Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ear to the ground

• 03-11-2015 8:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,224 ✭✭✭✭

New series on now rte 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

That first piece about the breakins was shocking! The guards need to step up big time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Commented on chit chat and my blood is still boiling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Thought it was good, like the bit on Darraghs farm a bit like Countryfile

raypallas wrote: »
    That first piece about the breakins was shocking! The guards need to step up big time
    The fear was so evident in the couple who were robbed and my heart went out to them.
    We need more prisons in Ireland. Scumbags are getting off too lightly with the revolving door policy due to lack of space.
    Government spent millions buying prime land in Thornton Hall, The Ward, Co. Dublin to build a new prison and it's lying idle since. http://www.irishtimes.com/business/pac-to-investigate-spending-of-50m-on-thorton-hall-1.2102148
    Four scumbags broke into my brothers house in NCD 4 years ago while he was in Longford. I happened to be driving by that evening and saw their van parked in the driveway. I drove on up to my house, parked up and walked down through the fields to see what was going on. The bastards were throwing copper pipes, radiators, cylinders, etc out of one of the upstairs windows.
    I phoned the local Garda station (Swords) and in fairness they had a squad car there within 5 minutes. They apprehended the 4 fellas. When the case came to Court only one lad was on trial and he got off (with a €200 fine) because his 16yo wife was pregnant with their first child :mad:
    I would have got more satisfaction if I had taken the double barrel with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

raypallas wrote: »

Well I hope it is shocking. I hope the people in power are shocked by this.
    It is becoming so common now that people are thinking it's the new norm and are blaming the victim instead of the sc##bags who ruin peoples lives.
    All around me every house has been broken into and I doubt that wexford is an exeption. There was an elderly couple near here who were broken first when they were out and they got nothing. So they returned again when the couple were in a few months time and bet them black and blue looking for money. I said in chit chat a few posts back about how raiders tried to rob a relatives house at dinner time wearing balaclavas and carrying a slashook.
    There's people here who are sleeping with loaded shotguns beside their beds. It's only a matter of time before someone gets shot. I just hope it's the raider that get's shot. The government are doing a half hearted attempt to solve the problem. Sending guards out in high powered cars is not going to stop this. What you need is more guards back on the beat who know the people in their area. The guards now live 30, 40 miles away from their station as they say they don't want to bring the work home with them. I don't blame them but they haven't a clue what's going on in their station's area.
    What you need is more guards and then employ civilians to do the paperwork to allow the guards to get out to do their jobs protecting civilians. Have tougher sentencing for criminals and not have the revolving door system which we have at the moment. If the state is letting people out on bail have them fitted with electronic tags so the authorities know where they are. Impose tougher penalties for trespassing as if you catch anyone acting suspiciously on your land at the moment nothing happens.
    If burglars are not given custodial sentences for robbery, fine them for the value of the stolen goods (either stop it from their dole money if they claim or take goods from them of similar value).
    When a thief goes to jail, do not pay them dole while they are in jail and have it accumulate while they are locked up and then when they come out they get a lump sum. This is wrong and only encourages them to break the law.
    The courts should not be so free granting free legal aid if they can't pay for themselves have their families pay for a solicitor.

I heard somewhere that 20% of the criminals commit 70% of the crimes. So if we can stop that 20% well you know the answer.

There is something wrong with a society that expects and promotes honest, hard working, tax paying citizens to spend thousands of euros to protect their homes with alarms, cctv etc against these scumbags. Every insurance company require such systems - where the hell did we as a society go wrong :mad:
    The scumbag criminals appear to have equal rights in our Court system as the home/land owner. That is just down right wrong in my opinion.
    I will put my hands up and state here and now, that I would prefer to rot in prison after taking out such scumbags if they ever dared to break into my home.
    I have several lines of defence but my last and favourite (:D) is this which resides under my pillow -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

Base you scared me with that photo thats vicious looking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭barnaman

By the way heard and had experience my self with neighbours taking stuff! One man I know his neihjbour almost opposite him was taking diesel from his yard. I lost a fencer and poles etc and it had to have been a neighbour. One lad in this area has a feirce bad name for helping himself. People in general seem a bit less decent these days.

barnaman wrote: »
    Base you scared me with that photo thats vicious looking!
    Don't be scared its just a auld veterinary instrument (trocar & canala - spelling) that was given to me by a wonderful, informative and paitent Vet when I was 17.
    It is used to relieve severe bloat in ruminant stock.
    Basic principle is to access the animal from the front and behind. If bloated then the left or near side (if your a horse person) mid to last quarter of the animal will be enlarged and bloated. If you place the three middle fingers of your left hand flat on the bulge and tap them with your index and middle finger of your right hand you should hear a hollow sound.
    If you hear that sound call your Vet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

whelan2 wrote: »
    New series on now rte 1
    Can't wait for another season of jam-makers, endangered low-flying swans, near-death experiences, wonderful multi-tasking nuns, festive thatching, and that painful self-absorbed McCullagh..at least its only 30 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

oldsmokey wrote: »
    Can't wait for another season of jam-makers, endangered low-flying swans, near-death experiences, wonderful multi-tasking nuns, festive thatching, and that painful self-absorbed McCullagh..at least its only 30 minutes.

