Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

16 year old intervenes in mugging

• 18-11-2015 6:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭

We hear a lot of bad stories about teenagers these days but this fella gives me some hope!

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/dublin-teenager-16-stabbed-while-saving-woman-in-mugging-34211886.html

Tl;dr version: he was walking to his grandmother's house when he heard screaming. He sprang into action and tacked a scumbag trying to rob a woman's handbag at a bus stop, then chased him down the road, then escorted the woman to safety. Only then did he realize he was stabbed in the fraccas and seriously injured - he's in hospital now but thankfully he's doing well.

Huge fair play to the young man - there's plenty, and a lot of them older who wouldn't have acted as he did. His parents should be very proud of him.

It's people like him that should get the Freedom of Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Only then did he realize he was stabbed in the fraccas

Yikes, that sounds painful!

Sorry, I had to do it. And fair play to him, I hope he makes a full recovery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I'm sure the stabbing fella had a hard life and will say sorry in court if found and let off with his previous 50 convictions some including assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭well spoken man

Not sure it's worth getting stabbed over some aul wans handbag....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    We hear a lot of bad stories about teenagers these days but this fella gives me some hope!

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/dublin-teenager-16-stabbed-while-saving-woman-in-mugging-34211886.html

Tl;dr version: he was walking to his grandmother's house when he heard screaming. He sprang into action and tacked a scumbag trying to rob a woman's handbag at a bus stop, then chased him down the road, then escorted the woman to safety. Only then did he realize he was stabbed in the fraccas and seriously injured - he's in hospital now but thankfully he's doing well.

Huge fair play to the young man - there's plenty, and a lot of them older who wouldn't have acted as he did. His parents should be very proud of him.

It's people like him that should get the Freedom of Dublin.

That was very dumb of him. Not brave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Jeju

Agree, should have whipped out the phone, videoed it and uploaded it to YouTube.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

The same culprit mugged my mother (a pensioner) the day before.

It was in the middle of the day, he passed her on the bike twice, waited till the road was clear of witnesses before making his move. He grabbed her handbag, she didn't let go and screamed, then he produced the knife and thankfully she let go. It was over in a flash, he made his getaway towards Jobstown.

Fair play to Patrick helping that other woman. He's a hero.

Gardai don't have any real leads yet. They suspect he's out on bail, awaiting trial and doing as many muggings as possible, getting money together before going back in.

Scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭mattser

Saipanne wrote: »

Maybe you wouldn't do it, but I say fair play to the lad.

I'll say this much, if he thinks of applying for the guards in a few years it will have him high on the list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

So you'd just walk on by, whistling?

Fair play to him.

Pity he didn't pummel the scummer into a bad state

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

It's most likely he acted instinctively and didnt give thought to allowing the scumbag go unchallenged. I hope that's how I'd react too, fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

a handbag isnt worth losing your life over. Its one thing seeing an opportunity to scare off somebody but at the end of the day he made the wrong move and was lucky he wasnt killed

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

Fair fcuks to the lad. Unfortunately it will deter more interventions in future because it will confirm their fear of getting stabbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Fair play Patrick O'Sullivan, fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

silverharp wrote: »
    a handbag isnt worth losing your life over. Its one thing seeing an opportunity to scare off somebody but at the end of the day he made the wrong move and was lucky he wasnt killed

Handbag definitely isn't worth life granted but these c**ts need to be stood up to. They think they can get away with anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Well it's not but the young lad didn't know the dude had a knife by all accounts. He just saw some scumbag mugging a woman and intervened.

People like him don't stop and weigh up the pros and cons, they act.

He's a brave kid - I say salute him and say well done instead of griping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

jamesbere wrote: »
    Handbag definitely isn't worth life granted but these c**ts need to be stood up to. They think they can get away with anything.

