Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hunger Games scenario - Do you have any survival skills?

• 23-11-2015 9:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

I have started watching 'The Hunger Games' film series again because I want to watch the last installment (and I have a major crush on Jennifer Lawrence :D) and I was thinking to myself that I have absolutely no survival skills, zero. I've never been camping or to any kind of scouts activities and I am not very practical, when I lived at home my dad would do all the DIY stuff, he'd even change the lightbulb in my bedroom when it blew, I'd just ask him to do it :p I like my home comforts and I'm a bit of a diva.

Now I live with my partner and she has to do all of the DIY stuff and if she can't do it then I ring my dad :pac:

So, if I was in a 'Hunger Games' scenario I'd be the first to be picked off, the elements would probably get me first!

People of AH, do you have any survival skills - can you light a fire without matches or hunt or fish, can you fight or use weapons or do you have an uncanny ability to blend into jungle terrain? :p

Oh, and do you think you could kill another person in order to defend yourself?

I think I could kill another person if they were attacking me directly but I don't think I could seek them out to kill them first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

I can light a cigarette off the toaster. Does that count

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

They don't really have modern weapons do they though, no guns, its all spears or bows or rocks.

And.... based on what skills the books have, no. I am Peeta. And Peeta at least can do the disguising himself thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I can light a cigarette off the toaster. Does that count

You truly are the king of men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

If someone could provide me with food I would probably manage. Trained with a few weapons including archery. Would be able to put some structures or traps together with a bit of experimentation. As long as the weather isn't too extreme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,927 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

You can't change a light bulb? Hope they don't come for you when you're shaving your legs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I once killed a bear by winning against it in a staring competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,046 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

mfceiling wrote: »
    You can't change a light bulb? Hope they don't come for you when you're shaving your legs...

That would be quite a sight.... the OP is male as far as I know :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

That would be quite a sight.... the OP is male as far as I know :)

I'm female (checks again to make sure) - Yep, I'm definitely female :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Anything can be a ninja star if you have enough imagination!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I can navigate without a compass. Unless it's nighttime and cloudy. Then I'm screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

I work in Construction and I also go camping regularly enough, love going fishing, i can shoot, my parents have a farm so I know about killing and cleaning animals. Any time I've gone doing Archery as a day trip or whatever I've done very well. Its out of date now but i did do a first aid course years ago.

I'm good with my hands. I service my own car, I've made furniture, can repair anything electrical within reason, (fixed washing machines, re-soldered car ECU's, changed screen on my ipad and phone, that kinda thing)

I'd do quite well in a hunger game/deserted island type scenario i think. I play rugby and id classify myself as being fairly hardy so if someone tried to wrestle me to kill me id fancy my chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

was there wifi in the hunger games?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Now yes, But at 12-16, dont think so.

I only read the first books there after my 11 year old gave to me.

What the actual FúCk was going on there, why did they have to kill kids in it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,885 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

If I had a roll of duct tape I'd be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,046 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Medusa22 wrote: »
    I'm female (checks again to make sure) - Yep, I'm definitely female :D

D'oh! I thought I had read you say previously that you were male. My apologies!

allibastor wrote: »
    Now yes, But at 12-16, dont think so.

I only read the first books there after my 11 year old gave to me.

What the actual FúCk was going on there, why did they have to kill kids in it!!

The author basically ripped off Battle Royale but gave it more tween style drama to compete in a post twilight world

Akrasia wrote: »
    If I had a roll of duct tape I'd be grand.

My OH fixes everything in the house with duct tape, everything. We saw a car recently that had duct tape all over the bumper and she says to me, ''oh look, I must have fixed that car''. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Akrasia wrote: »
    The author basically ripped off Battle Royale but gave it more tween style drama to compete in a post twilight world

And the running man (all the corporate entertainment stuff)

I have quite a few skills - including in combat - and I am quite fit - so I could probably work well against the average Joe. But it would mostly be close combat. I have crap eye sight so I would suck against anyone capable of constructing ranged weaponry. In any shoot out I would be very much at a disadvantage.

But in the Hunger Games - if I recall rightly - not everyone who gets in is the "average Joe" - but some people train for it all their lives. I would not have a hope against them without some serious benefit of surprise or ambush.
    I've never been camping or to any kind of scouts activities and I am not very practical

I recommend it. Not just to survive the Hunger Games or the Apocalypse. But just for fun. Actually what I have been sold on recently by a gilrfriend - and quite enjoyed - is Hill Running. Which is basically when you bugger off on your own with a minimum of stuff on your back - tent, supplies and so forth - and just go running for a few days. Fun - challenging - and quite a learning experience in some ways.
    I lived at home my dad would do all the DIY stuff, he'd even change the lightbulb in my bedroom when it blew

I am trying to avoid that with my kids. My daughter for example is over 5 now and was capable of wiring a plug since age three. And the advantage of this is it is not just useful life skills I teach her - but it is also "play" to her so I am not sitting around like some parents worrying about how to occupy and entertain my children next.
    can you light a fire without matches or hunt or fish, can you fight or use weapons or do you have an uncanny ability to blend into jungle terrain?

