Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people graffiti?

• 03-12-2015 6:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭

I find graffiti appalling, I'm saddened when I walk the royal canal and admire a bridge that was built 200 years ago only to see 'Anto' or 'Deco' or whatever the in Skanger name is scrawled across the wall.

Admittedly you do on rare occasions see that there is some talent in those that attempt some sort of drawing or characture. But it is still vandalism.

My question is, why do these people think it is ok to so this? It would appear to be confined to certain elements of society and in certain areas.

What particilularly I find interesting is that they like to write their name/nickname. Is this an angry shootout to civilised society that they are there or what?

I know there is gang related stuff too and a sense of oneupmanship here but...

Anyway, it saddens me when historic buildings are destroyed with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,429 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Same reason dogs cock their legs on lampposts. With about as much self-awareness.

• Site Banned Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Youngblood.III

I feel the same about the likes of "tagging" something with their name (tag)
    ...but I do like art graffiti, some very talented people out there.
    They should build an area like a skate park for them, let them express themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Because they are idiots.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,976 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

How else would you know who woz ere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Pink Fairy

An File wrote: »
    How else would you know who woz ere?

Banksy woz ere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Because they are idiots.

Yea but I'm interested into the psychology of it. There must be a reason why these kind of people feel it necessary to write their names in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

15 years ago I felt like it was a way of rebelling.. Senseless I know, but to 14 year old me it made sense .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

There's a French street artist called Shaka aka Marchal Mithouard, whose work is incredibly talented IMHO...

http://www.ufunk.net/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/shaka-street-art-1.jpg

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/0f/3c/84/0f3c84fe642db73da6d5447ddbcebd2c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

It really depends on context. Expertly done graffiti by a talented artist on an otherwise drab and purposeless wall is always nice to look at and adds to the urban vibe.

A childish scribble on the front wall of another person's house however is just silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

py2006 wrote: »
    Yea but I'm interested into the psychology of it. There must be a reason why these kind of people feel it necessary to write their names in public.

That is the psychology. They are idiots who care nothing for their environment or anybody who has to share it with them.

Antisocial personality disorder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Pink Fairy wrote: »
    Banksy king robbo woz ere!

human nature i suppose to leave our mark,sure even the cavemen were at it.i do think most cities would benefit from a designated graffitti are like in toronto or new york,some of the work ive seen in these places belong in an art gallery in beverly hills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

Regarding human nature there seems to be two mentalities to graffiti. One is the "world is a giant canvas" approach by actual artists and they can often use this for political or social messages as well.

The other is the "look at meeee I'm so cool" mentality of a 13 year old spraying a penis on a wall in front of his mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,575 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Rabble rabble rabble.....young people.......rabble rabble rabble...... no respect ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭toptom

Scandalous behaviour, We need to see more of the graffiti gurriers in court. And whats as bad is adults in paid employment putting graffiti in canteen cubicles. mind boggles over some folks antics.

Regarding human nature there seems to be two mentalities to graffiti. One is the "world is a giant canvas" approach by actual artists and they can often use this for political or social messages as well.

The other is the "look at meeee I'm so cool" mentality of a 13 year old spraying a penis on a wall in front of his mates.

yeah gone are the days of writing "SEX IS COOL" everywere

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,976 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

There's a street light near one of the local shops here with the slogan "Mickey Mouse is a rat" in thick, white, Tipp-Exed letters. It's been there for at least 20 years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Tyler Durdenn

toptom wrote: »
    Scandalous behaviour, We need to see more of the graffiti gurriers in court. And whats as bad is adults in paid employment putting graffiti in canteen cubicles. mind boggles over some folks antics.

Absent a firing squad, the mandatory sentence for those found guilty of graffiti should be 600 hours of unpaid community service scrubbing other ****e graffiti off walls with a toothbrush. It's tough to catch the feckers so the deterrent needs to be strong.

