Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The sickness of modern life.

• 01-12-2015 9:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭

Some of you may have heard about the young girl who sang a song on the Toy Show the other night.

"my little pony,
    skinny and bony,
    went to the stable,
    to die on a table."

Some sections of Irish society were so enraged by this six year olds song, which is as old as the hills apparently, that they took to social media to abuse her and her family.

Her father reported racist and paedophilic remarks being posted about her.

In what world does a six year old singing a song deserve any abuse, never mind abuse of that nature?

When I was young we used to catch worse things by the toe. Meant no harm by it and had no clue what it meant.

Are people so fragile and hypocritical that they will attack a six year old over an imaginary horse? I fear for the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Some people are just absolute thick cúnts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

It's gone from one extreme to the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭mr.anonymous

Complete ignorance regarding the context in which things are said.

A university professor in the USA had to apologise for saying "all lives matter" recently when people were saying "black lives matter" following shootings.

Everyone thinks they have the right to be offended and viciously oppose people who don't think exactly like them. It's frustrating and paralyses debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

My eldest went to his grand dad to watch the late late and he came back singing that, he was impressed and had the others who fell asleep singing it the next day. Its like yum yum pigs bum cabbage and potatoes, something harmless kids sing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

http://www.thejournal.ie/my-little-pony-late-late-toy-show-2476074-Dec2015/

I didn't watch the show, cause it's ****, but the abuse seems totally out of proportion. It's just a little girl singing a song.

People are idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

When I was young we used to catch worse things by the toe. Meant no harm by it and had no clue what it meant.

I love this. Excellent point overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Didnt see the late late toy show but im offended by this. Am I doing this right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Are people so fragile and hypocritical that they will attack a six year old over an imaginary horse? I fear for the future.

I'm just after reading about that on thejournal.ie. It takes a really special sort to troll someone like that, and that's all it could be, as I don't believe for a minute anyone could seriously be offended by that song sung by a child. I wouldn't even be entertaining their nonsense if I was that child's parent tbh.

They have to be trolling, surely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Bring back gaybo

Are you allowed say gay bo now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Didnt see the late late toy show but im offended by this. Am I doing this right?

I'm more offended that you're offended...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

The sickness of modern life? Apres moi le deluge?

Hammer89 wrote: »
    I love this. Excellent point overall.

Catch a n1gger by the toe

waits for backlash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,184 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

No you aren't, and hope you enjoyed Black Friday, cos you won't be allowed to call it by that name ever again.

Anonymity is to blame

If your real name was listed beside your posts on boards, twitter, Facebook etc, 90% of this **** would stop overnight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

NIMAN wrote: »
    No you aren't, and hope you enjoyed Black Friday, cos you won't be allowed to call it by that name ever again.

We certainly won't be allowed call it Good Friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Kids were singing this song 25/30 years ago too. Or whenever my little pony was invented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭maggiepip

No way obviously should a child be getting abuse on social media (in case anyone jumps at me), as in no way, should go without saying, but the lyrics aren't exactly very nice, would the parents not have suggested she sang different words? The not very nice stuff we sang as kids, like the "catch a blank by the toe" were passed down, don't think we actually made them up as kids. Would be more for encouraging a happier version.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Dughorm

Is this really a "sickness of modern life"? People have always been insulting and easily offended regardless of the target.

The difference is that it's instant now - in the past I bet many letters written in haste late at night were probably destroyed the following morning when people came to their senses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,817 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Anonymity is to blame

If your real name was listed beside your posts on boards, twitter, Facebook etc, 90% of this **** would stop overnight

Agreed, but all this sh1te is easily avoided too. When it comes to such "news items", I've long since given up on social media, I actively avoid "emotive" online discussions and blank out dumbed down media. It's quite easy to do.

It's only modern life if you want it to be.

Anonymity is to blame

I used to believe that too. I guess because I wanted to, but lately it appears evident that people aren't so concerned about anonymity when they're presented with an opportunity to make themselves feel better about themselves among their peers (the fact that their peers are about the same emotional intelligence quotient, completely lacking of empathy for anyone but themselves, is neither here nor there).

