Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryanair Refund - Paris

• 16-11-2015 11:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭

Anyone else trying to get a refund from Ryanair for their upcoming paris flights, i'm due to fly on friday and am fighting to try and get either the flight refunded or the ability to change to another destination for free.

Anyone had recent dealing with Ryanair on something like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,803 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

rogercross wrote: »
    Anyone else trying to get a refund from Ryanair for their upcoming paris flights, i'm due to fly on friday and am fighting to try and get either the flight refunded or the ability to change to another destination for free.

Have Ryanair cancelled the flights or have you decided not to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭rogercross

Have Ryanair cancelled the flights or have you decided not to go?

Decided not to go, no way can I go there now after whats happened, wouldn't exactly be a romantic getaway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Gaygooner

That's entirety at Ryanair discretion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭maximoose

And rather unlikely I imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,105 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

You'd be still bound by the Ryanair terms & conditions, which I believe are paltry when it comes to refunds.

I believe they refund your tax, minus a €20 admin fee or something, which usually makes it not worth doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

You wont get a refund as your ticket is non-refundable in the event that you change your mind. They are obliged to refund your tax after then have taken that administration fee which is for each leg of the journey.

Menas wrote: »
    You wont get a refund as your ticket is non-refundable in the event that you change your mind. They are obliged to refund your tax after then have taken that administration fee which is for each leg of the journey.

Its kind of a unique situation though, the place was subjected to multiple terror attacks on Friday, no one is going to want to fly there for a holiday.

I wouldn't feel safe there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Most likely safer to be in Paris now than in a few weeks time....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,179 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Its kind of a unique situation though, the place was subjected to multiple terror attacks on Friday, no one is going to want to fly there for a holiday.

As far as I know - might have heard the guy on the radio wrong - you had up to and including yesterday to get a refund/change on Paris flights.

I'd go there tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭res ipsa

Well then you pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Dare I say that it's probably one of the safest place in the world right now, I'd imagine.

Looking at this purely with my CI hat on, it's a change of mind, you're not going to get much joy out of it unless their new nice-guy image goes into overdrive.

res ipsa wrote: »
    Well then you pay.

How is that helpful?

It's explaining your options, go.ot not go, but only Ryanair can offer a refund at their discretion - a week later- I wouldn't offer one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Dovies wrote: »
    As far as I know - might have heard the guy on the radio wrong - you had up to and including yesterday to get a refund/change on Paris flights.
    it was for flights on Saturday and Sunday only aparantly
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/paris-bound-flights-see-seat-cancellations-of-up-to-50-1.2430651

Ryanair would have to be very careful though,

whats to stop everyone who's booked a flight to Paris (from every destination that flies to Paris) in the next 6 months deciding they don't want to go, and want a refund? where would it end. Ryanair are still a business, with strict T's & C's

Ryanair would have to be very careful though,

whats to stop everyone who's booked a flight to Paris (from every destination that flies to Paris) in the next 6 months deciding they don't want to go, and want a refund? where would it end. Ryanair are still a business, with strict T's & C's

To be fair the flight is in a couple of days time not months away, and the city is in lockdown with curfews, 3 days of planned mourning and authorities hunting down accomplices to the terrorists. Some might feel happy going over to that but i'd say good luck to ya

Yea, I don't really see why Ryanair would have to refund your ticket, when realistically it's your decision to not go; flights aren't grounded, airports aren't closed, so there's not really any reason why they should feel entitled. Also, as others have said, Paris is going to be among the safest places in the world for the next while. (Well, hopefully)

To be fair the flight is in a couple of days time not months away, and the city is in lockdown with curfews, 3 days of planned mourning and authorities hunting down accomplices to the terrorists. Some might feel happy going over to that but i'd say good luck to ya

Thats not Ryanair's fault though.

If I were you, I would go. you'll be showing the terrorists that they cannot win.
    don't go, and they have won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

I;m flying there in two weeks for a weekend. Have never let issues like that effect my travel plans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

theteal wrote: »
    Dare I say that it's probably one of the safest place in the world right now, I'd imagine.
    Lets think about this. Possibly several suspects are on the run. A getaway car was found in Montrueil. It's unclear how many used it to escape.
    There's a ban on big gatherings for a reason. Plus Parisians aren't back in the cafes.
    The possibility of follow up attacks is there, e.g. The week after 7/7 saw similar attacks.

