Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NOISE NOISE NOISE

• 06-12-2015 2:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭

well the story here is we have a neighbour who
    has a business 30m from our house and it
    has no hours every time a machine is started
    you can hear the noise in our house at it all day
    today SUNDAY does other posters think we are been
    unreasonable expecting them to stick to normal
    working hours

ps this is going on all the time not just an odd time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

well the story here is we have a neighbour who
    has a business 30m from our house and it
    has no hours every time a machine is started
    you can hear the noise in our house at it all day
    today SUNDAY does other posters think we are been
    unreasonable expecting them to stick to normal
    working hours

ps this is going on all the time not just an odd time

What is source of noise? What kind of business and how long is he doing it?

Rural location I assume?

What's his planning status?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Op put on your wellies and sort the neighbour man to man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Go to county council. Lad up the road complained of noise and air pollution from place next door. It got sorted soon enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭quader

who was there first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭buffalobilly

quader wrote: »
    who was there first

Well I don't know how long there family are about
    But ours are about for 300 years plus

ford2600 wrote: »
    What is source of noise? What kind of business and how long is he doing it?

Rural location I assume?

What's his planning status?

Don't want to give to much away on source of noise
    But it is quite loud
    Rural location yes
    Doubt if he has planning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭Markcheese

While i'd advocate a bit of give and take in most situations if someone is frequently operating noisy equipment at all hours near houses then they're being a bit of a dick ....
    Check out your options including talking to the council ( can be like talking to a wall if you get the wrong guy) , a quick chat with the lad making the noise- they could be unaware of the impact of noise . Ultimately it could end up being a legal dispute but if you can avoid that then great .

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Site Banned Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Youngblood.III

Isn't there restrictions on noise levels between 8am and 10pm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I know of a case where a guy started sand blasting trucks etc. and was really annoying neighbours. They complained to council and they forced him to relocate the equipment to a more remote yard. He had not got commercial planning when putting up the shed. Also when he started the compressors, their TV went on the fritz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

OP go to your county's website and check the planning permissions for your area. In 5 minutes you will know if he has planning permission for his activities, like you I doubt it Ireland is full of chancers. Normal planning permission is for a dwelling house. If he has there will be conditions attached see if any of those pertain to noise. The options are talk to him first to see what happens probably nothing as sounds like he suits himself, if he is not long in the area to hell with him in my opinion as to falling in or out as these lads always suit themselves. If no joy complain to council they will send someone out to record sound levels to determine if excessive. A chancer like this if he is one can be really screwed from liabilty to pay business rates to lots of other stuff.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/environment/environmental_protection/noise_regulations.html#l84e98

Have read lots of info on it.

PS Sorry you have this sort of hassle a good neighbour is brilliant and a bad is well you know that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Crazyivan 1979

depending on the business, he may have environmental licence (either local authority or EPA), or he may not have anything and be chancing it. If he has a licence there will be noise levels stipulated.

I wouldnt hold out hope that the council would be prompt in investigating it. Based on my experience of them. But measurments can be taken to determine if the noise is at nuisance levels or not.

Thanks very much for all the positive replays
    Did not expect as many. Not looking forward
    To the holidays here as they will be at it all
    The time last year they were at it at 07.30
    The day after New Year's Day as well as all
    The week between Christmas and new year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

who was there first

This is nothing to do with anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Thanks very much for all the positive replays
    Did not expect as many. Not looking forward
    To the holidays here as they will be at it all
    The time last year they were at it at 07.30
    The day after New Year's Day as well as all
    The week between Christmas and new year

How's that u didn't raise an issue about this noise when he first started?

i have raised it with him several times but it is
    still happening plus when he started he was
    further away from our house

_Brian wrote: »
    This is nothing to do with anything.

thats where your wrong if he had his buisness there before any house the people would know what there were getting into
    but if the op was there first its a different matter

thats where your wrong if he had his buisness there before any house the people would know what there were getting into

My father in his seventy's has lived here all his life

Even if OP was not there first all this like any work, action etc is very simple either it is legal or it is not. If this guy has planning permission, complies with various conditions planning, environmental H&S etc and is not creating a nuisance then that is the end of that. If he currently is not then OP complaining to anyone is not going to result in anything other than having this person comply with the law.

OP check the link below.

http://www.ehai.ie/home/make-a-complaint.502.html

My father in his seventy's has lived here all his life

well then you have every right on your side

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

I have a neighbour that considers the milking machine noise pollution, asked me to only milk while they were at work 9-6 ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

I have a neighbour that considers the milking machine noise pollution, asked me to only milk while they were at work 9-6 ffs

Sweet Jesus. And do you?

