Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aldi spoof of John Lewis advert

• 26-11-2015 8:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭

Only saw this tonight and I have to say I'm slightly offended by it.

I know it's all advertising and in a small way it's clever marketing by aldi.

I really feel John Lewis hit on a very important point of this time of year and Aldi have made a very poor choice in mocking it.

My sister works in a elderly care charity and their phone was off the hook when the John lewis ad aired with volunteers coming forward.

Not impressed with aldi over this one. Am I just taking it up wrongly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Ha, not bad at all.

Edit: be nice if they added aliens or a Dr. Evil giant laser death Ray for the auld dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

This is one of those

oh my holy jaysus who gives a shite

moments

that one has on boards from time to all of the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

The pretentiousness of the John Lewis ad deserves to be made fun of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,332 ✭✭✭Poochie05

At least in this one he has company for Christmas instead of having to look at other people eat, drink and be merry through his telescope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

So if I buy a telescope in John Lewis will I be able to see people on the surface of the moon? That's what I've gathered from that tripe anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭nathang20

That's a good ad. Have a bit of humour! We're all going to end up in the same place.

• Site Banned Posts: 167 ✭✭Yakkyda

Your offended by that? Sweet jesus, haven't seen the jl ad, but how can you be offended by that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Is there anything that doesn't get someone offended these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,658 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Kittens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭questionmark?

kneemos wrote: »
    Kittens.

Trust me there is someone...

Apparently not.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

That Aldi ad is shíte but it's not offensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭delahuntv

Don't look at the Michael o'leary Ryanair version - You'll cry with offence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

pippip wrote: »

Honestly?

The old guy gets a nice lady for some company. What's to be offended by?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,385 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

The perpetually offended strike again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

namloc1980 wrote: »
    The perpetually offended strike again.

I was expecting euthanasia at the end or something but no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Much nicer add. Man in the moon gets a companion not teased by evil kid about how much fun everybody else is having.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I really feel John Lewis hit on a very important point of this time of year and Aldi have made a very poor choice in mocking it.

My sister works in a elderly care charity and their phone was off the hook when the John lewis ad aired with volunteers coming forward.

It's hardly mocking the ad. It's a play on the ad but it's all in good taste. This years ad campaign will cost John Lewis 7 million.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

I think it's the JL one you're taking up wrong. It's a marketing campaign to get people to spend more in their stores, nothing more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

They're selling telescopes? Cool!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Offended by adverts mocking (barely) another advert, I'd love to live in your little bubble, life must be bliss if this is all you can get worked up over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭derb12

I hate the big fuss made over the John Lewis ads every year - sentimental tripe for the most part. I'm as Christmassy as the next person, but those JL ads do my head in.
    Republic of Telly did a pisstake on it recently - they focussed on the creepyness of it which is right and proper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Sun King

I can't recall a single time I was ever offended by anything.. ever!

Am I doing this whole life thing right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I can't recall a single time I was ever offended by anything.. ever!

Am I doing this whole life thing right?

Yes, or too much of the whacky tabacy stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,112 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

delahuntv wrote: »
    Don't look at the Michael o'leary Ryanair version - You'll cry with offence

I don't have a TV (and don't live in Ireland :pac: ) so can only go by what I've learn in various place on th'Internet, but I read that the Aldi woman is a throw-back to another one of their ads, so it's quite a clever hi-jack.

MOLontheMoon is just ... just ... just ... :eek: :D :rolleyes: :pac: :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

I disliked the message of the John Lewis ad in the first place. At the end of the ad, the old dude is still really isolated but now the loneliness is compounded because he can watch other people not being lonely. A very shallow ad.

But really, OP, offended by an ad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

To the internet to vent my outrage at a first world none problem !! Are we discriminating on age now Old people not allowed to poke fun ? Let the metal gymnastics commence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

What's offensive about that? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

`

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

The John Lewis ad is trying to sell you something just like the Aldi one is. They couldn't give a shite about the elderly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

eviltwin wrote: »
    What's offensive about that? :confused:

He's a straight, white man full of privilege (living on the moon, not a very multicultural place from what we see) and he's having a woman delivered to him like a Christmas present. It's an outrage Joe.

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

derb12 wrote: »
    I hate the big fuss made over the John Lewis ads every year - sentimental tripe for the most part. I'm as Christmassy as the next person, but those JL ads do my head in.
    Republic of Telly did a pisstake on it recently - they focussed on the creepyness of it which is right and proper.

This years add was downright odd. The kid counting down the days to give a present was clever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I'm offended too. Both telescopes in that ad are cr4p. He'd have been better off with a bog standard pair of 10x50 binos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I find your comment very offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

anna080 wrote: »
    I find your comment very offensive.