People can simply be incredibly cruel sometimes among their own kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭PolaroidPizza

as soon as 1 person gets away with getting a tv broadcast pulled for being 'offended' you've given the green light for every 'offended' idiot and their mother to get every damn thing censored/banned/cancelled.

you can be sure next year that every song will be carefully screened, giving these 'offended' idiots their little victory, sending us further down the rabbit-hole that is suspiciously like an episode of the southpark cartoon.

the brave thing to do is for rte to bring an entire choir of kids singing the same song again next year, but that's not gonna happen.

If all this continues at the same pace then I fear to think what social media and the world will be like in 20 years time.

We will spend our waking hours saying nothing to each other, or else apologising for the last thing we said.

maggiepip wrote: »
    No way obviously should a child be getting abuse on social media (in case anyone jumps at me), as in no way, should go without saying, but the lyrics aren't exactly very nice, would the parents not have suggested she sang different words? The not very nice stuff we sang as kids, like the "catch a blank by the toe" were passed down, don't think we actually made them up as kids. Would be more for encouraging a happier version.

Should have stopped there tbh. There really is no excuse, no "buts" or otherwise, for some of the comments, from ADULTS ffs, in that journal.ie article. It's those adults should be ashamed of themselves, their attitude, and their behaviour, though it's unlikely they will ever see the irony in their own stinking attitudes towards other human beings.

You're reading far too much into things if the lyrics of the song are causing you discomfort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Figbiscuithead

My mother always made me say "beany". So there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Another world war will put an end to this nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Sun King

My mother always made me say "beany". So there.

The Africans were ok in her eyes, eh? But not the damn Mexicans. Classic.

Another world war will put an end to this nonsense

A war wouldn't put much of a dent in the pacifist, hipster, vegan, conversation killing population. Unless it's fought across the Twitter sphere and the casualties are closed accounts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Are people so fragile and hypocritical that they will attack

YES!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭maggiepip

Should have stopped there tbh. There really is no excuse, no "buts" or otherwise, for some of the comments, from ADULTS ffs, in that journal.ie article. It's those adults should be ashamed of themselves, their attitude, and their behaviour, though it's unlikely they will ever see the irony in their own stinking attitudes towards other human beings.

You're reading far too much into things if the lyrics of the song are causing you discomfort.

I knew there'd be one to jump at me, if you think for one second I was suggesting there was any excuse for online abuse you're very sadly mistaken. But you just had to jump in there didn't you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Catch a n1gger by the toe

waits for backlash

That's ok, cos we all know you're black yourself.

You are black aren't you? Am I being a racist calling you black?:confused::eek:

Of Feck it, I think I've just offended myself. [SELF DESTRUCTS]

I do wonder what will happen to these young sjw folk when they get a bit older though. When they get to their 30's, a bit cranky, less tolerant.

You can't call them black, coloured or the n word. What can you call them? Chocolate people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

ok ok Black Everyday :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

You can't call them black, coloured or the n word. What can you call them? Chocolate people?
    Of course you can call black people black - I've just done it. Some people get offended by "coloured" all right though - I don't see an issue with it if there's nothing bad intended by it. I've heard of black people themselves using the term or "people of colour" - NAACP has "coloured" in its name. It's kinda an old-fashioned term I guess.

Azalea wrote: »
    Of course you can call black people black - I've just done it. Some people get offended by "coloured" all right though - I don't see an issue with it if there's nothing bad intended by it. I've heard of black people themselves using the term or "people of colour" - NAACP has "coloured" in its name. It's kinda an old-fashioned term I guess.
    If you say black people to some Americans they get highly offended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

You'd hope some will mature when they leave college and face the harsh realities of existence.

Others won't and that's a worry because they need help, they're so unhappy. It's what turned me towards the end of my college days, I began to realise that some poor people in the societies I was apart of and the Union were actually insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

Anonymity is to blame

100%. If the veil was lifted on every post to see who made it there would be instant manners put on the whole internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The world hasn't gotten any worse. If this little girl had been on the toy show twenty years ago, half of the households in the country would have been making ching-chong-chinaman jokes and she would have been the talk of the place the next day, nobody batting an eyelid to the casual racism.

