Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The packaging on black and white pudding is a joke

• 14-12-2015 3:36am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 187 ✭✭

How have none of the brands come up with a decent way to package them so they can be as easy and mess free to open as the sasuages they accompany?

What other food packaging annoys you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

When I buy my bags of air there seems to be some crusty potatoey type debris down the bottom of the packaging

Kind of annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

warpdrive wrote: »
    How have none of the brands come up with a decent way to package them so they can be as easy and mess free to open as the sasuages they accompany?

I think you are doing it wrong ?

cut the end off with a very sharp knife, run the same knife down long-ways almost the full length, then turn the pack inside out.

then slice it to suit .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 DOJ

I think you are doing it wrong ?

cut the end off with a very sharp knife, run the same knife down long-ways almost the full length, then turn the pack inside out.

then slice it to suit .....

Or the slow way of cutting the end off then cutting slices off to (your preferred) thickness and then removing the wrapper

^^^ is probably the op's way of doing it but it only takes a few seconds between turning other food on the pan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭kettlehead

In frying up a damn good black and white sandwich. Sure didn't our lord himself pause for the cup of tea and sambos?

Lash some puddings onto a pan, Kerrygold some bread....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

op probably just has a **** knife

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

All I can gather from the OP is that he's cooking breakfast. Nice one, I'll have a fried egg, two hash browns and that pudding. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Knew a lad in college who used to slice up the pudding and fry it in the PLASTIC casing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Black and white pudding - puke :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Ha, OP made at half three in the morning. Good man :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

kettlehead wrote: »
    Sure didn't our lord himself pause for the cup of tea and sambos?
    No he didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Crisps

Open the bag, it's mostly air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Knew a lad in college who used to slice up the pudding and fry it in the PLASTIC casing.

I do that sometimes too, makes no difference to the cooking of it, you can eat even it raw you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Small sachets of coffee at work.
    Now seem to pick up only sachets that have already been strangled to death and yet not actually opening to release the contents.

I do that sometimes too, makes no difference to the cooking of it, you can eat even it raw you know.

Raw pudding is the shizz.

Yes. I said shizz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Find that most resealable bags of anything are rubbish. 'Now with new resealable bag!' *groan*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭GBX

It aint fully raw though is it. Its grand to be eating without it going near a bit of heat.

GBX wrote: »
    It aint fully raw though is it. Its grand to be eating without it going near a bit of heat.

Yeah, well it's already cooked, I suppose cold is the property culinary term.

Sometimes I like to cut pudding really fine and cook fry for a bit. Then you eat them like biscuits or crisps.

I'm very sophisticated.

What's the best kind of pudding just for on toast with butter?

Don't be giving me yer clonakilty rubbish now, clonakilty is lovely for a breakfast salad or something. But for just on toast it has to be a smoothy woothy one. I used to love Hicks of Dun Laoghaire, but it's just not the same anymore since they sold their recipe to some big boys :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

DOJ wrote: »
    Or the slow way of cutting the end off then cutting slices off to (your preferred) thickness and then removing the wrapper
    If you're using a standard chopping knife to cut a 10mm slice off the end this might not work brilliantly, it'll just crush the pudding. Protip: In this scenario, stab the end of the knife into the packaging first to get you started and then your chopping knife will slice cleanly straight through the wrapper and the pudding without having to do a furious back-and-forth motion.

Don't be giving me yer clonakilty rubbish now, clonakilty is lovely for a breakfast salad or something. But for just on toast it has to be a smoothy woothy one. I used to love Hicks of Dun Laoghaire, but it's just not the same anymore since they sold their recipe to some big boys :(

This is why I never invite big city folk to dinner parties. I only give my guests two choices for the meal, take it or leave it. :)

I want it for MY house, not yours backward man.

Would ye go out with someone who had a differing view on pudding? I have to admit, it would definitely be something I'd want to know before I'd start thinking of kids or anything.

c_man wrote: »
    Would ye go out with someone who had a differing view on pudding? I have to admit, it would definitely be something I'd want to know before I'd start thinking of kids or anything.

Oh god, imagine she wouldn't go to the same butchers as you and you had to eat mediocre sausages and pudding?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I was cooking black and white pudding yesterday morning and thought the exact same thing. Something like a spiral tab you can peel off as you go down.