Additionally, they should have an apology printed in their local newspaper where they acknowledge that they are talentless little toerags, among the dregs of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Art myarse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Pink Fairy

kupus wrote: »
    Art myarse.

Gimme some paintbrushes and i'll have a crack!

Absent a firing squad, the mandatory sentence for those found guilty of graffiti should be 600 hours of unpaid community service scrubbing other ****e graffiti off walls with a toothbrush. It's tough to catch the feckers so the deterrent needs to be strong.

Additionally, they should have an apology printed in their local newspaper where they acknowledge that they are talentless little toerags, among the dregs of society.

I don't think the number was 600 hours, but this certainly happened recently enough in Limerick. Significant damage was done to road signage, and that was the final straw after a load of walls were tagged. The lads who did it were easy to find. Named and shamed in the local papers.

As far as I know they were brought on board to give lessons to younger artists after the heat died down, so at least their hobby (I won't say "talent" for taggers) was put to good use later on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Pink Fairy wrote: »
    Gimme some paintbrushes and i'll have a crack!

You need a big brush, a lot of filling to do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

yeah gone are the days of writing "SEX IS COOL" everywere

I always love that one.

Take that Catholic Church!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

We have a high amount of fellow citizens with little or no civic pride. We graffiti public places, we litter, we damage amenities, uproot young trees and accept it all as 'they way it is'. It's a horrible trait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,338 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I like good graffiti, but I've never seen anything close to good in Ireland. In Brussels a few days ago and went past a tram station, had these on it:
    http://www.brusselspictures.com/wp-content/photos/graffiti-de-wand-station/IMG_9222.jpg

Video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5uPsoXvZKbw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,936 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Watching that Robbo vs. Banksy documentary, one thing that struck me was that Banksy's great crime was that he incorporated the work of someone else (Robbo) into his own. It seemed weird given that all graffiti or street art essentially incorporates the work of the craftsmen and architects who built the wall or building it is on into the work of another. Maybe the hostility that "Team Robbo" feels for Banksy echoes the instinctive hostility the wider public feel for graffiti in general - its the sense that someone is riding on the coat tails of another craftsman. Did Robbo ever give a **** about the people who designed and crafted the trains he painted on? Did he ask for their permission?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

That is the psychology. They are idiots who care nothing for their environment or anybody who has to share it with them.

Antisocial personality disorder.

Even those who wrote on the Berlin Wall?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Sand wrote: »
    Watching that Robbo vs. Banksy documentary, one thing that struck me was that Banksy's great crime was that he incorporated the work of someone else (Robbo) into his own. It seemed weird given that all graffiti or street art essentially incorporates the work of the craftsmen and architects who built the wall or building it is on into the work of another. Maybe the hostility that "Team Robbo" feels for Banksy echoes the instinctive hostility the wider public feel for graffiti in general - its the sense that someone is riding on the coat tails of another craftsman. Did Robbo ever give a **** about the people who designed and crafted the trains he painted on? Did he ask for their permission?

I thought it was pretty shameless the way he rips of the style of the French lad, personally I sort of like the way anarchists etc are giving him so much sh-t now for being a capitalist.
    Cienciano wrote: »
    I like good graffiti, but I've never seen anything close to good in Ireland. In Brussels a few days ago and went past a tram station, had these on it:
    http://www.brusselspictures.com/wp-content/photos/graffiti-de-wand-station/IMG_9222.jpg

Video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5uPsoXvZKbw

Take a wander around Christchurch area or out the back of the George Bernard Shaw

its a big no no in the graffiti world....seemingly robbo hit banksy a slap when they met and banksy was exacting his revenge by altering his last known and oldest piece of graffiti,anyhoo i dont think robbo will ever be asking for permission again...

