Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The damage I would do to her/I would smash it...

• 17-12-2015 6:39am

...just saw this on another thread.

"Kate Beckinsale, the damage I would do to her".

And I'm wondering what, what damage would the poster do? Would he like to inflict a little internal bruising perhaps, or bleeding, maybe some resistance so he could slap or choke her.

Either way, it seems to me to be such a violent phrase, but one that is getting more popular, along with other apparently violent phrases like "I would smash it".

Is it time to tone it down? Or are these phrases not based on violence at all? Or were they always used? Or is it fine and nothing to see here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

Men (and women) have been making crude comments about the quantity and quality if sexual prowess they'd display with their object of desire for pretty much ever. Not really something to get too worked up about.

We really are scraping the bottom of the outrage barrel at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Gaygooner

empty vessels make most noise, people who use these phrases are likely to go to bed each night and have a lonely **** and a cry

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

It's not as ba as the latent cannibals who do be making comments about cute babies.

tritium wrote: »
    Men (and women) have been making crude comments about the quantity and quality if sexual prowess they'd display with their object of desire for pretty much ever. Not really something to get too worked up about.

We really are scraping the bottom of the outrage barrel at this stage.

You say men and women have been using such phrases forever? Really? I didn't know that.

Could you tell me some phrase women used to describe sex with men and specifically the violence they would inflict from, say, the 1800s?

And who was "outraged"? To say something might be objectionable is not the same as saying one is outraged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I only recently found out that 'bate it into her' was a sexual reference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Oh for heaven sake. You're not meant to take it literally. If a person said: "I would love to have sexual intercourse with her and then kiss her mouth really passionately" they would sound odd. People exaggerate in the hope of conveying the level of their desire and perhaps add a little humour also. Not just with regards to sex, but many things. Like someone saying they are so hungry they are going to eat plate and all or a band saying they are going blow the roof off a venue. Intentional exaggeration is all it is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

and today on "why men are evil and must be stopped"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Are you for real, it's time to tone it up. Between this nonsense and the latest fad of 'toy guns create isis soldiers' let's all just sit at home and watch American gladiators.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

You say men and women have been using such phrases forever? Really? I didn't know that.

Could you tell me some phrase women used to describe sex with men and specifically the violence they would inflict from, say, the 1800s?

And who was "outraged"? To say something might be objectionable is not the same as saying one is outraged.

The agony of bliss. Victorian term for orgasm. La petite mort. The little death, more orgasm talk.

Unga bunga. Possibly Neanderthal for sweet sweet love.

MarkR wrote: »
    The agony of bliss. Victorian term for orgasm. La petite mort. The little death, more orgasm talk.

Hasn't heard the former.

Neither phrase conveys any sense of violence inflicted on the other, do they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Its a bloody outrage.

T-K-O wrote: »
    Are you for real, it's time to tone it up. Between this nonsense and the latest fad of 'toy guns create isis soldiers' let's all just sit at home and watch American gladiators.

I don't even know what this means?

ISIS? American gladiators?

Oh for heaven sake. You're not meant to take it literally. If a person said: "I would love to have sexual intercourse with her and then kiss her mouth really passionately" they would sound odd. People exaggerate in the hope of conveying the level of their desire and perhaps add a little humour also. Not just with regards to sex, but many things. Like someone saying they are so hungry they are going to eat plate and all or a band saying they are going blow the roof off a venue. Intentional exaggeration is all it is.

Ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

I know one is not meant to take it literally. Did you know that metaphors can convey violence? Evidently not. Well today you learned something new.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Menas wrote: »
    Its a bloody outrage.

Only certain times of the month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

Health and safety gone mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

The raven himself is hoarse
    That croaks the fatal entrance of Duncan
    Under my battlements. Come, you spirits
    That tend on mortal thoughts, unsex me here,
    And fill me from the crown to the toe top-full
    Of direst cruelty. Make thick my blood,
    Stop up th’access and passage to remorse,
    That no compunctious visitings of nature
    Shake my fell purpose, nor keep peace between
    Th’ effect and it. Come to my woman’s breasts,
    And take my milk for gall, you murd’ring ministers,
    Wherever in your sightless substances
    You wait on nature’s mischief. Come, thick night,
    And pall thee in the dunnest smoke of hell,
    That my keen knife see not the wound it makes,
    Nor heaven peep through the blanket of the dark,
    To cry ‘Hold, hold!’

- Lady Macbeth

(Now there was a woman with a certain way about her :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭well spoken man

What about smashing in her back door.might be about the high rise in burglaries.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Gaygooner wrote: »
    empty vessels make most noise, people who use these phrases are likely to go to bed each night and have a lonely **** and a cry

I can confirm this to be true :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

Given Shakespeare has long been acknowledged as full of sexual innuendo and the Victorians notorious for repressing sexual imagery ( which there was plenty of) I'm not sure why you can't just use Google to answer this-i don't intend chasing my tail doing research you didn't before asking your somewhat pointless question on this thread

I've said about men "oh Jesus he'd destroy you", or "imagine the damage he'd do to you".

That means I think he's hot as fcuk and I would gladly have some vigorous sex with him. It does not mean that I want internal bruising or bleeding!

tritium wrote: »
    Given Shakespeare has long been acknowledged as full of sexual innuendo and the Victorians notorious for repressing sexual imagery ( which there was plenty of) I'm not sure why you can't just use Google to answer this-i don't instead chasing my tail doing research you didn't before asking your somewhat pointless question on this thread

I love that old "no I can't think of one example so I'll say there are loads and you can find them yourself".