I know you're being a bit sarky like I can be. But I like it. It's more farmer orientated than the likes of countryfile which only has adams farm for the farmers. A real good farmer programme is Ffeirmio on S4c if you turn on the English subtitles. Although I haven't seen it in a while and the presenter is not half bad either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,818 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Base price wrote: »
    There is something wrong with a society that expects and promotes honest, hard working, tax paying citizens to spend thousands of euros to protect their homes with alarms, cctv etc against these scumbags. Every insurance company require such systems - where the hell did we as a society go wrong :mad:

The lawmakers, judges and politicians that matter live in leafy well-to-do suburbs and don't get to experience this and will only change things when it affects them directly or as we have seen over the last few days, when an election is looming.

Building prisons is not really a vote-getter either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,224 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

It was actually a very good show last night. Was surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭orm0nd

most tv's to day have multiple channels , change channel if it doesn't appeal to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I found out recently that a neighbour of mine was involved in a spate of armed robberies. To be honest, I always thought of him as a nice guy. A nice family too. To say I'm shocked is an understatement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

I guess any young lad can fall in with the wrong crowd and do stupid things including drugs theft etc.
    That guy should be given the option to stand up at local community meeting with his parents and apologize to the community and the people he robbed pay back what he stole with interest and give talks in local schools about where he went wrong as an option to a long prison sentence.
    Unfortunately guys like that will come out of jail worse than they went in.
    Any repeat offenders should get 10 years mandatory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

orm0nd wrote: »
    most tv's to day have multiple channels , change channel if it doesn't appeal to you

Yea I was wondering did some tellys not have off switches

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Just watched it on player as I was having me tea on me own and thought it was bloody good.i had lost interest lately but so many people had mentioned stuff on it I said id have a look

missed it last night, anything interesting on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

whelan2 wrote: »
    missed it last night, anything interesting on it

Ya more on farm thefts, woman managing 500 cow herd in Waterford and man finished with cows producing elderberry drinks from an orchard. Easy watching for both non and farming viewers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

most tv's to day have multiple channels ,UNLIKE WHEN I WAS YOUNG< change channel if it doesn't appeal to you

Edited that for you. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Missed the beginning of the woman running the 800 cow, but all I saw was one herd of 400, have they another herd of 400 nearby? How did the owners put together such huge plots of land etc? Would've loved a bit more background info. Thought the cows they showed were in great order

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Missed the beginning of the woman running the 800 cow, but all I saw was one herd of 400, have they another herd of 400 nearby? How did the owners put together such huge plots of land etc? Would've loved a bit more background info. Thought the cows they showed were in great order

Shane maxxwell is the man that owns the 2 places. Friend of mine did his yr on farm mangers course on his second farm.
    Lismore might be worth a trip some time I think. Fantastic looking setup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Shane maxxwell is the man that owns the 2 places. Friend of mine did his yr on farm mangers course on his second farm.
    Lismore might be worth a trip some time I think. Fantastic looking setup

Looks fantastic
    Serious money investment there,how was it funded?

Looks fantastic

That's as much as I know I'm afraid. Was never on the farm to ask the questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Looks fantastic

Cracker of a setup. Done well, without OTT bells and whistles

Is he related to the coffee crowd, I believe he has a large farm in South Africa also. My bulk tank guy was telling me about them last week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 cozzie

Having not seen the programme, but surely it's unfair to be naming names on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Trouble is I can never find the channel changer.

Think he might be off sick again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

cozzie wrote: »
    Having not seen the programme, but surely it's unfair to be naming names on here.

I'm sure if theyre willing to do a feature of their farm on national tv they realise that they're putting themselves out there

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Is he related to the coffee crowd, I believe he has a large farm in South Africa also. My bulk tank guy was telling me about them last week

Kenco milikano no?

Not sure your man just said that, I'd say your more accurate! Lovely roadways and parlour in fairness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭BG2.0

Kenco milikano no?

That not a brand of coffe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Pat the lad

I thought it was gas - they"re milking 800 cows and the are buying in milk for the tae:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

visited them must be 20 years ago and there was over 300 there then and it was a more diet feeder herd then. if you know what i mean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

You're right there lad...but we're talking about ettg..opinions, dontchaknow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭lefthooker

Did I dream it or did Darragh tell Esther that after seeing her do the mornings work he'd have to go home and go to bed?:confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

they don't have much gear looking at the new Holland TM they had.

Best way to have it. Let the contractor have the machinery repayments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Best way to have it. Let the contractor have the machinery repayments

He is a contractor

on now

Twas good enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

liam7831 wrote: »
    Twas good enough

If only there was a farming organization job that would pay around the 140,000 mark to buy "Maria".....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭mattP

Its easy to make money off the farm if you can start off by investing thousands upon thousands and have all the latest technology, I hate when they show these segments which arent relative to the average farm

mattP wrote: »
    Its easy to make money off the farm if you can start off by investing thousands upon thousands and have all the latest technology, I hate when they show these segments which arent relative to the average farm

But shur tis better than showing some fella wit a wanked 135 throwing a bale into a round bale feeder that's in bits

mattP wrote: »

But he's still making a profit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Good accountant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭topgeas

id love a maria.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Tis easy do it if your an accountant just add on a few cent per hr easy have money to start a gig like that plus they are in the best land in the country try doing it where the rush is your buddy maria would want to be a hovercraft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭Dickie10

could we not have a 1 hour ear to the ground with say 20-25 minutes on a practical/educational slot. that could show two enterprises each week, like what disease to watch for and little bits of practical advice. grass measuring etc a segement relating to the time of year on tillage, beef, dairy, sheep, pigs,spuds etc. not down looking at aidan obrien baling hay in 25 celcius in june and the show broadcast in january! should take a leaf from BBC countryfile