Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I hit someone last night

• 29-11-2015 1:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

So this guy grabbed my girlfriends bum (she was pretty upset) and I then hit him but i think i broke his nose

It was only one punch, would have looked on cctv like it was unprovoked... Could i get in some trouble over this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I'd imagine you could :( What happened after it? Were the guards called? Did you leave the premises?

Have you ever done anything like this before? (i.e. is this how you normally manage things?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Stale_Ham wrote: »
    So this guy grabbed my girlfriends bum (she was pretty upset) and I then hit him but i think i broke his nose

It was only one punch, would have looked on cctv like it was unprovoked... Could i get in some trouble over this?

Yes. It is assault, plain and simple. It is not self defence and you have no right to be metering out justice yourself.
    Not likely a complaint will be made but you are guilty of assault essentially although there are mitigating factors of provocation.
    Not having a go when I say you have no right, it is just the way law works.

While I completely understand that you trying to defend your girlfriend's honour and whatnot, but punching someone hard enough to break their nose is OTT. Nobody here can give you advice about whether you can get into trouble or not. Consult with a legal professional ASAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭gumbo1

If had sexualy assaulted a woman whose partner then punched me I don't think I would be going to the guards! So I think your ok on that part.
    I don't know if your remorseful for your reaction or not but if it happens again maybe don't lash out, grab your woman pull her tight to you an give her a big kiss instead of swinging digs, which I imagine led to an awkward taxi home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Stale_Ham

I left, the guards could have been called but I don't know

The guy did sexually assault my girlfriend, two wrongs don't make a right though

I never do this kind of stuff and don't want to again, i'm pretty worried to be honest , i had too much to drink and got angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I'm glad you broke his nose. I hope you get away with it.

I left, the guards could have been called but I don't know

The guy did sexually assault my girlfriend, two wrongs don't make a right though

I never do this kind of stuff and don't want to again, i'm pretty worried to be honest , i had too much to drink and got angry.

You need to go down and get advice from legal professionals. A solicitor, just in case the guy decides to press charges against you. Like you said, on CCTV it might just look like you punched him unprovoked. Get proper advice from people trained to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭gumbo1

If it was in your local could ya not give them a call to see if the guards were called? If it was dublin city centre pub with thousands of people coming and going i don't think the guards would waste the resources tacking you down tbh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Grayditch wrote: »

Me too.

Thanks for all the advice guys.
    I may just call and see.

Lets say the guards were called, would the guards contact me?

also could we use the fact that my girlfriend could bring him up for sexual assault to drop the charges?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Sound Bite

It only takes one punch to cause serious injury or death.

Him pinching your girlfriend's bum is no justification. If you were my boyfriend, I'd dump you, would find the lack of self control, aggression and the fact you think I can't stand up for myself off putting.

You should get charged for assault.

Sound Bite wrote: »

Him pinching your girlfriend's bum is no justification. If you were my boyfriend, I'd dump you, would find the lack of self control, aggression and the fact you think I can't stand up for myself off putting.

It was a two hand grab...not a pinch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

I gave a guy a pretty horrible bloody nose (don't know if it was broken) in the Sugar club in Dublin a good number of years ago. It wasn't right but it happened.

Don't worry. As people say, if it's a local then you could ask about but if it's a big place then just wait a see what happens.

I personally wouldn't go to a solicitor until the gards were involved as it might turn out to be a waste of money. As another poster said, a drunk lad who grabbed a girls ass and got a punch for it is probably just going to clean himself up and head home and forget about it.

Hopefully you'll be grand, OP. Try to forget about it and next time think twice about doing it just so you save yourself the aggravation.

Sound Bite wrote: »

Honestly, I'm in the same camp as this. The OP doesn't actually know the extent of the injuries that he caused this person. He assumes that he broke their nose, but it could potentially be worse than this.

I may just call and see.

also could we use the fact that my girlfriend could bring him up for sexual assault to drop the charges?

Do you have evidence of sexual assault, witnesses, cctv etc.

If this person knows who you are and has cctv or witnesses then the garda will just come and arrest you and you will be detained, interviewed, charged, fingerprinted and your DNA will be taken, you will then have a court appearance where you will be convicted of assault. No question, the judge will take into account the provocation of the assault on your girlfriend but it will not stop you being convicted as you have committed a serious criminal offence. Likely a fine, compensation dependent on your previous convictions and good standing.

