Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where would you go next...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Surprised at Volvo after care, thought it would be first class.

I like them more than the other brands, I think they fly under the radar a little more. Didn't know they gave bother like that though. Maybe just bad luck with that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭carsfan2

digiman wrote: »
    @carsfan, did you get the new car yet?

No. It’s been pushed back to mid April delivery unfortunately. I had hoped to get it before vat goes back up but not to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,106 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

vintagevrs wrote: »
    Surprised at Volvo after care, thought it would be first class.

I like them more than the other brands, I think they fly under the radar a little more. Didn't know they gave bother like that though. Maybe just bad luck with that one.

They're great at sending tow trucks, next guy will probably have no problems, far from impressed with the dealers, they're not joined up which is a major issue. At least when you go into bmw/Audi/vw they know what the last chap has done. It's a new excuse for the same problem every time.

Dealer here in mid west was another reason we didn’t go Volvo. Didn’t inspire confidence and know people with bad experience. I have always found BMW to be more customer oriented post sale.

BMW are streets ahead in customer care, when ever getting a service in conlons they'd always have a car for me an it would be a similar engine, eg getting the 530 serviced they'd have a 530 loan car, be lucky to get a hot wheels out of Volvo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭digiman

carsfan2 wrote: »
    No. It’s been pushed back to mid April delivery unfortunately. I had hoped to get it before vat goes back up but not to be.

That’s annoying, I didn’t expect the VAT would go back up to be honest. What’s the reason for the delay? I’ve been told by VW dealers that they have big delays in getting car parts for that ID4, wonder is it a general theme at the moment .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭digiman

MarkN wrote: »
    Fellow mid life crisis heads... THIS is what you need in your life!

Ya fecking prick tease!

I’m not liking these premiers I’m gonna tell ya! Your lucky they are worth watching ! 😜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭MarkN

It's just uploading otherwise it would be live :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Looking forward to your review Mark. What's the idea behind a premier? Is it just to piss people off??? :)

You can see on your channel when subs / typical viewers are watching vids most often, normal analytics that most social platforms provide. Idea is that you should either go live with a video when more are watching or in my case when I'm uploading from early in the morning (60g file in this case) I just stick up a link while it uploads. Subscribers who have hit the notifications icon get a 30 min flag that a video is soon going live so it just helps make it a bit more of an appointment to watch. :)

Will Nobby use the handbrake, place you bets gentlemen...

digiman wrote: »
    That’s annoying, I didn’t expect the VAT would go back up to be honest. What’s the reason for the delay? I’ve been told by VW dealers that they have big delays in getting car parts for that ID4, wonder is it a general theme at the moment .

I didn’t think the government would put it back up considering the current situation but paschal confirmed it is.
    I’m not sure, but it also appears the 5k grant is going for phev cars too at the end of March. Cars have to be ordered but not necessarily delivered before 31st March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,609 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

PUP, etc will have to be paid for somehow. I'm afraid taxes will only be going one way for the next number of years to pay for this Pandemic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,069 ✭✭✭Casati

They're great at sending tow trucks, next guy will probably have no problems, far from impressed with the dealers, they're not joined up which is a major issue. At least when you go into bmw/Audi/vw they know what the last chap has done. It's a new excuse for the same problem every time.

Disappointing to hear that, I’ve a V90 and will be hoping she behaves herself

Apologies for off topic but what's the problem?

Ah feck, brutal bad luck & as you say can't have faith in the yoke then. Fingers crossed next bus will be perfect for ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭higster

Are you in the diesel or petrol Higster?

D5 diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭Turbulent Bill

Fellow mid life crisis heads... THIS is what you need in your life!

I'm usually a fan of your reviews, but doing 120+ along Hearse Road isn't cool, regardless of the car or your skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,678 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I'm usually a fan of your reviews, but doing 120+ along Hearse Road isn't cool, regardless of the car or your skills.

ah don't worry, the speedo was in mph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,604 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Was waiting for someone to give out about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Don't worry, the people who buy them will keep it under 50.

Might want to edit the video and blur the speedo Mark.
    Joe Achilles got nabbed for dangerous driving and points on his licence for similar.

Thanks for heads up lads. Foolish of me to do it actually, was one of those straight road moments that can get the better of you.

There's enough to lose two licenses in there, I'd not leave that up there TBH.

It's a great review like the editing, touchy times though, too many people looking for something to vent over.

No ones venting, it's an FYI to a fellow poster on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,604 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Don't let a good thread get derailed lads, Mark.is aware and people probably right to point it out constructively. Good video Mark, production values going up all the time .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,267 ✭✭✭User1998

Thanks for heads up lads. Foolish of me to do it actually, was one of those straight road moments that can get the better of you.

I always notice VolksWizard positions his camera on the window so that the steering wheel blocks the speed on his spirited drives, could be something to consider

Watson usually hoons it on a closed road, have we anything similar here besides race tracks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭Wailin

Christ I'd better watch the video quick before all the whinging forces Mark to take it down.

Edit: Great review Mark. Not sure if I'd have one over a mk 8 golf tcr for similar money though. Mostly for practical reasons, I'm sure the Toyota is far more fun to drive.