Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you buy a murder house?

• 05-12-2015 11:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 895 ✭✭✭

So a friend of mine is looking at a house and it turns out that a house in a good area which is perfect for her was the scene of a murder about 10 years ago. Now she's not so sure. I asked why but she can't really put her finger on it and I'm the same.

What would you do in this situation?

Poll on its way...

If the house you wanted to buy was a murder house... 196 votes

Less Likely to Buy - for economic reasons only
    0% 0 votes
    Less Likely to Buy - for economic and other reasons
    4% 8 votes
    It would make no difference
    34% 67 votes
    More Likely to Buy - for economic reasons only
    40% 80 votes
    More Likely to Buy - for economic and other reasons
    20% 41 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Once it's not a mecca for ghoulish sightseeing then I'd have no issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Lightning doesn't strike twice.

She better hope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

The jilted jockey murders?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I don't think the murderer comes with the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Every house is a murder house if it's old enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Problem is if she bought it and then wanted to sell it would anyone else want to buy it? Not me bad vibes around such places even if it was 10 years ago........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Less likely to buy for economic reasons. I'd buy it for the laugh and offer tours. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

As long as I wasn't stepping over the corpse to make a cuppa, then sure. I'd be using it as a bargaining chip too

"ah jaysus, I dunno, the resale value would be feck all, you probably haven't much interest from anyone else, so you haven't.. maybe if the price was a bit lower...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I'd insist on it. If the estate agent is dedicated enough to his job he'll make it a murder house if it wasnt before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

I'd just murder the chance to be able to buy my own house :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Baybay

Our house wasn't where a murder took place but a previous owners mode of transport was stolen to move the body. It was years ago, long before we bought & we've lived in it for nearly twenty years. We knew this when we bought. I think of it occasionally but that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,826 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

"Ahhhhh, purple drapes".

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

biko wrote: »

Death house maybe, but not a murder house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

I wouldn't buy a murder house, but mainly because I think for me it would be ''tainted'' before I even moved in, I know it sounds a bit ridiculous and I'm not superstitious but somehow I'd just take it as a bad omen and I wouldn't want to start a new life in there. I guess I'd also be thinking about the person who was murdered and the fear and the terror they must have felt and gone through before they died and I doubt I'd be able to get it out of my mind, and I just wouldn't feel safe or comfortable somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I'm a torso!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Four walls, a roof, electricity/gas/water...I couldn't give a fuck if it's Jeffrey Dahmer's gaff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭La Fenetre

biko wrote: »

Since when ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

When we were buying our home, we were going to look at one but found out that there were two tragic deaths that occurred separately within a short amount of time. Like others have said, I just felt it would be tainted. Also even now when I hear a noise in my own house and if get a bit irrationally scared for a minute then I always think I'm glad we didn't buy that house.

Someone bought my third class teacher's old house and he was a convicted and jailed pedophile. I suppose Paddy really does love a bargain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Dughorm

Medusa22 wrote: »
    I wouldn't buy a murder house, but mainly because I think for me it would be ''tainted'' before I even moved in, I know it sounds a bit ridiculous and I'm not superstitious but somehow I'd just take it as a bad omen and I wouldn't want to start a new life in there. I guess I'd also be thinking about the person who was murdered and the fear and the terror they must have felt and gone through before they died and I doubt I'd be able to get it out of my mind, and I just wouldn't feel safe or comfortable somehow.

This.

It's weird isn't it, even though logically, there's probably no reason why living in a murder house would put you at higher risk of "evil" than the next door neighbour!

It's almost as if the house is "unclean".... is that superstition or something more?

Imagine walking into the kitchen to grab a cuppa and while you're standing there waiting for the kettle to boil you look into the middle distance and see with your minds eye at what could have happened across from you in the same room... shudder!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

Yeah I'd buy it - I'm not superstitious, but I'm a little stitious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

What makes a house grand
    Ain't the roof or the doors
    If there's love in a house
    It's a palace for sure

Tom Waits

So long as the area itself is ok to live in I don't see the issue. Unless of course the murderer is still on the loose. Once the blood has been cleared up, the heads removed from the fridge etc the house can move on, regardless of what has happened there before. If you're superstitious about its past you can get a priest/shamen to do a blessing/drive the evil spirits out etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

La Fenetre wrote: »
    Since when ?
    Since you killed that spider in the bathroom :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Brindor

Whats their to fear?
    A ghoul and some Tourists who might take a picture every once in a while?
    Of course, I would probably feel uncomfortable for the first few days living there, and every drop of water would sound something dropping to the ground.
    But meh, you would get used to it after a while.

