Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Whole Grooming Chat

• 04-11-2015 11:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

Listen to Prenderville this morning and while I have noticed it but must say I am surprised the amount of grooming men and women are doing now a days..Is anyone true to themselves regarding looks...

Suppose you wouldn't even call it grooming like but more like prepping work...

Women spending nearly €200 on your hair a month madness, and must say this brow thing that has takening over is actually just getting funny now..

So Men and Ladies of Cork what do you then! Brows, tans, botox, asstox...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Every morning without fail, wash-and-shave, including hair. Then I apply a dab of Nivea after-shave balm, which is the stuff of mightiness. It but remains to let an almighty rattling fart like the anti-lag on a Fiesta RS WRC, and I'm right for road. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Only use soap or whatever is the bargain shower gel going.

Beard growth is like phases of the moon, all comes off fri evening. Maybe the odd dash of aftershave and that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

"rattling fart like the anti-lag on a Fiesta " haha made me laugh..

Yeah see all seems regular now.. I must say I feel for men and their facial hair, himself has to shave every morning... Me just like once a week or whenever I feel the must...

On the womany side it would be

Wash the face with water in the mornings
    Little bit of moisturiser Liz Earle I prefer then slap on a bit of muck.
    Have an old bra struggle,dress out the door..

Fine I get a little adventurous for a night out and will pay attention to what I am doing and apply the makeup nicely and use shimmer n things.

Of course like there is the luxuries which to me is having fancy shower gel or a nice toner..

But all this makeup, self tanning, brows, €200 for a hair cut..

Like how much does a man pay for lets say a funky haircut nowadays!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭.red.

My shampoo is head and shoulders, it always has been since i first bought shampoo. Dont really use soap. Shower gel and deodrant are usually whats on offer when im buying it. As long as it smell nice i dont care what brand it is.
    My wife cuts my hair, 3 on top 2 on the sides. I dont get a choice. I get told, "its fuzzy sit down" and i do it.
    I dont have huge facial growth. A shave every 2nd day looks respectable but its usually every 3-5 days unless im expecting "some" then its that day lol.
    I have plenty of expensive aftershaves as i get half used sample bottles from a shop, my favourite is Blue Stratos tho, costs about €6/7 in the chemist.
    As for grooming the man garden, tried it once, didnt like it and mrs .red. said it looked like the christmas turkey and laughed at it so that wasnt done again. Itched like hell growing back too.
    Respect to the ladies who keep it tidy down there. Dont think id have the patience for it and would probably have an overgrown thorn bush if i was a lady!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

OP, this is not a thread for the Cork City forum. I think maybe After Hours might be better...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

I shower once a week whether I need it or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Who's Prenderville?

Men and women have spent long hours and effort on grooming for centuries. Has it only now hit Cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

People grooming themselves a lot more than I do used to annoy me when I was younger, but now I don't really care as it doesn't affect me.

The only thing that does annoy me, and shouldn't, but does, is when people style themselves in a very specific way (man buns!! Christmas jumpers!! half-shaved heads!!) that would have been seen as ridiculous previously, but suddenly becomes cool for a short period of time, before being seen as ridiculous again.
    Not that I think these things are inherently objectively bad, I just don't understand people who don't have their own tastes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I shower once a week whether I need it or not.

My father, back in the 40s used to go for a paddle in the sea on our annual day trip to the seaside, saying he washed his feet once a year whether they needed it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

I have to wake up way too early for that crap.
    A proper shower and that is it
    Shaving i do in the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I don't understand why people pay €200 to get their hair done. Cut and highlights costs me €50 in my local place (in Cork!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I believe in taking care of myself and a balanced diet and rigorous exercise routine. In the morning if my face is a little puffy I'll put on an ice pack while doing stomach crunches. I can do 1000 now. After I remove the ice pack I use a deep pore cleanser lotion. In the shower I use a water activated gel cleanser, then a honey almond body scrub, and on the face an exfoliating gel scrub. Then I apply an herb-mint facial mask which I leave on for 10 minutes while I prepare the rest of my routine. I always use an after shave lotion with little or no alcohol, because alcohol dries your face out and makes you look older. Then moisturizer, then an anti-aging eye balm followed by a final moisturizing protective lotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