First used on day 2 of the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

OP asks a load of questions.... proceeds to get pissy when he doesn't get the answers he wants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Is it time to tone it down?

No.

Christ, I feel I've stumbled onto the set of a morning TV discussion show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 LittleLiar

OP, you have a filthy mind. Everyone knows the expressions you quoted refer to breaking a lady's heart.

You utter cad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

...just saw this on another thread.

"Kate Beckinsale, the damage I would do to her".

And I'm wondering what, what damage would the poster do? Would he like to inflict a little internal bruising perhaps, or bleeding, maybe some resistance so he could slap or choke her.

The phrase doesn't convey that the poster wants to or intends to do any damage to Kate Beckinsale any more than they want top or intend to actually 'pull the mickey off themselves' when Kate doesn't show up for her liaison dangereuse.

It's just a crude phrase.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    OP asks a load of questions.... proceeds to get pissy when he doesn't get the answers he wants.

Not in the slightest. Could you point to the posts you found "pissy" and we can have a look at the language in them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Ah sweet sufferin Jesus.

It's a turn of phrase. I've often said "Jaysus she'd destroy you", "she'd make bits of you" or "she'd laugh at your best".

None of them have actually happened to me or anyone I know. Ok, I lie. The last one happens to me regularly.

OP needs to get a grip. What a nonsense thread.

Also I have said "I would break him" in a situation where I'm quite strong and the guy would be athletic/long distance runner built - I.e. Skinnier than me.

That also means I think he's hot as fcuk and would like to have vigorous sex with him.

I don't want him to end up in a cast like.

Mmmmmm vigorous sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Not in the slightest. Could you point to the posts you found "pissy" and we can have a look at the language in them?

Stop taking yourself so seriously.

The phrase doesn't convey that the poster wants to or intends to do any damage to Kate Beckinsale any more than they want top or intend to actually 'pull the mickey off themselves' when Kate doesn't show up for her liaison dangereuse.

It's just a crude phrase.

Oh very possibly true. I appreciate that it may not mean a specific desire to hurt by the poster using it, because it was probably unthinking. But that doesn't mean it's origins are not violent, or at least as you say crude.

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Stop taking yourself so seriously.

Thanks for the analysis!

Now...about the topic?

OP completely ignores post from a woman talking about using such phrases.

Sex can be crude though, and sometimes rough if that's what you like, and that's ok!

Jaysus, sex on the BRAIN here. :pac:

This thread is having the exact opposite affect on me than it was probably meant to :pac: :o

Oh very possibly true. I appreciate that it may not mean a specific desire to hurt by the poster using it, because it was probably unthinking. But that doesn't mean it's origins are not violent, or at least as you say crude.

There's no thought put into saying it. No one says it and thinks they would genuinely cause damage if the day ever arises that Kate Beckinsale wants to have sex, vigorous or otherwise, with them.

There's no need to attach any more meaning to it than you would if they said "i'd love to treat her lovingly, bring her for dinner, then a stroll along the beach before having gentle sex listening to Lionel Richie"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Jaysus, sex on the BRAIN here. :pac:

Hangover horniness!

Whoops given your 3 quick posts being very sexual I'd say you've an awful mornin horn on ya. You'd destroy me the mood your in!!!

Turtyturd wrote: »
    OP completely ignores post from a woman talking about using such phrases.

Huh?

Read the OP again, where was I gender specific?

"A woman said it, that means it's grand so". Was that really your point?

Be right back - going for cold shower.

There's no thought put into saying it. No one says it and thinks they would genuinely cause damage if the day ever arises that Kate Beckinsale wants to have sex, vigorous or otherwise, with them.

There's no need to attach any more meaning to it than you would if they said "i'd love to treat her lovingly, bring her for dinner, then a stroll along the beach before having gentle sex listening to Lionel Richie"

Oh I certainly take the first point, that it may have been unthinking.

But it's still a violent metaphor. And one that I notice more and more, or it's said more openly. Was it Keyes and Gray who spoke of "smashing it" when they saw a female referee in a football match?

OP appears to have difficulty reading and comprehending points.

Menas wrote: »
    Hangover horniness!

Yeah, my fella gets that whereas I find hangovers to be the greatest vadge-drier ever. :(

Be right back - going for cold shower.

God help the loofah brush....don't break it

Oh I certainly take the first point, that it may have been unthinking.

But it's still a violent metaphor. And one that I notice more and more, or it's said more openly. Was it Keyes and Gray who spoke of "smashing it" when they saw a female referee in a football match?

And?

I don't know what your point is other than it's used a lot.

Do you think it's increasing use normalises sexual violence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Here you go. Instances where you come across sarky & smart.
    Ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

I know one is not meant to take it literally. Did you know that metaphors can convey violence? Evidently not. Well today you learned something new.
    I love that old "no I can't think of one example so I'll say there are loads and you can find them yourself".

First used on day 2 of the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Kate Bekinsales dad was in prison you know - known as Gobber inside - hard man, hung around with Fletcher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,315 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Between the nanny brigade and the pc brigade the world is well and truly going mad. Maybe we can bring in legislation and prosecute people for saying such crazy things.

Op, have you thought about starting a petition?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Hemerodrome

stoneill wrote: »
    Kate Bekinsales dad was in prison you know - known as Gobber inside - hard man, hung around with Fletcher.

I find this level of inaccuracy the most offensive thing about this thread. His name was Lenny Godber and he was a scared first timer, not a hard man. Be as wrong as you like about the increase in sexual violence, but Porridge is too important to get wrong.