Yeah I'd buy it - I'm not superstitious, but I'm a little stitious

I wouldn't, and I'm not superstitious either.

Who's wants to relax on the patio with their family, where Eamon Lillis bludgeoned his wife to death, when there are plenty other houses for sale elsewhere ?

I wouldn't buy a house where people were burned to death in either.

Who wants to be reminded from time to time, such an event and details occurring in their home, and who wants to set up home in such a house ? Who wants to be forever known as a cheapskate ghoul for buying it ? Add to the fact it'll never be worth it's full value in living memory, if you ever go to sell again, it's simply a bad investment. Maybe you could buy such a house to rent out, but I doubt if I'll ever be that desperate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

ive rented in a murder house,never knew until i was a few months living there and never felt uneasy after being told.ive been in a house were there was two suicides though and that felt eerie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

I lived in a Georgian building built late 1700's in England. Rebuilt and modernised on the inside. Quite a few people died there I imagine. Probably in my bedroom.

No evidence of murder, not that I looked up the history.

Custardpi wrote: »
    If you're superstitious about its past you can get a priest/shamen to do a blessing/drive the evil spirits out etc.

That's interesting you say that because I don't think I'd be affected by the thought of evil spirits still living in the walls or anything like that, which would be superstitious in my opinion, it's more the fact that *this bad thing happened here in my kitchen*.

I've read stories about the feeling people get when they visit the nazi concentration camps and so on - I wonder is it a bit like that?

Hmm I wonder do German auctioneers selling nearby properties to these places emphasise the "stunning views of a historical monument" or the likely fact that people working in the concentration camps probably lived there?!

Edit: And yet who gets an errie feeling visiting say the Tower of London or Dublin Castle where thousands of people have been tortured and killed over the centuries?! Strange isn't it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

cantdecide wrote: »
    Someone bought my third class teacher's old house and he was a convicted and jailed pedophile. I suppose Paddy really does love a bargain.

That's a ridiculous statement. You know he's not going to come back to abuse the new owners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

No, Im not superstitious and I don't believe in ghosts but I just wouldnt be able to take my mind off of the person suffering horrible pain in the house Im now living in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Dughorm wrote: »
    That's interesting you say that because I don't think I'd be affected by the thought of evil spirits still living in the walls or anything like that, which would be superstitious in my opinion, it's more the fact that *this bad thing happened here in my kitchen*.

I've read stories about the feeling people get when they visit the nazi concentration camps and so on - I wonder is it a bit like that?

Hmm I wonder do German auctioneers selling nearby properties to these places emphasise the "stunning views of a historical monument" or the likely fact that people working in the concentration camps probably lived there?!

Eventually though the building/location has to move on & if you're not going to demolish it (as has happened with some murder houses) why not take advantage of a cheap price & fill it with your own love & happy memories instead of the bad ones.

I get what you mean about the camps. I remember chatting to some locals in Oswiecim, site of the Auschwitz/Birkenau camp & they really hated the fact that the camp was all the area was known for, despite the tourist money it brought in. Some history is inescapable I guess, but people still have to live in bad places so must just make the best of it.

wakka12 wrote: »
    No, Im not superstitious and I don't believe in ghosts but I just wouldnt be able to take my mind off of the person suffering horrible pain in the house Im now living in

Exactly, it's nothing to do with superstition. It's called human empathy.
    What kind of ejit wants to relax on the patio with their family, where Eamon Lillis bludgeoned his wife to death, or somewhere where someone sexually abused kids, when there are plenty other houses for sale elsewhere ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Green Peter

No way! Evil remains within the walls ,I'be been in one such house and you know it's there

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

cantdecide wrote: »

Where did you go to school?

