Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

That's RACIST!

• 27-11-2015 9:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭

Take a look at the following FB comment:

Donald Trump is a pig. Only the totally ignorant would support him. He is racist against all people except his own (which he doesn't even know what it is - a mix of who knows what), he is racist against women and now he is racist against the disabled. What does he have to do to get stupid dumb Americans to open their beady little eyes?

-
    I'm no fan of racism or any other ism, nor am I a fan of shutting down every single thing with the "that's offensive" line. I just want people to not be dicks to each other.

What worries me is that those that invoke an -ist are watering down the words so much that everything is becoming something-ist.

What do you think about this move towards safe spaces and the like? Now I'm not talking about "hur dur PC brigade" strike again stuff. Those that invoke that argument drive me up the wall too.

It seems to me that the Internet has had an effect on this. Online you can spend your whole life in the company of those you agree with, reinforcing your beliefs and when someone challenges them it's hard to handle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Whoever wrote that obviously hates pigs, which is a type of racism in itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Invoking an ist.
    Nice.
    I wish I was pist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Black Friday is racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

I completely agree with it and I've reported you for being racist against people who call everything racist, even when it's nothing to do with race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Donald Trump is a pig. Only the totally ignorant would support him. He is racist against all people except his own (which he doesn't even know what it is - a mix of who knows what), he is racist against women and now he is racist against the disabled.
    What does he have to do to get stupid dumb Americans to open their beady little eyes?

Either a troll or a complete fúckin' idiot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

I hate black things. The night sky, the back of my phone, when I turn the lights out, my neighbours dog is black and I hate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭kettlehead

We are starting threads based on FaceBook comments now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

kettlehead wrote: »

Things are looking up :D

Yep, nice to have threads started on something a bit more informed than an Indo article.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Sun King

kettlehead wrote: »

Yes Comrade, 'we' are. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Pretty sure slagging racists is racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

What worries me is that those that invoke an -ist are watering down the words so much that everything is becoming something-ist.

I agree, let's take it back to basics. Trump's a c*nt. There, no messing about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,276 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

I learned something today, women and the disabled are a separate race.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

I learned something today, women and the disabled are a separate race.
    Got a link for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

kneemos wrote: »
    Pretty sure slagging racists is racist.
    It's racistist.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Most racist song ever? White Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Cienciano wrote: »

FREE THE UMPA LUMPA'S!!!

White wedding! Can't be having no interracial marriages you know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Superhorse wrote: »
    I hate black things. The night sky, the back of my phone, when I turn the lights out, my neighbours dog is black and I hate it.
    I'm not at all racist. All my clothes are black.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I'll vote for 'my boy golliwog'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

N1gger, is it racist to use that word for example? personally I don't think it is, it's the context that counts, not the words and anyway I'm not a racist person, in fact I love diversity.

They are good but it's a shame how Ashley Banjo gets all the limelight. Not sure liking diversity qualifies you to drop a "sup n***a" though. You'll need at least a solid tan and some mixed race kids for that craic.

I'm not at all racist. All my clothes are black.

I have a black friend and a gay friend so I can't be accused of being racist or homophobic. I just need to find an Asian friend now and then I'll be able to say what I want!

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    They are good but it's a shame how Ashley Banjo gets all the limelight. Not sure liking diversity qualifies you to drop a "sup n***a" though. You'll need at least a solid tan and some mixed race kids for that craic.

Could always hit the tanning salon I suppose, and I'm starting to find it racist that black people can say ****** and white people can't, what ever happened to equality?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

Cocaine's a hell of a drug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

I'm thinking of publishing a short 'pamphlet for the perpetually outraged' to explain the difference between racism, sectarianism and discrimination. It really irks me when peoples outrage is ascribed incorrectly, but that just probably just makes me racist against the inexact.

conorhal wrote: »
    It really irks me when peoples outrage is ascribed incorrectly

That's outragist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

smash wrote: »
    That's outragist

Pedantist!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

In fairness, I would think Donald Trump is a racist...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I think it's high time we had Safe, Positive Spaces to nurture pigs who are labouring under the misapprehension that disabled people are a separate race. I'm pretty sure that in self is some sort of -ism or something. Also, DT's hair is stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

It's a minefield ...