Willfarman wrote: »
    Sweet Jesus. And do you?

We considered three times a day :)

Believe me this is a lot louder than milking machine and could go on all day
    If it was just a hour or so every day we could put up with but as I said in opening post It could start at any time and go on anything from a hour or so to 12 to 14 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

I think you need to be a bit more specific about the type of noise. you don't need to say its paddy doing sandblasting but just what type of machinery etc is being used.

if it is compressors then they can be silenced a bit by building a shed around them.

it is diesel machinery working outside in a yard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Have you reported it yet? If you're serious about getting it sorted it might be worth your while noting the times of the noise. I'd also consider getting a sound meter in order to see if it's over the recommended decibel level. They can be got cheap enough- Here's an ebay link for them- http://www.ebay.ie/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2050601.m570.l1311.R1.TR1.TRC0.A0.H0.Xdigital+sound+le.TRS0&_nkw=digital+sound+level+meter&_sacat=0

They can also be hired out but a quick google shows that to work out more expensive than just buying a medium range one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Sounds like a 3 phase diesel generator maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Willfarman wrote: »
    Sounds like a 3 phase diesel generator maybe?

A quarry surely, considering he says that he's moving closer to the victim!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭imp1

You have two options really, all spelled out quite well in a document from the Free Legal Advice Centre on Neighbour disputes, a quick google should find it, I cant post the link.

Chatting to the neighbours and getting through to them should always be the first option.

If you are heading for court, then a report from a noise consultant will be no bad thing, don't bother buying or renting a meter yourself, unless you are very conversant with its use, the first thing a judge usually asks in these cases is 'Just how loud is the noise' if you cannot answer scientifically you may well end up being made to look very foolish, even if good intentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Phone him at half five some morning and tell him that his washing machine is keeing you awake.

Dont worry if hes not up. Sure hell have to get up to answer the phone anyway........:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

imp1 wrote: »
    You have two options really, all spelled out quite well in a document from the Free Legal Advice Centre on Neighbour disputes, a quick google should find it, I cant post the link.

Chatting to the neighbours and getting through to them should always be the first option.

If you are heading for court, then a report from a noise consultant will be no bad thing, don't bother buying or renting a meter yourself, unless you are very conversant with its use, the first thing a judge usually asks in these cases is 'Just how loud is the noise' if you cannot answer scientifically you may well end up being made to look very foolish, even if good intentioned.

A standard noise meter is of no use for this type of environmental noise complaint.

Typically if the "nuisance" noise is 10dB above "Background" level" you have a cause for complaint.

A penalty of 5dB is typically applied if there is a impact/tonal component to the nuisance noise like from a hammer/whistle etc.

The time of day is also an important factor.

I'd do a planning search first off.

Attenuation of noise with better silencers, stipulations on acceptable level and allowed periods for work are factors which can help in finding a compromise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

If its a sucessfull business and the owner is reasonable and accepts that your are suffering . I wonder would he be prepared to pay for you to have trible glazed windows fitted.

A local man put them in after the motor way was build right a the back of his house and he says you wouldnt hear it.

mf240 wrote: »
    Phone him at half five some morning and tell him that his washing machine is keeing you awake.

Dont worry if hes not up. Sure hell have to get up to answer the phone anyway........:D

Lol, guy range at 11pm one night. I was in bed, I rang him at 5.30 the next morning, he answered with "message received".

Sorry, off topic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

We considered three times a day

Love our neighbours... when I'm milking in the evening and the collecting yard lights are on they know to shuffle their big flat screen round a bit so the cows can watch it across the wall...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Nope.
    There's rules about when you can make noise and how much you can make. Asking who was there first is like kids squabbling in a playground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

_Brian wrote: »
    Nope.
    There's rules about when you can make noise and how much you can make. Asking who was there first is like kids squabbling in a playground.

I couldn't be sure brian but I'd have to side with quader on this. There was a court case around here twenty years ago involving a pig farm and a couple of new neighbours. They wanted to virtually shut him down. Judge asked very early in proceedings was the piggery in operation before the neighbours built, obviously the answer was yes. "Pay that man his costs, ye knew that the farm was there and operating before ye moved in, nothing about his operation has changed and it's within the norms for that type of business". Case closed. There may have been changes in case law since but that was certainly the precedent at one point.

