Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drinking on your wedding day

• 02-12-2015 10:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭

What do you guys think of the bride and groom drinking on their wedding day? Proper drinking I mean. Seems like it's inviting trouble to me.

Having never been married myself (yet :eek: ), I sometimes wonder well is the marriage consummated that night or not. If you think about it, it's a long, stressful and exhausting day. Then you pile on a load of drink (not saying every couple does it, but a lot*) and keep it going til 4 or 5 in the morning. Would you not be wrecked? Or even if you get it on, it's not gonna be a stellar performance.

Also, I think it'd be a shame to forget parts of the day. Friend was at one recently, said the groom had to be helped to the altar after having a feed of pints and brandy in the morning "to calm his nerves". Another one, his brother (groom) spilled a fine big pint of stout on his shirt at a pit stop en-route to the church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,723 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Nothing wrong with the main drinks (champagne at reception, wine at dinner etc). But outside of that, best to go real slow drinking until after the band have gone and guests start leaving. You tend to be far too busy going from table to table talking to guests, or guests coming up to you, making sure things are happening as they should, out dancing etc. Add too much drink into the mix and you're asking for a world of hurt.

Once the DJ kicks in and the residents bar starts coming into view, (jager)bombs away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

They are hopefully both of adult age and can make their own decisions.
    That said I've never been to a wedding where there was drink taken until the reception. That's how we roll where I'm from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I think they should save the sessions for when they have been married for forty years and can't stand the sight of each other. :pac:

A drink or two is to be expected, I don't think an outright session would be a good idea.
    Their wedding though, as long as you're not the one causing havoc let them at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭dinorebel

Couldn't of got married without it to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

biko wrote: »
    They are hopefully both of adult age and can make their own decisions.
    Their wedding though, as long as you're not the one causing havoc let them at it.

Lads in fairness, I'm not proposing some Stasi-esque government sponsored crackdown on couples drinking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

I arrived with my best man and he went straight to the bar to get a pint. I drank water until handed a glass of champagne after the ceremony. Then abstained until the dinner and sipped pints throughout the night. Penn is right above, it passed in a blur but not due to drink. Due to the fact that you are spending 5 mins with everyone in the venue just going from person to person and being handed things and then on to the next person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Surely you have to question if you are making the right choice when you need a few drinks to go through with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Vandango

c_man wrote: »
    What do you guys think of the bride and groom drinking on their wedding day?

If they're stupid enough to get married, then drinking on their wedding day is the least of their worries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Do the sensible thing and stick to coke.

A couple of lines of it, anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Joe Exotic

I got bought a load of drinks so when anyway asked up until the residents bar I simply asked for a long neck bottle of beer.

Nothing worse than seeing a bride or groom totally ****ed at their wedding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Consummation of marriage no longer a bid deal considering the amount of practice that's the norm now before hand.

Stress wise I think the best man has the worst job of the day. But, drinks before the wedding for the groom, really ?!?

After reception and fire away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

I was absolutely gee eyed at my wedding, the registrar threatened to cancel cause she saw me drinking whiskey at 11 in the morning, got into rounds of shots later on in the night and a massive amount of the night is a blur (which I do regret)

I also regret not organising a proper babysitter for the next day,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Lads in fairness, I'm not proposing some Stasi-esque government sponsored crackdown on couples drinking!
    I know, I was talking in general terms of being at weddings where the happy couple has decided to start early.
    If it was me I'd want to wait, I think it's a good idea but I wouldn't worry about what other people do.

Maybe if I have coffee I'll be understood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Of course have a few drinks. Think bride and groom deserve it after all the stress of getting everything ready and the cost:eek:.
    I wouldnt agree with having drinks before the ceremony though..imagine the hangover hitting in at reception!!!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

abotu 4 years ago we were at a wedding, my wifes friend ( the groom) always a big drinker..

Day before the wedding, the brides dad died
    Wedding went ahead
    At the wedding, he had to be put to bed at half 11 he was so hammered
    Got back up at 1 and chased the wife around to say he was sorry
    next day drove across the country for the funeral...

At my wedding, he fell asleep in the urinal trough :eek:

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Surely you have to question if you are making the right choice when you need a few drinks to go through with it.

Jim Lahey: "I'm going to let the liquor do the thinking"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

I sometimes wonder well is the marriage consummated that night or not. If you think about it, it's a long, stressful and exhausting day. Then you pile on a load of drink (not saying every couple does it, but a lot*) and keep it going til 4 or 5 in the morning. Would you not be wrecked? Or even if you get it on, it's not gonna be a stellar performance.

