Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insurance for a car you don't drive a lot

• 18-11-2015 12:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40

Hi all I just baught a Honda Civic 1.6 vtec and I don't want to drive it all the time just now and then and maby weekends is their any insurance out their that would suit me other then getting a normal car policy for a car that's really used im only 22 and the car is a 99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Do you have any other car and insurance on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Novadar

CiniO wrote: »
    Do you have any other car and insurance on it?

Well I have commerical insurance on a carvan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,505 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Not sure if you can go from commerical to private cover with driving other cars extension but if you had private cover and driving other cars extension you would be insured in the car provided ownership of the car was not in your name.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Not sure if you can go from commerical to private cover with driving other cars extension but if you had private cover and driving other cars extension you would be insured in the car provided ownership of the car was not in your name.

Dangerous ground. The OP has already said he had bought the car, so it is his property.

It's down as the fathers car on the log book

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

So you are only a named driver on your father's policy on the Civic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

You have no option other than getting a private motor policy.

Given the car and your age, even if you can get someone to quote you, you are going to pay through the nose for it.

Novadar wrote: »
    It's down as the fathers car on the log book

So the car is not yours, but your father's.
    If that case, if you had a policy on your first vehicle which covers you to drive other cars which you don't own, then you should be covered to drive it.

No, he said he baught the car :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

There is no such on/off policy. You always insure a car full-time.

Your dad owns the car but cannot have his insurance on it unless he drives it regularly. Since he isn't insured on it fully he can't name you on his policy.

At least that's my take on the situation.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

If that case, if you had a policy on your first vehicle which covers you to drive other cars which you don't own, then you should be covered to drive it.

No, he said he baught the car :D

Here we go!

The name on the log book isn't necessarily the legal owner. OP has already said he bought (baught) it.

In the circumstances what you are proposing is probably illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Here we go!

The name on the log book isn't necessarily the legal owner. OP has already said he bought (baught) it.

In the circumstances what you are proposing is probably illegal.

It is, its fronting.

Its one of those things that insurers are all too aware of.

Mary has her 05 Yaris with with the insurance company.

She then decides to buy herself a 95 Skyline and take out a second policy.

She also wants to add her young fella to the policy, he won't be driving it like, it's just in case he needs to move it on the driveway.

Lollers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,622 ✭✭✭lassykk

Would the car not be required to be insured by the father though?

For example:

- Father buys and owns car but doesn't insure it
    - Son has insurance on his carvan with extension to drive other cars

Can son legally drive the other car? I always thought the other car had to be insured by someone before you could legally drive it with an extension on your own policy

lassykk wrote: »
    In short - no.

For example:

- Father buys and owns car but doesn't insure it
    - Son has insurance on his carvan with extension to drive other cars

Can son legally drive the other car? I always thought the other car had to be insured by someone before you could legally drive it with an extension on your own policy

That's not the case in most if not all cases.
    No one on this forum so far, was able to find insurer which would put up such a requirement you mentioned.
    It is though widely known urban myth.

bazz26 wrote: »
    So you are only a named driver on your father's policy on the Civic?

No I just baught the car but put it in the father name their no insurance on the civic yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

In short - no.

That's not the case in most if not all cases.
    No one on this forum so far, was able to find insurer which would put up such a requirement you mentioned.
    It is though widely known urban myth.

I think the issue would stem for not having a valid disc, which is separate offence. Legally you have to have insurance and have a valid disc in a public place, without a valid disc you're still liable for at least a fine. So although you don't need insurance on the car in question, you could easily run afoul of a Garda who took exception to you. Granted there is days of grace etc, but honestly I wouldn't be driving as much as the OP is suggesting without a disc as its just hassle e.g. Parking up in public etc.

ironclaw wrote: »
    I think the issue would stem for not having a valid disc, which is separate offence. Legally you have to have insurance and have a valid disc in a public place, without a valid disc you're still liable for at least a fine. So although you don't need insurance on the car in question, you could easily run afoul of a Garda who took exception to you. Granted there is days of grace etc, but honestly I wouldn't be driving as much as the OP is suggesting without a disc as its just hassle e.g. Parking up in public etc.

Ok I try and explain it better I'm going to buy a 1.0 Corsa let's say and insure it my self so should prob be only around 800

Then all I can do is get a policy out in the civic as well

I just wanted to know is their any insurer in Ireland that does weekend insurance or does like limited milage insurance as I just can't justify paying two insurance and only using one of the cars realy

Like how do most people have two cars like I'm sure one of ye has a lets work van and then a family car ???

And I never once said I wanted to be a named driver on my fathers policy or do anything illegal :/

Fair enough but why did you buy the car and put your Dad down as the new keeper on the documentation? I can't see why anyone would do that.

I just wanted to know is their any insurer in Ireland that does weekend insurance or does like limited milage insurance
    No, there isn't.
    as I just can't justify paying two insurance and only using one of the cars realy

Like how do most people have two cars like I'm sure one of ye has a lets work van and then a family car ???
    One of the ways was already described in this thread.
    Other way is just to buy two separate policies.

