Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tractor or loader

• 15-12-2015 9:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭

My 2010 new Holland now paid for and my own .its a new Holland t 5050 no issues with it serviced yearly and generally bullet proof .mist of my heavy work is contracted out (reseeding ,silage and 80% plus of slurry )I do a lot of loader work and will likely end up doing more as I'm thinking of going all bales next year,loader is pratically on tractor 365 days a year despite it only taking a few minutes to take it off
    Garage I bought it off was onto me re changing again ,options were a new t 5115 new Holland or a demo t6140 .100/110 Ho loads for me and don't see the need for the 6 140 .im thinking based on above keeping my 2010 model and buying a telescopic loader instead .what ye think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭White Clover

mahoney_j wrote: »
    My 2010 new Holland now paid for and my own .its a new Holland t 5050 no issues with it serviced yearly and generally bullet proof .mist of my heavy work is contracted out (reseeding ,silage and 80% plus of slurry )I do a lot of loader work and will likely end up doing more as I'm thinking of going all bales next year,loader is pratically on tractor 365 days a year despite it only taking a few minutes to take it off
    Garage I bought it off was onto me re changing again ,options were a new t 5115 new Holland or a demo t6140 .100/110 Ho loads for me and don't see the need for the 6 140 .im thinking based on above keeping my 2010 model and buying a telescopic loader instead .what ye think

I'd agree Mj. Would buy a jcb 520 40 or one like Dsw has. Great view of the implement in front

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

I'd agree Mj. Would buy a jcb 520 40 or one like Dsw has. Great view of the implement in front

I'm with loader all the way for ease of use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

+1000, so happy with this machine, I think I nearly spend more time in it than in the tractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

A loader is a way more robust and a stronger machine than any tractor.
    Pity that they don't fit them with lift arms a hitch and PTO.
    A telescopic ram would be handy for stacking loading bales and pushing in silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭White Clover

djmc wrote: »
    A loader is a way more robust and a stronger machine than any tractor.
    Pity that they don't fit them with lift arms a hitch and PTO.
    A telescopic ram would be handy for stacking loading bales and pushing in silage.

Merlo multifarmer has all of the above.
    Friend of mine who's a builder and a died in the wool manitou man calls them a snot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Loader all the way, u can go away and get the diet feeder then as well :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Looking at the spec of the JCB 520-40 there. Only 50hp, weighs 4.4t and 2t lift capacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

+1000, so happy with this machine, I think I nearly spend more time in it than in the tractor.

What sort of machine do u have dsw ,going to have a gwak at a new Holland before Xmas .everyone gunning for the loader so far ,so that's something .if I do get a loader I'll whip the loader of tractor ,that should spare a fair bit of ware and tear ,ohh and the shiny diet feeders in abbey machinery will be staying there milked out !!!,they are a serious machine to gobble up bales though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

At home we always had loaders caterpillar manitou. Always used the most. I have tractor f loader similar to yourself, what pi""es me off most is cleaning troughs with a narrow bucket and poor visibility. Your tractor is relatively new, so definitely go for a loader, would u consider selling f loader to offset cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Looking at the spec of the JCB 520-40 there. Only 50hp, weighs 4.4t and 2t lift capacity.

Not sure of the specs, but mine (520 50) has the same engine and hydraulic pump as a 2cx, it's 6 feet wide, 7 feet high, will lift two bales or a pallet of fert, can stack bales 4 high, and is the neatest most manouverable machine I've ever had around the yard.
    My biggest prob was trying to convince myself it was big enough to do what I needed it to do, cos it looks like a glorified forklift!
    It did and more.

kevthegaff wrote: »
    At home we always had loaders caterpillar manitou. Always used the most. I have tractor f loader similar to yourself, what pi""es me off most is cleaning troughs with a narrow bucket and poor visibility. Your tractor is relatively new, so definitely go for a loader, would u consider selling f loader to offset cost?

Probably not Kev as like yourself I'm working solo mostly ,for bales anyway I could load them with tractor in field and use loader in yard and stack bales 4 high ,current loader dosnt have the reach and no point having 2 machines up and down road with an extra driver like a yo yo

Maybe a skits terr or what dsw was saying, loader Is handy. Might curtail expansion plans and buy a tm with bigger power myself, sick of pulling 1300 gallon tank vertical, with the amount of slurry I have:-(

Any lad with an umbilical system near ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Have had a similar dilemma here over the last year or so, trade up or get another loader. Sitting tight for now with what I got, maybe if the milk price hits 39cent and I've a huge tax problem ha. But I think if I was to get anything it would be a digger with a removable backhoe, use it to feed over the winter and put the backhoe on over the summer, I'm fairly tidy in a digger as is, but hard enough to justify hiring one for a week etc as I usually have 4/5hrs of work to do between milking etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

