Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dubai Duty Free Irish Open (19th-22nd May 2016), K Club, Co. Kildare

• 21-11-2015 8:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭

You can now buy tickets for next year's Irish Open in the K Club.

Prices as follows, not sure how it compares to last year or if the prices will go up in January like last year.

PRO-AM WEDNESDAY‚ €11.20

ADULT ANY ONE DAY TICKET, €31.20

CONCESSION (16-21 OR Over 60yo) ANY ONE DAY TICKET, €21.20

ADULT SEASON TICKET, €71.20

CONCESSION SEASON TICKET €51.20

Might sort out a few C*****mas (hate the dreaded C work in November) presents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

Thanks for the heads up.

How will the "Any one day" tickets work?

Surely everyone will just want to go the Sunday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

eoghan104 wrote: »
    Thanks for the heads up.

How will the "Any one day" tickets work?

Surely everyone will just want to go the Sunday?

Rather than listing prices for Thurs, Fri, Sat, Sun they have "any one day". You'll have to select the "one day" you want in advance.

Going to go for the Pro Am I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

I went to Sat and Sunday last year and although it was a great weekend think I'm going to go earlier in the week, maybe pro am and Thursday, get to see everyone then, smaller crowd, players more relaxed for autographs etc.

Missed out on seeing Rory hit a ball last year :(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

shaunac93 wrote: »
    I went to Sat and Sunday last year and although it was a great weekend think I'm going to go earlier in the week, maybe pro am and Thursday, get to see everyone then, smaller crowd, players more relaxed for autographs etc.

Missed out on seeing Rory hit a ball last year :(

What day are you thinking of going? Am going to order my tickets shortly.

charlieIRL wrote:
    What day are you thinking of going? Am going to order my tickets shortly.

Wednesday and Thursday I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

PARlance wrote: »
    Rather than listing prices for Thurs, Fri, Sat, Sun they have "any one day". You'll have to select the "one day" you want in advance.

Going to go for the Pro Am I think.

I bought tickets, it never asked to specify a day.

Cheers to the op, Christmas shopping is almost finished now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭Theboybang

Does anyone know how I could get involved with being a scoreboard holder or marker with the groups....Thanks!

Theboybang wrote: »
    Does anyone know how I could get involved with being a scoreboard holder or marker with the groups....Thanks!

I'd say those positions will be filled by members of the K Club and their families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Theboybang wrote: »

Various clubs are invited every year to supply personnel for assorted duties. Not sure how it is organised - it seems to be at the discretion of the GUI and the host club. If your club is on the list, you should hear about it. If it isn't, I'm not sure there is anything you can do about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭ko4jm6y9iwv2lc

Has anybody bought a 'Season Ticket' for previous Irish Opens? Do you receive individual tickets for each day, or a single ticket to be used everyday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

First Up wrote: »
    Various clubs are invited every year to supply personnel for assorted duties. Not sure how it is organised - it seems to be at the discretion of the GUI and the host club. If your club is on the list, you should hear about it. If it isn't, I'm not sure there is anything you can do about it.

Did this the year it was in baltray was good fun if u get a job on the tee box you get a great view of the players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭xFROSTY Gx

Has anybody bought a 'Season Ticket' for previous Irish Opens? Do you receive individual tickets for each day, or a single ticket to be used everyday?

Did it for Fota 2014. Just got a single ticket that was stamped each day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭Poker Face

Got a ticket as a present, will prob go the Friday. what will be the best way to get to K Club from Dublin city centre without a car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Poker Face wrote:
    Got a ticket as a present, will prob go the Friday. what will be the best way to get to K Club from Dublin city centre without a car?

I'd say there will be buses from Naas or Sallins railway station.

Got a season ticket as a present!!! Presume that means i can got Thursday to Sunday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭xFROSTY Gx

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Got a season ticket as a present!!! Presume that means i can got Thursday to Sunday?

Even better, it means you can go Wednesday all the way through to Sunday;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,116 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

It means that I'll see you there :)

charlieIRL wrote:

Its means your one lucky lads :) cya there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,311 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Does anyone know what Americans have signed up for this?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

Tyson Fury wrote: »

Gmac is there for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Gmac is there for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭golfer79

Field is available on the euro tour website now and it is very strong. Disappointingly, none of the top American players however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭gman127

http://www.europeantour.com/europeantour/season=2016/tournamentid=2016038/news/newsid=291890.html

Kaymer, Willett, Cabrero-Bello, Sullivan, Westwood, Jimenez.

Will be a good field I think.

And I'm marshalling it this year so should get a close look!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Picked up an any-day ticket for this. It never asked me to specify a day.