^ was waiting for that!

smash wrote: »
    I believe in taking care of myself and a balanced diet and rigorous exercise routine. In the morning if my face is a little puffy I'll put on an ice pack while doing stomach crunches. I can do 1000 now. After I remove the ice pack I use a deep pore cleanser lotion. In the shower I use a water activated gel cleanser, then a honey almond body scrub, and on the face an exfoliating gel scrub. Then I apply an herb-mint facial mask which I leave on for 10 minutes while I prepare the rest of my routine. I always use an after shave lotion with little or no alcohol, because alcohol dries your face out and makes you look older. Then moisturizer, then an anti-aging eye balm followed by a final moisturizing protective lotion.

You are a psycho.

Lia_lia wrote: »
    ^ was waiting for that!
    I'm surprised it wasn't posted earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭play it again

Grooming ? I go for a shower after gym most evenings.. shave my face and head once a month right around with a number 1 blade , brush my teeth twice a day and trim the under arms and man bush every couple of months , makes me feel like a new man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I believe in...

Bleh. Typical BMW merchant, narcissistic isn't the word! :D

I can not say I am annoyed by it - but it certainly is not for me. No fashion sense is my fashion sense. So long as there is nothing ghastly or untidy about my appearance that will attract attention - like mad stray facial or head hair - or my top being inside out or backwards - then I put absolutely no thought into my appearance at all.

Whatever clothes my hands land on first is what I wear - regardless of whether the colours are "meant" to go together or not. I would run a shaver over my beard maybe once a month on a short enough setting. The girlfriends are the feminine end of tom boy too - and probably put about as much effort in as I do - though with their looks they likely pull it off better than me and actually make the zero effort to look good look - look effortlessly good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭_davidsmith_

I can not say I am annoyed by it - but it certainly is not for me. No fashion sense is my fashion sense. So long as there is nothing ghastly or untidy about my appearance that will attract attention - like mad stray facial or head hair - or my top being inside out or backwards - then I put absolutely no thought into my appearance at all.

Whatever clothes my hands land on first is what I wear - regardless of whether the colours are "meant" to go together or not. I would run a shaver over my beard maybe once a month on a short enough setting. The girlfriends are the feminine end of tom boy too - and probably put about as much effort in as I do - though with their looks they likely pull it off better than me and actually make the zero effort to look good look - look effortlessly good.

GirlfriendS eh??? player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I used to go to a barber to get my hair cut, then bought one of the clippers.

I've cut my own hair for the last 17 years. When it gets long enough that it starts to stick up when I sleep, I cut it.

I usually shave in the shower.

That's the extent of my grooming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Nivea for Men facial scrub, the charcoal type one is amazing.

Natural Source Mint body wash for the lads too.
    A quick scrub down below and it's "Gooooooooooooood Mooooooooooooooooooooooooorrrrrrrrrrrrnnnnnnnnnnniiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnngggggggg", that wakes you up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

inforfun wrote: »
    You are a psycho.

A beautiful, soft-skinned psycho no doubt...
    The worst kind!

whiskeyman wrote: »
    A beautiful, soft-skinned psycho no doubt...
    The worst kind!

Nah, just an American one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭Dr.Internet

The eyebrow thing is gas alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Wake up, get up, shower on, apply face stuff (Lush Herbalism). Into shower, wash body with soap, wash hair with shampoo, apply conditioner, wash off face stuff, wash off conditioner. Out of shower, big warm towel, apply moisturiser. Done.

Shave underarms when I remember. Shave legs if they're going to be on display.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

Lia_lia wrote: »
    I don't understand why people pay €200 to get their hair done. Cut and highlights costs me €50 in my local place (in Cork!).

Yea if you look around, there are places that do the same job for half the price. I get highlights, cut and blowdry for 80 so not as good value as yours but not bad.

