Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Qustion for the backwards man :-)

• 10-12-2015 8:00am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭

Sir I live on my own and have a problem, last night I went to put the washing machine on to wash some clothes, and to my dismay I found I had now detergent tablets or washing powder, as I live miles away from any shops etc I was going to use either shampoo or washing up liquid,just to sudsy the water like, now you being all knowledgeable in these sort of affairs I was wondering could you give me some advise on what's the best option to carry on with, thanks in advance. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Turf is all he knows about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

realies wrote: »
    Sir I live on my own and have a problem, last night I went to put the washing machine on to wash some clothes, and to my dismay I found I had now detergent tablets or washing powder, as I live miles away from any shops etc I was going to use either shampoo or washing up liquid,just to sudsy the water like, now you being all knowledgeable in these sort of affairs I was wondering could you give me some advise on what's the best option to carry on with, thanks in advance. :-)

No, they're foaming agents - they'll create a winter wonderland for you :D

If the clothes aren't heavily soiled just wash them without detergent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Corpus Twisty

Jawgap wrote: »
    No, they're foaming agents - they'll create a winter wonderland for you :D

If the clothes aren't heavily soiled just wash them without detergent.

It's only a punt, but would silicone be of any use?

Cheap silicone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Good call! It'll stop them from getting wet, no matter how long the washing machine is going for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

(A bit of turf mull added would give it a bit of character, though...)

Dock leaves generally are good for lots of stuff too - maybe they also make a good non-bio detergent? Seemed to be the answer to everything when we were kids anyway.

I've heard using foamy stuff can lead to disaster alright, so probably washing-up liquid or such is out of the question - although Foamageddon could be a giggle for a short while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

A Turf/Silicone mix will clean anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Use a dishwasher tablet. What could possibly go wrong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

smash wrote: »
    Use a dishwasher tablet. What could possibly go wrong?

Your clothes might turn into knives and forks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Use bread soda. Don't use anything that will cause suds.

Bread soda probably the most versatile day-to-day thing you'll find in a home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,252 ✭✭✭circadian

WD40 solves all problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I've seen this on Bear Grylls.

When faced with the dilemma of soiled clothes, with no modern detergents or fabric wash to cleanse them, they must be doused in human urine.

Pìss all over them realies. You know you wanna :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Elbow grease.

Sink full of piping hot water and a good bar of soap.

Your clothes might turn into knives and forks?

Or spoons... oh the humanity!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Living on your own and using a washing machine? Use the sink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Living on your own and using a washing machine? Use the sink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

Elbow grease.

Sink full of piping hot water and a good bar of soap.

And a washboard if you have one handy and of course a clothes wringer/mangle to help with the drying :)

Why are you asking me anyway? Any bulkbuying culchie worth their salt has five boxes of washing powder and half a dozen bottles of fabric softener to hand at all times.

You never know when the bootcuts will need a wash

Does the Backwards Man constantly bump into things? I like to picture that his house is entirely TBM-proofed, with nothing breakable, no sharp edges, and every door is those kind that you get in hospitals/restaurants, that open both ways.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

Get a bar of soap and powder it using a cheese grater.
    Mix with a bit of washing soda if you have it. If not then a few teaspoons of salt.

Done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

You people are useless.

Just wash them in the washing machine anyway. The hot water and agitation alone will remove a most of the dirt. If you have a fine grater and some soap, then grate a tablespoon or so of it and place it inside the machine in the middle of the clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

And a mammy to actually do the washing.

seagull wrote: »
    And a mammy to actually do the washing.

Nope, we are mostly taught to paddle our own canoes at an early age. When I was in high infants we used to sew buttons on the teachers jacket, starch his shirts and darn his socks. He was a townie. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Does the Backwards Man constantly bump into things? I like to picture that his house is entirely TBM-proofed, with nothing breakable, no sharp edges, and every door is those kind that you get in hospitals/restaurants, that open both ways.

We know what 90% of his house looks like. He was kind enough to post photos in the highly addictive "What's in your fridge?" thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

Any bulkbuying culchie worth their salt has five boxes of washing powder and half a dozen bottles of fabric softener to hand at all times.

That's how I roll, and bulk beer buying saves $$$. Only have to shop once a month, if that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Most soaps are essentially the same, they are made from fats and lye, so I guess you could cut the fat off some rashers for the fat content, you might have some lye based drain cleaners in your house, feck in a bottle of that, spray some lynx in for flavour and then let the washing machine do the mixing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,252 ✭✭✭circadian

You people are useless.

Just wash them in the washing machine anyway. The hot water and agitation alone will remove a most of the dirt. If you have a fine grater and some soap, then grate a tablespoon or so of it and place it inside the machine in the middle of the clothes.

NachoBusiness:Donestic Godess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

I dont think being agitated is going to help. Best keep calm and think it through.