Dancing around making slanty eyes and saying "ching chong ching" is racist

Dancing around like a leprachaun saying "be gorra and bejaysus" seems to be publicly acceptable in most countries

If your an able-bodied straight middle aged Caucasian male you are completely f*cked ... tons of reverse racism and people telling you about your white privilege.

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,703 ✭✭✭IrishTrajan

Donald Trump is a pig. Only the totally ignorant would support him. He is racist against all people except his own (which he doesn't even know what it is - a mix of who knows what), he is racist against women and now he is racist against the disabled. What does he have to do to get stupid dumb Americans to open their beady little eyes?.

I always knew women and the disabled were a different race of beings.

It's a minefield ...

Dancing around making slanty eyes and saying "ching chong ching" is racist

Dancing around like a leprachaun saying "be gorra and bejaysus" seems to be publicly acceptable in most countries

If your an able-bodied straight middle aged Caucasian male you are completely f*cked ... tons of reverse racism and people telling you about your white privilege.

:(

Well that's true, I'm always curious as to who makes these rules though.

Middle class middle aged white men.

The bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

smash wrote: »
    I have a black friend and a gay friend so I can't be accused of being racist or homophobic. I just need to find an Asian friend now and then I'll be able to say what I want!
    These lads know how to do it!

Middle class middle aged white men.

The bastards.

Ha ye, must be their fault, everything else is. Does that mean I can get anyway with sayin' stuff then because I'm neither middle class nor middle aged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Ha ye, must be their fault, everything else is. Does that mean I can get anyway with sayin' stuff then because I'm neither middle class nor middle aged.

No whitey, it does not. Three Chinese lads dressed as leprachauns are on their way to your location to mock your accent, make remarks on your diet and slag off the faith off your fathers. You will take it, and like it.

Nodin wrote: »
    No whitey, it does not. Three Chinese lads dressed as leprachauns are on their way to your location to mock your accent, make remarks on your diet and slag off the faith off your fathers. You will take it, and like it.

Haha, actually I would like that, bit bored at the minute and that sounds hilarious, of they wouldn't call themselves leprachauns, they'd be reprachauns |-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

white privilege

What does that term mean in an Irish context?

It seems very American - a land where white means the possibility or likelihood that your predecessors owned some plantation and used the free labour of negro slaves to create wealth.

The only plantation my predecessors were involved in was planting spuds and parsnips on a wet hillside and the first dark lad they ever saw was a doctor coming over to work in the 60s/70s, and then later some welfare chancers claiming 'asylum'.

Kindly explain the privilege of being white in Ireland? Tired of that ****ehawkin by people looking for a cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

topper75 wrote: »

It seems very American - a land where white means the possibility or likelihood that your predecessors owned some plantation and used the free labour of negro slaves to create wealth.

The only plantation my predecessors were involved in was planting spuds and parsnips on a wet hillside and the first dark lad they ever saw was a doctor coming over to work in the 60s/70s, and then later some welfare chancers claiming 'asylum'.

Kindly explain the privilege of being white in Ireland? Tired of that ****ehawkin by people looking for a cause.

We had white slaves on the estate around the time of the Emergency. Grandfather bought them off a farm in Borris in Ossory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Black Friday is racist.

Don't worry, WWN tells me that US cops have shot it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Don't befriend stupid people on Facebook or outside of it.

Simple.

, and then later some welfare chancers claiming 'asylum'.

I was so with you for your first paragraph (genuinely) but then you reminded me of the answer. Being white, nobody ever suspects us of being welfare chancers who were only allowed in because we claimed asylum. That's pretty handy.

Oh I more than 'suspect' that the asylum'-seekers' melanin-challenged, Jeremy Kyle-watching counterparts march in front and behind of them 1000 fold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭seanaway

Hey let's not forget we are ALL typists here whatever our background!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Well I live in NL .. It's usually Turkish people that are as White as me telling me that I have privilege :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭seanaway

Well I live in NL .. It's usually Turkish people that are as White as me telling me that I have privilege :P
    Sounds like a Michael Jackson Turk then (known on this thread as Turkists or Jacksonists). I've never met a really white Turk and I lived there.

:P indeed
    Just praise them for their progressive ban on enslaving pale-skinned folks in the early 19th century.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I Live off a steady diet of Vegans.