Fair enough but why did you buy the car and put your Dad down as the new keeper on the documentation? I can't see why anyone would do that.

When I was younger and lived in Poland, all 3 cars I had there over the years, were registered in both my and my dad's name.
    By this, I was able to insure them using my dad's NCB which came much cheaper for me.

When I was younger and lived in Poland, all 3 cars I had there over the years, were registered in both my and my dad's name.
    By this, I was able to insure them using my dad's NCB which came much cheaper for me.

Is this relevant in any way to the thread?

But some people here at telling using third party extension in the civic is fraud :/

Is this relevant in any way to the thread?

No, but you said that you can't see any reason for anyone to do that (put car in dad's name) so I just replied with example why would someone want to do that.

Does everything has to be 100% relevant to main thread question in this forum? I don't think so.

But some people here at telling using third party extension in the civic is fraud :/

Why would it be?

Becouse I but a 1.0 Corsa get third party extension in it and since the civic is in my fathers name I would be able to drive it with out their having to be insurance on it

If civic belongs to you dad, and your insurance is happy to give you "driving other cars" extension, then there's nothing illegal are fraud about it.

Even tho their would be no insurance disc on the civic

It doesn't. Please try to keep up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Good luck with that!

If you plan on driving a V-Tec Civic at all, I would stress the importance of having an up to date windscreen on it, otherwise you're in for a whole lot more hassle than you want.

Without it being said, it's obvious what you're looking to do and unfortunately these days it's just not that easy to get away with. Your only realistic option is to get insured on the car yourself, this is how the many people that have multiple cars do it and usually why they only do it once they're a bit older as before then it's cost prohibitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Even tho their would be no insurance disc on the civic

There are two offenses in Ireland:
    • Not having valid insurance
    • Not displaying a valid insurance disc

You would be ok for the first, however the second is the issue. You could transfer the disc from your Corsa to the Civic for the duration of any drive you take, and swap it back. This is not recommended however as you'll have endless explaining to do if someone checks the reg against the car you are in. Alternatively, keep a copy of your insurance documents in the Civic so if you are stopped, you are produce proof of insurance to the Garda. However, you are still liable for the second offence of non-display.

So, even if your can drive other cars on your policy without insurance on the other car, you still need a disc.

'Driving Other Cars' is not meant for what you want do to. Firstly, its Third Party mainly so its no use really if you are involved in anything as it doesn't cover you or the car, its worthless if the car is stolen (Civic's are thieve magnets) or if the car catches fire. This form of cover is used for getting a car home type of situation where the primary driver cannot drive, the clause being that in general their insurance will probably cover you anyway and make up the short comings of a the Third Party extension of yours.

Really long story short, you need to take a separate policy out on the Civic. If money is tight, get a bare bones Third Party & Theft policy and write off any loss immediately.

Its a pain but unfortunately that's the reality in Ireland. Why no one is doing weekend or limited days / mileage insurance is beyond me.

It doesn't. Please try to keep up.

You are saying that Civic doesn't belong to his dad?
    Firstly this would be incredibely hard to prove.
    And secondly he can sell this civic to his dad at anytime he wishes.
    I can't see any problem here.

Main problem is not having a disc on the civic

A good way maby would be get my father to insure it would only be around 500 for the year and I pay my third party extension insurance on my Corsa let's say

So insurance on Corsa be around 1200
    Insurance on civic be around 500

So I'd be paying 1700 for insurance and be fully covered to drive the civic third party ??

ironclaw wrote: »
    'Driving Other Cars' is not meant for what you want do to.
    Where does it say what's it meant for?
    My insurance says I'm covered to drive other cars which I don't own, so if I wanted to do million miles in my dad's car that way, I can't see anything stopping me from doing so.
    Firstly, its Third Party mainly so its no use really if you are involved in anything as it doesn't cover you or the car,
    Car is probably not worth much.
    And what do you mean, by saying it doesn't cover you? Execept from some personal accident benefit on some policies (which only involve small payouts in case you die or are permanently injured) there's nothing in any policy that would cover the driver. And those personal accident covers, often applies in any case - not only when driving car which is covered.
    This form of cover is used for getting a car home type of situation where the primary driver cannot drive, the clause being that in general their insurance will probably cover you anyway and make up the short comings of a the Third Party extension of yours.
    That's you own invention I assume.
    Its a pain but unfortunately that's the reality in Ireland. Why no one is doing weekend or limited days / mileage insurance is beyond me.

Because there's no open market on car insurance in Ireland. Amount of insurers is limited, and it's fairly obvious that they made a cartel to screw down the customers as much as possible.

There's nothing to prove CiniO. The OP said in his opening post that he had bought the car himself.

Sure I could have baught it for my father as a present anyways :/

It is a problem indeed.
    There's a prescribed 60 euro fine for that offence. No penalty points.
    Depending how often you'd get caught for that, it might be not worth it if you end up with too many fines for that.