Not sure if anybody would want to visit a city in mourning luke that either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    Most likely safer to be in Paris now than in a few weeks time....

Safer yes, but the city will be under lock down for a few weeks with restricted access to areas that are potential targets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

It's a case of go or don't go - entirely your decision

But it's certainly not up to Ryanair to give you a refund or change your flight.

Safer yes, but the city will be under lock down for a few weeks with restricted access to areas that are potential targets.

Thats what I think too, its very irish to say sure it'll be grand, go over anyway that'll show them terrorists, but do I want to travel to such a place after whats happened as a romantic holiday with my GF, no not a chance, what kind of holiday would that be.

That's not Ryanair problem though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,112 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Your flight is to Beauvais, 100km from the 11ème arrondissement in Paris where the weekend's events took place, so hardly Ryanair's fault that you want to not go to somewhere they weren't taking you in the first place.

There's nothing to stop you changing where in France you spend your time. Go to Amiens instead - it has all the ingredients needed for a romantic weekend.

The point people are making is that it is entirely the person's decision to not go to Paris, but Ryanair or any airline shouldn't feel like they have to refund their ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭mylittlepony

You know you do not need to stay in paris city centre.
    Is your flight landing in cdg airport? If yes you can stay outside paris.
    If you have not booked accommodation or cancelled it if you did.

If i were you take the flights and stay outside of city.

Chessy 2nd last stop before euro disney.
    Huge retail centre & outlet centr on the square with bars cafe restaurants.
    . You can search boards for more chessy info or google.

You know you do not need to stay in paris city centre.
    Is your flight landing in cdg airport? If yes you can stay outside paris.
    If you have not booked accommodation or cancelled it if you did.

If i were you take the flights and stay outside of city.

Chessy 2nd last stop before euro disney.
    Huge retail centre & outlet centr on the square with bars cafe restaurants.
    . You can search boards for more chessy info or google.

No one will be there, tourists are cancelling left right and center and no french person is going to be in the mood to go to a "bar, cafe or restaurant"

My flight to bali was cancelled on friday due 2 volcanic ash. At least u.got a choice
    2 fly or not 2 fly.

res ipsa wrote: »
    My flight to bali was cancelled on friday due 2 volcanic ash. At least u.got a choice
    2 fly or not 2 fly.

A cancellation of my flight would have made things much easier.

Depends. Even when u have travel insurance its such a ballache to get money back.Theres not just flights but accommodation transfers etc.It makes a week off work supposedly on holiday into a week scavenging off travel insurance for a holiday u never had.

No one will be there, tourists are cancelling left right and center

source? or just your opinion?

My opinion based on constant media coverage on tv and in newsprint, not to mention twitter users saying they are either trying to fly out of paris or have cancelled their trips entirely, but how about you go yourself and you can let us know how mighty the craic is.

My opinion based on constant media coverage on tv and in newsprint

Ah, I see.

As a regular business traveller to Europe, I would have no problem getting on a plane today for Paris (I'm actually off to London on Wednesday, not that thats really relevant).

In my days as a field engineer, I've been to Iraq, Algeria, Pakistan to name just a few, and the craic was always 90.

Youre unlikely to get a refund if the flights are allowed go ahead. Maybe you and the missus could get some bennys to reduce your fear. Source Me.

bottom line is;

Ryanair will not give you a refund. Go to Paris. be that couple who defiantly go back into the cafe's and carry on like nothing has happened.

do that and the terrorists have failed.

My opinion based on constant media coverage on tv and in newsprint, not to mention twitter users saying they are either trying to fly out of paris or have cancelled their trips entirely, but how about you go yourself and you can let us know how mighty the craic is.

Yes, but are people getting their flights refunded? I'd be very surprised if any airline is.

This is what the thread is about, after all.

Ah, I see.

As a regular business traveller to Europe, I would have no problem getting on a plane today for Paris (I'm actually off to London on Wednesday, not that thats really relevant).

In my days as a field engineer, I've been to Iraq, Algeria, Pakistan to name just a few, and the craic was always 90.

