Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guards calling with speeding ticket at 10.40pm at night

• 18-11-2015 12:49am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭

Is this common practice?
    Guard called to my parent house tonight with a ticket at 10.40pm my mother got an awful fright
    Why not post it or call at least before 8 or 9

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Not me my mother doing 87 in an 80 zone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Ninap

Ridiculous behaviour. Totally out of order

She got an awful fright and was embarrased..Calling to a few scumbags would be more in their line

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

bigpink wrote: »
    She got an awful fright and was embarrased..Calling to a few scumbags would be more in their line

Not speeding would avoid the problem of embarrassment in the first place.
    Doing 87 would show on her speedometer as 95+ so really she only has herself to blame, it's no one's fault but her own and no, it's not out of line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

It is becoming more common as they are being forced to get the money in.

Happened me recently.

Cop called 3 days in a row once during the day the other 2 were 2130 & 2200.

Also a sibling was obstructed from reversing into our drive and held there for 19 mins.
    There car was given a good going over including nct, tax, ins and licence.

They were also threatened that they would be brought to court for not accepting a summons.

Now the summons was for Joe bloggs but my name is Joe bloggins.
    Summons was not addressed to me and I had never received original fine in any case.

Its extremely long story but in the end went to court brought a solicitor and it was dismissed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

bigpink wrote: »

They haven't the time, between tax, speeding fines and playing the nintendo they are flat out.

She has no problem being wrong she said she didnt notice she had to increase in speed to avoid
    But the time of calling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,547 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

It is becoming more common as they are being forced to get the money in.

But why not just send it to her in the post? Waste of Garda resources hand delivering it.

Is there no rules on time such a thing can be presented?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

See things like fines get lost in the post.

What time was she speeding at

Why would the time make a difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭Green Peter

Thats what he told you, he might be like that Adrian guard in red rock fond of ould wans!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

Doing 87 would show on her speedometer as 95+ so really she only has herself to blame, it's no one's fault but her own and no, it's not out of line.

Sorry but that's just pure rubbish

Complete waste of garda time. 2 wrongs don't make a right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Gardaí don't deliver speeding tickets. They may be there to serve a court summons if you didn't pay the speeding ticket alright. They don't do it by post because the usual excuse for not having paid the ticket is that it wasn't received in the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

She answered the door, right? Job done.

After 10pm you're more likely to be at home and more likely to hear the door. If he rocked up straight after coming on-shift there's a good chance she wouldn't be at home and he'd be wasting his time.

I'm sure your mother is well over the brief minor fright she got because her doorbell rang at 10:40pm :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,226 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Can someone explain why the woman was getting a personal visit for a speeding ticket in the first place?

I got my first and only penalty points for doing 72 in a 60 zone of a St Stephens morning a couple of years back, I was notified by auto generated letter from the fines office in Thurles, accepted it as fair cop guv, never spoke to a human about it before or since

The mother doing 87 in an 80 hardly makes her Dillinger. By the way, she should contest that, most judges will be persuaded about equipment calibration below 10% excess. I wouldnt be wearing that one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭kidneyfan

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Can someone explain why the woman was getting a personal visit for a speeding ticket in the first place?
    She probably lives on the guards way home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭yourpics

seamus wrote: »
    She answered the door, right? Job done.

After 10pm you're more likely to be at home and more likely to hear the door. If he rocked up straight after coming on-shift there's a good chance she wouldn't be at home and he'd be wasting his time.

I'm sure your mother is well over the brief minor fright she got because her doorbell rang at 10:40pm :rolleyes:

The lady was probably more upset by seeing a Garda at the door rather than by the doorbell going off late at night.
    If you saw a Garda at your door at night you would assume the worst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

yourpics wrote: »
    The lady was probably more upset by seeing a Garda at the door rather than by the doorbell going off late at night.
    If you saw a Garda at your door at night you would assume the worst
    And then five minutes later I'd be over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 kegblag

80kph was brought in to replace 50mph limits, it's slighly less than 50mph.

87kph is 54mph. In mph days a garda would not have been prepared to risk the wrath of a judge for someone doing 54 in a 50 zone. Because it's kph the units are bigger so it seems worse and people clearly aren't great at maths.