It is highly unlikely it got reported, most people take it on the chin and move on. If every drunken punch got reported the courts would be bursting at the seams and half the population would be criminalised. Also, dont be so sure you broke his nose. These hings usually look worse than they are.
    Fella is probably right now sitting at his kitchen table with a sore head, sore nose and a slighty ashamed look on his face. I wouldn't worry too much op.

Oh, forgot. Do not contact anyone. Let them come to you, don't do the guards work for them, it will not help you in any way.

You do deserve to be prosecuted, violence is never the answer but you seem to be scared enough by this that you may not do the same next time. Sometimes self inflicted justice can be more useful than the state provided service. Learn to control yourself, it is a fact that people can die from 1 punch.

Fancy a life sentence much because someone grabbed your girl, next time, report the assaulter. HTH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Sun King

Check the FB page of the place you were at. Also, if there's been nothing in the local news about some lad getting a well deserved box then say no more.

One punch can kill, but rarely and that obviously didn't happen. Lesson learned by that guy and good on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Sun King

FortySeven wrote: »
    Oh, forgot. Do not contact anyone. Let them come to you, don't do the guards work for them, it will not help you in any way.

You do deserve to be prosecuted, violence is never the answer but you seem to be scared enough by this that you may not do the same next time. Sometimes self inflicted justice can be more useful than the state provided service. Learn to control yourself, it is a fact that people can die from 1 punch.

Fancy a life sentence much because someone grabbed your girl, next time, report the assaulter. HTH

A life sentence... In Ireland?? It's take a fair bit to get a sizeable sentence in Ireland. Involving garlic maybe..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Ass grabbing, boob grabbing, hands up my skirt and down my top, I've experienced it all - not very often thank god!

If any person I was dating took it upon themselves to attack someone for assaulting me, I'd dump him.

The correct way to deal with it is pull the guy off, then walk away, and call the police/security if the girlfriend wants.

Breaking noses, beating people unconscious? How the hell will that help the person who's just been sexually assaulted? All it does it cause them even more stress!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

<SNIP>
    I've had someone assault me on a night out with my boyfriend able to see it. He has a temper, but also had the cop on to let me deal with the situation myself.

When a woman (or man) is sexually assaulted, for that brief moment, control of their body and choices is taken from them.

By then beating the person who did it, YOU have taken control away from the victim again! The control to decide how to treat the situation, and how to proceed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

I may just call and see.

She could... But perhaps his sorry excuse might echo your own.. I was drunk don't usually do that type of thing.. You see where I am going here?

you might want to have evidence the likes the broken nose guy might have. Like cctv, a broken nose, witnesses... Could be two cases you end up paying for.

Forget about it till you have actual police knock at your door, it's unlikely, guy probably feels a bigger idiot than you since he also has doctors bills . Although you might have to pay out for a councillor for your girlfriend to get over the sexual assault truama.

<SNIP>
    There is a legal system in place for said woman to deal with people who sexually assault them. Women no longer need men to be protectors. They pay taxes, they can call the garda.

It is how society is supposed to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

FortySeven wrote: »
    You miss my point. There is a legal system in place for said woman to deal with people who sexually assault them. Women no longer need men to be protectors. They pay taxes, they can call the garda.

It is how society is supposed to work.

Yeah but a judge is hardly going to say to a girl "I'm sure you can deal with getting your nipple sucked, most women can"

An as$hole who does this won't stand there while you give it the "stay there for a few minutes while I try to find a member of security"

mfceiling wrote: »
    Yeah but a judge is hardly going to say to a girl "I'm sure you can deal with getting your nipple sucked, most women can"

An as$hole who does this won't stand there while you give it the "stay there for a few minutes while I try to find a member of security"

It doesn't really matter what you think, it is the law of the land and smarter groups of people than any 1 individual on the internet spent many years fine tuning said law to make it work.

Going around attacking people with violence is retribution, revenge, and is largely frowned on in most sections of decent society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

Op I think u did the right thing giving him a belt....and I don't believe u meant to break his nose on purpose.

I'm surprised at some of the comments here giving off the sense that ass grabbing isn't a big deal just get over it....happens all the time etc.....if this was done in broad daylight... Let's say when ops gf was out shopping... Minding her own business n this dickhead came up n grabbed her rear? There be up roar. I see it as assault....not a high level of it...but still enough to cause upset... That creep assaulted her first... He deserved a broken nose.

I got gropped myself last night n f-ed ur man out of it ...it happens to me quiet often on a night out n it pisses me off....even once a lad put his hand up my skirt n its a regret I didn't wallap him.