2 of my best fiends got married this year (not to each other, separate weddings) and neither of the couples had sex that night. One couple barely drank at all (nerves, full after the meal, too busy dancing and chatting) and the other had a few drinks, nothing major but both said that they were just too wrecked. It wasn't just the women though, the lads were knackered and were happy to crash too. I don't think consummation on the night really matters anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

abotu 4 years ago we were at a wedding, my wifes friend ( the groom) always a big drinker..

Day before the wedding, the brides dad died
    Wedding went ahead
    At the wedding, he had to be put to bed at half 11 he was so hammered
    Got back up at 1 and chased the wife around to say he was sorry
    next day drove across the country for the funeral...

At my wedding, he fell asleep in the urinal trough :eek:

Full time mad bastard :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I had a fair few drinks at my wedding. But not drunk. When I have adrenelin in the system then drink does not seem to be affecting me as much. Tiredness was what put me to bed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Menas wrote: »
    When I have adrenelin in the system then drink does not seem to be affecting me as much.

Issh fine, nosh a bovver on me. Hates it (hiccup) when I can't get dr... dunk.

Most brides and grooms (and their bridal parties) I know would have had few drinks getting ready in the morning and one or two after the ceremony at the stop off pub on the way to the reception then some champagne etc at the reception. Then just a slow few pints at the reception not getting drunk and then when the band is on for a while or when the DJ starts they can let loose a bit more and even more so at the residents bar. Never saw a bride or groom make a fool of themselves at a wedding due to drink.

At the end of the day it's your party what's the point if you an have be drinking during it once you pace yourself and don't get hammered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Alcoholism is so romantic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Marriage ha never scared me.

The prospect of the cringey wedding fills me with dread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

A couple of brandys in the morning to settle the nerves then tipped away all day but didn't drink heavily till after 3am.i added it up and I had quite a bit to drink but it was one of those days you couldn't get drunk on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

My dad made me two cocktails while I was getting ready and I had a mimosa too. I'm a serious lightweight when it comes to drinking but I think the excitement helped and I didn't even feel tipsy. I only had a couple of glasses of bubbly at the reception. People should do what they want but I think it would be a terrible pity to get so drunk that you can't remember the day or you make a fool of yourself. Nothing wrong with a few drinks though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

We had a few throughout the day but nothing mad. Had a few packets of cripps out of the vending machine then went to bed. Saved the sexytime until the following day.

2 of my best fiends got married this year (not to each other, separate weddings) and neither of the couples had sex that night.

Christ...before I'd tell a friend about my sex life with my wife. Friends will talk about their sex life with women who are not their wives, but doesn't it break some I dunno...code to talk about sex with one's wife?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

SAMTALK wrote: »
    Of course have a few drinks. Think bride and groom deserve it after all the stress of getting everything ready and the cost:eek:.
    I wouldnt agree with having drinks before the ceremony though..imagine the hangover hitting in at reception!!!!

This! I'm getting married in July(costing us a fortune) and I'm sure none of my guests will be judging me like some here. I won't be pissed as a fart but I will be having a few after the meal.

Feck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Nothing wrong with drinking at your wedding , sure the majority have spend a mortgage deposit on it anyway - more fool them.

The money involved for one day is absolutely crazy , it's only stuff - most people would be happy if you got married and had a BBQ it's about the people/family not cause your friends wedding cost X so ours better cost Y. Always found it utter madness tbh.

Don't think I'll ever get married myself and I've always been upfront with people on that , girlfriends , family etc just not for me. Seen to many people in my life make the decision and go pearshaped.

Whatever about the girl having her day and all that , which is perfectly understandable...there's nothing in marriage for the lads really.

* Majority will pay for the wedding and cost them thousands.
    * Have less sex for the rest of their lifes
    * Get divorced
    * Give the house to the wife
    * Give their wages to the wife
    * Live in a ****ty 1 bed apartment with no money for the rest of their life
    * See their kids once or twice a week

Nah , not for me thinks. As said , above is not comments made in the extreme I've seen this happen to several people I know and they are miserable.

Marriage is more a social/family pressure these days than anything that it was originally meant to be, certainly very few doing it for religious reasons , more tax and financial. But as said , lads for very little to gain and literally the roof over their head to lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,033 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

As it was such a significant day in my life, I had no beer until midnight, just wine at dinner.

I felt that as it is a sacred, serious and life-changing event, it wouldn't be wise to risk spoiling the evening with excess alcohol.

I stuck to the Smithwick's ale after midnight, weak beer.

michellie wrote: »
    This! I'm getting married in July...