I dont do false tan. I might use a wash off one on a night out. I wouldnt even dream of getting botox or plumping my lips or anything like that.

I buy a bit of new makeup every few weeks just to try it out.

I do my own nails. I dont like to have them too long, which reminds me i really hate when men dont cut their nails. Also i dont get this nail fashion where the nail is really long and filed pointy? Is there a name for that style? I think it looks witchy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

GF is a hairdresser so she cuts me hair and if the bottle in the shower says "Shampoo" then it goes on me head, it must be decent because it makes my long hair all purty, like.

That's pretty much the height of it for me. My facial hair grows incredibly slowly so I don't have to shave for fairly long periods. :pac:

"HD eyebrows" are hilarious though. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭80s Child

Watched it last night for the first time. I was waiting to see who'd post it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Being a dark-haired woman I just spend most of my time battling with hair. Shaving armpits, legs, trimming the bush, plucking the eyebrows, applying the nair :pac:

I'm not into fake tan, fake eyebrows, false eyelashes, nails or hair extensions.

I do the usual and obvious teeth brushing, face washing and showering but I don't usually style my hair unless I'm going on a night out, then I'll straighten or curl it.

I get my hair dyed and cut every two months.

I moisturise every once in a while and I'm even too lazy to condition my hair.

I don't usually leave the house without at least putting on a bit of concealer, and then I'll wear full face make up on a night out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Senior Spielbergo

Im not the girliest of girls but I still do a fair bit of grooming.

I wash and straighten my hair everyday, wear makeup everyday.

Never had my eyebrows done professionally but do then myself every second week or so.

Same with nails, paint them myself the odd time, never had them done professionally. Id be afraid Id walk out of the place with those ridiculous talons that seems to be the style at the moment!

Wear fake tan the odd time on a night out, depends on the night, it stinks though!

I dont shave as often as I should, only when I might be getting lucky! :P
    Majority of the time its just me who sees them so I dont care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Medusa22 wrote: »
    Being a dark-haired woman I just spend most of my time battling with hair. Shaving armpits, legs, trimming the bush, plucking the eyebrows, applying the nair :pac:

I'm not into fake tan, fake eyebrows, false eyelashes, nails or hair extensions.

I do the usual and obvious teeth brushing, face washing and showering but I don't usually style my hair unless I'm going on a night out, then I'll straighten or curl it.

I don't usually leave the house without at least putting on a bit of concealer, and then I'll wear full face make up on a night out.

Nice username ...... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I'll be honest, I've never really thought of it as grooming (grooming to me would be more like spending half an hour in front of the mirror preening myself in the morning).

I have my shoes polished the night before, sometimes I'll have my clothes ironed from the night before or I'll give them a quick press in the morning, head in for a shower, might shave if I feel like it, usually every two days. I'd do my ears and nose once a week, and a haircut when I start to resemble an extra from Planet of the Apes, usually every month, so €15 in the barbers if there's not a queue :D

I don't use any moisturisers or creams, aftershaves, perfumes, etc, use deodorant alright, long as I feel fresh and I look presentable, I'm good to go :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Cut me own hair when it looks a bit mad (to me at least). Shave every few days. Budget shower gels and shampoo. One thing I do go bonkers on is this stuff which is about €400.00 a bottle (or something) that I apply to my face after shaving and showering to prevent what I call 'weetabix face'. A spray of Sure antiperspirant and out the gap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Upoutdat

I used to have a fine beard but then got sick of it, too much maintenance. ****e, shower, shave(2-3 times pw), teeth and wax and out the door(with clothes......this time)

razorblunt wrote: »
    A quick scrub down below and it's "Gooooooooooooood Mooooooooooooooooooooooooorrrrrrrrrrrrnnnnnnnnnnniiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnngggggggg", that wakes you up!