I get an urge here every so often for a Telehandler around the place aswell. But my issue is that from March to Nov it wouldn't be doing too much. What I have in the yard is a skidsteer. It would be one of those things I'd never ever get rid of. And is working all year round. This time of year she scraping and shoving in silage. Spring time does calf sheds aswell. During the grazing season scraping and loading fert into the spreader. Around the yard they are hard to beat. But you can't go off solid ground with them. She'll lift nearly as much as the tractor. It'll bomb around the yard with 800kgs on the front of it. Bucket is 6ft wide and machine is 5 so it will clean out every corner. Everything that goes on the tractor loader will go on the skidsteer. Its able to reach high enough to fill the dump trailer with dung, or 1/2 ton fert bags over the spreader. It's done away with anything with a timber handle in my place.
    MJ what I watch for is that you are a man show. No point getting a telescopic if it means you have to get help during the summer to drive a tractor while you are on the handler. Watch for buying two machines that can only do 1 job.
    Keep your eye on the type of farming you are doing... The 1 man show. (Probably not what you want to hear)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

If alone prob tractor and loader. If you're buying loader do NOT under any circumstances buy a Manipoo, bastard yokes. Lego make better stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Timmaay wrote: »
    Have had a similar dilemma here over the last year or so, trade up or get another loader. Sitting tight for now with what I got, maybe if the milk price hits 39cent and I've a huge tax problem ha. But I think if I was to get anything it would be a digger with a removable backhoe, use it to feed over the winter and put the backhoe on over the summer, I'm fairly tidy in a digger as is, but hard enough to justify hiring one for a week etc as I usually have 4/5hrs of work to do between milking etc.

Tbh taking the back arm off would be a right pain and when you take it off you'd need a counter weight on it really.

If alone prob tractor and loader. If you're buying loader do NOT under any circumstances buy a Manipoo, bastard yokes. Lego make better stuff
    we find them ok but parts expensive, I'd prefer skidsteer myself. Manitou replaced cat 910 (best loader ever built) and has been grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

We have a couple of tractor loaders, a telescopic and an industrial loader.

The lads like the telescopic but I don't. No visibility on the right hand side. I've only driven it once....

The industrial loaders are the job. Robust and dependable. Easy enough pick up an L30/50/70 for small money (€14k+) and they last a generation. Family at home have an L70 with 28k hours on it and it's perfect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Dawggone wrote: »
    We have a couple of tractor loaders, a telescopic and an industrial loader.

The lads like the telescopic but I don't. No visibility on the right hand side. I've only driven it once....

The industrial loaders are the job. Robust and dependable. Easy enough pick up an L30/50/70 for small money (€14k+) and they last a generation. Family at home have an L70 with 28k hours on it and it's perfect.

If Volvo did an artic with a tele arm that's what I'd have. My kids kids could still be using it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

before buying the t6.140 here we were looking at loaders. would have to spend around the 30k mark to get anything worth having. as said above we thought it is too much to spend as from march to nov it would be idle most of the time. We needed the tractor anyway also.

no problems so far with t6. good to pull, easy enough on fuel, 2000 gal tank on about 1 mile draw with a good enough hill using about 7 litres per hour!! Adblue not the issue the rest will tell you it is, get close on 200 hours from a fill, depends what work you doing. she is a 110 horse power tractor, the boost does work (you'd notice it in high gears) but no point saying its a 140 horse power tractor. carrys 1.5 ton fert, has anti bounce on 3 pt linkage so takes the sting out of it for heavy loads, went for 16x16 gear box.

though if you buy a loader your only one step away from going down the road to abbey for the tub ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

If Volvo did an artic with a tele arm that's what I'd have. My kids kids could still be using it

+1.
    The Carlsberg of loaders!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

+one question im surprised hasnt been asked is what hours did you do on the 5050.bought an old massey loader myself for around the yard.2wd so it never leaves the yard but its feirce handy. the quick attach is the same as the new holland so if she gives trouble just pull the grab off and on to new holland,so i wasnt as paniky about going fresh but fair play not an ounce of bother

Have an 86 jcb 412 18700 hrs on it. Going well but then no electrics or anything to go wrong on it either. Neighbour upgraded to a 2000 412. Lovely machine to drive but will see in the coming years what she's like to maintain. Most contractors seem to have gone to volvo alright. Visibility is great out of artic loaders but if u have space in yard telescopic can be fine, drove one when working in coop when younger and didn't like it but that wasn't a farm model. I find I can get loader in to most sheds due to the artic steer and handles big shear grabs no bother. The one dsw has would tempt me alright but I have limited concrete around the yard here so a machine that will be stable and move itself and load around yard and field is important.