The fact that people are shocked and outraged by others' racist and creepy remarks goes to show how less acceptable this is nowadays and how rare it is to hear.

The song she sang was incidental. She otherwise stood out cos she was a little rip who needs to learn some manners.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

are people saying the girls song was racist?

what is offensive about it?

a malnourished horse dies on a table.

what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

strelok wrote: »
    are people saying the girls song was racist?

what is offensive about it?

a malnourished horse dies on a table.

what?
    No there were apparently racist comments made online about her for singing a song that implied cruelty to an animal.
    Irony-ometer gone up to 11.

I'm shocked that there are adults watching the toy show.

maggiepip wrote: »
    I knew there'd be one to jump at me, if you think for one second I was suggesting there was any excuse for online abuse you're very sadly mistaken. But you just had to jump in there didn't you.

I didn't jump at you at all, nor did I think for one second you were suggesting there was any excuse for online abuse. Your post was simply the equivalent of "I'm not racist but...", and what follows is a paper thin justification offered as an attempt to understand why people would fire off abuse against this girl and her parents.

That's why I suggested you should have stopped at "but", because the words of the song were exactly why this girl and her parents were subjected to the abuse they received. I know that wasn't your intent though, which is why I didn't jump at you, in the same way I wouldn't jump at a child for signing a song about an imaginary pony on national tv.

Guaranteed of course another group of people would object to her singing Baa Baa Black Sheep or Puff the Magic Dragon or some shyte, because some people love to find some way to put someone down, for something, anything!

It's embarrassing is all that anyone would offer any sort of understanding to those idiots that would be made feel insecure about themselves, by a child.

Azalea wrote: »
    No there were apparently racist comments made online about her for singing a song that implied cruelty to an animal.
    Irony-ometer gone up to 11.

It wasn't even suggesting cruelty. Just a tale about a horse dying.

If anything, this young girl could be critiquing the poor level of care that travellers provide their horses.

Had the coin flip come up the other way perhaps these people would have interpreted it like that and attacked Pavee Point. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

If you say black people to some Americans they get highly offended.

Americans are offended by everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,038 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

jamesbere wrote: »
    Americans are offended by everything

One of my in-laws is American and she'd be offended if you asked her the time :D

Did anyone see the toy show thread on AH? The mod's had to come on and actuality say cop on they are children you are 'commenting on'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

People will always find reasons to be Cúnts.

No matter what it is, what religion, race, age etc people will still find something to be cúnts about.

What causes more problems is that people then shout the silly popular phrases at them to shut every other conversation down. Your a Biggot, Racist, Paedo, sexist, ageist, etc if you dont agree with me, so dont argue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,370 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I'm reminded of a time when I was at a football match and two kids of about ten were running around messing. One of them hit the other and the other lad said: "Get away from me, you black bastard!"

Cue dozens of middle-aged men roaring at the kid, effing and blinding him and saying he can't be saying that. The kid then asked why and none of these fine anti-racism crusaders could explain it, one of them just barked at him: "Just because!"

Now, I appreciate what they were trying to do but by not explaining it to him I think they aren't solving the problem. Racism is wrong but you need to explain why, especially to someone so young. Just telling people you can't do something but not explaining why is lazy and counter-productive.

In this case, I don't see the problem with what the girl said, just another case of people getting worked up about nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

Humpty Dumpty had sat on wall
    Humpty Dumpty had a great fall
    The children came along with sticks and glue
    And put Humpty together as good as new.

This is one of the new versions of Humpty Dumpty. Used because people thought the old one was too harsh for children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

This is the problem Twitter, FB and even boards presents.
    Up to the 90s, perhaps even mid 00s the many idiots like this could only be heard as far as their voice could be carried. So essentially limited to the pub, water cooler etc.
    Now since Twitter went supernova all these idiots nonsense opinions can be be broadcast to a massive audience and gain traction.
    I enjoy Twitter as much as the next person but it really has given stupidity a platform it doesn't deserve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

ring a ring a rosey is alleged to be referring to the Great Plague of London.