No judgement for me. I hope you have a lovely day (and lovely consummation) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

The OH plays in a band at over 100 weddings a year all over the country and a couple times he's commented on the absolute shambles of one or the other of the wedding couple getting really really pallatic. It just takes the shine right off the whole day.

Tipsy/merry - grand. If you're old and wise enough to get married then you should know your limits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

We both had a few drinks but like some have said here, if I am nervous which I was on my wedding day, then drink doesn't really affect me too much. I probably would have drank a lot more but you are constantly walking around and chatting and you keep putting down your drink and then forget about it.

I remember I was talking to a taxi driver a few days before my wedding and he said to me to make sure to stick together at the wedding afters, obviously not glued to one another, but just remember to check in with each other because you can get separated because you are entertaining so many friends and family and you won't have shared good memories of the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I am getting married in a few months. It is a mid afternoon wedding so I won't feel guilty about having a glass of wine getting ready. I plan on getting quite tipsy after the meal though. We are only doing this once, so I want the party to start as soon as possible! Our friends and siblings love a session, and are likely to be up singing until the morning. I can't wait!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

Most people hate going to 'traditional' weddings. I think it helps the atmosphere when the married couple are drinking and relaxed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Through the day you end up having a glass shoved in your hand every now and again and only managing to drink a bit before you're whisked off somewhere. Until the dinner and speeches are done, the couple are generally very busy, so you'd actually have to put in a pretty big effort to drink heavily before 10pm.

The whole notion of "consummation" is archaic at this stage. It's a nice notion, but it's not like anyone abstains anymore, so it's not like you're missing anything if you don't. Most couples are too tired to do anything at the end of the night, and if they're dead set on doing it that night, they'll nip off upstairs for 30 minutes under the pretence of changing their clothes or "taking a break", before coming back down to get drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Found I was buzzing so much on the day itself it didn't really have an effect on me a huge lot.
    Had a Guinness before the ceremony, sneaky hip flask from the Best Man and stayed on bottles then.
    Moved to rum & diet coke later as it was easier to walk around with just a glass of coke and say I already had a drink when others were insisting on buying something for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Will be having a few drinkies at mine, though until after the meal and we're not ones to get drunk heavily, we both know our limits and I wanna make sure I don't say stupid shít in front of everyone............keep it on a one to one basis. :P

I could barely get drinks in at my engagement party before being dragged around chatting shíte to everyone so I don't expect to be getting much in anyways.

As for the "consummation" on the night, we already both know that's probably not gonna happen because we'll more than likely be both wrecked. Save it for the morning where we'll both get the good ride in then :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

I drank throughout the day but your just too busy to actually drink a lot, cant think of any wedding ive been to where either the bride or groom were actually drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

If you plan on getting drunk at your wedding, it will take a bit of effort. Yes, easy to get drunk late in the night, but not really easy before 10 or 11 at night.

You'll be too busy yapping to people, mingling trying to get around to say hello and have a bit of a chat with everyone that you won't have time to get drunk.

I sipped at a few drinks, but nothing substantial. I enjoyed my wedding too.

I'd imagine that if you got smashed at your wedding and made a show of yourself, you'd regret it forever.

I was at a wedding once where the bride got so drunk, she got in a fight and wound up getting a box in the face for herself. I bet she'd do things differently if she had the chance again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

At my own wedding I had a half a glass of champagne and the neck of a bottle of beer. I was too busy yapping and dancing to drink any more than that, to be honest! The hardest part was convincing people that all I wanted was a pint of water when they tried to buy me drinks. My wife was the same, had a glass of wine with the dinner and that was it. We were in bits the next day from all the dancing so I'm glad we didn't have hangovers on top of that!

Obviously the happy couple can do whatever they want but I think it would be a shame to miss out on the day because of being drunk or ending up falling asleep early or getting sick. I was at a wedding about four years ago where one of the bridesmaids got locked between the ceremony and the hotel (wine in the car) and it was pretty sad seeing the other bridesmaids and the bride trying to sober her up for the photos. Not nice at all, but imagine how much worse it would be if it was one of the people getting married :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

Christ...before I'd tell a friend about my sex life with my wife. Friends will talk about their sex life with women who are not their wives, but doesn't it break some I dunno...code to talk about sex with one's wife?

I'm a girl and it was just girls talking about wedding stuff in general. One mentioned that she was wrecked the whole weekend due to demanding guests, that brought up how tired the other couple were after the big day and getting to bed at 7am after a sing song and the conversation went from there. It's not like she rang me up and was like "wait till I tell ya how I didn't ride Seamus last night!"