Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much snow are you wishing for this year?

• 30-11-2015 9:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭

Tis this time of year again when everyone starts hoping and wishing for snow. I'm hoping for around 10ft myself, just so that anyone with notions of clearing the road won't be long surrendering to the almighty onslaught of white fluffy stuff falling from the sky and going back inside to make themselves a cup of tae.

Usually I would get great enjoyment out of listening to snarly irate voices coming on Joe Duffy ranting about how the bleed'n council is doing nutting to whisk away the white stuff and allowing the banality of modern life to continue unimpeded and concerned daughters calling up about how their elderly mother won't be able to get into her boxy Fiesta and drive down to the bingo but this year I'm hoping the sheer weight of the snow will cause all the radio masts to tumble over leaving nothing but blissful static on all frequencies.

Over the coming days I'll be stocking up on rice crispy bun ingredients and a few yellow drums of gas to see me through the winter months and sacrificing a few pigs to the snowlords in the hope that we get the snow we are owed.

How much snow are you hoping for this year? 105 votes

1ft or less
    0% 0 votes
    2-3ft
    64% 68 votes
    4-6ft
    22% 24 votes
    6+ ft
    12% 13 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I'm hoping the sheer weight of the snow will cause all the radio masts to tumble over leaving nothing but blissful static on all frequencies.

Yea, but then it would also crush my car and my house. And I need them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

A good nuclear winter is what's needed, that'll get the aul snow going.

Might be hyper-radioactive and the blisters and tumors covering your body might be troublesome but sure ya can't have it your way all the time either, hah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Three grams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Like the wife said to me last night...."anymore than 2 inches will be a bonus"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

I'm not one of these people who wonders why we don't have measures in place like they do in Scandinavia and North America to deal with snow. They know it's coming every year and so they pump lots of money into it. I'm sure they wouldn't if it wasn't a necessity. Here, that money can be used in much more useful ways then for the infrequent hard winters we experience.

That being said, as pretty as snow is, because of the above-mentioned issue, I hope we don't get much. The novelty wears off quick when it impinges on your life. If we could move more freely in snow, I'd enjoy it much more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Some sprinkles on Christmas Eve, that's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,706 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Enough to make driving feel like a game of mario kart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    I'm not one of these people who wonders why we don't have measures in place like they do in Scandinavia and North America to deal with snow. They know it's coming every year and so they pump lots of money into it. I'm sure they wouldn't if it wasn't a necessity. Here, that money can be used in much more useful ways then for the infrequent hard winters we experience.

That being said, as pretty as snow is, because of the above-mentioned issue, I hope we don't get much. The novelty wears off quick when it impinges on your life. If we could move more freely in snow, I'd enjoy it much more.

Sure once yer able to get down to the local pub on yer snow shoes and call to a few neighbours you're away for slates

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Going skiing so I'm hoping for a bit.

Last time I tried skiing down Bray head without any snow was a bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I love the snow. Another 2010 would be just perfect for me. Especially on christmas day.
    A snow fall is a great excuse not to have to go visiting relatives on christmas day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

None, it's a load of bollix!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Melodeon

"The joy that is felt at the sight of new-fallen snow is inversely proportional to the age of the beholder." ~Paul Sweeney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Melodeon wrote: »
    "The joy that is felt at the sight of new-fallen snow is inversely proportional to the age of the beholder." ~Paul Sweeney

The joy that is felt at the sight of a new fallen fella on the RTE news is fecking great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

December 2010 was a fooking nightmare, don't want that again, no thanks!

Menas wrote: »
    I love the snow. Another 2010 would be just perfect for me. Especially on christmas day.
    A snow fall is a great excuse not to have to go visiting relatives on christmas day!

I get what you're saying but my aunt was in the last stages of cancer during the early 2010 snow. She lived about two hours drive (in normal conditions) from my folks. She was rural, they were rural. The snow robbed them of them of much longed for time with her while she was still lucid as the journey was impossible. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

we had about 1 inch of snow here this morning, some of it is still lying on the front lawn. The local tyre place is advertising snow tyres for sale when I drove past earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,577 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Shove your snow up your hole.

Only children and people with no adult responsibilities want snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 CameraBag

I would like a stupidly enormous amount on Christmas day, and for the roads to then be absolutely bone dry every single other day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Then you can call me a big child :)

jester77 wrote: »
    Then you can call me a big child :)

If you're in Germany, then you live somewhere where it makes sense to put lots of money into clearing away the snow. So you can enjoy it and still go about your daily life.

More people would love it here if it didn't cause the country to buckle. Though, as I said in my first post in the thread, I understand why things are the way they are on this score in Ireland

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

4 feet of it for 4 weeks wouldn't be half enough.

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    If you're in Germany, then you live somewhere where it makes sense to put lots of money into clearing away the snow. So you can enjoy it and still go about your daily life.

More people would love it here if it didn't cause the country to buckle. Though, as I said in my first post in the thread, I understand why things are the way they are on this score in Ireland

I derive most of my enjoyment from the fact that the country has ground to a halt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Enough that I don't have to go to work!

I derive most of my enjoyment from the fact that the country has ground to a halt

I used to when I was younger but not now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

None, I hate snow.

/grinch

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

Menas wrote: »

You're talking my language Menas. Christmas 2010 was legit one of my favourite Christmases. Just stayed at home with my nephews who were over for a few days - no enforced visiting. So relaxing and fun.

We did the visiting a few days later and without the pressure of Christmas day it was much more enjoyable.