Buckets of Regulations in since then. what happened to this read about for a couple years (this case) was it settled?

http://www.independent.ie/business/farming/limerick-farm-odour-case-back-in-court-31373443.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

As far as I know it used to be between 7am and 11pm that noise had to be keeped under a certain level eg. using a car horn in a built up area during these hours causing a nuisance would be illegal.
    First I would look at sound proofing you're own house as much as possible with hedge or trees
    Insulation triple glazed windows
    Ask neighbour to set hedge or trees on his side and keep noise down during sleeping hours
    If he ignores you keep calling local garda and council about noises every day until they do something.
    Don't expect he will close down his business but he should be some way reasonable.
    Soundproofing you're home could make a big difference too even if it costs a few quid for peace of mind it might be worth it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

djmc wrote: »
    As far as I know it used to be between 7am and 11pm that noise had to be keeped under a certain level eg. using a car horn in a built up area during these hours causing a nuisance would be illegal.

They need to expand that rule to other horns, the housing estate I lived in for a few months back had some screamers at 2am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Op put on your wellies and sort the neighbour man to man.
    Fcuk the wellies, steel toecap is your only man :)

Unless there is a roar from your vacuum pump there should be no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

Judge asked very early in proceedings was the piggery in operation before the neighbours built, obviously the answer was yes. "Pay that man his costs, ye knew that the farm was there and operating before ye moved in, nothing about his operation has changed and it's within the norms for that type of business".

The underlined was what won the case, not the "who was there first".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Crazyivan 1979

imp1 wrote: »

Going to court can be very costly, even if you win. It may depend on the judge. I am an environmental noise consultant and was involved in a court case a few years ago for a survey I did to prove nuisance noise against a clients neighbour. My client won but still, but was not awarded costs by the judge. got very expensive for him.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Unless there is a roar from your vacuum pump there should be no problem.

You haven't met the neighbour. Complained about traffic on the road this year when we had 3 tankers spreading slurry PIA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭memorystick

I love the hum of the neighbours milking machine. It's peaceful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

I'm nearly certain I read an article a few years back where a new neighbour moved into a house, complained noise of the milking machine was measured and the judge didn't want to hear that it was like that for years...can't find the article now though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 MadeInCavan

Based on passed experience the ONLY way you are going to sort this is to talk to your neighbour and come to some king of understanding, you have rites but so does he, it's all about understand the others view point

You haven't met the neighbour. Complained about traffic on the road this year when we had 3 tankers spreading slurry PIA
    I know the sort, there's a few of them far enough away from me not to be a problem. One of them contacts the Gardaí with every little disturbance to her pitiful life, they are even ignoring her now :) Some day she'll really want the Gardaí and she'll be after crying wolf once too often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭imp1

ford2600 wrote: »
    A standard noise meter is of no use for this type of environmental noise complaint.

Typically if the "nuisance" noise is 10dB above "Background" level" you have a cause for complaint.

A penalty of 5dB is typically applied if there is a impact/tonal component to the nuisance noise like from a hammer/whistle etc.

The time of day is also an important factor.

I'd do a planning search first off.

Attenuation of noise with better silencers, stipulations on acceptable level and allowed periods for work are factors which can help in finding a compromise.

That is not really the case, section 108 of the Environment Protection Act states
    108.—(1) Where any noise which is so loud, so continuous, so repeated, of such duration or pitch or occurring at such times as to give reasonable cause for annoyance to a person in any premises in the neighbourhood or to a person lawfully using any public place, a local authority, the Agency or any such person may complain to the District Court and the Court may order the person or body making, causing or responsible for the noise to take the measures necessary to reduce the noise to a specified level or to take specified measures for the prevention or limitation of the noise and the person or body concerned shall comply with such order.

(2) It shall be a good defence, in the case of proceedings under subsection (1) or in a prosecution for a contravention of this section, in the case of noise caused in the course of a trade or business, for the accused to prove that—

(a) he took all reasonable care to prevent or limit the noise to which the complaint relates by providing, maintaining, using, operating and supervising facilities, or by employing practices or methods of operation, that, having regard to all the circumstances, were suitable for the purposes of such prevention or limitation, or

(b) the noise is in accordance with—

(i) the terms of a licence under this Act, or

(ii) regulations under section 106 .

(3) Before a complaint is made to the District Court under subsection (1) the local authority or the person concerned, as the case may be, shall serve a notice in the prescribed form of the intention to make such a complaint, within such time as may be specified in the notice, on the person alleged to have made or have caused or have been responsible for the noise.

So all you have to do is to convince a judge that the noise is loud enough, without reference to background noise levels, to annoy you - this is best done with an acoustic consultant. However, as the guidance also states, if the neighbour has done as much as possible to reduce the noise, that can be a good defence, and is the reason he may have an acoustic consultant represent his case in court.

All that being said, court is not really the place to sort neighbourly disputes, over the fence, at the kitchen table, or maybe even the pub, are much better locations for that.