Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A/R End of Year Awards 2015

• 16-11-2015 11:19pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭

So it's that time of year again, when the media start spreading rumours about who will be nominated, who deserves it the most, who will win, who will write the best speech etc..

The following categories were used last year:
    • Poster of the year
    • Performance of the year
    • Thread of the year
    • Race of the year
    • Training log of the year
    • New poster of the year
    • Race report of the year
    • Post of the year
    • Photo of the year
    This year, we are splitting the performance of the year vote into two. They are:
    Performance of the Year: Track & Field & XC
    Performance of the Year: Road/Trail/Mountains/Ultra

A shiny new category for you this year.
    Most Improved Athlete

Nominations for the following categories will considered from November 1st 2014 - November 29th 2015.
    Race of the Year

Please send your nominations (one per category) by PM to myself by 11:59:59 on November 29th. We will then take the nominations and put up a poll for each category to determine a winner who will receive a virtual high five.

As per other years, please don't slag off other peoples performances as they will not have been asked to have been selected.

Feel free to discuss and link posts, threads, race reports, reminders of performances etc in this thread to help refresh peoples memories before they nominate.

Normal Boards and A/R rules apply - no criticism of other poster's suggestions will be tolerated here.

So, the full list of categories
    • Most Improved Athlete
    • New poster of the year
    • Poster of the year
    • Performance of the Year: Track & Field & XC
    • Performance of the Year: Road/Trail/Mountains/Ultra
    • Race of the year
    • Thread of the year
    • Training log of the year
    • Race report of the year
    • Post of the year
    • Photo of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,595 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Here's my post of the year candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,378 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Poster of the year is without doubt Dubgal72. Her effort in that novices thread was insane. How anyone could have the persistence and passion and enthusiasm, and above all, the patience to be so committed and helpful astounds me. Caitlin Jenner can fcuk off. Woman of the year awaits, DubGal!

Ososlo. The most committed, as well as the most witty!

Easy: Dublin Novices Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Murph_D wrote: »
    Here's my post of the year candidate.

A review of Krusty's posting history is usually enough for me to pick out a half a dozen candidates but there was another post which stood out for me as being worthy of keeping and re-reading. It's from Tergat who's a very occasional poster but pretty much everything that he posts is gold. This is him on speedwork during a base phase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

KU's 4:06.8 for 1500m (might be off by a tenth or so but I remember it being 4:06) is easily the best performance by a regular poster here. Timaaay 2:00 for 800m not far off. I'm glad the performance of the year is split now. Track performances get lost because nobody knows about them bar the odd few and it all ends up being a popularity contest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Chivito550 wrote: »
    KU's 4:06.8 for 1500m (might be off by a tenth or so but I remember it being 4:06) is easily the best performance by a regular poster here. Timaaay 2:00 for 800m not far off. I'm glad the performance of the year is split now. Track performances get lost because nobody knows about them bar the odd few and it all ends up being a popularity contest.

Was just about to ask about track achievements - I'm not up to date with these at all. Would really like to learn more about the significance of what had been achieved (outside of awards at all)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

walshb wrote: »
    Poster of the year is without doubt Dubgal72. Her effort in that novices thread was insane. How anyone could have the persistence and passion and enthusiasm, and above all, the patience to be so committed and helpful astounds me. Caitlin Jenner can fcuk off. Woman of the year awaits, DubGal!

Quoted for emphasis!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

kit3 wrote: »
    Was just about to ask about track achievements - I'm not up to date with these at all. Would really like to learn more about the significance of what had been achieved (outside of awards at all)

Even though this is a little unscientific and the distances arent't really comparable, a 4.06 1500m is equivalent to a 15:24 5k, a 31:58 10k and a 2:30 marathon. As a middle distance runner I can tell you it's a savage time. It will be getting my vote!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Bohermeen Charity Sweepstakes for the concept, outcome and pure entertainment :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Guys, FYI I'd be guessing that on thread nominations won't count ;) I think we have to PM our nominations no?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

menoscemo wrote: »
    Guys, FYI I'd be guessing that on thread nominations won't count ;) I think we have to PM our nominations no?

Yes, only pm nominations count.
    But people are free to post threads, race reports etc in here

I will also save me from having to search them out when posting the polls :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Yup, but
    Feel free to discuss and link posts, threads, race reports, reminders of performances etc in this thread to help refresh peoples memories before they nominate.

Yep, think discussion around the merits of individual nominations are discussed then in the individual threads once all the nominations are in

Edit - just seeing BG's post - to clarify, really useful to see people's suggestions but could get bogged down if we debate the merits of all in this one thread ??