Well good for you. Back to topic, myself and a large quantity of people obviously feel the same as me as Ryanair is totally backlogged now with requests, while i see it as being a very low chance of going through i have a request submitted with them anyway so ill see what comes of that.

i have a request submitted with them anyway so ill see what comes of that.

I hope you are successful. It's times like this a company (Ryanair) can win so much admiration from a gesture like this.

But do go to Paris for your romantic weekend.. eventually. Paris needs you, Paris needs life to return to normal as soon as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

dont think you are entitled to a refund at all, they may grant one but are not obligued to at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,491 ✭✭✭kingtut

I'd gladly go there for a holiday, much safer there now than ever before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I just sent them a tweet for you there. Once they reply I'll let you know what they say :)

Hope it works in your favour,
    kerry4sam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,272 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Interesting article for you to read -
    http://www.independent.ie/life/travel/travel-news/paris-is-it-safe-to-travel-34204076.html

I’m nervous about travel. Can I get a refund?

Usually not.

If you cancel your holiday without the DFA (dfa.ie/travel) declaring travel to be unsafe, it could be deemed "disinclination to travel". As such, you may have to pay a cancellation fee or forfeit some or all of the cost.

Aer Lingus (aerlingus.com) is an exception in this instance, however. It is offering customers booked to fly between Dublin or Cork and Paris from November 16 to 22 the opportunity to change their booking free of charge or apply for a full refund.

Ryanair (ryanair.com) customers that booked to travel to/from Paris Bouvais on November 14 or 15 can change their travel dates and transfer free onto another flight on the same route within the next two months (excluding Dec. 17 to Jan. 5).

Air France (airfrance.ie) offered customers with tickets for travel between November 13-15 the option of postponing flights until November 22 free of charge, or exchanging the flight for a non-refundable voucher lasting one year.

Paulw wrote: »
    Interesting article for you to read -
    http://www.independent.ie/life/travel/travel-news/paris-is-it-safe-to-travel-34204076.html

I’m nervous about travel. Can I get a refund?

Usually not.

If you cancel your holiday without the DFA (dfa.ie/travel) declaring travel to be unsafe, it could be deemed "disinclination to travel". As such, you may have to pay a cancellation fee or forfeit some or all of the cost.

Aer Lingus (aerlingus.com) is an exception in this instance, however. It is offering customers booked to fly between Dublin or Cork and Paris from November 16 to 22 the opportunity to change their booking free of charge or apply for a full refund.

Ryanair (ryanair.com) customers that booked to travel to/from Paris Bouvais on November 14 or 15 can change their travel dates and transfer free onto another flight on the same route within the next two months (excluding Dec. 17 to Jan. 5).

Air France (airfrance.ie) offered customers with tickets for travel between November 13-15 the option of postponing flights until November 22 free of charge, or exchanging the flight for a non-refundable voucher lasting one year.

Aer lingus pretty generous there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭galwayjohn89

Not for the many many people who still need/want to get to Paris in the coming days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭bluemachaveli

I'm due to fly out on the 23rd to Disneyland. No intention of cancelling and still planning on a day trip to Paris. It would annoy to have to change plans based on some shower of lunatics, who in some small way would achieve what they set out to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

This is one of the pitfalls of low cost travel, the option to cancel/alter flights has either been removed or comes at an extra cost which very few people are willing to pay for.

OP unfortunately for yourself the option you have is go or not go, but Ryanair are unlikely to allow you to change your booking.

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

OP just go! Not sure if you've flown to Paris before with Ryanair but the airport is literally nowhere near Paris. Just go somewhere close to Beauvais, someone earlier in the thread made a suggestion of a romantic location close by. The Paris attacks were awful, that's true but you need to keep it in perspective. Even if you were in that concert hall, the worse place hit, your chance of survival was 92%. And that's *during* the worst attack on French soil since WW2. You're statistically more likely to die in a crash on the way to the airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

kerry4sam wrote: »
    I just sent them a tweet for you there. Once they reply I'll let you know what they say :)

Hope it works in your favour,
    kerry4sam

The reply I received was to send the request to here. With Thanks,

Hope that helps,
    kerry4sam