys I deal with, two or three times a week, lads who always need to "win", so it soon becomes second nature to add a small token sum on too your (actual) rock bottom price you're willing to sell at.

Gives them a feeling they've "won" something and have out-maneuvered you, even if both parties know it's a charade.
    I'm probably the only idiot who buys off you and never haggles...:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Corpus Twisty

I'm feckin gonna from now on tho...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

I'd a fella low-balling me on a car I was selling about a year ago. He was still trying to haggle by text 3 months after I sold it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

As someone who used to work in a clothes shop and a take away, all of those people who try to haggle the price in inappropriate places can go **** themselves.

I understand if it's a damaged item or whatever but if you're just haggling the price on the tag/menu then you can **** right off!!

I'm busy enough already, I don't need you wasting my damn time with your nonsense. I think there was something around 2010/2011 where some TV show or something encouraged people to haggle. It got way more common.

I took to doing this; if someone even tried haggling (usually after you'd detagged and put the item in a bag). I'd whip the item out of the bag and go to open the drawer with the tags and say in a really sing song overly nice voice 'ah so you don't want it then'. Nobody ever walked away, they always paid the full price.

The takeaway was worse but I was younger then so I would just get stressed out when people would try it. It's a take away! We don't have a 10% off button on the till. How on earth do you think I can take less money than I'm supposed to.

Also what makes you think I'm going to risk my job by giving you an unauthorised discount?

Working in retail is a thankless enough job, why make it even harder for them by chancing your arm when you have no chance especially if there is a queue of 3 people or so behind you. You're not buying a car or in market in Bangkok!

Don't get me started on the amount of people who would come to the till in the clothes shop with a sob story and ask for money off..... oh sure, you need that sparkly dress (we sold the kind of clothes you wear on a night out). That's definitely a necessity! I used to say 'Oh I'm sorry, I can't do that but maybe try Penney's, I was in there yesterday and they have some lovely stuff.' 9 times out of 10, they still bought the dress.

I'm feckin gonna from now on tho...

Ah you're one of my old hands that gets mates rates at the start.

**makes mental note to mention rising price of steel and rubber a lot**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Haggling is great, but there's a time and place for it! Nothing worst than some wealthy gobshlte haggling a third world marketeer to the lowest price ignoring cultural karma sensitivities!

I've sold and bought a good bit on adverts.ie and donedeal.ie and there's always been a bit of friendly haggling... all good and very agreeable, but once the deal was done it's all good. Very good natured and pleasurable.

I always give luck money and the amount of people that don't know what it is staggers me! The last few times I gave luck money back to youngfella's was met with immediate suspicion and skepticism! And these were proper Cork and Tip fella's!! They assumed the goods were faulty and that I was supplementing for some imaginary faults with the goods...

Is luck money not done any more?

(sold a surf board to an fifty something solid farming man from North Clare for his son, and it was a super board, perfect for a lad of his sons age and he properly kissed the money and hid it away in his clapped out landrover Defender and told me he'd give that luck money on to the next buyer on his cattle deal! legend)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

A fella bought an anvil of me earlier in the year and I was literally running out the gate after him with the luckspenny!:pac: They should start teaching proper lifeskills in school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

893bet wrote: »
    Depends.

They say you can do it in harvey norman.
    Dont forget, they have a midnight sale on now. The rarely have sales and dont advertise much so be quick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Fluffy Cat 88

No I don't.

Wouldn't ever occur to me but I never buy anything second hand or from market stalls. No point haggling in clothes shops, the chemist or the supermarket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

I'd definitely haggle, but it all depends on where you are. It's expected at markets and places like that but it's impossible in a big retail store where your talking to a kid that's working their for the summer.

My favourite technique is to look at something for ages - then when someone comes over ask how much it is - even though there's a big sticker with the price on it - say oh I don't have enough - immediately walk away (wait to hear the most beautiful words in the English language) "well how much do you have?" - bargain guaranteed! 😆

Of course it works great in a market or somewhere like that. Not a hope in most of the big retailers like pc world. Oh this laptop is E800?,let me just walk away - "how much do you have?"- E20 and half a breakfast roll - Sold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I was in tesco and the only jar of Gold Blend left in the display had a cracked lid... E7 they were at...So I asked the girl working at the reduced counter was it going to be marked down and she sent me to customer services. I got it for E5,50.... BUT! I NEVER, or almost never, let folk haggle at my market tall.. FIXED PRICE I say firmly although sometimes I say it has been higher... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I haggle in the supermarket. I fill the trolley to overflowing. After everything is scanned and bagged and I'm told the price, say 200 I'll offer 150.
    They usually refuse. I'll say grand so I'll leave it...put it all back yourselves...at which point they call security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

gramar wrote: »
    I haggle in the supermarket. I fill the trolley to overflowing. After everything is scanned and bagged and I'm told the price, say 200 I'll offer 150.
    They usually refuse. I'll say grand so I'll leave it...put it all back yourselves...at which point they call security.

roflol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Haggling is great, but there's a time and place for it! Nothing worst than some wealthy gobshlte haggling a third world marketeer to the lowest price ignoring cultural karma sensitivities!

I've sold and bought a good bit on adverts.ie and donedeal.ie and there's always been a bit of friendly haggling... all good and very agreeable, but once the deal was done it's all good. Very good natured and pleasurable.

I always give luck money and the amount of people that don't know what it is staggers me! The last few times I gave luck money back to youngfella's was met with immediate suspicion and skepticism! And these were proper Cork and Tip fella's!! They assumed the goods were faulty and that I was supplementing for some imaginary faults with the goods...

Is luck money not done any more?

(sold a surf board to an fifty something solid farming man from North Clare for his son, and it was a super board, perfect for a lad of his sons age and he properly kissed the money and hid it away in his clapped out landrover Defender and told me he'd give that luck money on to the next buyer on his cattle deal! legend)

I absolutely love the idea of "luck" money but I don't think that many people know about it? I wonder where it originated? I always took it to be a gesture of wishing someone good luck with the item you're selling.

I got it from my dad, who would always give a "few pound" back to someone buying anything from a cow to a car off him. A really nice tradition but I can see why someone would be skeptical if they'd never heard of it before :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Haggled a fiver off my christmas tree!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

IMO the 11th Commandment should have been, 'Thy must always haggle in a clothes shop'. The mark up in the rag trade is well known to be enormous. When I shop in my local mans shop I will always ask for a discount and will always get one. Bought clothes recently for 450 euro and after asking for a discount got them for 410 euro, that's nearly 10%. Also when you go to those outdoor markets type places, well that nearly goes without saying.

FYI I'm not talking about the already heavily discounted clothes shops like Pennys or even Dunnes/Tescos. You'd get a short shrift there if you tried to haggle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Agreed with other posters - there's a time and a place for haggling. Himself seems to have a knack for it, he seems to know when and where it will work and can charm a few bob off or something extra thrown in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,961 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    Haggled a fiver off my christmas tree!! :pac:

:cool: So did I! Although I think it was more a case of some weary shop assistant getting sloppy with the labels and staple gun, coz it's definitely not "80-100cm" :pac: