Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Embarrassing Kerry Womens Group want to ban internet porn in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

God bless their naïveté.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Bet they are all MILFy squirters.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Trond

They should make better use of their time and protest against their own elected officials advocating drink driving in Kerry because "they know the roads"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Flatzie_poo

Are they talking about The Passion of Saint Tibulus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Would that be abit of a nudey thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Because only men watch porn.....
    Its effects are most apparent among young men, many of whom come of age with no understanding of healthy, loving relationships due to their exposure to often sexually-violent imagery and behaviour

So banning and censoring something is a more effective plan than improving attitudes and education towards sex?

Sure just tell them we turn the internet off at night sorted. Also in the press interview declaring this bring the little black box and the blinking red light that is the internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

'the men joe, at themselves joe (ahhh that's awful, ahh sure...tsk tsk) getting worked up over de pictures joe (jaysus....ahh no.....), there's not enough left to raise a hanky joe, let alone warm the bed of a cold night in gortnakilly joe, I'm not orderin something from that summers one joe (terrible, terrible, terrible), that's how ye get into battery dept joe, bad enough with the young ones knowin what was in the parcel joe......'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Because only men watch porn.....

So banning and censoring something is a more effective plan than improving attitudes and education towards sex?
    They seem to think that women don't like any sort of kink. They realise that women made 50 shades popular. Right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭RayCon

Same county that brought us the Healy-Rae's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

Ah bless them, they want a variation on the north Korean model of internet access....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Ah Kerry. There was a BBC documentary during the week which showed a potato festival in Kerry that included a race to see who was the fastest spud peeler.

It's like the whole county is permanently stuck in the 1940s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Austria!

It's easy to laugh at them, but the internet causes big changes in how life works. How life in Kerry will change when they get it is anyone's guess.

Guess what....

Kerry Women’s Interactive Network (KWIN) is Ireland's first Socialist independent Feminist group
    http://www.peoplebeforeprofitkerry.ie/newsinfo.asp?news_id=86

Now, who didn't see that coming?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Looks like Kerryman jokes are due a comeback. Jesus. Meh I can imagine the meetings. Irish mammies in "feminist" hand me downs. They'd be the village crawthumpers in days gone by.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

hahahahahaha their email address is @nekd.ie

hahahahahaha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

One of the fastest-growing groups of women advocating for social change in Kerry...

Is there a lot of competitors in that space?!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

No way? :eek: :Pac:

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

c_man wrote: »
    Is there a lot of competitors in that space?!

Yes, The dirt farmers want to open a Dance hall where they can see the "lovely Girls".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The whole reason women invented porn was so their men would stop **** all over their magazines. Is that what they want to go back to? magazines covered in cum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

seamus wrote: »
    Ah Kerry. There was a BBC documentary during the week which showed a potato festival in Kerry that included a race to see who was the fastest spud peeler.

It's like the whole county is permanently stuck in the 1940s.

That was certainly Kerry at its most benign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭kettlehead

Trond wrote: »
    They should make better use of their time and protest against their own elected officials advocating drink driving in Kerry because "they know the roads"

Or a group of locals, including a parish priest, queuing up to shake the hand of a convicted rapist upon his sentencing.
    IT was a scene that could have come from a John B Keane play – a bizarre gesture of support by some plain people of Kerry for a convicted sex offender.

Danny Foley, of Meen, Listowel, sat in the dock at the Circuit Criminal Court, in Tralee, yesterday, awaiting sentence for sexually assaulting a woman, having been found guilty by a jury almost two weeks ago.

A group of 50 people, mainly men and said to be neighbours and friends, trooped into the courtroom and marched up to the accused, in single file. Each man shook his hand – some hugged him warmly, with tears in their eyes. It was witnessed by the 24-year-old victim who cut a lonely figure in the front seat of the public gallery. Dressed in black, she sat with a female garda, a counsellor from the Kerry Rape Crisis Centre and a friend.

