Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accepting Lifts From Strangers

• 08-12-2015 12:32am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭

So I was walking home from the pub on this wet and wild December night, when out of nowhere a white V-Tec pulls up beside me. The driver powers down the passenger window and shouts, 'are you well??? Coz you're looking well!' and speeds off.

I got a great lift out of that.

When was the last time you got a lift from a stranger, and how did it work for you?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Just opened my third tower block.

Our usual elevator guy Steve fell behind on the order so they passed the business over to a new crowd.

What could I do - our tenants can't be climbing the stairs so I accepted the lift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

The driver powers down the passenger window and shouts, 'are you well??? Coz you're looking well!' and speeds off.

Was the driver male or female?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

About three months ago.Went well,bus was a bit crowded though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Got a lift off a stranger last night. Paid him €5.20 for the privilege and got a receipt too. He kept giving out about 'Dem bleedin' Nigerians' for the short journey though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Was the driver male or female?
    Got a lift, who cares?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I got a voucher for lunch in a hotel today for nothing, looking forward to treating the OH.
    He deserves it, doesn't drink, so I never need a lift from a stranger :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

When the PS4 came out and was in short supply, I had a reservation for two in argos, but it was in Laois and I didn't drive at the time, so I put it up on a facebook group offering a PS4 reservation to anyone who'd drive me to Laois to get it. Someone responded and picked me up in town, good hour and a bit drive to Laois with a total stranger, in retrospect kinda dangerous.

Stheno wrote: »
    I got a voucher for lunch in a hotel today for nothing, looking forward to treating the OH.
    He deserves it, doesn't drink, so I never need a lift from a stranger :D
    Here's a wee lift from me to the two of ye. :) I can actually sing this song great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

You cant be looking that well if they didnt give you a roide home.:P

Colser wrote: »
    You cant be looking that well if they didnt give you a roide home.:P
    I plough my own furrow:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

So I was walking home from the pub on this wet and wild December night, when out of nowhere a white V-Tec pulls up beside me. The driver powers down the passenger window and shouts, 'are you well??? Coz you're looking well!' and speeds off.

When was the last time you got a lift from a stranger, and how did it work for you?:)

I see what you did there :D

I can't remember the last time I got a compliment from a stranger, usually when I'm out alright someone might say something, but I wouldn't be taking much notice.

The last time I accepted a lift from a stranger I was after getting caught in a downpour of rain a few weeks back, and they were heading into town so I figured that'll do me :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Here's a wee lift from me to the two of ye. :) I can actually sing this song great.

I'd be more of a fan meself tbh

I plough my own furrow:)
    Im sure that gives you a nice lift too.

I'd be more of a washed up roackstar fan meself tbh

Saw that eejit in the Hard Rock years ago, half the man Merle ever was :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

One morning during the summer a total stranger overheard myself and the girlfriend failing to book a taxi from Clonakilty to a house a few miles out, he put down his coffee and offered us a lift. He seemed to know everyone there and we reckoned that us blow-ins would have been noticed leaving with him so we took him up on it. Genuinely lovely guy, got offended when we tried to give him petrol money. Also got free tips on how to align your internal magnetic field with the earth's by paddling at a local beach...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

What's a V-Tec?

A vroom vroom

Was it a white vroom vroom?

Is there any other kind?

I bought a $1250 bottle of Remy Martin last week to share with me wee bro at Christmas, and I have it half drunk:o

Is there any other kind?

I bought a $1250 bottle of Remy Martin last week to share with me wee bro at Christmas, and I have it half drunk:o

Jaysis I remember the last time I binged on brandy.

See you next week if you survive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Top it up with lunatic soup none of ye be none the wiser come xmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Dr.Robotnik

One drizzly morning I was walking to work in around the city centre from Clanbrassil St. in Dublin.

It was very early morning and the buses hadnt started yet, but I was walking along anyway and a car passed me, going in the opposite direction. Until he turns around and starts driving beside me asking do I want a lift, il get soaked etc.

I kept saying no im grand, but he kept insisting, looking at me as if I were mad to turn down a free lift and it half raining!

He only looked to be about the same age as me, mid/late 20's, but I still think about it every now and again. He probably was just some ordinary chap offering a kind gesture, but I wasnt going to find out.

Jaysis I remember the last time I binged on brandy.

See you next week if you survive.
    You wouldn't even know you're drinking this stuff, that's the problem! :pac:

That was also the problem twenty odd years ago, haven't touched it since.

Ah it's OK, I puked in a RUC woman's shoe the night Ireland played in the Holland in the Euro 96 playoff after downing a bottle of Hennessy, haven't wasted a drop of brandy since:)

Im like that with Southern Comfort,cant even stick the smell of it 20 yrs later:(

THe mere sniff of a brandy still makes me puke

Call up for a bit of this, the two of yiz :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Saw that eejit in the Hard Rock years ago, half the man Merle ever was :)

And twice as haggard...

