Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Work Christmas Party

• 04-12-2015 11:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭

So I have my work christmas party tomorrow night. Before my current job I worked with only 6 people so it was usually fairly quiet.

My new job (there about 6 months) going to be maybe 60 people including team leaders, supervisors and probably the company owner.

My plan is to get there a bit later than its advertised and leave after a decent enough time. Free bar for the night but am wary of getting drunk especially with everyone with a camera phone.

Any advice on how to survive a work party ? Any stories about the same ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Heckler wrote: »
    So I have my work christmas party tomorrow night. Before my current job I worked with only 6 people so it was usually fairly quiet.

My new job (there about 6 months) going to be maybe 60 people including team leaders, supervisors and probably the company owner.

My plan is to get there a bit later than its advertised and leave after a decent enough time. Free bar for the night but am wary of getting drunk especially with everyone with a camera phone.

You should heckle someone, anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

My boss is a right tight bugger, never gives a Christmas party. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

My plan is to get there a bit later than its advertised and leave after a decent enough time. Free bar

Thats my plan every year.
    Has never went to plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Go to party....don't get too drunk.....enjoy yourself.....go home....it's pretty simple really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Go early sober and stay sober enough to know when to go home*.

Home can be another pub away from your colleagues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

Don't drink. Buy your immediate boss a drink. Be lovely to everyone. Fcuk off home.

Ask for a raise next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭Heckler

Frynge wrote: »
    Go early sober and stay sober enough to know when to go home*.

Home can be another pub away from your colleagues.

My plan exactly.

Thats my plan every year.
    Has never went to plan.

Could be what happens....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

libelula wrote: »
    Don't drink. Buy your immediate boss a drink. Be lovely to everyone. Fcuk off home.

Ask for a raise next week.

Ahahah.... this

Usually what happened at Christmas party's was the numbers would whittle down during the night until the die hards/single folks (me being one of them) would be left for the late bars. Predictable but we always had a good night out.

Firefox11 wrote: »
    Go to party....don't get too drunk.....enjoy yourself.....go home....it's pretty simple really.

Sounds good but things don't always work out that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Don't puke on your boss's shoes and you're golden. Happened a fella in a company I used to work for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

.. Whatever you do, just don't fcuk his wife either!

Actually, that's assuming you are a man.. but hey, these days you can get away with anything.

Sounds good but things don't always work out that way.

I suppose it depends on who you work with and how much you get on with them. Never had issues as regards Christmas parties with with my former workplace. Good folks from top to bottom.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Niemoj

One of the bosses always pulls some new employee and comes in sheepishly on the Monday morning next.

Free bar usually, it's great fun.:pac:

Firefox11 wrote: »
    I suppose it depends on who you work with and how much you get on with them. Never had issues as regards Christmas parties with with my former workplace. Good folks from top to bottom.

Agreed. I skipped an earlier in the year get together as I wasn't long there and didn't know many people. Now I'm friendly with a good lot and would have no bother. All good people. I guess sometimes its possible to go over the top and regret it the next day. Normally fine if its with strangers but if you have to go to work with them the next monday the smallest thing could be picked up on and blown out of all proportion.

Think I'll just go for a few and quietly slip away......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

When I was in my early twenties I used to work for a national accountancy firm where the Christmas party started at about 12 noon on the last day of work. There was no escape as you had to travel with all your co-workers to the regional office to meet up with the other staff and they wouldn't take any excuse to get out of it.

Anyway, when you'd get there it was straight to the pub and free drinks from there on in. About 3pm you'd be brought for a meal and the free drinks would still be flowing late into the night.

Of course the first time I went I assumed I'd be grand, as I considered myself able to handle me drink. I ended up getting completely twisted and making a show of myself that night (including telling my boss what I really thought of him). The only consolation was I wasn't the worst by a long shot. I heard afterwards one of the accountants pissed themselves in front of everyone, but the shame and fear of having to head back in January ruined me whole Christmas so it did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭NotASheeple

Work parties are usually full of pathetic arse lickers, a complete a waste of time and best avoided imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,458 ✭✭✭chops018

This thread reminded me of this joke:

Chinese worker: "Me not come to work, me sick."