Cow Porter wrote: »
    before buying the t6.140 here we were looking at loaders. would have to spend around the 30k mark to get anything worth having. as said above we thought it is too much to spend as from march to nov it would be idle most of the time. We needed the tractor anyway also.

no problems so far with t6. good to pull, easy enough on fuel, 2000 gal tank on about 1 mile draw with a good enough hill using about 7 litres per hour!! Adblue not the issue the rest will tell you it is, get close on 200 hours from a fill, depends what work you doing. she is a 110 horse power tractor, the boost does work (you'd notice it in high gears) but no point saying its a 140 horse power tractor. carrys 1.5 ton fert, has anti bounce on 3 pt linkage so takes the sting out of it for heavy loads, went for 16x16 gear box.

though if you buy a loader your only one step away from going down the road to abbey for the tub ;)
    Sure tis only a few miles from me anyway!!!

keep going wrote: »
    +one question im surprised hasnt been asked is what hours did you do on the 5050.bought an old massey loader myself for around the yard.2wd so it never leaves the yard but its feirce handy. the quick attach is the same as the new holland so if she gives trouble just pull the grab off and on to new holland,so i wasnt as paniky about going fresh but fair play not an ounce of bother

Currently 3100 hours and it was 5 years old in October ,sure it's only just broken in ,dealer told me it was high hours though .smashing tractor the t 5050,small compact and meets my needs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Currently 3100 hours and it was 5 years old in October ,sure it's only just broken in ,dealer told me it was high hours though .smashing tractor the t 5050,small compact and meets my needs

And I suppose you agreed that it was high hours 😂 . No wonder he wants you to change. He could move it on in about a week and have cash for Christmas

It's below average hours ,I know it and so dose he looking for circa 40 k along with my own for a t 6140 .i laughed and told him go again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭jaymla627

It's below average hours ,I know it and so dose he looking for circa 40 k along with my own for a t 6140 .i laughed and told him go again

He wouldn't be far out if it's a top spec t6140 with wide tyres and a new high spec loader, your own tractor would be worth around 35,000, think a t6140 is around 60 including vat and tag on another 10 for a loader....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

There's only 2 really options when your buying new machines.
    Drive them into the ground and get nothing for them when ye need to upgrade or keep fresh every few yrs and pay repayments.
    Our massey at 1800 hrs now and we won't have her 2 yrs till May. Only option for us would be to upgrade again when payments are done. I'd still be looking 40k for her with 5k hrs done though

I'd go loader mj and keep your tractor and loader
    There's a man in kerry advertises on donedeal alot. Has very clean second hand jcbs. Don't know what he's like to deal with though

I'm looking at a second tractor myself, tm 150 02 good tyres 800 hrs dealer knows where it's coming from, 30k a bit steep.? Heard they're a great tractor, only have the deposit so hel arrange finance, dealer i know for along time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭jaymla627

I'm looking at a second tractor myself, tm 150 02 good tyres 800 hrs dealer knows where it's coming from, 30k a bit steep.? Heard they're a great tractor, only have the deposit so hel arrange finance, dealer i know for along time

If engine/gearbox is good it would be about its value, you'd want six months warranty on it though uncle runs a large new Holland dealership and a lot of tm's get traded in around these hours just as the head/gearbox is starting to give up talking 8 grand plus for a engine rebuild and around 5 for a gearbox overhaul....
    straight price with no comeback would be around 25 if buying private and you had the price of it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Zr105 wrote: »
    Tbh taking the back arm off would be a right pain and when you take it off you'd need a counter weight on it really.

On the old mf 50bs etc it was supposedly very easy to drop off the whole back, and get a counter weight box made up, can't be done with a 3cx or fermec 860 which is a shame, I'm not sure about case or NH back hoes, that is the main stumbling block. I defo couldn't be arsed with a 50b, even if I found a mint one, controls pain in the arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

another thing is if your going for bales with a trailer its a one man job with tractor+loader

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Drive them into the ground and get nothing for them when ye need to upgrade or keep fresh every few yrs and pay repayments.
    Our massey at 1800 hrs now and we won't have her 2 yrs till May. Only option for us would be to upgrade again when payments are done. I'd still be looking 40k for her with 5k hrs done though

There's a man in kerry advertises on donedeal alot. Has very clean second hand jcbs. Don't know what he's like to deal with though