All the well-wishers then seated themselves in the public gallery. Judge Donagh McDonagh, who had not seen what happened, emerged from his chambers a few minutes later.

Foley, a 35-year-old bouncer who had been in custody since being convicted, then stood up.
    READ NEXT Bishop Murray resignation to be announced

Before handing down a seven-year prison sentence, with the last two years suspended, the judge told him he had lied about several things and there was something “particularly odious” about the allegation he and the victim had engaged in oral sex.

In the witness box, the victim calmly read from her victim impact statement in which she spoke of being judged in north Kerry for pursuing her case, but she was not sorry for telling the truth.

Parish priest, Fr Seán Sheehy, a character witness for Foley, said he had always struck him as having the highest respect for women, suggesting there wasn’t an abusive bone in Foley’s body.

The moment sentence was handed down, the accused’s mother began to scream loudly. The judge ordered she be removed from the courtroom.

Vera O’Leary, director of Kerry Rape Crisis Centre, called for a system to protect victims of sex offences from intimidation in a courtroom.

I think this group may have bigger fish to fry than a bit of porn on the web.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I agree, we should ban everything we don't like, 3rd wave entitled feminists are first on my chopping block

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,880 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

osarusan wrote: »
    hahahahahaha their email address is @nekd.ie

hahahahahaha.

Bloody layabout pornographers in South Kerry weren't asked to join their group...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Vinculus

I'm very sure they don't mind looking a Michael Fassbender's willy every time he pop's it out in the films.

It is a lovely willy all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

seamus wrote: »
    There was a BBC documentary during the week......

Well the Kerry Women's Interactive Network will certainly not be watching any of those documentaries!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭wilhelm roentgen

ScumLord wrote: »
    The whole reason women invented porn was so their men would stop **** all over their magazines. Is that what they want to go back to? magazines covered in cum?

Apparently that's what they do in Spunkane :D

Agricola wrote: »
    Well the Kerry Women's Interactive Network will certainly not be watching any of those documentaries!

They might when saorview reaches them!

smash wrote: »
    Guess what....

Kerry Women’s Interactive Network (KWIN) is Ireland's first Socialist independent Feminist group
    http://www.peoplebeforeprofitkerry.ie/newsinfo.asp?news_id=86

Now, who didn't see that coming?

Their left is a different one to mine is all I'm sayin.

This bit is odd
    Its effects are most apparent among young men, many of whom come of age with no
    understanding of healthy, loving relationships due to their exposure to often
    sexually-violent imagery and behaviour

One wonders if someboys OH/son was caught with a stash of the oul bondage, because that it is, it has to be said, rather a niche area.

Nodin wrote: »
    This bit is odd

One wonders if someboys OH/son was caught with a stash of the oul bondage, because that it is, it has to be said, rather a niche area.

Rule 34.

You could be right, from this Indo article about this meeting earlier in the month:
    Dee Keogh of North and East Kerry Development explained that because porngraphy is now so accessible online and depicts 'every fetish you can imagine' it has become a very serious issue that affects families, children, friends and colleagues.

A mouth gag and a pair of arseless leather chaps must've been discovered somewhere :pac:

One wonders if someone is jealous that their kids have a lot better sex than they've ever had. I heard Mary tried doggy style once though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I think calling for an outright ban is insane. However, parents need to start sitting down with their kids at a young age to explain that porn is basically a cartoon and that it does not represent sex in real life. You can't blame kids for thinking it might be especially when there are adults out there who believe porn is realistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Why are this crowd even getting any airtime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

That's a horrible name for a women's group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Why are this crowd even getting any airtime?
    Because the media love lunatics.