Boss: "When I'm sick I have sex with my wife, try it."

Later Chinese worker called back: "It worked. Me better. You got nice house!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

chops018 wrote: »
    This thread reminded me of this joke:

Chinese worker: "Me not come to work, me sick."

Boss: "When I'm sick I have sex with my wife, try it."

Later Chinese worker called back: "It worked. Me better. You got nice house!"

Honestly, can't follow that train.

Whatever happens don't worry, any boss will have had to deal with worse previously.

When I was in my early twenties I used to work for a national accountancy firm where the Christmas party started at about 12 noon on the last day of work. There was no escape as you had to travel with all your co-workers to the regional office to meet up with the other staff and they wouldn't take any excuse to get out of it.

Anyway, when you'd get there it was straight to the pub and free drinks from there on in. About 3pm you'd be brought for a meal and the free drinks would still be flowing late into the night.

Of course the first time I went I assumed I'd be grand, as I considered myself able to handle me drink. I ended up getting completely twisted and making a show of myself that night (including telling my boss what I really thought of him). The only consolation was I wasn't the worst by a long shot. I heard afterwards one of the accountants pissed themselves in front of everyone, but the shame and fear of having to head back in January ruined me whole Christmas so it did.

I like to think that I can handle my booze but I suppose the more you have the more you think you can have and so on.

Around friends I don't mind getting a bit messy drunk but a new work party is a different story. I'm long enough in the tooth not to judge or make a big deal outta anyone getting legless. Hate the "should have seen you last night" brigade .

In late out early is my plan.

Frynge wrote: »
    Honestly, can't follow that train.

Whatever happens don't worry, any boss will have had to deal with worse previously.

The worker shagged the bosses wife.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Don't drink too much and only expose your willy in the bathroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Ninap

Fcks sake. It's Christmas. Get wasted. Have a laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Go, enjoy it. have a reason to leave early that you can use if you want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Weed. It helps.......but they all know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Ninap wrote: »
    Fcks sake. It's Christmas. Get wasted. Have a laugh
    is it christmas though?

Has anybody had their "christmas" party in november yet?

And the OP did not mention any managers in his place, the term "team leader" would be a warning of the possible cringe fest it might be. GO -TEAM, U-S-A!!, U-S-A!!! surprised they are not calling it a "seasonal party" or some shite.

EDIT: I see jurys have xmas parties advertised for nov 20th!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭doulikeit

Totally agree with optimalprimerib I always leave early and meet my real friends in the local. If I want to get a bit pissed and make a tit of myself l will do it with lads I can do that with. Works do is still technically work people do forget that and no matter what, u are still gauged by every performance, free bar is tempting but dont be a pig be the polite gray man its not really a night out its an extension of work, and if I sound a bit of a condescending prick its not my intention its just my advice on previous experience. Doesn't matter if its a piss up its still work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I actually like some of my colleagues, they are friends. So I like the christmas do. Free booze with buddies.
    Would not be dunkenly making a tit of myself though...no one needs to be doing that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Work parties are usually full of pathetic arse lickers, a complete a waste of time and best avoided imo.

How so? Everyone in a workplace will have their own group if it's a big enough place. So they'll probably spend most of the night with them and just be like a night out with friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

rubadub wrote: »
    is it christmas though?

Has anybody had their "christmas" party in november yet?

Lad I know had his section Christmas party 3 weeks ago. He had 'last year's' Christmas party at the end of January...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Get drunk. Ride your boss stupid and get a new job in the new year :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

Its a professional minefield as far as I am concerned.

First of all you have to go, otherwise everybody is wondering whats up with you, bosses feel snubbed etc.

On the night its self its often filled with things you'd rather leave at home at 5pm, like problems at work, office politics, the bosses latest mad plan, so you are this strange mix between half cut and stressed out.

Then you have to avoid the trap of getting hammered drunk (tougher for some than others) and avoiding getting involved in other peoples career death spirals.

So all in all, great craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

Every year one of the newspapers will quote a new survey where a ridiculous % of people have had sex at/after their work party.

I think it was 39% this year.

Who is doing all this riding?!