Clancy in Knockanure.... A1 to deal with

just to throw a few figures around,40 k over 3000hrs is 13 euros an hr which isnt bad for "that getting up on the tractor and she goes"feeling which may not be the case with 2 5 year plus machines. few years back we had a old loader that gave a bit of trouble and the biggest problem was that when she did it was with cows with empty troughs so she either had to be fixed that day or there was always pressure on to fix her which resulted in expensive repairs which had to be done quickly.if you do buy a loader will your tractor be able to feed the cows if the loader breaks down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

We've been using a teleporter for the last 10/11 years now and would struggle to ever go back to the tractor and loader. Couple of down sides though, very slow on the road, visibilty so so and wheels never line up fully right when swapping steering modes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

did you have to spend much money on her since you got it. I often feel old things like them are fierce handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Timmaay wrote: »
    On the old mf 50bs etc it was supposedly very easy to drop off the whole back, and get a counter weight box made up, can't be done with a 3cx or fermec 860 which is a shame, I'm not sure about case or NH back hoes, that is the main stumbling block. I defo couldn't be arsed with a 50b, even if I found a mint one, controls pain in the arse.

It can be done relatively easy on the older ones if it's been done before, but if it's never been touched the big u bolts that hold on the subframe can be rusted solid into them and will need to be gassed out of it.. And not the nice easy heat it up and whack it sorta gas, then burn the bolt out of the hole type :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

In my 3rd winter with a Kramer 580. Like others have said, don't think I could go back to the tractor loader for winter feeding.

Zr105 wrote: »
    It can be done relatively easy on the older ones if it's been done before, but if it's never been touched the big u bolts that hold on the subframe can be rusted solid into them and will need to be gassed out of it.. And not the nice easy heat it up and whack it sorta gas, then burn the bolt out of the hole type :(
    you cant take off the whole backactor but you can take off the arm (after forgetting the correct word its called). Easy 10 minute job. just pull out a few pins and put a block off in the pipes. I used to do it before in my 860 but havnt done it now with a while. This is what you are left with
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P3q6JgBiC_U

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Carrigogunnell

Any one who tends to buy a loader says they would never be without again.you say your thinking about going to all bales how many bales would that be. If you draw the bales with tractor and loader and unload with loader in yard it would be more comfortable faster and better in tight areas.

1300 plus bales ,starting to think loader might be a real good idea now .keep my own tractor and loader and go shopping early janurary

It could prob handle one of those bale shears where a tractor loader wouldnt without putting pressure on tractor, if you were to stick with that number of bales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

That's a fair lot of going on the 56.

f140 wrote: »
    did you have to spend much money on her since you got it. I often feel old things like them are fierce handy.

one ram seal,done for 50e.oil light switch,12.50e,foward reverse switch fell off so had to put a spot on it.an extra lamp on top of the cab to give more light.a couple drums oil and a set of filters.she was missing the diesel cap for while so tank got dirt in it which i had to drain out but i cant blame her for that.i must admit she is left at things and has buckraked the silage so she is being worked.shes a 50 h so your up nice and high to give good vision.in the 50b s you were very low in the cab

cheap fixes so. were you able to put up all a full silage pit with it just having 2wd? what machine were you keeping it up from- a Mengele or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭stanflt

I've a 115a and was thinking of a teleporter like you mj back in October

Using 5 bales a day plus the pit silage at the moment

Was thinking sure it would be great to have a nice machine but hey what is wrong with the yoke I have- more to life than machinery
    Gonna spend the money on a new l200 for bringing the young lad around if I pass the herd test tomorrow

stanflt wrote: »
    I've a 115a and was thinking of a teleporter like you mj back in October

Using 5 bales a day plus the pit silage at the moment

Was thinking sure it would be great to have a nice machine but hey what is wrong with the yoke I have- more to life than machinery
    Gonna spend the money on a new l200 for bringing the young lad around if I pass the herd test tomorrow

I got a ford ranger for that Stan !!!,best of luck with the herd test by the way .just opend today's post and got a nice offer of 0% finance on a new lely calf feeder .......,I'm still waiting to see decent design plans and something I like in a calf shed though so that plan is on hold !!

f140 wrote: »
    cheap fixes so. were you able to put up all a full silage pit with it just having 2wd? what machine were you keeping it up from- a Mengele or something?

ì better explain,strautman wagon with 240hp massey(contractor),dual wheels on her and the first couple cuts go in the front but after that theres a bank on the back so we back the wagon on to the pit so its easy on her.mightnt handle mad wet slippy silage but so far no problems and i always have NH for back up