I've heard they run buses, does anyone have any info on this? Can't find anything online. Ill be coming from Templeogue.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

^http://www.kclub.ie/en/travel-to-the-irish-open/

I've just organised 2 tickets. The son & I have been to the last 3. Just haven't decided whether it suits us better to go Saturday or Sunday. Probably Sunday.

What's the story with brining kids? My daughter is 10 and is converting into a golf nut. Played her first 5 holes on a course there on Wednesday and loved it!!!
    She wants to come with me and I have a season ticket. Are kids under a certain age charged and can you get a ticket on the day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

What's the story with brining kids? My daughter is 10 and is converting into a golf nut. Played her first 5 holes on a course there on Wednesday and loved it!!!
    She wants to come with me and I have a season ticket. Are kids under a certain age charged and can you get a ticket on the day?

Under 16s free of charge accompanied by an adult. (Well that is how it was last year anyway)

HighLine wrote: »
    Under 16s free of charge accompanied by an adult. (Well that is how it was last year anyway)

Still the same this year. Hoping to bring my 4 year old for a bit on the Wednesday

what day/s are you planning on going?

Seve OB wrote: »
    what day/s are you planning on going?

Thursday, Friday and Sunday but only bringing my youngest on the Friday.

sound. should see you there.

Seve OB wrote:
    sound. should see you there.

charlieIRL wrote:

I'll see ye both there Friday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Pacly

Does anyone know what parking will be like around the K Club?

Coming from Dublin will it be easier to get the train to Maynooth and leave the car at home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Halfprice

Parking from memory was grand the last time it was in the KClub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

Really looking forward to this, hopefully will see Rory playing some better golf this year. I see American golf have a stand/tent i wonder will there be good deals or will they put the prices up for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

where would be the best place to stay for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,311 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

slingerz wrote: »

Naas or anywhere in West Dublin

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

slingerz wrote: »
    Naas or anywhere in West Dublin

Maynooth, Clane, Kilcock, Celbridge, Lucan, Leixlip,........ all on the doorstep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Thinking of taking Fri off to go to this. Sat for society outing then Sun for Club monthly medal. Will be the greatest weekend of golf ever!

RoadRunner wrote: »
    Thinking of taking Fri off to go to this. Sat for society outing then Sun for Club monthly medal. Will be the greatest weekend of golf ever!

you should be ok for a ticket. gimme a shout before you buy anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

Got a room in Naas. Hopefully some good weather and some good golf to look forward to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭lester76

Any idea time gates will open for pro am wed & thur would like to stay over wed get an early tee time somewhere close?? Coming up frm tramore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭wolfyboy555

Is there a facility to collect tickets on the day? I ordered a day ticket but it never came in the post after a confirmed dispatch. When I emailed them they said to collect them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Not a fan of this event in K- Club.

In fact, no build up to it like last year

I know it being in RCD was a great novelty.

But a bit sick it is here.

Nearly considered not going at all.
    The only positive incredible motorway access from anywhere in the country.

Does anyone know if you can go up to it on the Tuesday?

And is there tickets needed then or just rock up???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Golfgorfield

Not a fan of this event in K- Club.

In fact, no build up to it like last year

I know it being in RCD was a great novelty.

But a bit sick it is here.

Nearly considered not going at all.
    The only positive incredible motorway access from anywhere in the country.

There is never that magic feeling about it when its on a parkland, in contrast to when we are lucky enough to get it onto a links, then it seems to really have a great buzz about it.

I disagree

I thought from a spectator point of view it was awful last year. So much so, I didn't bother going more than 1 day

Previous year was fantastic, went 3 days.

I think the K-Club is a great venue for it. It was brilliant for the Ryder Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Golfgorfield

Seve OB wrote: »
    I disagree

I thought from a spectator point of view it was awful last year. So much so, I didn't bother going more than 1 day

Previous year was fantastic, went 3 days.

I think the K-Club is a great venue for it. It was brilliant for the Ryder Cup.

Nobody doubting the venue, its wonderful, but there doesn't seem to be the same buzz.

I thought there was a great buzz at Fota. Obviously remains to be seen about next week. It would have been great this weekend.... weather not looking so good for next week :(

Best buzz ever was the week of the Ryder Cup in the K-Club. Hairs up on the back of the neck and Goose pimples for a solid three days! Massively different tournament though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

Lack of buzz this year coz none of Rory's mates coming, like Rickie Fowler did last year.

That said I'm looking forward to attending my fourth in a row and I reckon it will be a better experience for spectators. Unlike Fota or Carton House the stewards were a little over zealous at RCD and everywhere was roped off often leaving you well away from the action.