It feels like I'm going to a nuns Christmas party each year. Does this craic actually happen at most people's parties?

Also.... anyone hiring? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Corpus Twisty

It's today. I'm not going. They think I'm an anti-social git anyway, so why ruin the illusion?
    "Hi, are you going to the party??"
    "No."
    "Oh...erm...ok..."

After a couple of years, they stop asking..problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Just go and enjoy yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

imitation wrote: »
    First of all you have to go

Not necessarily. In my company about half the staff are attending the party this year. They put a sheet up on the board and whoever wants to go just signs their name, which is better than going around asking people because you feel awkward saying no. That's the way they used to do it.

Granted we're not getting a free bar or free food. Last year we paid for half the meal and the company paid for the other half. :rolleyes: I'm not going this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭opinionated3

I work in a factory of nearly 200 people. ..about a70/30 split between floor and office staff. Relations are so bad between the 2 sections that we don't have a staff party. The office staff arrange their own party and some of us arrange our own thing. Depressing stuff really. Morale is non existent but it's a bit like austerity....the well- off in the company are happy campers so everything must be ok right??!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

Christmas parties are fun when you're young. Now I tend to avoid - either I have an excuse, or don't drink at the meal and the piss off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

I can't think of any reason whatsoever that i would want to go to a party or any social gathering with the people i work with.

Any involvement with work/my co-workers ends once i walk out the door of the place i work at the end of my shift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

Get drunk. Ride your boss stupid and get a promotion in the new year :D

Fixed that for you ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

My Christmas party is on Thursday and I've made my excuses, I just don't enjoy mid week drinking and I find some of the higher ups a little dry. We are having a team night on the 18th so I'm going to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Go but only drink bottles of Ballygowan. Stand in the corner watching everyone and occasionally shake your head and tut loudly.
    Talk to no one but if anyone does talk to you, tell them that this sort of drunken debauchery is a disgrace. Leave at 8.30 proclaiming loudly that you have to get up for mass in the morning.
    You'll be Mr popular when you get back to work in the new year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

We have 2 parties, one is organised the staff (not management) where old staff members are invited too. You can get up to whatever you want at this one.

Then in the new year we have our company party,but like was posted above, there is a massive divide in our company so as soon as the food is over the group's splits into 2 clear divisions. But no matter how much of a show you make of yourself, we can all rest easy that one particular manager will outshine us in every way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

In my last job a few sections got together and organised a meal and drinks in a local pub. We paid for it ourselves. Management didn't contribute anything. They were happy enough though to send an email around to remind us that even though we would be out of the office we were still representing the Department and should not do anything that we would not do in the office. We were also told not to drink so much that we would get drunk.

I really miss working for the Revenue Commissioners :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Sounds like a lot of people hate where they work.

Mine is tonight. Everyone gets on down here & mixes between departments. No divide of note between management and staff. In fact most of the top boys prefer coming to our one (wexford) than go to the Dublin one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 CodeNameEagle

Christmas parties are fun when you're young. Now I tend to avoid - either I have an excuse, or don't drink at the meal and the piss off

I guess your married. :D

90% of the people I work with are sound out and I have no problem going out drinking with them. I guess its having the top brass around that would make me a bit wary. Watching everything and making mental notes I reckon.

Gonna stick to my plan of in late out early. I have a pretty good instinct as to when enoughs enough anyways. Always disappearing off home after telling people I'm just heading to the loo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭JTL

Giving mine a miss this year. Night will be great but can't face the feeling of 'fear' the following Monday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

gazzer wrote: »
    In my last job a few sections got together and organised a meal and drinks in a local pub. We paid for it ourselves. Management didn't contribute anything. They were happy enough though to send an email around to remind us that even though we would be out of the office we were still representing the Department and should not do anything that we would not do in the office. We were also told not to drink so much that we would get drunk.

I really miss working for the Revenue Commissioners :):)

Imagine if Revenue did that christmas party deal small companies do sometimes where 4 or 5 of them share a big ballroom for dinner and dancing.

Id love to see the look on the company owners faces, just before they strart grabbing the free drinks from employees and sprint back up to the bar.