I actually have a bottle of that here in the cupboard for years,unopened in the box..an unwanted prezzie:pac:

I don't let the stuff near me.

endacl wrote: »
    And twice as haggard...
    Aye, he was fcuking awful. I've met a few celebs in me time and the only one that disappointed me worse than the Whirlwind is Axl:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

TheChizler wrote: »
    One morning during the summer a total stranger overheard myself and the girlfriend failing to book a taxi from Clonakilty to a house a few miles out, he put down his coffee and offered us a lift. He seemed to know everyone there and we reckoned that us blow-ins would have been noticed leaving with him so we took him up on it. Genuinely lovely guy, got offended when we tried to give him petrol money. Also got free tips on how to align your internal magnetic field with the earth's by paddling at a local beach...

I gave a lift to a young couple from Poland a few years ago, I picked them up in Donegal Town @9:30pm, they told me they were on the way to Derry.... and they were going to pitch their tent when they got there! :eek:

So I suggested that they pitch their tent on my front lawn (I live half way to Derry from Donegal), and if they really wanted, I had an empty house and they could have one of the 3 spare rooms for the night, and I would run them in to get the bus in the morning.. they accepted the offer, although I could sense a certain hesitation when I offered. They talked between themselves for a minute in Polish before they replied.... understandably enough.

I just knew that the idea of pitching a tent in Derry at 11pm wasn't good.

I don't let the stuff near me.
    I didnt even know it was Brandy:o

I gave a lift to a young couple from Poland a few years ago, I picked them up in Donegal Town @9:30pm, they told me they were on the way to Derry.... and they were going to pitch their tent when they got there! :eek:

So I suggested that they pitch their tent on my front lawn (I live half way to Derry from Donegal), and if they really wanted, I had an empty house and they could have one of the 3 spare rooms for the night, and I would run them in to get the bus in the morning.. they accepted the offer, although I could sense a certain hesitation when I offered. They talked between themselves for a minute in Polish before they replied.... understandably enough.

I just knew that the idea they had of pitching a tent in Derry at 11pm was a bad plan.
    Manys a man got in a lot of bother with a pitched tent in Derry at any time of the day :)

I didnt even know it was Brandy:o

Shure send it down to me.

That'll be one day of procrastinating about writing my thesis I'll never remember :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

One drizzly morning I was walking to work in around the city centre from Clanbrassil St. in Dublin.

It was very early morning and the buses hadnt started yet, but I was walking along anyway and a car passed me, going in the opposite direction. Until he turns around and starts driving beside me asking do I want a lift, il get soaked etc.

I kept saying no im grand, but he kept insisting, looking at me as if I were mad to turn down a free lift and it half raining!

He only looked to be about the same age as me, mid/late 20's, but I still think about it every now and again. He probably was just some ordinary chap offering a kind gesture, but I wasnt going to find out.

Reading that reminded me of this...

I just knew that the idea of pitching a tent in Derry at 11pm wasn't good.
    Do you rent your house out for the vroom vroom weekend in June?:)

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

it isn't december

Shure send it down to me.

That'll be one day of procrastinating about writing my thesis I'll never remember :D
    Fcuk that, she'll get sick looking at it, send it up to me :pac:

OI!

XR3i wrote: »
    it isn't december
    Don't take the hand out of a drunk man :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Do you rent your house out for the vroom vroom weekend in June?:)

remind me in a couple of months, it could be a runner if you are interested.. there is a chance we'll be in Canada.

Ye can share it,and ye can have the bottles of Peach schnapps buried in the cupboard as well,cant face that either.

OI!
    You'll only sell it on DoneDeal. :)

My Da met his gf on DoneDeal, not a fate I'd wish on any bottle of fine cognac:pac:

Ye can share it,and ye can have the bottles of Peach schnapps buried in the cupboard as well,cant face that either.

Send him the peach schnapps , now that truly turns my stomach

My Da met his gf on DoneDeal, not a fate I'd wish on any bottle of fine cognac:pac:

Sure I met the oh here on boards!

What section was she listed on..kitchen appliances or bedroom?:D

Sure I met the oh here on boards!
    Aye, but you probably weren't looking for the frame for 6X4 car trailer at the time:pac:

What section was she listed on..kitchen appliances or bedroom?:D
    Dunno, he always says he met her on the internet, and Done Deal is the only site he knows how to use, and even at that he still has to get me to put the ads on for him and he never put one on looking for a woman!:pac:

Fcuk that brandy for the oul honesty coming out :pac::pac::pac: