Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mein Kampf of reading Mein Kampf.

• 08-12-2015 9:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭

So I've taken it upon myself to write up a piece of work about Hitler's depiction of the Jews in Mein Kampf. It's proving to be an absolute pain in the whole.

Like a fascist, one testicled, vegetarian one trick pony comedian (won't name names) this guy keeps hammering away at the same old shtick for near 700 pages. He has about ten points that get constantly rehashed. You'd get more variety in a slew of romantic comedies ffs.

One thing that concerned me was how current the portrayal of other people was. By that I mean that you could log yourself on to FB and read some of the stuff people write about refugees etc and its strikingly similar. Made me think of that video doing the rounds of people demonising Koran quotes when they are really Bible quotes.

Anyway.. 1/10 from me.

What's the most tedious book you've ever read? Any suggestions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

So I've taken it upon myself to write up a piece of work about Hitler's depiction of the Jews in Mein Kampf. It's proving to be an absolute pain in the whole.

Like a fascist, one testicled, vegetarian one trick pony comedian (won't name names) this guy keeps hammering away at the same old shtick for near 700 pages. He has about ten points that get constantly rehashed. You'd get more variety in a slew of romantic comedies ffs.

One thing that concerned me was how current the portrayal of other people was. By that I mean that you could log yourself on to FB and read some of the stuff people write about refugees etc and its strikingly similar. Made me think of that video doing the rounds of people demonising Koran quotes when they are really Bible quotes.

Anyway.. 1/10 from me.

What's the most tedious book you've ever read? Any suggestions?

Catcher in the Rye, haven't had the urge to kill any musicians or film stars :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Ramblings of delusional minds are delusional. Sniffing mustard gas will do that to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Moby Dick.

Awful.

Terrible.

Unfathomably tedious.

Finished it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Ulysses is mad shyte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I read one chapter of the Da Vinci Code.

The use of adverbs alone made my body go into shock and drop the book to protect myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

I tried to read 'Lord of the Rings' but I gave up quite quickly, the excessive amount of tedious details, yawn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Moby Dick.

Awful.

Terrible.

Unfathomably tedious.

Finished it though.

I was going to mention this, how it's considered a classic novel is beyond me. If you gave in the manuscript to a Publishing House today it would be binned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I didn't really enjoy The Great Gatsby.

I thought it was a good Gatsby, not a great Gatsby. Not bad by any means, but a bit of a disappointment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

Free To Choose by Milton Friedman. Its like Fox News's Hannity on steroids...but without the empathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Emma, read it as part of Leaving Cert English....turned me off books for life

Books are useless! I only ever read one book, “To Kill A Mockingbird,” and it gave me absolutely no insight on how to kill mockingbirds! Sure it taught me not to judge a man by the color of his skin…but what good does *that* do me?

I was going to mention this, how it's considered a classic novel is beyond me. If you gave in that manuscript to a Publishing House today it would be binned.
    Or shaved to about two chapters at least.

1)Man sleeps with Maori man with big spear.

2)Man almost gets fcuked by whale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Sun King

Catcher in the Rye, haven't had the urge to kill any musicians or film stars :(

I actually enjoyed that one. Didn't relate to the guy or anything, just a fun little read :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

A brief history of time almost beat me but I got thick and slogged it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Das Kapital, gave up very quickly when I realised that economics is really quiet boring.

Demonising/Mocking people tends to follow the same schtick, ages ago ended up reading loads of Nazi paper headlines (someone was doing a PhD) what stood out too me was that lots of the anti-american stuff in it wouldn't be out of place in a European newspaper today (of right or left)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Medusa22 wrote: »
    I tried to read 'Lord of the Rings' but I gave up quite quickly, the excessive amount of tedious details, yawn.

Council of Elrond I bet. That's the chapter that made me stop reading it.

It was very like a County Council Meeting.

One is a tedious drawn out meeting full of boring details populated by weird misshapen greedy creatures and the other was a chapter in the Lord of the Rings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Read a very long winded book about a fella that was worshiped so much that he came back from the dead and appeared to people. Ghost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Pride and Prejudice. Can't get the point, at all.
    Wuthering Heights....boring. Song is ace though.
    All Dickens (you may be seeing a pattern here) except his short story "The Signalman".

All these are free to read btw so it won't cost to check for yourselves.
    Can't agree with LOTR, read it first in one sitting over 36 hours.

Most George Orwell is whiny and depressing.

Agree with the Da Vinci code...amazing how something so badly written (and the story a rip off of someone else's work) could get published.

"The Hound Of The Baskervilles" is a damned good read, even though you probably know the story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Moby Dick.

Unfathomably tedious.