Post reported. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

`

I agree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Intent is the thing here though - the intent is to gently lampoon the John Lewis ad, not to take the piss out of the elderly. Even if it was, in a good-natured way, no harm in my opinion. A bit of non malicious humour can make awful things seem less awful. The Simpsons takes the piss out of the elderly and old folks' homes all the time, while simultaneously making the point that they can be lonely places and elderly people can just get thrown into them and forgotten about.

Not something to get offended by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Nevermind all that - what bout that KFC bucket ad? Hmm? What bout that!

(I really need to start dating again. Even if it's just for the sex)

ArtSmart wrote: »
    Nevermind all that - what bout that KFC bucket ad? Hmm? What bout that!

(I really need to start dating again. Even if it's just for the sex)

It's all about the sex, your not fooling anyone....

Azalea wrote: »
    Intent is the thing here though - the intent is to gently lampoon the John Lewis ad, not to take the piss out of the elderly. Even if it was, in a good-natured way, no harm in my opinion. A bit of non malicious humour can make awful things seem less awful. The Simpsons takes the piss out of the elderly and old folks' homes all the time, while simultaneously making the point that they can be lonely places and elderly people can just get thrown into them and forgotten about.

Not something to get offended by.

An excellent point. The Simpsons touched on that subject a lot actually through Abe by himself and the wider setting of the old folks' home. Humour is a very powerful tool when used in a clever manner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

The John Lewis ad is trying to sell you something just like the Aldi one is. They couldn't give a shite about the elderly.

Finally someone who understands modern marketing! The more you study marketing, the more strategy you discover it. When a firm does something out of the ordinary like support same sex marriage. It knows it may alienate some people and cause an outcry, which creates more free publicity. But it is well received it will boost sales. Its completely calculated. If the potential damage to the brand outweighs negatives, the firm wont run with the ad.

You can think businesses care about consumers and some actually do. But most firms only aim to maximise profits, not to deal with injustices in society and make the world a better place. You have to wonder how many focus group John Lewis ad had to make as "powerful" as they did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭dpofloinn

0e0.jpg
    I'll just leave this here shall I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

newacc2015 wrote: »
    Finally someone who understands modern marketing! The more you study marketing, the more strategy you discover it. When a firm does something out of the ordinary like support same sex marriage. It knows it may alienate some people and cause an outcry, which creates more free publicity. But it is well received it will boost sales. Its completely calculated. If the potential damage to the brand outweighs negatives, the firm wont run with the ad.

You can think businesses care about consumers and some actually do. But most firms only aim to maximise profits, not to deal with injustices in society and make the world a better place. You have to wonder how many focus group John Lewis ad had to make as "powerful" as they did
    The Lewis brand identity is social justice. it also is a philosophy underpinning the business, or it was. But yeah, marketing one's identity is part of the whole shebang. Aint no thang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

It's mind boggling to see how many people are taken in by JL advertising and actually think it's something to do with the elderly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

ArtSmart wrote: »
    The Lewis brand identity is social justice. it also is a philosophy underpinning the business, or it was. But yeah, marketing one's identity is part of the whole shebang. Aint no thang.

If a person actually cares about social justice, surely they should be excited by the prospect of being able to get similar quality products for less so they can donate the difference to charity?

You can buy your granddad a nice telescope and still have £40 to donate to Friends Of The Elderly or whatever they're called. Isn't that the better option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

If you think that's insensitive, you need to bulk-buy kleenex and counselling sessions.
    The pretentiousness of the John Lewis ad deserves to be made fun of.

Bollocks.

Do John Lewis even have a store in Ireland? (genuinely don't know)

Also, who ****ing cares? I like the smyths ad myself...

dpofloinn wrote: »
    0e0.jpg
    I'll just leave this here shall I

This guy has flounced off Twitter a few times when people didn't agree with him on something he said. Hard to take him seriously on the issue of being offended, TBH, and so I wish people would stop wheeling out that quote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭DivingDuck

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    This guy has flounced off Twitter a few times when people didn't agree with him on something he said. Hard to take him seriously on the issue of being offended, TBH, and so I wish people would stop wheeling out that quote.

Flouncing off Twitter is a fairly appropriate and reasoned response to being offended, though. Nobody really needs to be on Twitter, so if it's not doing anything for you, why bother to have it in your life?

Quitting an unnecessary social media site because you were getting some flack, or not getting sufficient kudos, is very different to the usual "I'm offended" mindset, which suggests that instead of removing yourself from the situation, you should complain until the situation is changed to suit you. I can't see anything wrong with the former, but the latter is a practical impossibility since there's no situation which won't offend somebody.