Discussion is needed on this thread so that people have an idea of what happened outside of their area of interest so they can make informed nominations. Otherwise it's just people voting for their mates.

Another result which was very noteworthy was Timaaay winning the Leinster Indoor 1500m title in Athlone back in February. I'll come back with more when I think of them.

With the cross-country somebody else will have to make us all aware of performances during the year. Being a sprinter I completely switch off during cross-country season. :)

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Yup, but

Sure, discuss away but just pointing out in case someone thinks a mention in this thread means it is nominated. Pretty sure that has happened before and the particular poster/performance didn't come up in the poll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

so many race reports.... This is one I really enjoyed though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

dna_leri won the M45 800m Indoors in March this year (in 2:08)

Yep, think positive discussion around the merits of individual nominations are discussed then in the individual threads once all the nominations are in

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

Personally for me I see it as a Crusaders Double with KU's performances at 1500m and his 4th place in Dublin Novice XC (still trying to determine which I feel is the better achievement)

On Roads and one I think is very much on par in terms of achievements is smoores 5th place in Oslo marathon and new PB. Hard enough to run a fast time in a marathon but trying to do it while actually racing for a high placing will make it a good bit harder.

Other notable performances for me

Krusty's PB in Frankfurt
    jebuz HM PB in Charleville
    Dna_leri's masters indoor 800m title
    Timaay's Leinster Indoor Title
    Ultrapercy's 2.37 in Dublin (in tough conditions after running 2.31 in Berlin 6 weeks previously)
    thewolf.ie's 4.20 in 1500m at Gradeds

This is the post of the year right here:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=95791794&postcount=294
    It's not often a world record holder signs up to Boards to give a bunch of amateurs tips for an upcoming event. He even made us an instructional video. Legend!!

walshb wrote: »
    FYP

Don't worry, the mods will keep you in line if needed ;)

Race of the Year is generally a pointless award, as no other race stands a chance at beating DCM, because of all the posters who do one race a year. But in any case, I thought I'd highlight a few good track ones. I can't comment on any other road ones but for Rathfarnham 5K, which was decent. With track meets it's hard to consider too many. Many of the meets just lack that something in terms of atmosphere. AAI Games is among the worst meet anybody could possibly be involved in for example. It would bore the most fanatical track and field fan. But there are some which shined above this:

1) Irish Beer Mile Championships - Incredible event this year, particularly with JTG coverage, and it expanding beyond boards.

2) Le Cheile International - IMC Meet Leixlip - It helped that the weather was nice, but this meet for the second consecutive year really stood above most of the others. IMC meets in general are organised very well, but of the ones I did this year, Greystones was spoiled by shocking weather, and GV Ryan was incredibly muted, due to it being in Santry rather than the more atmospheric Irishtown, so Leixlip is the clear winner.

3) Tón Le Gaoithe - Night of Sprints - Waterford - I wasn't at this so I'm not sure whether I should nominate it or not, but everything I heard about it was magnificent. This is the type of innovation the sport needs. A meet designed for the athletes, with the start and finish positions of the 100m and 200m determined depending on the direction of the wind. Only the 100m was Open, with the 200m being guest only. Hopefully both events will be Open next year, and Long Jump and Triple Jump are added, to keep with the general theme. They also had 4 field events last year (2 men and 2 women), which is above the minimum 2 required (a bare minimum that Morton Games and IMC make no effort at exceeding), so extra respect for that.

4) AIT Baseline Meet - Athlone - Again something a bit different to shake things up. Opportunities to race at unusual distances of 150m, 300m, 600m.

race of the year was clearly the Dublin Senior XC ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Firedance wrote: »

I doubt anyone on the forum will disagree with that :)

Race of the year is very subjective - hard to beat the Donadea 50k for organisation, atmosphere & setting but not everyone has been there so wouldn't know

Just a question on the cut off times for nominations.

Was the cut off similar for last years equivalent thread. The reason I ask is there was a performance last December which I think merits a nomination however I'm not sure if it fell after the deadline for the 2014 awards. If it fell after last years deadline can I include it in this years?

Thanks.

Just a question on the cut off times for nominations.

Was the cut off similar for last years equivalent thread. The reason I ask is there was a performance last December which I think merits a nomination however I'm not sure if it fell after the deadline for the 2014 awards. If it fell after last years deadline can I include it in this years?

Thanks.