I'd love to see the muggee batter the ****e out of one of these scumbags. Have him eating through a straw the rest of his life. That'd learn him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Severard

Great amount of courage to do this, well done lad, fair play. You never know when something like this can happen, people like that don't give a damn. Some form of self defense should be part of physical education in secondary schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

What a horrible, pessimistic, pathetic attitude. Of course it was brave. It may have been rash (calling him stupid is just small minded), but that doesn't preclude it from being brave.

Or is it too much to give credit where it's due?

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Well it's not but the young lad didn't know the dude had a knife by all accounts. He just saw some scumbag mugging a woman and intervened.

People like him don't stop and weigh up the pros and cons, they act.

He's a brave kid - I say salute him and say well done instead of griping.

If my son did something as stupid as that I would be furious...Lucky this time..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

If my son did something as stupid as that I would be furious...Lucky this time..

The Good Samaritan attitude is alive and well. See someone bring mugged. Walk on by. Nothing to see here.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Need more people like him in the world. Fair play to him.

Most fools that age would have taking out their phone to record the video for Instagram or what ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Of course it wasn't worth getting killed for. But then helping someone you don't know isn't worth getting killed for.

So do we all just walk on by and let sh*t happen cos we don't know the person and it wouldn't be worth getting killed for?

If you can't salute someone or even say something positive about them when they've tried to prevent something wrong being done, then it's a sad world.

No one does something like that having decided it was worth the risk. They do it because their instinct is to prevent something wrong being done to someone else. I understand when people don't because they are afraid of what could happen but I am glad there are people like this young chap who do what he did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

that's good parenting :rolleyes: , bring your son up to be a coward.

my son is 16 and if he did this I'd be worried about him but really proud too.
    I've tried to bring him up to protect the less able and to stand up to bullying.
    If we all walked away because we are afraid these cnuts win, not to mention the elderly and others are afraid to walk the streets.

actually now I've written my spiel your attitude makes me even angrier.
    You attitude stinks. stinks of me-fein...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Are you ever going to produce a sensible post?

This is a positive thing, yet people will still turn it into a negative. Same people will complain that nobody helped them when they got mugged, pathetic mentality.

arayess wrote: »
    that's good parenting :rolleyes: , bring your son up to be a coward.

my son is 16 and if he did this I'd be worried about him but really proud too.
    I've tried to bring him up to protect the less able and to stand up to bullying.
    If we all walked away because we are afraid these cnuts win, not to mention the elderly and others are afraid to walk the streets.

actually now I've written my spiel your attitude makes me even angrier.
    You attitude stinks. stinks of me-fein...

You don't walk away because your afraid...you walk away because your smart....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭toptom

Great young lad, Need more like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

That works when someone's calling dumb names, someone's trying to dare you to do something stupid.

Not when it comes to protecting people and helping them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 94 ✭✭Rym Shanley

I'm sure the stabbing fella had a hard life and will say sorry in court if found and let off with his previous 50 convictions some including assault.

Probably.

And when you try and bring that up, some bleeding heart will go on about the Blackrock Brian Murphy murder and light sentences - as if that incident makes up for the numerous scumbags from "underprivileged" backgrounds who have tons of convictions and walk the streets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Canterelle

His actions were brave, maybe not well thought out, but ffs give the young lad a well deserved fair play instead of calling him dumb ? Don't get the need to continually begrudge and put down. He's a great young lad and if there were more like him the country would be better off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭Isaiah

Good Lad, fair play! Sometimes the rougher areas produce the finest people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 94 ✭✭Rym Shanley

Isaiah wrote: »
    Good Lad, fair play! Sometimes the rougher areas produce the finest people.

Most people in the rougher areas are decent.

There's a minority are criminals.

However the true warriors of social justice [who are ALWAYS middle class but ashamed of it] will use deprivation to excuse the behaviour of the minority.

