Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When Did It Start To Feel Like Christmas?

• 15-12-2015 3:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭

Has it started to feel a bit like Christmas for you yet? Does it only feel like Crimbo on your last day of work? Or is it like my mother-in-law says, its when they start to put snow on top of words on the papers / milk cartons / etc

For me, its watching I'm a Celebrity. That has come to be the tradition in our house, as its almost a countdown to crimbo (and an excuse to break out the chocs!)

Whats your moment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I've been turning on Christmas FM for a while every evening.

The tree goes up tonight so that'll be the proper start of it for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

When I went to my online banking this morning and got a fright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I'm doing exams at the moment, so it won't start to feel like Christmas until they're over (on Thursday, thankfully). Hoping to get my Christmas shopping done on Friday, so I can avoid any last-minute stress next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

When I could see toys in every store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Felt pretty Christmassy at the weekend, but felt like darkest January monday morning.. UGH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Watched Scrooged hungover on Sunday. That did it for me.

And no, YOU had something in your eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,770 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

It is just another working day for me, a day that people are encouraged to spend too much money on, have this idyllic Christmas with everything perfect.

I lost interest in Christmas a few years back, my mother died around this time, last year three of my dogs stolen before Christmas, the days are dark and I don't really care about the work that is made over the day.
    I buy presents for people who expect them but I don't care about presents. It is great for children but for me I lost the feeling of Christmas.
    I said it to my sister and she was surprised, but she has a family so it is different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭valoren

When watching the Patrick Stewart version of A Christmas Carol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

3rd January

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

When tree was up on Firday and general buzz in the air. Also the draining of funds due to presents, parties and taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,813 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Hasn't felt like it yet but it's our Xmas do on Friday so maybe it will kick in then...

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Hasn't felt like Christmas at all this year. Think the older you get the less magic it is. Until maybe you get kids of your own I hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Nah not feeling like much fun this year at all for me, the terrible weather has me driven demented at this stage.

Sick of getting pissed also, just one big waste that ends up making me feel worse in the long run. Looking forward more to the new year and trying to make a few changes.

As soon as Hallowe'en is over, I start getting excited for Christmas. I love Christmas though. The stretch from late October to the New Year is my favourite time of the year.

It really is the most wonderful time of the year. Everyone is nicer around Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Ziegfeldgirl27

Usually I love Christmas but I am just not feeling it this year. I actually am looking forward to it being over.
    I put the Christmas tree up the day after the toy show but even after looking at it for the last couple of weeks I can't wait to take it back down again.

Christmas is quite a sad and lonely time for some people. It really saddens me when people go absolutely mental buying stuff and spending huge amounts of money. For me, that is not what it is about.

I am just looking forward to some time off work and a nice time at home with my family. Nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Candie wrote: »
    As soon as Hallowe'en is over, I start getting excited for Christmas. I love Christmas though. The stretch from late October to the New Year is my favourite time of the year.

It really is the most wonderful time of the year. Everyone is nicer around Christmas.

I don't think everybody is nicer at all, the street violence and drunken brawls escalate around this time of year. There were terrible scenes on the streets of my hometown last Saturday night and there'll be more to come, I pity the gardai, I really do.

Last September when I wandered down the Seasonal Goods aisle in Tesco Naas and spotted the shelves of Selection Boxes and Tins of biscuits, I knew it was Christmas.
    What really re-inforced that feeling was when they started the 3 for €5 selection box offer just before Halloween.
    Am already looking forward to the Easter Eggs in January. Once those Cadbury Creme egg adverts hit the screen, you know it's Easter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

I don't think everybody is nicer at all, the street violence and drunken brawls escalate around this time of year. There were terrible scenes on the streets of my hometown last Saturday night and there'll be more to come, I pity the gardai, I really do.
    Christmas to me is about 2 things in Ireland drink and kids. If you have no interest in either well then its a load of ****. And the weather is feckin awful.

I don't drink, it's never stopped me loving Christmas. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭KenjiOdo

Maybe next week..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Started seen those adds for Christmas saving clubs on the telly around June. Haven't looked back since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Do shift work, so dont actually finish for Xmas. But last of decorations done today, some decent Xmas songs and radio today, and plans being made for nights out over the holiday. So kinda feeling bit Christmassy at the mo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I work in retail. Fûck Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Finally got the tree, lights and decorations up tonight. My sitting room looks cosy and delightful. Right now, I'm listening to Wham's "Last Christmas" and feeling merry... though,I suspect the rum and cola have something to do with that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,813 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

thelad95 wrote: »
    I work in retail. Fûck Christmas.