Nah I am tech minded not art minded. I would suck at disguise and the like. Hunting and Fishing I do a lot of. Camping and fire lighting too. Even at home I catch wild rabbit - keep them awhile and treat them and feed them well - then turn them into dinner. I could get by with a few weapons. Fighting with a staff is the only one I have done a LOT of training with over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I recently spent a month in Canada on a wilderness course. There we built a log cabin from scratch. 8 complete strangers came together and learned wood working, fishing, hunting and foraging skills.

Suffice to say I excelled in all areas, and quickly took on the role as informal leader of the group. While I primarily took the month off as a well-earned R&R break from work, I also wanted to challenge myself.

I’d now have no issue with setting up a shelter, making a fire, setting a rabbit trap, catching and preparing a fish, and foraging for fruit and seeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

With my FCA training no one is safe :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭conorhal

cronin_j wrote: »
    I work in Construction and I also go camping regularly enough, love going fishing, i can shoot, my parents have a farm so I know about killing and cleaning animals. Any time I've gone doing Archery as a day trip or whatever I've done very well. Its out of date now but i did do a first aid course years ago.

I'm good with my hands. I service my own car, I've made furniture, can repair anything electrical within reason, (fixed washing machines, re-soldered car ECU's, changed screen on my ipad and phone, that kinda thing)

I'd do quite well in a hunger game/deserted island type scenario i think. I play rugby and id classify myself as being fairly hardy so if someone tried to wrestle me to kill me id fancy my chances.

That's all nice, but my survival skill is 'sneaky', so all your mad skillz will count for nought when I bludgeon you to death in your sleep and steal your stuff!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I recently spent a month in Canada on a wilderness course. There we built a log cabin from scratch. 8 complete strangers came together and learned wood working, fishing, hunting and foraging skills.

Suffice to say I excelled in all areas, and quickly took on the role as informal leader of the group. While I primarily took the month off as a well-earned R&R break from work, I also wanted to challenge myself.

I’d now have no issue with setting up a shelter, making a fire, setting a rabbit trap, catching and preparing a fish, and foraging for fruit and seeds.

Yeah, but could you kill a spotty teenager with a pointy stick?

My OH fixes everything in the house with duct tape, everything. We saw a car recently that had duct tape all over the bumper and she says to me, ''oh look, I must have fixed that car''. :D

Best stuff in the world. I was bodging together a handle to use with my little girl's trike the other day, (my back was broken from leaning down to push her cause she was too lazy to pedal herself) I left it on the roof of the car and forgot about it. I then drove 2 miles to the shops and it was still on the roof when I got there.

Duct tape would have saved the Dinosaurs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,518 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I could survive in the wild alright if I needed to. I grew up in the country where I was surrounded by a moors, woodlands, farmlands and fruit orchards, no shortage of food and water, and if I was willing to risk it, I would bed down in a haybarn on the top stack, so I was plenty warm. If I'd to build a shelter out of branches and muck I could (cow dung also makes great face paint!), and I can build fires handy enough.

Could I kill someone hunger games style if it meant my own survival? I couldn't tbh, I didn't even want to harm animals and birds when I used go on my adventures, usually I ate fruits and raw vegetables. I don't think I could survive as a vegetarian full time though as I was often left very physically weak when I'd return home after a few days (I used disappear for a few days a few times during the summer holidays and weekends).

Trying to survive in a city actually is a lot more difficult if you're homeless, than if you were to try and survive in the country. It's even more difficult to find food, shelter and warmth. I could do it when I was 18/19, but now I'm nearly 40 and I feel it more and more when I go out at night, and wonder how much longer can I do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

If we're talking hunger games I have a little (basic) judo but have sparred with friends who do MMA & Capoeira and managed to hold my own.:)

But i have very poor eye sight so without contacts I'm ****ed. Never fired a bow and arrow.

When I was 12 I tried to make a neolithic style spear head out of stone until I got bored. (i was gonna burry it as a prank for some future archaeologist!).

I'm reasonably fit for walking, climbing and hiking but have never tried making a fire -- it's raining outside so i can't try now. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Not a hope. I can make fire, and I know plants, fruits and mushrooms that are safe to eat.
    I might also be able to put up some sort of shelter. But combat? Absolutely no way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,158 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

Dunno if any if yee have seen battle royale, it was made before the Hunger games was written and is based around the same idea-a load of teens thrown into a situation they dont want to be in- killing each other only one survives

Some of the characters killed themselves rather than compete, others just hung around together in hopes that the smart kids in the class (it was a class of students) would be able to do something to save them all, most people did not want to compete or kill, very few were actively on the hunt.

