Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How sexist is the air conditioning in your job?

• 16-11-2015 6:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭

So air conditioning in an office environment was designed for men, obviously, so clearly any working environment that installs air con and male staff proceed to use it, then it is clearly treating other staff in an unfair way.....sexism.

What are your thoughts??

Btw a women in Afghanistan was stoned to death for alleged adultery but lets focus on air conditioning first...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,895 ✭✭✭lertsnim

I hope she never has something worth worrying about to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

You're getting very hot under the collar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Women feel the cold more than men? Women wearing skirts perhaps, but in general?

What absolute shnollox!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Take the first s out of sexist and you'll find out what my A/C doesn't do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Actually women in our place do turn the air con up to 25, which is ridiculously uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Dafuq? This shyte made national news? OK it is Sky, but still...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

She'll be glad of the menopause when it comes, hot flushes will sort her out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Air conditioners are inherently sexist pieces of kit. We think that Marilyn Monroe incident was an accident. It wasn't. These things have a mind of their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

She blames having a cold on the temperature of the air conditioning. Clearly not the brightest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Fourth Wave Feminists again suggesting that it's women who should have choices and not men, essentially. That's what it boils down to. "Men should put up with discomfort or change their choice of clothing, so that my choice of clothing is what takes priority in air-con disputes and I can wear whatever I want".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

It really depends on what you're wearing, which may often corelate to your gender. If the men in the office are all wearing suits, including jackets while the women all insist (or perhaps a company dress code insists upon it) upon just wearing light blouses or tops then obviously one section of staff will be colder than the other. As generations of Irish fathers have said when asked to turn up the heating - put a jumper on ye for feck sake & stop moaning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

What a fucking idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Seems to be a new first world problem out every day now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

The poor craytur.
    You don't get a cold from being cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

This is just wrong. All wrong. I hate being too warm. In saying that though, I wear a lot of clothes in work compared to some of the young ones....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

This is just wrong. All wrong. I hate being too warm. In saying that though, I wear a lot of clothes in work compared to some of the young ones....

So you've internalised the patriarchy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

py2006 wrote: »

Btw a women in Afghanistan was stoned to death for alleged adultery but lets focus on air conditioning first...

Btw, 129 people were killed in Paris on Friday, but let's focus on one woman being stoned first...

See how absurd that line of thought is?
    You don't have to focus on the worst injustice and take care of that first.
    You can have an unimportant little piece of nonsense on a pretty crap news channel, and still have people working to take care of the greater injustices in the world.
    Sometimes they're even the same people caring about both the big and the little things!

What a world!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭TheNobleKipper

More than anything the A/C is racist. In my workplace the co-workers from warmer countries are bound to freeze to death if the A/C was adjusted to Irish indoor standards.

You can have an unimportant little piece of nonsense on a pretty crap news channel, and still have people working to take care of the greater injustices in the world.
    Sometimes they're even the same people caring about both the big and the little things!

What a world!!

Go away with your revolutionary 'caring about more than one thing' talk! Everyone knows that's impossible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

Custardpi wrote: »
    So you've internalised the patriarchy?

Sure why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

See how absurd that line of thought is?

I think you missed the point but yes what happened in Paris supercedes all at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,503 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

That girl really shot herself in the foot with her "we can't dress fashionably in summer dresses". It is an office for f**k sake not a fashion parade.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I think you missed the point but yes what happened in Paris supercedes all at the moment.

I'll ask a mod to delete all other threads on the forum so, at least until we've taken care of IS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,688 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Ah yes the air conditioning. Some of the women in my place insist on turning it up to 29c on a day like today yet then turn it down to 16c in the summer.

No it does not. Lets get serious here Ireland are playing Bosnia in about a half an hour for a start. The world will stay turning. There are wars going on in other parts of the world that do not get a mention. Yet the world keeps turning.

Women feel the cold more than men? Women wearing skirts perhaps, but in general?

What absolute shnollox!

Also less muscle mass does not help in fairness to them. But would you be against shorter skirts and higher temperatures? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

I'll ask a mod to delete all other threads on the forum so, at least until we've taken care of IS.

You do whatever you think is right.

In the mean time I'm thinking about A/C for the first time in my life...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

that's as good as the woman who bought a 5+ inch smartphone and complained that the patriarchy made phones too big for womens hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

For me 22C is far too hot for anything more than a t-shirt, these people need to layer up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

Silly bint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

So air conditioning in an office environment was designed for men, obviously, so clearly any working environment that installs air con and male staff proceed to use it, then it is clearly treating other staff in an unfair way.....sexism.

What are your thoughts??