That stuff is even better than durex mint lube!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

Get some talons on your toes Medussa, not quite Lizard Feet but a cheap alternative? :)

Sorry jes tis taking off.. Predernville is a radio chat show dude on Red FM in Cork.. I started in the Cork forum as it was about a show he was doing. It was all about gromming and how some women spend nearly 200 a month on haricuts and men are now made into their grooming..

Must say I would prefer a man who looked like he was dragged around a little rather than a clean, well varnished thingy... Like Thor when he wakes up... And seeing like this they way things have just taking off and how much people believe in the fashion seen. As mentioned if you went around years ago with some of the hairstyles the lads have you would be looked at very strangley nowadays tis cool cus the celebs did it.. I mean Man hair bands in public ohhh the shame..

All up for a bit of grooming but people are beginning to look all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I shower get dipped once a week whether I need it or not.

Fyp...:pac:

Get some talons on your toes Medussa, not quite Lizard Feet but a cheap alternative? :)

Great idea Whitewinged! I usually go for shellacs but talons would be one step closer to my lizard dream. I watched the new James Bond film last night and there was a scene where there was a lizard crawling across a window and I was a bit envious, thinking of how I could walk on the window like that if I had lizard feet!

razorblunt wrote: »
    Nivea for Men facial scrub, the charcoal type one is amazing.

That stuff is even better than durex mint lube!

That stuff leaves some tingle alright! My OH got the original source minty one and I came out of the shower feeling like someone was tickling me 'down below' :pac: Then the OH gets the extra minty one = mind blown. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Shave my head in the shower every morning, man-scape once a month, shave twice a week, simple soap, moisturiser & roll-on deodarant (I'm a delicate little flower me) & beard oil for the face fungus :D

That stuff leaves some tingle alright! My OH got the original source minty one and I came out of the shower feeling like someone was tickling me 'down below' :pac: Then the OH gets the extra minty one = mind blown. :D
    Try the mint one with the crushed walnuts, it's hard to find but well worth it.

This thread is getting a bit odd, but I like it.

For the ladies with maybe a little facial hair have ye seen those little stick things is it on groupon or grabone.. They act like threading does as such.. they do work once you get the nack of them.. Nothing like putting your socks on in front of the fire, good movie and attack the dreaded smig

I rarely wear makeup during the day. Even in work I tend to just go with a slick of vaseline on each cheekbone, a bit of undereye concealer and rose coloured gloss. The vaseline seems strange I know but it gives me a kind of a nice little glow.

In the morning I have Clarins gel cleanser, Clinique moisturiser and Roc eye cream. About once a week I exfoliate with an Origins scrub. Great stuff.

Hair is a bit tricky. It's really curly. I have to get my roots done on a regular basis thanks to being prematurely grey. Kind of sick of the colour and want to go back to my original very dark brown. Only thing is then my regrowth will be more obvious. Meh.

So yeah good skin and birds nest hair :)

Thanks Medusa too was just thinking the same thing haha with the body wash.. Sure tis all about telling the truth...

player

A lot less than you would think - maybe a little more than I would want to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Try the mint one with the crushed walnuts, it's hard to find but well worth it.

This thread is getting a bit odd, but I like it.

I've heard it described as "I turned around (in the shower) fully expecting a midget to be blowing air on my arse just after he's just rinsed his mouth with Listerine".

First time I've genuinely spat my drink out in a long while.
    Since learned he'd stolen it from Jason Byrne, probably the best thing Byrne has ever done.

Shower, wash and shampoo/conditioner, moisturise face/neck, elbows, knees and heels, put wet hair up in little buns on each side to dry (makes it wavy when you put it down), tinted moisturiser, mascara, tinted lip balm, blush, done. If I'm going out I'll use eyeliner and lipgloss. If makeup takes more than 4 minutes, then it's too much for me.

Two make up trends that are very current that I absolutely hate are the ubiquitous Groucho Marx style 'hd' eyebrows, and the stripes of blush/bronzer down the cheeks with highlighter on top aka 'contouring'. Both those trends are going to make people cringe in the future, they both look utterly dreadful at best, laughable at worst.