• Site Banned Posts: 167 ✭✭Yakkyda

A little bit to stick right around Christmas would be grand for the "Christmas card scenery" , but anything like 2010 or the year after for that matter can go and sh!te...

That was a bit much tbf, poxy trying to do anything in that, footpaths ****ed with compacted snow/icy, people whinging about being house bound, getting to my local was a bit of a pox too and the fact it was pretty hard on elderly folk(had to be clearing a couple of relatives and a friend of the family gardens regularly, just so could get out for a bus/fuel for the fire) and it can very isolating for them(especially if they're rural)

Buses do be packed because 75% of people haven't a bloody clue how to drive in those conditions.
    Me? I like it though, no better craic than doing a slow controlled 360 coming up to a red light on an empty roads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I still get a kick out of snow. 2010 was a royal pain in the hole though

In 2010 I had a Volvo, that fcuker could drive through anything, I never once had to take public transport or walk anywhere. (it was automatic too, for anyone who tells you that autos are useless in the snow).

Now both of my cars are rear wheel drive. I'm fcuked it the weather turns.

Still love the snow though so I voted for 6ft+:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

I absolutely hate snow of any form as it causes accidents, delays and traffic chaos and ends up costing me money.
    I don't work I don't get paid and some other cheaper or better service might be found so I'd be got rid of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

About 4 cupfulls would be plenty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

None.. it's bad enough in a bit of bad rain/wind, but add snow and ice and the roads grind to a standstill as BMWs can't make it up hills, usually dawdling drivers won't exceed 20 km/h for fear of spinning, and most of the roads aren't gritted at all, or not until after the morning rush.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I'd like enough snow for the kids to build a snowman, and for me to build a superior one. And to have a snowball fight and to teach the eldest how to put a rock in a snowball.
    And for it all to be gone the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

smash wrote: »
    Yea, but then it would also crush my car and my house. And I need them!
    I think we'd all be willing to sacrifice your car if it meant we had snow to play in.

In 2010 I had a Volvo, that fcuker could drive through anything, I never once had to take public transport or walk anywhere. (it was automatic too, for anyone who tells you that autos are useless in the snow).

Now both of my cars are rear wheel drive. I'm fcuked it the weather turns.

Still love the snow though so I voted for 6ft+:D

I'll swap you one of my fwd cars while there's snow
    doolox wrote: »
    I absolutely hate snow of any form as it causes accidents, delays and traffic chaos and ends up costing me money.
    I don't work I don't get paid and some other cheaper or better service might be found so I'd be got rid of.

Time to invest in a few drones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Not a flake. It can piss rain all it wants but when I'm going to be in my 3rd trimester during the coldest months I do not want to see any ice or snow.

I wish I took college as seriously as you do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

A little dusting on christmas day,about a half ounce for Stevens day-new years should suffice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

How many Muslims does it take to pull a car out of the snow?

Same amount as non-Muslims you racist.

In any case, Christmas Eve back in 2010 I can testify that it took around eight of them to pull my car out of snow up near the national stadium on the Sth Circular. If it wasn't for them, I would most likely have started crying as I was stuck sideways on the road and a traffic jam was beginning to form.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,030 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Snow would be grand if it would just stay off the feckin' roads :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

O centimeters.

Like the look of fresh snow, absolutely hate the melting crap that it will result in.
    People cant drive in it, with too much snow public transport calls it a day.
    Too many negatives for just a pretty picture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

We don't get snow, we get a white slush that's a nightmare to drive in and shuts half the country down when we get too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

None please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Is it too early to set up a Snow Lovers Appreciation Thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

If you fancy yourself as a Big, Scary Adult with Big, Scary Adult responsibilities I suggest you equip yourself in such a way that a dusting of snow - yes, I would consider six inches of the stuff a "dusting" - doesn't cause the end of the world round your corner. I'm looking forward to veritable drifting, and I'll be enjoying it. Because it's fun. :pac:
    In 2010 I had a Volvo, that fcuker could drive through anything...
    Mmm. My car is one of very few that stayed fully-mobile in the freeze-up of 2009/10. Possibly due to having the same rear-axle setup as a Range Rover, putting the "LR" in JLR. :D

I'll swap you one of my fwd cars while there's snow

More info required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭dowhatyoulove

Zero please as I'm flying home for Christmas on Christmas Eve and want to make it to Donegal alive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,557 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I love snow as long as I don't have to go out in it for anything other than dicking about

But with going to work etc I'd prefer no snow

Nothing worse than being stuck on public transport for hours..

Last time we had the bad snow I had to walk about 5kms down Stillorgan Dual Carriageway with snow piling up to my shins after I abandoned a taxi driver to his fate.

The only time I got stuck in traffic in the big freeze was one evening where it had fallen hard during the day, so most people had gone to work in their cars, who otherwise wouldn't have.

I was hours in the car and hadn't moved very far, was staaarving. So my friend was on the dart which was a couple of minutes walk, got off, went to supermacs, and brought it to me in the car and we sat scoffing while people in cars around us cried - their mouths salivating as we took a bite of our big macs (or whatever they're called, Royal with cheese or something).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

The only time I got stuck in traffic in the big freeze was one evening where it had fallen hard during the day, so most people had gone to work in their cars, who otherwise wouldn't have.

I was hours in the car and hadn't moved very far, was staaarving. So my friend was on the dart which was a couple of minutes walk, got off, went to supermacs, and brought it to me in the car and we sat scoffing while people in cars around us cried - their mouths salivating as we took a bite of our big macs (or whatever they're called, Royal with cheese or something).

:eek::mad::(