I like what you did there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

The best version of Mein Kampf and all you need to understand Fascism and Hitler is the Hitler rant about the ceiling cat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Richard III is some heavy shoite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I'll go for classics. Technically good but very hard to decipher translation of Divine Comedy. After trying to figure out what half a page of poetry was saying you had to read another half a page of footnotes to explain historical references and why someone was in hell or heaven. Well just Hell because I gave up when I got to Purgatory.

The second one is Goethe's The Sorrows of young Werther because the main character was so annoying you are actually glad when he tops himself.

I enjoyed LOTR too, but then again I was supposed to be studying for the Leaving when I read it. Economics would make anything seem sexy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

William Shatner's Tech Wars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 GoodKill

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Council of Elrond I bet. That's the chapter that made me stop reading it.

It was very like a County Council Meeting.

One is a tedious drawn out meeting full of boring details populated by weird misshapen greedy creatures and the other was a chapter in the Lord of the Rings.
    Medusa22 wrote: »

Tom Bombadil, that annoying pr!k! He made me put that book down.

GoodKill wrote: »
    Tom Bombadil, that annoying pr!k! He made me put that book down.
    Was that the buck with the stupid songs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I tried reading drood by dan simmons. Gets great reviews

About 1 millionty billion pages into it, I just went: **** this. For a game of cowboys

Same with Gormenghast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Hard Times by Charles Dickens was the worst book I've ever read. Did it for the Leaving Cert and it was so tedious and drawn out that I actually never managed to read it in full. Relied on those "notes" books for the exam. Did pretty well too! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

Don Quixote or Les Miserables, sometimes classics are worth the fuss (e.g. Phantom of the Opera, Dracula and Frankenstein) some are not. DQ and LM are in the latter category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Richard III is some heavy shoite.

In some of his work he seems to lose track of the plot altogether and the whole thing becomes a mess in the latter stages. Subplots being dropped or discontinued without reaching a conclusion etc.

With King Lear for instance, it's rumoured that he rushed the last Act to have the play ready for it's opening performance on St Stephen's Day 1606.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Ann and Barry Save The Day. That was a bastid to get through.

Crime and Punishment. What a pile of bolllocks. I've never not put a book down without finishing except for that.

'Tis all well and good for you to say that now, but FFS who in their right minds was ever going to tell yer man his book was sh!te?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Irish Halo wrote: »
    Don Quixote or Les Miserables, sometimes classics are worth the fuss (e.g. Phantom of the Opera, Dracula and Frankenstein) some are not. DQ and LM are in the latter category.

Don Quixote was the third on my list of annoying high school reads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

oh

because mein kampf means my struggle

that's good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Bulbous Salutation

Catch 22. One moderately funny joke spread out over 350 pages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The Metamorphosis by Kafka

actually I never made it through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Boom_Bap wrote: »

I liked the one where they went to the zoo (I think it was called Ann and Barry go to the Zoo). It was a senior infants book, but I 'acquired' a copy when I was in junior infants. Smaller print, longer sentences... fucking loved that book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,805 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

The Bible. Meandering character development and inconsistent storyline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭FallSilently

Twenty Thousand Leagues Under The Sea. I'm a sci-fi buff with a particular love of classic sci-fi but Christ, I don't need a list of every fecking fish in the ocean. Get on with it!

Spoiler. Jesus dies on page 681

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,805 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Goddamn it. Might as well just watch the film adaptation now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭blackcard

Peig.
    Portrait of a Lady

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

RayM wrote: »
    I liked the one where they went to the zoo (I think it was called Ann and Barry go to the Zoo). It was a senior infants book, but I 'acquired' a copy when I was in junior infants. Smaller print, longer sentences... fucking loved that book.

In Junior Infants! That's incredible. Although I was disappointed in the Kangaroo narrative as they failed to recognise them as marsupials and focused solely on Joey's being the young.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

Can you just leave the aethiest bollocks out for one thread?

There is a marvellous scripture called the After Hours Charter that has been scribed by the forefathers of the internet. Please consult the section on Backseat Moderation. Don't make me post in bold. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

I've tried reading Catch 22 twice now and can't make it past around 70 pages, I just find it to be a bit ****. It might have been biting satire for its time, but it's aged badly

I actually went for a beer after reading Crime and Punishment to congratulate myself. I ended up enjoying it, but it was such hard work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭longfellow deeds

Peig, 3 years spent studying it and I don't remember a single line or story from it now,
    it scarred me and a lot of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭kettlehead

Boom_Bap wrote: »

Some of their new stuff is great though.

http://www.ybig.ie/forum/uploads/20090715_033606_untitled1.JPG

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

But he recovers later

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Irish Halo wrote: »
    DQ was better in the original Klingon.