Good question, I was actually thinking of nominating a thread from Decmber last year as I think it couldn't have been in the previous awards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

My post of the year, from Wild Garlic's race report on the Charleville Haf. It takes severe balls to be this honest on a public forum where your open to ridicule and abuse, working off a phone so can't create a link:

tang1 wrote: »
    My post of the year, from Wild Garlic's race report on the Charleville Haf. It takes severe balls to be this honest on a public forum where your open to ridicule and abuse, working off a phone so can't create a link:

here's the link http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97127856&postcount=552

he's not alone of course in the honesty stakes and + 1 to everyone who did similar this year, guts and then some.

Read the original post folks:
    Nominations for the following categories will considered from November 1st 2014 - November 29th 2015.

Results from the previous December are constantly overlooked as 1) they are so far in the past that people have forgotten, and 2) people aren't aware they are even eligible, so the awards are consistently a January to November thing each year. Stating the above quoted bit clearly on the first post will solve problem number 2, but not number 1, so if there is something worthy from the end of last year then make sure to nominate it.

When living in the Southern Hemisphere I had a history of peaking in December each year, so there can be cases of people running to their best as others are dishing into the pints and work parties. Particularly for road and cross country runners over here. This side of Christmas is a big time for cross country.

Good question, I was actually thinking of nominating a thread from Decmber last year as I think it couldn't have been in the previous awards.

Last years nominations ended end of November.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=93439640&postcount=60

For me this has to be the performance of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

tang1 wrote: »

A race he finished with two socks!

Bump

You have until Sunday to send me your nominations :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Am I allowed nominate Neady83 or is that wrong side of the tracks for report on The Beast?

aquinn wrote: »
    Am I allowed nominate Neady83 or is that wrong side of the tracks for report on The Beast?

tell them darksiders to get their own awards :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

I'll throw down some thoughts to maybe generate debate or bring some performances to people's attention

Most Improved Athlete
    Might go for Wolf.ie here. Has come on leaps and bounds over the year and isn't afraid to put himself on the line in trying new events and running in events with high class fields. Pity he stopped logging.
    New poster of the year
    I can never remember when people join the scene. Could be 3 months ago or 3 years ago. I'll stay out of this one.
    Poster of the year
    Dubgal has been spreading the knowledge around with wild abandon this year so I'll give her the nod. Myles is excellent as always but I'll let him rest on successes past
    Dubgal again for victory in the Wicklow Senior XC. Fionnuala might be Inter Club champion but where is she in her own county. Nowhere...and why
    Biased choice as a clubmate but smmoore's performance in Oslo was very impressive. Top 5 in a big city marathon is quality stuff.
    Race of the year
    My vote goes to the Road Relays. Such a brilliant race with a great atmosphere. You have teams for XC, road races, National T&F League etc. but none of them quite capture the team spirit of the Relays. I never get quite so nervous before other races as I do for this but the rewards are just as big.
    Thread of the year
    Can't really think of anything. Beer Mile thread is always a bit of craic
    Training log of the year
    Might be the year for Krusty to reclaim his rightful spot on the top. Its a seemingly never ending saga that just keeps on giving
    Race report of the year
    Maybe TRR kicking Paula's ass in London. That's one for the grandkids.
    Post of the year
    aero's one quoted above was special. The man has a way with words.
    Photo of the year
    Not a photo but the video of the Beer Mile Championships with the JtG commentary is brilliant and a video is essentially a series of photos with a bit of sound thrown in.

Some good choices there KU. Thread of the Year (& has been mentioned already) for me was the Bohermeen sweepstakes thread. A lot of money raised for a worthy charity, almost all regular posters involved (from what I could see) & a good bit of fun generated. Showed a great community spirit. Great work by Pacing Mule & Ecoli.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭6781

Dubgal72 poster of the year without doubt

Just spotted this super Report

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

As usual I will be cranking up the 57 pseudo boards accounts I am accused of operating and voting for myself. As usual I will win fcuk all! Deservedly so, 35 of my accounts would say!

You're not doing a very good job of promoting yourself if you won't even vote for yourself (on 35 of your accounts )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

You're not doing a very good job of promoting yourself if you won 't even vote for yourself (on 35 of your accounts )

He's so dumb he once arranged for one of his re-reg accounts to break into his flah and steal his Atari 2600 while he was out running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Beer mile thread ftw!!! That was the best craic ever...just got a flashback to the last minute panic about the difference between US and imperial measurements and chuckled to myself again :pac:

In fairness, I reckon your log is a strong contender for training log of the year - full of good training and running knowledge of course but so, so funny - was reading it back around the start of the year around the time of #TTTT - hilarious !

aww damm, forgot about TTTT!! although really I think that needs a category of its own :)

Firedance wrote: »
    aww damm, forgot about TTTT!! although really I think that needs a category of its own :)

Yes, a little taster :

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=93859482&postcount=2048