Hopefully his been thought a lesson n might learn to keep his claws only close to himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Jan Laco

Jeez the wannabe lawyers, politicians and debaters are out in force here. It's easy to throw the human element away by writing on a forum.

You were right to stand up to that guy. It's hard to judge how much force is required in a punch to state a message but not break someone's nose.
    If the guy went about his night out without sexual assaulting people he wouldn't have a broken nose..He will think twice next time.

<SNIP>
    While I don't agree with this, because every person and situation is different, I also don't think it's always about being a white knight/showing/ off/ being a bully.

Seeing someone you love being sexually assaulted in front of you can send any number of types of people into a rage. I work in clubs all the time, I've seen the meekest, nicest, well meaning guys swing for people grabbing their girlfriends breasts. I just don't see it as such a HUGE a flaw in the personality to not be reasonable and sensible all in the heat of that rage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Posters - I've just had to do a massive thread cleanup, which does not make me very happy. This thread got completely derailed by someone else's story, which should never have happened. Boards, and this forum, does not condone violence. End of.

All future posts should be directed at helping the OP. Any continuation of the previous discussion will be severely actioned by the mods.

dudara

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Unlikely you'll get in trouble OP.....it's as likely as your girlfriend bringing your man up for sexual assault
    Technically she could....but in reality practically never happens

What gaurd is going to pursue it to any degree....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

So how should had the OP acted?Im not one to lose my temper or be hard man but can see why it happened

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

sasta le wrote: »
    So how should had the OP acted?Im not one to lose my temper or be hard man but can see why it happened

The only thing about hitting people is it can escalate out of hand quite quickly?

Though usually just pushing and shoving involved and let bouncers sort it....if you going around feeling wans...you'd want to be expecting to be hit from time to time.....but if your going hitting people...you'd want to be willing to accept consequences of groups of his/your friends/people you know jumping in
    This is how brawls start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

OP, unless you know the guy or are known to the people in the pub it is unlikely to come back on you unless you go making enquiries about it. Maybe you broke the guy's nose, maybe you didn't. Either way he's most likely put it down to 'some asshole punched me', and hopefully he might think twice before putting his hands on another woman in the future.

If it came down to your girlfriend saying it was sexual assault it would be her word against his. Even if you hadn't hit him and had gone to the bouncers immediately, even with yer man in tow, it's unlikely that they would have done anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭john jameson

All I can say to ya is don't worry about it what's done is done and if the law was involved you would have heard by now . Iv been in that situation more than once and have reacted same as you but ya know the other guy was being a cheeky prick and so deserved a smack. So long as your lady was not to mad at ya I'd just forget the whole thing
    My honest opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Did you punch him to get him off your girlfriend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

Yes, with or without CCTV. It's not self-defence, though it's an understandable reaction to provocation. However when you hit somebody in the face / head you run the risk of causing a severe and possibly life-threatening injury. If you feel the urge to lash out at somebody for 'disrespecting' your girlfriend (and the sort of grab you describe is more serious than simply 'disrespecting') then avoid the head at all costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Ass grabbing, boob grabbing, hands up my skirt and down my top, I've experienced it all - not very often thank god!

If any person I was dating took it upon themselves to attack someone for assaulting me, I'd dump him.

The correct way to deal with it is pull the guy off, then walk away, and call the police/security if the girlfriend wants.

Breaking noses, beating people unconscious? How the hell will that help the person who's just been sexually assaulted? All it does it cause them even more stress!

I agree to a point.

There is no way to rationalise throwing a punch at someone.

But a lot of men deep down will always have an innate belief that they should protect their girlfriend/partner and react like that.

I don't agree with it but I have to say I do understand how you can do it and immediately regret it like the OP seems to.

They're not thinking of the big picture at the time.

That being said, I get why a girlfriend/partner would find it abhorrent.

OP, I'd doubt anything will come of it. Maybe avoid this concern the next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,805 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Learn from your mistake and don't do it again. Don't call the gardaí and certainly don't engage a solicitor until you need to, if you need to.

Apologise to your girlfriend for making a show of her. She certainly didn't deserve to have that happen to her but more so, she didn't have to witness her boyfriend assault someone.

And never hit anyone again. We're no longer cavemen and if you hit someone and they fall awkwardly or they have a particularly weak skull and you hit them, you'll be going to prison. No amount of 'my girlfriends bum was pinched' will get you any leniency in front of a judge.