As for saying her speedometer would have been reading over 95 for 87, that's possible but unlikely, for one thing many people now use GPS now to check speed so the old claim of "well the speedo error would have ensured you stay under the limit" is going away. In my car 125kph on the speedo = 120kph. I'd be very annoyed to have a car speedo reading as high as 95kph for 87kph, chances are it since the error increases with speed it would read 140-150kph for 120kph, i.e useless.

I got my first and only penalty points for doing 72 in a 60 zone of a St Stephens morning a couple of years back, I was notified by auto generated letter from the fines office in Thurles, accepted it as fair cop guv, never spoke to a human about it before or since

The mother doing 87 in an 80 hardly makes her Dillinger. By the way, she should contest that, most judges will be persuaded about equipment calibration below 10% excess. I wouldnt be wearing that one.

Probably a court summons while tickets are posted. You are very free and easy with someone else license, suggested they make challenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Harry Bosch.

She recieved a personal visit for a court summons to be served on her. For whatever reason she didnt pay the original speeding ticket and its reminder, a summons was issued and served, She now has to attend court and cannot use the excuse of not getting the summons in the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

If it was a summons it had to be delivered personally

Gardaí have a shift turnover at 20.00, which may be relevant to time called

If can be worrying to have Gardai call after 10 p.m. - sometimes they carry bad news. In fairness to them I know cases where they convey the bad news as sympathetically as possible.

I know cases where Gardaí have phoned the owner saying there is a summons, so that arrangements could be made to pick it up

nuac wrote: »
    If it was a summons it had to be delivered personally

Gardaí have a shift turnover at 20.00, which may be relevant to time called

If can be worrying to have Gardai call after 10 p.m. - sometimes they carry bad news. In fairness to them I know cases where they convey the bad news as sympathetically as possible.

I know cases where Gardaí have phoned the owner saying there is a summons, so that arrangements could be made to pick it up

Shift change is between 9 and 10 p.m.

There's your answer OP. Serve a summons for speeding on an old lady and get paid for the drive home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭Mousewar

Nah. Calling at that kind of time is crazy.
    Me and the wife are asleep by 10pm. To be woken up, in the night, by a guard standing at the door...my wife had that twice in her life already and both were for deaths. No way she'd be over it in five minutes. It's a stupid time to call for anything less than a serious incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭SarahMollie

Its not a speeding ticket, its a court summons, this happens when the original ticket is not responded to.

I know only too well from personal experience. I never got the ticket through the post (they don't use registered post) and suddenly got a summons. Its pretty clear on the face of it that its a summons and not a ticket as the cover letter outlines whats going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

kidneyfan wrote:
    There's your answer OP. Serve a summons for speeding on an old lady and get paid for the drive home.

Who said she's an old lady?

OP needs to confirm whether it was actually just the notice of the offence, or a summons. My money's on the latter.

Dial Hard wrote: »
    Who said she's an old lady?

OP needs to confirm whether it was actually just the notice of the offence, or a simmons. My money's on the latter.

No one wants this on their door step at night :eek:

gene.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Not everybody is as awesome as you seamus... :rolleyes:

IMO it's a little late, but 8 or 9 is a time that would be more appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,705 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Whether you have any sympathy for that woman or not, the fact is that the 80 kph speed limit is applied in a completely illogical fashion around the country. For example, on many stretches of the old N4 there is an 80 kph limit despite that fact that before the M4 was built and the old road had far more traffic than it has today, the limit then was 60 mph (96 kph).

On the old N4 west of Enfield for example, you have an excellent road with no sharp bends, plenty of width and yet the limit is 80 kph...

https://goo.gl/maps/Dcf7ecKS9EM2

And if you're ever down in Ballinskelligs Co Kerry and there's nobody coming in the opposite direction on this road which is barely more than the width of an average car, you can take your chances driving at up to 80 kph and still be below the limit ....

https://goo.gl/maps/fVH77sdVr792

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,860 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

Sorry but that's just pure rubbish

Complete waste of garda time. 2 wrongs don't make a right

I assume this is because a lot of people claim "it never arrived".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

I assume this is because a lot of people claim "it never arrived".

If it's a summons then that's ok

I'm taking OP at face value that its a regular speeding fine which would be a pure waste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭bilbot79

What an enormous load of codswallop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭ericsinjun

coylemj wrote: »
    Whether you have any sympathy for that woman or not, the fact is that the 80 kph speed limit is applied in a completely illogical fashion around the country. For example, on many stretches of the old N4 there is an 80 kph limit despite that fact that before the M4 was built and the old road had far more traffic than it has today, the limit then was 60 mph (96 kph).