I hope you don't work in the service industry..

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

It started feeling like Christmas to me when I was three.
    Didn't take much notice before that to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Today when I finished my exams! Haven't had a drink since October. Going to decorate the tree tonight and have a glass of wine. Screw presents. Have some time off and a few friends are coming home for Xmas so am looking forward to the next week or two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Up to my eyeballs at work and will be until the Tuesday evening. After that I hope to be able to enjoy a nice break until the 4th of January. Plenty of food, wine, relaxation.

Presents all sorted thankfully, visa card is going to burst into flames in January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

It'll be feeling it on Sunday when I get home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I saw a good one on facebook today:

It's not christmas until I see Hans Gruber fall off the Nakatomi Plaza.

Its not Christmas until the Guinness ad airs. A masterpiece

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭French_Girl

This Friday, when I'm officially off work for the holidays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

From 8th December, don't know why, but in my head thats the official start of the Christmas hype ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭CFlat

This Friday, when I'm officially off work for the holidays.

Bon vacances:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭CFlat

To me it's a weather thing. Ideally snow but at least cold enough that you have to wear gloves and a scarf. I was in Dublin this evening and it was so mild it just didn't feel Christmassy. I have all my shopping done too but not feeling it yet. Maybe next week...

I don't know what I'd do if I lived in one of those southern hemisphere countries this time of year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Two minutes ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭ArtyC

Not feeling it at all his year, been a Crap year... Normally can pull myself out of it but finding it tough to do now.... Jealous of these jolly Christmas people 😫

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I'm still waiting...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Gaygooner

Dec 15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

This is my first Christmas away from home so I don't feel Christmassy at all. Won't know what to do with myself on Christmas day

• Site Banned Posts: 137 ✭✭MaryAntoinette

When Ann Theresa the cuint put her tree up for show it was time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 126 ✭✭Whyohwhy?

Not yet for me, no kids so don't be putting up a tree either. And it was 15 fcukin degrees at half two walking home from star wars earlier... Not Christmas weather at all. Maybe next week it'll kick in. A load of bollix tbh without kids that believe in the jolly fat fcuk in your house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Totally agree. I intend to drop a Christmas card in at the local station. And I am never out at night and would never be.

it goes in phases for me. First has been the Christmas Craft Fairs starting end of November.. vital fundraising for family working with the homeless.. last one was Macroom on Tuesday where I nearly had to take to a boat. Now as soon as my stock has dried out, I will move into my home Christmas... small tree, lights etc. Will be blessedly alone; am too old and exhausted to do more. Love the peace up here on the mountain.. a holy time..... The fun part is watching prices tumble as the Great Food Price War is ON! Roses etc now 4.99 and fruit and veg way down. Stocking up for the year! Love the shops at this time; all the lights and glitter.. For me a holy time...Love the day! Sharing a small turkey with my five rescued cats and dog.. they have it raw.. Good fire, snug and away from the weather.

This is my first Christmas away from home so I don't feel Christmassy at all. Won't know what to do with myself on Christmas day

Enjoy it; if you are that way minded lots of hands needed at shelters and soup kitchens. I used to dread it as I am alone but age has settled that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Graces7 wrote: »
    Enjoy it; if you are that way minded lots of hands needed at shelters and soup kitchens. I used to dread it as I am alone but age has settled that.

I shall be rounding up the other Irish in Toronto for a slap up Christmas dinner!! (I'm having dinner in a friends house and I'm bring the potatoes )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭French_Girl

CFlat wrote:
    Bon vacances

Merci, Monsieur.

LIGHTS ARE UP and the big window looks a delight.. NB the lights from Penneys are grand but the ones from DEALZ flickered and died.. ah well! Will take them back as I have the receipt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

Today :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

I thought it was Christmas way back when Christmas FM started broadcasting, and then when we got our tree up and other little phases; but the last week hasn't felt at all like Christmas. Working long hours in an office just isn't that festive, no matter how many Christmas raffles HR runs
    Hoping it'll all come back when I get out of work this evening and get first home to wife and daughter