So when Robbo graffitis a wall or a train, is the guy who built that wall or train entitled to give Robbo a slap for stealing his work?

im sure the fella whos piece he was painting over at the start of the documentary is....oh the irony

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Skoop

Used to do it when I was a kid. Did it 'cause it was bold and you weren't meant to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,743 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

It's vandalism. It's an attempt by people of low self esteem who live in a sh1thole, to bring other people's property down to the level of their own sh1thole, by marking it. It's becoming a huge problem in Ireland, but nobody seems keen on sorting it out. Some idiots even think it is artistic. I don't care if it looks like a Rembrandt recreation. If it is done without permission of the owner, then it is wrong and should not be tolerated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Take a trip on the DART - the whole route is a graffiti artist's playground including schools, private houses, the Aviva stadium and, of course, anything that doesn't move on or near the railway. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

It's one of the elements of Hip Hop. Done right it's beautiful and one of the truest forms of art. It's just a shame everyone labels it as the work of scumbags when they see it on their walk to the city offices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Is it not relatively harmless and done by idle/bored people?

Can be easily painted over....really doesn't seem something to be getting worked up over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

I hate Graffiti :mad:

Its so ugly looking.

Ally Dick wrote: »
    It's vandalism... If it is done without permission of the owner, then it is wrong and should not be tolerated

Ironically, purveyors of graffiti would agree. Except when they do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,085 ✭✭✭Vic_08

No, it is not relatively harmless. Quite apart from the fact that lots of it is put on things that need to be seen, particularly on the railways it also adds to the overall appearance of deprivation of areas. That in turn leads to more vandalism and crime as well as the public feeling less safe, broken windows theory.
    Can be easily painted over....really doesn't seem something to be getting worked up over

Would you say the same if it was your car or house covered in unwanted "art"

Paint and labour is not free but tht's OK because the gubberment will pay. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

py2006 wrote: »
    I find graffiti appalling, I'm saddened when I walk the royal canal and admire a bridge that was built 200 years ago only to see 'Anto' or 'Deco' or whatever the in Skanger name is scrawled across the wall.

Admittedly you do on rare occasions see that there is some talent in those that attempt some sort of drawing or characture. But it is still vandalism.
    I hate all tagging. Graffiti can be good sometimes, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭wilhelm roentgen

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Take that Catholic Church!

Let us spray :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

human nature i suppose to leave our mark,sure even the cavemen were at it.i do think most cities would benefit from a designated graffitti are like in toronto or new york,some of the work ive seen in these places belong in an art gallery in beverly hills.

Ah yes, Beverly Hills, the centre of the art world. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Vic_08 wrote: »
    No, it is not relatively harmless. Quite apart from the fact that lots of it is put on things that need to be seen, particularly on the railways it also adds to the overall appearance of deprivation of areas. That in turn leads to more vandalism and crime as well as the public feeling less safe, broken windows theory.

Would you say the same if it was your car or house covered in unwanted "art"

Paint and labour is not free but tht's OK because the gubberment will pay. :rolleyes:

In fairness the sky is hardly going to fall in over someone scrawling a joke etc on the wall of a toilet??

I see it many times being used by people in dispute/used to out known criminals/heroin dealers (espially) having there name sprayed painted onto walls of banks etc...after gardai refusing to deal with them

Hardly end of the world stuff :pac:

Well, that makes the kind of sense that doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Fine so, we will point them in the direction of your house and let them scrawl their tags all over it, then watch as you go and paint over it for the umpteenth time with the paint that you will have to pay for.
    And when you get a bit older and you are not so ablebodied, would you still be happy to find the strenght to "just paint over it"....again!

They are a shower of Fu@kwits with no respect for other peoples property.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Why do people double decker bus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Ruu woz ere

Tarzana2 woz ere lovin' himself.

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Ah yes, Beverly Hills, the centre of the art world. :pac:

i was thinking more serges art gallery in beverly hills cop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

It's not that bad in Dublin ever been to Paris or Rome it's plagued with the stuff. I'm surprised you never see any delivery vans or trains in Ireland with it. It's common on those on the continent.