Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ideal time to start 12 pubs at?

• 10-12-2015 10:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭

what time to start 12 pubs at if we plan to go to nightclub after, so 11th pub done by 11:30pm.

I heard to start early as possible from someone but someone else said you'd feel terrible come pub 11 if you start too early

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

Paddyg96 wrote: »
    what time to start 12 pubs at if we plan to go to nightclub after, so 11th pub done by 11:30pm.

I heard to start early as possible from someone but someone else said you'd feel terrible come pub 11 if you start too early

Don't do it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Your going to feel terrible either way if your drinking the full 12 pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Late enough that you'll miss most of the pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭JohnnyChimpo

Drink 12 pints and have a dance afterwards? God that sounds awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Paddyg96

I'm going to do it! anyone who has done it got any helpful advice ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

12 pubs was soooo last year, it's 24 pubs now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

9am on a monday morning. The 12 pubs is for twats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Only silly people believe you should do this.

Who in their right mind wants to make themselves ill?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Swiftly

You don't have to drink pints you know. Around half 7/8 but depends how many is doing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭jonnybangbang

If you allow 30 min per pub. Thats 6 hours. So 5:30 would have you finished by 11:30. The 30 min has to allow for travel between pubs and all bathroom breaks as well.
    From experience. The start is grand but by pub 7 or 8 it's going to take longer and longer to get served as the pubs gets busy with the normal crowds. And as you get drunker your going to not want to move on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

dioralyte before bed.

If you allow 30 min per pub. Thats 6 hours. So 5:30 would have you finished by 11:30. The 30 min has to allow for travel between pubs and all bathroom breaks as well.
    From experience. The start is grand but by pub 7 or 8 it's going to take longer and longer to get served as the pubs gets busy with the normal crowds. And as you get drunker your going to not want to move on.

thanks good advice

I know it's gonna make us all sick haha, but my group of friends didn't do it last year so we thought we'd give it a try.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Buy a dozen cans and sit in and watch telly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Wear a stupid jumper and be a dick. That's about it, really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭vagazzled

Don't forget the puke breaks, and time to wipe the puke of your shoes before you go into the nightclub. Bring tissues.
    Actually, do you really think a nightclub is gonna let a load of youse in with 12 pints on board?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Swiftly

So many grouches. Enjoy your 12 pubs

• Site Banned Posts: 27 Dimitrov

Don't mind the miserable scrooges on here, OP. They probably don't have any friends to do the 12 pubs with, hence their bitterness. God forbid someone enjoys themselves over Christmas.

I'd recommend drinking bottles instead of pints, you'll be sick of it after the 7th pub otherwise, and your night will be ruined. Start early, maybe 4pm, so you're not rushing. Lastly, try eating something around the half way point, it'll do you the world of good. Enjoy!

vagazzled wrote: »
    Don't forget the puke breaks, and time to wipe the puke of your shoes before you go into the nightclub. Bring tissues.
    Actually, do you really think a nightclub is gonna let a load of youse in with 12 pints on board?

Well without sounding like a macho man Yes I do think that. Why? I've done it before and I'm not from Dublin.

Dimitrov wrote: »
    They probably don't have any friends to do the 12 pubs with
    Hallelujah!!!

Remember the next day you will feel awful, and at worse you could die.
    In extreme cases, you could die. Overdosing on alcohol can stop you breathing or stop your heart, or you could choke on your vomit. Binge drinking can affect your mood and your memory and in the longer term can lead to serious mental health problems.

Don't mind the miserable scrooges on here, OP. They probably don't have any friends to do the 12 pubs with, hence their bitterness. God forbid someone enjoys themselves over Christmas.

I'd recommend drinking bottles instead of pints, you'll be sick of it after the 7th pub otherwise, and your night will be ruined. Start early, maybe 4pm, so you're not rushing. Lastly, try eating something around the half way point, it'll do you the world of good. Enjoy!

thank you, great practical advice.

As if any of these bitter eejits could have swayed my decision to do it or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Its changed to "3 bottles of Buckfast down the Sparch" now.

I attend no friends anonymous.

My name is Robert and I have no friends, (then my new friends give me a hug)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I could easily drink 12 pints, I would just prefer to do it in the one place.

thank you, great practical advice.

As if any of these bitter eejits could have swayed my decision to do it or not
    We are many things my young friend, old, wise, worldly and eager to pass on the advice gleaned from a lifetime of experience.:)

Bitter, not so much.