Even though the decent people in the rough areas DON'T resort to crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

jamesbere wrote: »

Incorrect, They know they can get away with anything. We have a legal system here not a justice system. I guarantee the person has Previous convictions multiple. You see people using the hard life excuse or drugs getting off with assault while having assault convictions. It's beyond a joke at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

I can't address everyone at once. But he almost died over a ****ing handbag. Not worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Any fundraising for his medical expenses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

it's always fear , you can dress it up with all the justification you like.
    walking away while an old lady is being robbed is the actions of a coward.
    He didn't have to run after your man (fair play to him for doing so ) but the minimum would be to protect the victim.

should he walk away too if she was being raped?
    or what level of violence needs to be inflicted before its' ok to intervene?

I can't address everyone at once. But he almost died over a ****ing handbag. Not worth it.

At what point is it worth someone almost dying for a stranger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

At what point is it worth someone almost dying for a stranger?

The problem playing the white knight is that it tends to aggravate the situation . the american that saved the day on the train which was brilliant, ended up being stabbed intervening in a fight between a couple where he lived, the couple apparently went off home together .
    As for someone still in school , they are kids , the ills of society isn't their problem yet. I would tell my kid to be a good citizen but stay safe , he'd have done his job simply calling the police.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

If he were my son I would be:
    1) Incredibly relieved that he was ok.
    2) Incredibly proud that my lad had those sort of character values

Full of admiration for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

I'm guessing nothing bad has ever happend to you and strangers intervened?

I was assaulted in City Centre once by a bunch of knackers. Thankfully strangers came around the corner and managed to help me, I'll forever be grateful that.

I've also intervened in situations in regards helping people, because god knows, when somebody starts randomly kicking the sh!t out of you, you'd be praying for someone to intervene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Of course he was right to do what he did. Preferably he should have bounced something off the chap's head but hindsight's 20/20.

Was the thief at least caught on CCTV at some point? One would hope that every business in the area has been asked to hand over any footage they have of the time period in which it happened.

arayess wrote: »
    it's always fear , you can dress it up with all the justification you like.
    walking away while an old lady is being robbed is the actions of a coward.
    He didn't have to run after your man (fair play to him for doing so ) but the minimum would be to protect the victim.

should he walk away too if she was being raped?
    or what level of violence needs to be inflicted before its' ok to intervene?

I'm sure the old woman is happy she got her handbag back even if it ment a boy being stabbed...not talking about rape here....

silverharp wrote: »
    The problem playing the white knight is that it tends to aggravate the situation . the american that saved the day on the train which was brilliant, ended up being stabbed intervening in a fight between a couple where he lived, the couple apparently went off home together .
    As for someone still in school , they are kids , the ills of society isn't their problem yet. I would tell my kid to be a good citizen but stay safe , he'd have done his job simply calling the police.

My point is sometimes being a good citizen and staying safe are not compatible. There are some situations where they are.

I don't think that jumping into every situation is the right thing to do but there are occasions where not intervening and calling the police instead may be the safer option but which ultimately achieve nothing.

Again, I'm not having a go at people who wouldn't intervene but I definitely think that people who have an issue with someone intervening in a situation such as the one in the OP have to have a think about what it actually means if no one ever stops someone doing something wrong where they could have made a difference.

I teach children self defence and the first lesson is if u can turn on ur heels and run then do it....second lesson is hand over your phone ect....last resort is physical...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

I'm sure the old woman is happy she got her handbag back even if it ment a boy being stabbed...not talking about rape here....

That's a despicable thing to say.

Kev W wrote: »
    That's a despicable thing to say.

Sarcastic...

I teach children self defence and the first lesson is if u can turn on ur heels and run then do it....second lesson is hand over your phone ect....last resort is physical...

Self defence and defending the defenceless are different.

I'm sure the old woman in the OP would have turned on her heels and ran if she could.

Self defence and defending the defenceless are different.

I'm sure the old woman in the OP would have turned on her heels and ran if she could.

If he chased the thief then the he was overstepping the line should have waited with the lady and called the cops...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

If he chased the thief then the he was overstepping the line should have waited with the lady and called the cops...

Yeah he probably should have called a committee meeting while he was at it, to discuss the unfolding events and come up with the best course of action to take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Running and giving in isn't self defense.