Take it as a learning experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

It was a two hand grab...not a pinch

I've done the same. Years ago. I never gave it a moment's thought afterward. I'd do it again today. Cheeky prick.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

You did absolutely the right thing, and have nothing to apologise for or feel bad about. Justice was done, you saved the Gardaí and courts a lot of paperwork, thank you.

If your girlfriend think's less of you for what you did, she needs a reality check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

In the heat of the moment, your 'fight or flight' will kick in here.
    Those who say you were wrong or 'if I were your girlfriend, I'd dump you' can't say for sure.
    I'd be in the camp to say you were wrong in what you did, however I'd probably end up doing the same myself if anyone did that to my OH. If I didn't, I'm not sure if I'd be happy with myself for not defending my OH.
    Two wrongs don't make a right, but it's a better wrong than let that idiot away with what he did.

Funny how if this was posted in AH, the OP would be a hero for dishing out deserved justice to some scumbag...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

i think op you realise that how you responded to the assualt on your girlfriend was a bit over the top. i can understand how shocked she must have been and how angry you were.
    if nothing comes of it, and i hope it doesn't, then take a lesson from it to never repeat anything like it again.
    it's destestable that some men think it's acceptable to manhandle any woman, least of all a stranger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭skallywag

But a lot of men deep down will always have an innate belief that they should protect their girlfriend/partner and react like that

I would agree with you on that, it can tend to be the default reflex action.

That said I can't say I have ever met a single woman who would react positively to such a reaction, and it invariably would end up reflecting badly, regardless of good intentions.

OP, you need to learn to keep your cool in such cases in the future, you have nothing to gain and everything to lose by reacting in such a manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Grayditch wrote: »

Could have ended horribly wrong.. How many stories have we read of one punch causing death. Im sure his girlfriend was upset as was he but surely a word in a bouncers ear would have got offender removed.
    As a mother it frightens me how easy people can lose their temper when drinking and a night can end so wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Check the FB page of the place you were at. Also, if there's been nothing in the local news about some lad getting a well deserved box then say no more.

One punch can kill, but rarely and that obviously didn't happen. Lesson learned by that guy and good on you.

Once is enought i should think.

SAMTALK wrote: »
    Could have ended horribly wrong.. How many stories have we read of one punch causing death.

Not very many, it's rare. You're not going to hear mass reports on guys getting punched and then going home and eating a pot noodle with a sore nose. I see creeps being hit about once every two/ three months in clubs as a result of their actions, like this. Can't remember one death.

How many times have I heard that girls are constantly in fear of being sexually touched in clubs? All the time. That has a huge psychological toll, one that's being ignored largely in this thread by 'after the fact' moral judges.

I wouldn't ever tell someone to hit someone. I wouldn't tell them not to. It's not my place to tell someone what to do, or what is right or wrong. It's also not black and white or "one rule", as far as I'm concerned. I'm just glad to hear someone got what was coming to them, in this case. Sounds about right, and I hope the OP doesn't feel too bad about his instincts.

Should he keep an eye on that instinct? That's up to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

SAMTALK wrote: »
    Could have ended horribly wrong.. How many stories have we read of one punch causing death. Im sure his girlfriend was upset as was he but surely a word in a bouncers ear would have got offender removed.
    As a mother it frightens me how easy people can lose their temper when drinking and a night can end so wrong.

Unlikely. The outcome of a word with the bouncer is most likely to range from 'can't find him' through 'can't prove it' all the way to 'should take it as a compliment'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

More people die in car crashes than die from a single punch in a nightclub. Let's not blow it out of proportion here.

Could someone die from a single punch? Yes, but they are pretty rare occurrences.

The biggest danger is the scumbag who was hit coming back with scumbag friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

OP the pub won't want anything to do with it, chances are the only CCTV is on the till and outside. Write down what happened put it away in a safe place.If you really must speak to a solicitor. I wouldn't go to the guards if they do ask you to some down to the station only do so with a solicitor or after speaking to oen. There was a very good tread on after hours about speaking to the police, with a great video and advice the jist of it was don't often the have no evidence and you only make things worse for your self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Posters - please stay on topic. If you're offering advice to the OP, then please don't post.

dudara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

OP the Guards couldn't give a ****. If they were called, they'd look at the cctv, tell the owner they're looking into it then go on lunch for a few months. What are they going to do for witnesses? Ask a load of people off their box for a coherent sequence of events which led to the altercation? Me hole.

After that, the case will get closed citing lack of evidence. So just put it to the back of your mind.