We are many things my young friend, old, wise, worldly and eager to pass on the advice gleaned from a lifetime of experience.:)

Bitter, not so much.

And the ignorance of youth teaches me to innately ignore you and find out for myself.

Bitter, not so much.

That is true.

And the ignorance of youth teaches me to innately ignore you and find out for myself.
    And when you're throwing your ring over a bouncer's shoes outside Copper's two hours before opening time, in a stupid looking jumper with a penguin on it, the tiniest hint of a smile will form over your tear and kebab strewn face as you finally realise, 'hey, them guys on the internet were right':)

Don't do it son.

And when you're throwing your ring over a bouncer's shoes outside Copper's two hours before opening time, in a stupid looking jumper with a penguin on it, the tiniest hint of a smile will form over your tear and kebab strewn face as you finally realise, 'hey, them guys on the internet were right':)

Don't do it son.

coppers, I'd rather stab myself in the eye with a fork. I'm a country boy doing it in a country town. And I can handle 12 pints without getting sick, although some of my friends most certainly can't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Sound Bite

Do people still do 12 pubs?

I've gotten old :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Well I'm gonna be accompanying my chums on one next week (I don't drink so I'm basically the sober guy) and we're starting quite late, round 5pm.

coppers, I'd rather stab myself in the eye with a fork. I'm a country boy doing it in a country town. And I can handle 12 pints without getting sick, although some of my friends most certainly can't.
    Jesus Christ, it's coming to the sticks now!:eek:

First heroin and now this. Damn you Dubs. Damn you all to hell!!!!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Erra I assume the OP is only 19 - cut them some slack.

You will likely feel terrible after that much drink no matter how early you start though, as well as possibly (for some of ye) not being in any condition to be let into a nightclub. That's the stuff that stands out to those of us who are much older - it's our stage in life, we can't help it! Even though we know many of us felt the same way as you when we were 19. It's not bitterness or not having friends or thinking people shouldn't enjoy themselves at Christmas.

I would say don't be a slave to getting the 12 pubs done though - just see how it goes. Not worth continuing to drink alcohol even though you feel like you're about to puke. And yes, as said, try to get something to eat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

We re on it now start about 4 half and about 11 done; go on ya with it and half them still in the leg goat... Sure they do it all year

Sure ya... Its there now ######

John... Were in the oak... Are yw following?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

We used to start at 2pm. Although that time was mostly given so all the 'late' folk would be there by 4/5pm -- giving us loads of time.

If you can hold your drink well then it's early is good - take your seats and take your time. No shots or drinking games!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Tubberadora

Last year 13 of us done it in under 2 hours. We had 13 pubs, shots in each. One person would skip a pub and move to the next to order the round. The drinks would be lined up so literally walk in, throw it back and out. Rinse and repeat. We were all sat in pub 14 drinking for the night within two hours.

The thought of doing that makes my stomach feel sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Well I'm gonna be accompanying my chums on one next week (I don't drink so I'm basically the sober guy) and we're starting quite late, round 5pm.

You deserve either a medal or a kick up the hole, not quite sure which.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

John... Were in the oak... Are yw following?
    Know the one that's one too many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

I'm betting Leo Varadkar just clicked Follow Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭JohnnyChimpo

Omackeral wrote: »
    You deserve either a medal or a kick up the hole, not quite sure which.

A medal up the hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I've never done this but just don't think I could manage it. 12 pints with travel.

Sounds like an ordeal. I'd be on my hoop by 7-8 and always find fresh air to be a bad mix with drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

murpho999 wrote: »
    I'd be on my hoop by 7-8 and always find fresh air to be a bad mix with drink.
    And then top it all off with a bad burger...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

It can actually be a nice night if done the way you want,don't let others dictate what you do,how much you drink.
    I had around 6 pints and 4 bottles as well as water in some pubs when i done it.

Took about 30-45 mins per pub,some less-some more and ended up going to more than 12 bars and nightclub after.

Plenty food along the way,Didn't feel great the next day but not too bad either and a great night out.

One big factor is the expense of it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I'm getting old, as I just don't see the point of this at all.

Surely, that amount of alcohol so quickly is dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

murpho999 wrote: »
    I'm getting old, as I just don't see the point of this at all.

Surely, that amount of alcohol so quickly is dangerous.

Agreed. Is it even enjoyable? "Throw it back and out" blurgh!

I'd prefer a nice museum tour and a macaroon bar myself.