None of you bastards steal my idea now.

But it from a butchers and you don't have that plasticy thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

I wish it had a little string to pull, like the little Dairylea triangles used to have. Pull up tab at one end, then pull downwards R-rr-ip. and it magically separates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

Crisps

Open the bag, it's mostly air.

I actually read today that it isn't! Turns out they fill the bags with nitrogen, which helps the crisps stay fresh for longer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

You can't cut open a black pudding without making a bollocks of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Kev W wrote: »
    I actually read today that it isn't! Turns out they fill the bags with nitrogen, which helps the crisps stay fresh for longer.

Air is mostly nitrogen. So crisp bags are filled with mostly, mostly air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

somebody need to do something about the pudding wrapper. its a total deign nightmare.

you basically force you knife through the packaging to get to the pudding.
    I have never seen anyone ever wash a pudding wrapper before opening it. but I always see people dropping puddings, rolling around In the the shopping trolley or handled by people.

I often see people wash the pan, get a clean knife and cutting board then put the dirty pudding on the cutting board to open it then put the pudding on top of the now dirty board.

god only knows what bacteria are on the wrapper. and as a result on the food on the inside.

if a slice fell on the floor or even off the board they would throw it away

I have never seen anyone ever wash a pudding wrapper before opening it. but I always see people dropping puddings, rolling around In the the shopping trolley or handled by people.

But if you're cooking it in a frying pan then you're killing the bacteria so...meh!

that's true I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Kelly's :)

http://www.kellysbutchers.com/kellys-puddings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

Streaky Rashers - the pack says 10 but what you get is 2 clumps of bacon which you then have the prize apart surgically to find the 10 separate rashers.

In the meantime by the time you've peeled rasher number 3 apart the first 2 are either cooked or maming you with hot fat so in the end you just lash the rest in and end up with 3 rashers and one lump of thick bacon (and a burned hand)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

somebody need to do something about the pudding wrapper. its a total deign nightmare.

I often see people wash the pan, get a clean knife and cutting board then put the dirty pudding on the cutting board to open it then put the pudding on top of the now dirty board.

god only knows what bacteria are on the wrapper. and as a result on the food on the inside.

if a slice fell on the floor or even off the board they would throw it away

Bacteria are good for you.

kneemos wrote: »
    Bacteria are good for you.

I agree up to a point.
    there are loads of bacteria that can kill you or make you really sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

It's the inevitable consumption of melted plastic that concerns me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

And then you cook the pudding, which kills any bacteria it has gathered in the course of all this.

And you wash the knife before using it for anything else, and you have a separate chopping board for your meat and non-meat, right? Because otherwise you're lining yourself up for food poisoning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

What really grinds my gears are those f*cking children's toys which are impossible to open because of all the packaging and plastics wires holding the thing in place. It takes ages to get it out!!! You look completely incompetent around nieces and nephews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Kev W wrote: »
    Air is mostly nitrogen. So crisp bags are filled with mostly, mostly air.
    They're shafting us on the air. No carbon dioxide? No oxygen? That's not air.
    seamus wrote: »
    And you wash the knife before using it for anything else, and you have a separate chopping board for your meat and non-meat, right? Because otherwise you're lining yourself up for food poisoning.
    No, I'm training my immune system to be ninjas.

It's the inevitable consumption of melted plastic that concerns me
    You peel it off before you eat it?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,828 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Mmmm.... carcinogenic.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Scissors packed in a bubble pack that you need a scissors to open...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

Ruu wrote: »
    Find that most resealable bags of anything are rubbish. 'Now with new resealable bag!' *groan*

This, a million times this. Could they not just stay with the original packaging ffs?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 178 ✭✭BenedrylPete

Any of the so called 'easy close' chocolate bars from cadburys.

Yes they probably are easy to close - thats if you ever manage to get the fcking thing open.

easy close. yeah so is a fcking bank vault.

hugely headwrecking when you've got a horn on for some chocolate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

White pudding is absolutely disgusting. Clonakilty and Ashe's are lovely black puddings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

White pudding is absolutely disgusting. Clonakilty and Ashe's are lovely black puddings

Well you are entitled to your opinion...

thinks

...no you're not :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Supervalue in Killiney SC have started to sell it again. It's the only place selling it apart from Hicks. Had some last weekend and it was delish, like years ago.