I feel that would be more me-if I was thrown into a hunger games like situation I have no survival skills and Im not strong or fast, AI have no knowledge of any weapons....Id definitely be the first to be killed off. Id probably just do a Battle Royale on it and not compete.

Also a side note-Battle Royale is alot bloodier than Hunger Games....I personally feel its a more realistic representation of what would happen if the Hunger games had been real.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I could be a turf baron, akin Tina Turner in Mad Max or Dennis Hopper in Waterworld.

He who warms your arse rules the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,396 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I'd be okay at the survival skills (actually tried to apply for Bear Gryll's "The Island" but they'd only take British citizens), the basic strategy and wouldn't have any qualms about killing others to survive but, realistically, I'd never hold my own in close combat against anyone with serious training or who was even a decent scrapper growing up...

My strategy would be to evade everyone else for as long as possible while fashioning a ranged weapon to pick off people with from a defensive position as the game drew to a close. Not sure how well that would have worked in the arena in the Hunger Games arena with all it's traps and games masters forcing confrontations though... probably not very.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,619 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I have a wide range of combat skills that I've learnt from the internet, I've also seen Castaway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I'll take a good while to starve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Always find myself thinking this when I watch The Walking Dead...i think I could be pretty ruthless in a kill or be killed situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I have never seen the Hunger games series, but will add it to the list OP.

But you know when you watch those reality shows where they dump a group of people on a desert island with nothing more than a rusty spoon and tell them to survive for a month? Bear Grylls had one last year.

And one the group always gets eaten alive by mossies, gets sick from drinking stagnant water and then cant do any hunting and depends on the good nature of the others to survive?

I think that would be me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,760 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

We can use strawman arguments to make shelters.

I'll take a good while to starve

I was thinking that too, that I could spend quite a few weeks living off my body fat alone :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I have the distinct ability to:
    a) find the weakest/slowest/unhealthiest person in a group setting
    b) ensure that I remain one step ahead of this person

I'd be fecked anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Skoop

I can open a bottle of beer with many everyday items that aren't intended for the purpose.

I'm also pretty good at getting pens to write again when they've been left sitting with the top off.

I'm presuming this is enough to make me an indispensable part of any group, so they can do the killing and dying for me. I'll be in charge of beer and pens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭corner of hells

That's my friends car.

Also I can use a spud gun , older people will remember these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,619 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Menas wrote: »
    ... Bear Grylls had one last year...

That's a mistake right there, Ray Mears is the one you need to watch. Bear will survive by drinking his own piss and eating maggots, Ray eats like a king and comes off that desert island in need of a diet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It would be some laugh to see a hunger games style thing. I only managed 40 minutes of the film but it seems they send regular joes off to kill each other in the woods. Hollywood would have us believe the human is one of the easiest animals in the world to kill, and that put in the situation we'd all turn into crack shot SAS survivalists. Humans aren't easy to kill, especially without a gun. Humans are crap at everything unless they spend months training. Your average modern person probably wouldn't be able to throw a spear straight, nevermind hard enough to kill something. There would be a lot of boo boos, and the one person that did manage to kill someone would be sitting under a tree crying while the rest of the group consoled him.

Even someone who likes spending time in the wilderness, camping and the likes. First goes to a shop, stocks up on everything they need and then some, spends a relaxing few days appreciating wildlife, then buggers off home before they start to run out of toilet paper.

I have no doubt many modern people would learn to survive, but that life would suck, every second of it would suck, and you would no longer be able to appreciate the wonderfulness of the nature you're in because everything sucks so bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Diamond Doll

I'd be terrible. I'm a very picky eater, can't see me eating leaves and bugs etc. I'd be too squeamish to kill an animal, let alone a person. I'm not very practical, wouldn't be able to fashion my own tools or anything. I'm also unfit, so wouldn't even be able to run away.

Yeah I'd be pretty disastrous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'd be terrible. I'm a very picky eater, can't see me eating leaves and bugs etc. I'd be too squeamish to kill an animal,
    Once you're hungry you will eat anything. It takes a long time to starve to death, your belly has time to convince your head that a slug might taste nice.

It took me two days to shoo a bat out of my flat, I'm a danger to myself just crossing the room, I've the physique of a 12 year old, and I couldn't navigate myself out of a doorway, I can confidently state that I'd be the first one to get killed at the cornucopia.

I have a pilots license, that's all I have to offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

i have patience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,252 ✭✭✭circadian

If Fallout 4 is anything to go by, I'll rank up my sneak skills then operate on a bullet to the face sneak attack, loot and don't bother with questions basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

I'm fairly handy with Excel. I could rustle up some spreadsheets and a few graphs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Just don't piss off Takeshi Kitano OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭TheNobleKipper

I'd struggle to find food if I wasn't allowed to eat my killed off contestants. If they're out to kill you...I am very sure I could kill them first. I bet it'd be fun!