As he said above, he could have bought it for his father, or he can still sell it to his dad for whatever amount of money he wishes, or he can give it to him.

A good way maby would be get my father to insure it would only be around 500 for the year and I pay my third party extension insurance on my Corsa let's say

So insurance on Corsa be around 1200
    Insurance on civic be around 500

So I'd be paying 1700 for insurance and be fully covered to drive the civic third party ??

As he said above, he could have bought it for his father, or he can still sell it to his dad for whatever amount of money he wishes, or he can give it to him.

But he didn't though. He bought it himself, and for himself.

He hasn't confirmed why he put his Dad's name down as the keeper of the car, although it's probable it's for fronting insurance.

I can't understand why people just don't tell the truth about these things rather than trying to fabricate "work arounds" to thwart legal requirements.

p.s. In reality I think a 22 year old probably can't insure a Vtec Civic.

He hasn't confirmed why he put his Dad's name down as the keeper of the car, although it's probable it's for fronting insurance.

I can't understand why people just don't tell the truth about these things rather than trying to fabricate "work arounds" to thwart legal requirements.

Firstly I'm not hiding anything I told ye I put it in my fathers name in case I was to get third party extension

And second I can get insured in one for 1500

He never said he bought it for himself, so neither me, nor you, nor the insurer doesn't know that.
    It's only your guess. He could have bought the car for his dad as he mentioned.
    Because insurance system and insurance prices in this country are ridiculous, so it's obvious that people are trying to find work around.

I quite don't get it. Vtec is just a technology developed by honda to improve efficiency of combustion engine.
    It's not a marking of some sport version of something.

Firstly I'm not hiding anything I told ye I put it in my fathers name in case I was to get third party extension

And second I can get insured in one for 1500

This is €200 cheaper than your €1700 workaround... so what's the issue?

Transfer ownership back to the rightful primary driver (you) and then pay the 1500 quid. Drive it when you like. Done.

He never said he bought it for himself, so neither me, nor you, nor the insurer doesn't know that.

It's only your guess. He could have bought the car for his dad as he mentioned.

Because insurance system and insurance prices in this country are ridiculous, so it's obvious that people are trying to find work around.

I quite don't get it. Vtec is just a technology developed by honda to improve efficiency of combustion engine.
    It's not a marking of some sport version of something.

1/. He said he bought it (post#1) and has confirmed he put his Dad down on the docs with a view to driving under a 3rd party extension.

2/. Guesswork.

3/. Perceived high prices are never excuses for dishonesty or fraud.

4/. Civics are relatively expensive to insure. Vtec Civics more so. The VTI model (available in 1999) had Vtec and 160bhp and was very much a sports model.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

You ARE hiding the whole point of your plan. Openly tell the insurers of your Corsa why you put it in your father's name and see how they deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 rhino1

Its possible some broker may be able to get classic car cover on it .
    This would have limited mileage and you need a daily driver car insured.
    its a real pain as you have to ring each company individually to maybe get a quote .Get ready to spend hours on the phone.
    the car is a little shy of the twenty year mark but i have heard of some cars fifteen plus being considered for classic insurance.
    This was an option put to me by a broker when i was looking for insurance on a 99 Japanese import.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,104 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Is the civic a dohc b16a2?
    If it's is and you can get fully comp insurance for €1500 at the age of 22 then you should bite their hand off for it.
    Aside from that yes the third party extension works.
    You can get a fine for non display. €60
    Most guards don't bother fining people but there's always the chance of a fine.
    3rd party extension is legal it's not the best form of insurance cover but I'm sure you know this. It is the bare minimum but the fact remains it is a valid form of insurance.
    As far as I know liberty and aviva are the only ones to offer this extension on policies to u25's. I've heard some brokers can get you it from some uk companies but I've no first hand experience of this. Also axa used to offer it if you had been an existing customer for 2 or 3 years but I think they've done away with that.

Only reason I don't want to drive it every day is becouse they drink petrol so I was told is that true or if u drive them responsibly ar they not too bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I think you answered your own question.

As far as buying with his cash in his fathers name, If I buy a car for my wife that I intend to drive as well I dont see that as fronting. If the guy can use the system to his advantage legally then fair play.

Only reason I don't want to drive it every day is becouse they drink petrol so I was told is that true or if u drive them responsibly ar they not too bad

I thought you said you had a commercial carvan also? Do you not use this 5 days a week for work anyway? Surely that means you'd be using the Civic only some evenings/weekends as intended and the every day driving part doesn't really factor into it anyway?
    I think you answered your own question.

As far as buying with his cash in his fathers name, If I buy a car for my wife that I intend to drive as well I dont see that as fronting. If the guy can use the system to his advantage legally then fair play.

Would you wife intend to be insured or drive the car at all though? There is a bit of a difference there to the fact OP's dad will not be insured on the car and not drive it, but only own it in name so the OP can use a 3rd party extension.

Pretty much the definition of fronting actually. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

That's irrelevant. He can sell it to his Father or give it to him free