Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Former minister investigated over child sex abuse claims

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

...assuming it is true!

However, if it is, I'd be equally as concerned about the garda investigation not taking place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Yea that's nearly the most concerning thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Pretty disturbing someone with so much power could keep something like this under the radar.

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/former-minister-investigated-by-garda-over-child-sex-abuse-claims-34189281.html

There's your answer right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Who is it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

anto9 wrote: »
    Who is it ?

Ah here! As soon as a name is mentioned in here there will be writs flying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭touts

Who is it ?

I wouldn't be posting names but reading some of the articles there is enough information to make it a very small list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Is it ok to guess?
    Maybe set up a poll of the likely suspects and have a vote.

gramar wrote: »
    Is it ok to guess?
    Maybe set up a poll of the likely suspects and have a vote.

You can always guess. A poll of the 4 or 5 "likely suspects" will only make more money for 4 or 5 firms of solicitors as opposed to 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

Can we know for certain what party he's from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

There must have been 100s of government ministers over the years especially as we had so many elections in the 80s. There was three in one year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Lux23 wrote: »
    There was three in one year.
    Didn't that get us into The Guinness Book Of Records?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Turfcutter

The tagline on the Indo online article says "respected former Minister"".
    That narrows it down to about...

Lux23 wrote: »
    There must have been 100s of government ministers over the years especially as we had so many elections in the 80s. There was three in one year.

We churned through a fair few backbenchers but not that many ministers. If you think of the current government (none of whom would be related to this allegation as they are current not former politicians) some served as ministers back in the 80s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Who is it ?
    Seriously?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Pretty disturbing someone with so much power could keep something like this under the radar.
    Jimmy Saville, Rolf Harris. In fact, it's having so much power that gives them the ability to keep it under the radar.

Interesting language being used here. They're saying "former minister" rather then "former TD and minister".

I wonder if this person is still a sitting TD?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Turfcutter wrote: »
    ..."respected former Minister""...

Is there such a thing?

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Presumably Enda will be eager as ever to hug the alleged victims in public

I am damn glad I was't a child in the 50s-70s.

Why?

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Hermy wrote: »
    Why?

Because the chances of being attacked and/or imprisoned by a respectable authority figure were even higher than they are now?

So called respectable authority figures were acting with impunity in the 80's and 90's as well sadly.

I say that as the victim of two such individuals.:(

Genealogy Forum Mod

Allegation that a complaint was made to the guards a decade ago and not acted on, the carry-on of the 70's and 80's didn't end in the 70s and 80s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Azalea wrote: »
    Seriously?!

No ,i did not expect an answer ,but respected former Government Minister ,has me pondering .:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Bambi wrote: »
    Allegation that a complaint was made to the guards a decade ago and not acted on, the carry-on of the 70's and 80's didn't end in the 70s and 80s

It still hasn't ended.

Our corrupt police force has not arrested a single member of the RC church for obstructing the course of justice (or whatever the legal equivalent term is) when they prevented kids from reporting child abuse.

Not a peep about this from FG, FF or Labour.

Or indeed our right wing media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Without taking away from the story, the cynic in me would wonder about the timing so close to an election, to damage a political party. But I'm not going to entertain those thoughts. Was just on my mind.

Hopefully the gardai can build a strong case against the alleged abuser, often hear about these cases having a low prosecution rate. Bizzare the gardai didn't act on it before:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭VisibleGorilla

How do the media have any information at all about a possible on going investigation?

Gardai leaks? Looking to damage a particular party?

Bambi wrote: »
    Presumably Enda will be eager as ever to hug the alleged victims in public

It it's a FF minister you can bet the investigation into any potential cover up won't be waiting for legislation to be passed to give them the necessary powers.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

What's wrong with these people? Sickly stuff and their seems to be a new case every fortnight! Perverted freaks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Turfcutter wrote: »
    The tagline on the Indo online article says "respected former Minister"".
    That narrows it down to about...

.....none?

There is a possibility that there is no truth in this story at all. If it disappears off the radar in a few weeks, I would suspect that the whole thing is made up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 138 ✭✭Berkieahern

Roger_007 wrote: »
    There is a possibility that there is no truth in this story at all. If it disappears off the radar in a few weeks, I would suspect that the whole thing is made up.

Why would you say that?

Why not?

False allegations happen all the time.

Why not?

False allegations happen all the time.

So if an investigation isn't concluded in a few weeks, there's no truth to the story?

Why would you say that?

I was pointing out the possibility that the allegations are not true. If we accept every allegation as being true, why would we need courts?

With the history of child abuse over the decades in this country, it isnt that hard to believe that some of the country's politicians were paedophiles aswell!

So if an investigation isn't concluded in a few weeks, there's no truth to the story?

I'm very suspicious of the fact that this story was leaked to the media. There could be political motivation behind it. It is also unfair to create a cloud of suspicion over every male minister of that era.

If the Guards failed to act on the initial allegations, then maybe the poor victims had to approach the media to get the authorities to act!

The guards turned a blind eye to decades of the abuse and rape of kids by the catholic church.

I have no doubt they done the same for the almighty politicians!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

The Gardaí have been used as political tools for as long as I can remember tbh. I only hope this isn't the case here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Or indeed our right wing media.
    I hear others saying "our liberal, bleeding heart" media - really depends on what your perspective is. Although it certainly isn't right-wing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Who is it ?
    Azalea wrote: »
    Seriously?!

Éamon de Valera :eek: :D

(Not true ;))

Indeed, we can establish the veracity of any allegations through guest columns in the indo. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Anyone know who she is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭laraghrider

Indeed. It's also nicely taking the shine away from the IBRC inquiry isn't it?

Can people not be worried about both cases?

Its not always about deflection!

If the Guards failed to act on the initial allegations, then maybe the poor victims had to approach the media to get the authorities to act!

The guards turned a blind eye to decades of the abuse and rape of kids by the catholic church.

I have no doubt they done the same for the almighty politicians!
    Currently there are no victims.

This is nothing but hearsay at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭laraghrider

Can people not be worried about both cases?

Its not always about deflection!

Of course but a long standing tactic of any government is to quickly get a secondary story out that blankets the media coverage and people stop being concerned about the story they don't want you to focus on. Bury bad news with bad news. People can be worried about both and you're correct it's not always about deflection. The problem is the majority of the time, it is about deflection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

The name thats floating around lends credence to it being made up for political point scoring.

Currently there are no victims.

This is nothing but hearsay at the moment.

Apart from the people that made the complaint to the Gardai?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

seamus wrote: »
    Jimmy Saville, Rolf Harris.

Im sorry, what Rolf Harris did was wrong but he doesn't deserve to be in the same paragraph as Jimmy Saville.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

syklops wrote: »
    Im sorry, what Rolf Harris did was wrong but he doesn't deserve to be in the same paragraph as Jimmy Saville.
    Kiddy fiddlers are just that, there are no degrees of IMHO