There's an old Surname "TURFOOT". So my question to The Backwards Man is simply:

How much turf could a Trufoot foot if a Turfoot could foot Turf?

smash wrote: »
    There's an old Surname "TURFOOT". So my question to The Backwards Man is simply:

How much turf could a Trufoot foot if a Turfoot could foot Turf?

Like the big city slicker a neighbour had going to the bog for the first time to foot turf. Worked away all day, was a wee bit slow at it but put the day in anyway. Down for the tae in the evening and the neighbour gets out the biscuit box from the hotpress. 'Well? How much have you to get?' he asks. 'I don't know', he replies, 'how much are men going?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Nothing like a bit of 'Head and Shoulders' in yer jocks

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

uch wrote: »
    Nothing like a bit of 'Head and Shoulders' in yer jocks
    They don't go there, you're doing underwear wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Wear them in the shower and kill two burds with one stone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭moonlighting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Did you mean to post this in the worst comedians thread mate?

BM, is it snowing up there? Im driving to Derry tomorrow, should i take car or jeep?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

?nam sdrawkcab eht dellac uoy era yhW

BM, is it snowing up there? Im driving to Derry tomorrow, should i take car or jeep?
    Nope, lovely weather here, take the car, you could even take the top down.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

He'll give you the answer in the form of a song.

Sky King wrote: »
    Use bread soda. Don't use anything that will cause suds.

Bread soda probably the most versatile day-to-day thing you'll find in a home.

I tried using it as a remote control for the telly, on your recommendation. Quite bad was the verdict. I'm going to stick with silicone from now on.

Good call! It'll stop them from getting wet, no matter how long the washing machine is going for.

If only the ESB had heard of it. Or the OPW. All their problems solved..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Blind Faith

Dear Backwards Man, I too am requiring your input on a mildly distressing issue I have created for myself.
    Last week after a lovely sushi meal out to celebrate my secretary's birthday, we arrived back to the flat in D4 for night caps, after a few more shots we were both feeling a particularly frisky & up for some severe spanking. I brought out my stash of devices & quickly strapped into my harness & ring gag while she adorned herself with stockings, suspenders, whips & nipple clamps. So ensued many hours of extreme hardcore romping in the study with straps, hogties, bondage mittens and cuffs, after which we manoeuvred out to the kitchen were we utilised many of the utensils therein for our mutual pleasure, after several further hours in the pantry, the cheese grater became somewhat tiresome & she lead me out to the entrance hall & using my spreader bar, tied me to the Pembroke table & proceeded to punish me with the nail paddle for not whimpering in quite the correct manner.
    That's when I must of blacked out for a while, as the last thing I remember beforehand, was her leaning over me with a roll of P40 sandpaper in her mouth, she maintains she'd never before witnessed anyone climaxing quite so intensely or severely, I had apparently bolted straight forward, arched back & somersaulted clean over her head with the Pembroke table still attached to my ankles, resulting in my total disordination & crash landing right onto my wife's recently refurbished Louis XVI chaise lounge, of which one of the rear mahogany legs snapped clean off in the debacle!

So BM, can you recommend a suitable glue which would be strong enough to repair the mahogany leg?

My wife is due back from Cannes next Tuesday.

BF.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 59 ✭✭Geoffrey Dalton

Why do you wear wellingtons in the concrete yard?

Dear Backwards Man, I too am requiring your input on a mildly distressing issue I have created for myself.
    Last week after a lovely sushi meal out to celebrate my secretary's birthday, we arrived back to the flat in D4 for night caps, after a few more shots we were both feeling a particularly frisky & up for some severe spanking. I brought out my stash of devices & quickly strapped into my harness & ring gag while she adorned herself with stockings, suspenders, whips & nipple clamps. So ensued many hours of extreme hardcore romping in the study with straps, hogties, bondage mittens and cuffs, after which we manoeuvred out to the kitchen were we utilised many of the utensils therein for our mutual pleasure, after several further hours in the pantry, the cheese grater became somewhat tiresome & she lead me out to the entrance hall & using my spreader bar, tied me to the Pembroke table & proceeded to punish me with the nail paddle for not whimpering in quite the correct manner.
    That's when I must of blacked out for a while, as the last thing I remember beforehand, was her leaning over me with a roll of P40 sandpaper in her mouth, she maintains she'd never before witnessed anyone climaxing quite so intensely or severely, I had apparently bolted straight forward, arched back & somersaulted clean over her head with the Pembroke table still attached to my ankles, resulting in my total disordination & crash landing right onto my wife's recently refurbished Louis XVI chaise lounge, of which one of the rear mahogany legs snapped clean off in the debacle!

So BM, can you recommend a suitable glue which would be strong enough to repair the mahogany leg?

My wife is due back from Cannes next Tuesday.

BF.
    If you want your chair leg to stick, a good windscreen adhesive is your only man.

If you want your marriage to stick, quit telling fairystories.:)