Duggy747 wrote: »
    You could be right, from this Indo article about this meeting earlier in the month:

A mouth gag and a pair of arseless leather chaps must've been discovered somewhere :pac:

Good jaysus.....and people slag off Donegal.....
    Dee Keogh of North and East Kerry Development explained that because porngraphy
    is now so accessible online and depicts 'every fetish you can imagine' it has
    become a very serious issue that affects families, children, friends and
    colleagues

'Do you know what paddy wanted to do last night?'
    'Was it go to the coursin in Clonmel?'
    'Have me tell him to stand in the corner while he was wearin the wellys and nothing else'
    'Holy God.....'
    'I was wonderin when I came in why the statue of the holy mother was turned face to the wall'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Lux23 wrote: »
    I think calling for an outright ban is insane. However, parents need to start sitting down with their kids at a young age to explain that porn is basically a cartoon and that it does not represent sex in real life. You can't blame kids for thinking it might be especially when there are adults out there who believe porn is realistic.

Ah now why should parents take responsibility for what their children get up to? that's crazy talk blaming everyone else is the only rational way to go

Big difference is that a kid can't grow up to be superman but they can grow up to enjoy and participate in various forms of sexual activities. Apart from the plumber or pizza guy that gets a blowjob at every house, what's unrealistic about porn? It's based on fetishes, fetishes that a lot of people have. Porn helps people understand what they like and don't like. Sex is such a big part of relationships and people are finding it easier and easier to find a compatible mate because of porn and open sexual attitudes.

VinLieger wrote: »
    Ah now why should parents take responsibility for what their children get up to? that's crazy talk blaming everyone else is the only rational way to go

I don't want to be associated with this lot by blaming the internet. If I have kids at any stage would it be ok if I blamed you?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

They want to ban online porn in Ireland? They may as well ban the internet outright.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Let's be honest. After you've done your internet banking, checked your emails and browsed Facebook, who doesn't like to beat one off to the odd Redtube video before bed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

smash wrote: »
    Big difference is that a kid can't grow up to be superman but they can grow up to enjoy and participate in various forms of sexual activities. Apart from the plumber or pizza guy that gets a blowjob at every house, what's unrealistic about porn? It's based on fetishes, fetishes that a lot of people have. Porn helps people understand what they like and don't like. Sex is such a big part of relationships and people are finding it easier and easier to find a compatible mate because of porn and open sexual attitudes.

I don't really agree with this, I have watched/watch porn and have had plenty of sexual partners/experience during my adult years. I learned what I liked through my own experiences and not by watching fantasy. I was lucky that my formative sexual years were spent with men who learned about sex through experience rather than watching something on the internet so I never had to conform to an unrealistic expectation when I was very young (18 or so, my earlier boyfriends were way older than me).

As I got older I met some men that would like to copy things they saw in porn, mostly it was painful for me and something that looks good on screen rather than feels good! Even some of the positions in porn are set up for the camera angles, chances are neither of the actors are getting any pleasure from it. So yea I stand by my cartoon analogy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Bloody hell. Lets reopen the Battle Creek Sanitarium while we're at it.

This post on FB is funny.

They say this:
    KWIN would like to urge everyone to email/phone/Text/Tweet or Facebook Alex White, the Minister for Communications, to urge him to bring in a Bill to make pornography inaccessible in Ireland as has already been done in the UK.

They want people to push for censorship but then immediately say under it:
    In supporting this event NEWKD once again proved that it is investing in progressive community development by embracing this initiative from KWIN

Then finish it off with:
    NEWKD is prepared to hold internet safety courses for anyone who has concerns about the access of pornography by their children, partners, husbands, wives in the near future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Jose Maria

I agree that there should be an adult content filter for all mobile phone users under 18

As I got older I met some men that would like to copy things they saw in porn, mostly it was painful for me and something that looks good on screen rather than feels good! Even some of the positions in porn are set up for the camera angles, chances are neither of the actors are getting any pleasure from it. So yea I stand by my cartoon analogy.

A large, enormous part of porn online is amateur content so it's not really right to call porn cartoonish since it has so many genres and types in it.