I used wait until they'd summoned up the courage to approach the dial. Thinking I hadn't noticed they'd tentatively open the cover, and just as their attention shifted entirely to the digital display i'd growl out something like 'is there something wrong?' or the slyer 'is it not on?' and scare the shite out of them. I would then lean back on my throne of skulls and cackle, long and loudly, as they retreated back to where they parked their cardigan.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Wear extra clothes if you're too cold. It's much easier to get yourself warm if you're a bit too cold than the other way around. Much tougher to concentrate when you're too warm than if you're too cool too, get sleepy and stuff.

There is a scientific basis to her argument, but the solution is to just wear more/warmer clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I find it the other way around tbh, the women complain more and get what they want the A/C to be set at and the men sit in the corner uncomfortable.

Also, it's acceptable to wear more clothes to keep warm. I can't work naked to prevent from becoming too hot, so stupid woman should shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

these feminists wont be happy until they get their segregated trains to their segregated offices and have their lunch in their segregated cafes........ actually sounds good...something something wage gap...something something patriarchy...park your privilege!

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Crazy feminists won't be happy till all men are dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Crazy feminists won't be happy till all men are dead.

They'll freeze before we burn, tellin ye now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

The heating tends to be controlled by women, usually the one who nobody has idea idea how she got there but she's been there that long everything has to be her way.

"oh its a bit nippy"
    NO ITS NOT, ITS ****ING 30 DEGREES IN HERE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I would wager Her Iphone was designed by men odd no complaints about that. I would wager Facebook was designed by a man no complaints about that either. I could go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭conorhal

Actually women in our place do turn the air con up to 25, which is ridiculously uncomfortable.

My position on the aircon wars in our office has always been clear. If you're cold luv put on a jumper because you do not want to see me start taking stuff off.....

Sexist is expecting every bloke in the office sit there stewing in sweat because a jacket or jumper just doesn't go with your outfit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

I just dont understand how this affects her.

Surely there aren't any men in her typing pool ? She can put on a cardie when she has to go to her boss's office to take shorthand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

SERIOUSLY.

I nearly lost it when she started talking about not being able to dress fashionably.
    You self-centered little bitch.
    FYI I'm a woman in my mid twenties, who has a whole lot more things to complain about than her.
    But I don't because there are people in this world that will never even know of, never mind experience the opportunities that I have had. So whatever I have to complain about is tiny in comparison to a the things to be thankful for.

The next generation is narcissistic as hell. It's so ugly.
    I cannot believe this isn't a Waterford Whispers article.
    It's stupid women bitching about this, that cause the gender divide to continue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Don't these girls have kitchens to keep warm in?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

One solution is to have retrofit local thermostats around the office. People can then set them for their area.

Keeps everyone happy. Especially the people who know that only the old one is a real thermostat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

She and the newsreader need to learn what "freezing" and "boiling" mean.

Even though I'm also a woman, I can't stand women who moan about it being "FREEEEEEEEZING!!!" when it's... kinda not warm. Put on a jumper ffs. In offices I work in it's always those ice-blooded freaks who get to dictate what temperature the air-conditioning is at, and it's unbearably uncomfortable. A happy medium would be the fairest, but that's not suffocatingly warm, so its "freeeeeeeeezing!"

I agree with someone who said, it's easier to relieve being cold than being too hot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    The poor craytur.
    You don't get a cold from being cold.

I dunno about this. It's never been definitely proven that it does but I personally think that something about cold weather seems to aid the tramission of the cold virus. I think read something along these lines before. Colds always coincide with a big drop temperatures for me personally. But the woman in the OP is an eejit indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

Lowering the temperature is the oldest trick in the book designed to harden the titty ends and make the protrude more visibly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

They're all a bunch of tits anyway, you can't take your skin off when it's too warm/hot, no way would I sit in an office sweating all day and also constantly dehydrated drinking tons of more water. Put a damn jumper or coat on women and stop complaining... the women complaining about it being freezing when in actual fact it is roasting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I don't know what it is but in every place I have worked lived virtually all the ladies say it is too cold, even in Summer or if the place is over 22 centrigrade and i'm melting. Probably the light blouses and men regulate heat better having bigger mass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,688 ✭✭✭Heroditas

silverharp wrote: »
    these feminists wont be happy until they get their segregated trains to their segregated offices and have their lunch in their segregated cafes........ actually sounds good...something something wage gap...something something patriarchy...park your privilege!

Yet they'll complain about segregation in golf clubs :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭trishasaffron

Should be employing lots more middle aged women......we get very hot! I had my office temperature so cool staff used to sympathise with each other when they had to come to a meeting in the "freezer".