On the old N4 west of Enfield for example, you have an excellent road with no sharp bends, plenty of width and yet the limit is 80 kph...

https://goo.gl/maps/Dcf7ecKS9EM2

And if you're ever down in Ballinskelligs Co Kerry and there's nobody coming in the opposite direction on this road which is barely more than the width of an average car, you can take your chances driving at up to 80 kph and still be below the limit ....

https://goo.gl/maps/fVH77sdVr792
    The example given about ballinskelligs & similar is often trotted out. A limit is the max.you can be at, I don't think there's a gard with a speed gun doing drivers for being under.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

bilbot79 wrote: »
    What an enormous load of codswallop

How? Whose fault was it?

A ticket because she paid it at the post office

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Ninap wrote: »
    Ridiculous behaviour. Totally out of order

A bit harsh, yes, she did break the law by speeding, but it is fairly common.

kidneyfan wrote: »

I don't think you understand the current restrictions on Garda overtime, or the Garda shifts - which change at a number of different times for different groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭dazed+confused

Not speeding would avoid the problem of embarrassment in the first place. Doing 87 would show on her speedometer as 95+ so really she only has herself to blame, it's no one's fault but her own and no, it's not out of line.

So sick of this post, it is copied and pasted into every speeding thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Bit harsh to say the least.

How? Whose fault was it?

87 would show on her speedometer as 95??

Ridiculous and anyway, everybody, everywhere routinely speeds together. I bet a million quid the people here saying 'it's her own fault, she shouldn't have been speeding, speed themselves.'

Shouldn't be bothering and old lady at that time of night. Silly garda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

bilbot79 wrote: »
    anyway, everybody, everywhere routinely speeds together. I bet a million quid the people here saying 'it's her own fault, she shouldn't have been speeding, speed themselves.'
    Yep, they do. and when they are caught, they suck it up, pay the fine, take the points and STFU.

RainyDay wrote: »
    Yep, they do. and when they are caught, they suck it up, pay the fine, take the points and STFU.

I think though that they should suck it up a little earlier in the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,378 ✭✭✭alias no.9

kegblag wrote: »
    80kph was brought in to replace 50mph limits, it's slighly less than 50mph.

87kph is 54mph. In mph days a garda would not have been prepared to risk the wrath of a judge for someone doing 54 in a 50 zone. Because it's kph the units are bigger so it seems worse and people clearly aren't great at maths.

As for saying her speedometer would have been reading over 95 for 87, that's possible but unlikely, for one thing many people now use GPS now to check speed so the old claim of "well the speedo error would have ensured you stay under the limit" is going away. In my car 125kph on the speedo = 120kph. I'd be very annoyed to have a car speedo reading as high as 95kph for 87kph, chances are it since the error increases with speed it would read 140-150kph for 120kph, i.e useless.

I remember the 30mph and the 40mph speed limits and the old school

sign6.gif

and of course the handful of 70mph pre changeover. I can't say for sure if I ever encountered a 50mph in Ireland but they were few if they existed. Most 80kph were formerly

sign6.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,994 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Why are Garda resources being wasted when they could be sent out by recorded delivery ?

Discodog wrote: »
    Why are Garda resources being wasted when they could be sent out by recorded delivery ?
    Because Gardai expect to be paid for their commute (at overtime rates).

Discodog wrote: »

Because people who commit crimes don't tend to accept registered post.
    kidneyfan wrote: »
    Because Gardai expect to be paid for their commute (at overtime rates).

What does that even mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,184 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Because people who commit crimes don't tend to accept registered post.

What does that even mean?

The people that dont accept registered post wouldnt be answering their door to a guard.

tbh. (i think you know that)

For me guards delivering traffic fines is utter nonsense and not what tax payers money should be wasted on, we have a postal system for this and there is nothing wrong with it.

Or have you not noticed we have a problem with rural crime at the moment.

listermint wrote: »
    The people that dont accept registered post wouldnt be answering their door to a guard.

tbh. (i think you know that)

That's not an issue because when a Garda delivers a summons he doesn't need anyone to open the door.
    listermint wrote: »
    For me guards delivering traffic fines is utter nonsense and not what tax payers money should be wasted on, we have a postal system for this and there is nothing wrong with it.

Or have you not noticed we have a problem with rural crime at the moment.

As already mentioned, Gardaí don't deliver fines.