Custardpi wrote: »
    but people still have to live in bad places so must just make the best of it.

And that's what everyone will call them as well; even though the place itself is probably lovely and it's only the fcuktards who were there at one point in (recent?) history did an evil thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

The only thing that might put me off is all the ghosts at night howling and sh*t ........

No way! Evil remains within the walls ,I'be been in one such house and you know it's there

And out of interest, would a religious blessing help do you think?

That's a ridiculous statement. You know he's not going to come back to abuse the new owners?

Maybe. He's dead now
    Toots wrote: »
    Where did you go to school?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/court-names-scout-chief-who-raped-schoolboy-25937003.html

The article doesn't state the school where he taught and I attended from '88 to '94 but he was there before me and after I left. There had always been rumours.

Dughorm wrote: »
    And that's what everyone will call them as well; even though the place itself is probably lovely and it's only the fcuktards who were there at one point in (recent?) history did an evil thing!

Can't see what would be "lovely" for a couple using as their bedroom, or as a kids bedroom, the same bedroom that Joe O'Reilly murdered his wife Rachel in by bludgeoning her head in. What kind of people would enjoy that bedroom and house and think it a lovely house for a family home ? The mind boggles.

I wouldn't, and I'm not superstitious either.

Who's wants to relax on the patio with their family, where Eamon Lillis bludgeoned his wife to death, when there are plenty other houses for sale elsewhere ?

I wouldn't buy a house where people were burned to death in either.

Who wants to be reminded from time to time, such an event and details occurring in their home, and who wants to set up home in such a house ? Who wants to be forever known as a cheapskate ghoul for buying it ? Add to the fact it'll never be worth it's full value in living memory, if you ever go to sell again, it's simply a bad investment. Maybe you could buy such a house to rent out, but I doubt if I'll ever be that desperate.

You have to move past that if you can. Someone died in my husband's family home and we all knew it but it didn't feel strange. The house has since been sold and the new owners were never told.

eviltwin wrote: »
    You have to move past that if you can. Someone died in my husband's family home and we all knew it but it didn't feel strange. The house has since been sold and the new owners were never told.

Lots of people die at home, that's not the topic of the thread as well you know. I'll continue to have empathy with the victims and the acts committed against them if I wish. I don't have to get past any empathy or forget the injustice that was done to them if I don't wish to. I don't aspire to relaxing and enjoying the bedroom or patio and setting up family home where they were violently murdered, nor should I have to do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Lots of people die at home, that's not the topic.
    No Topics have a hazelnut in every bite :confused:

Lots of people die at home, that's not the topic.

What difference does it make how they died? If a murder house is left empty that just makes it the stuff of urban legend. Better to move on from the past and bring new life into it.

eviltwin wrote: »
    What difference does it make how they died? If a murder house is left empty that just makes it the stuff of urban legend. Better to move on from the past and bring new life into it.

Sure, you can aspire to having as your bedroom or kids room, the room where Rachael O'Reilly was bludgeoned to death in, or perhaps you'd like to have family get together's and enjoy relaxing on the patio where Eamon lillis strangled his wife, but don't expect other people have to.

Why those two cases? What about the house where someone pushed a family member down the stairs or punched them? Is it just houses connected to sensational crimes you are uncomfortable with or all houses where there has been a violent death. Whatever your view life goes on. I'd be okay making a home in a house where a murder occurred, the past is the past, life goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Sinn Féin has published its housing policy, which it says if implemented will deliver 100,000 new social and affordable homes over the next 15 years.

The new method of building houses is, from straw bales.

The houses are cheaper to build, are sourced from local materials, and are very well insulated so it will keep heating bills down.

A spokesman said that in these cash strapped times they were always looking for ways to keep the wolf from the door.

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

No murders in my house, I don't think anyway, but there's an old house down the road where a lynch mob disemboweled the owner (alleged rapist, according to the stories) and hung him from a tree along the road hundreds of years ago. House is still inhabited and I've been in it quite a few times, and would have no qualms buying it for the right money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Depends

If it's a house where a human murdered a human, fine. No bother

If it's an evil demonic house that will drive you crazy and kill you, then no.