Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kevin McGahern's Fast and Furious - Thurs 5th Nov RTE2 9:30pm

• 02-11-2015 6:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭

Not sure if anyone has seen the promos for this program or mentioned it in another thread. Focused on the modified car scene in Ireland. Not into that scene myself but will give it a watch anyway just out of curiosity. Just hope it's not just a bunch of lads acting the maggot in front of the cameras or RTE just trying to create a bit of controversy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Seen a thread about on TOC, long story short seems to be RTE made sure to get in with all the ****wits and re'tards of the scene in an effort to cause a bit of a stir and drum up the whole "boy racer" thing again as it's a headline they havn't used to gain airtime in a while.

Plenty of lads had been at shows ans meets where they were filming and said they were rarely interested in the genuine, legitimate car guys, moreso the young lads whose words they could twist.

Tl;dr, nothing to do with RTE wanting to give an insight into the genuine enthusiast scene, just more **** to use to tar the good guys with the bad brush, apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Yeah I've a feeling it's going to be like those programs where they go into rough housing estates and film joyriders acting the bollix. They encourage them to come out and put on a show for the cameras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

It will give zero insight into Ireland's genuine enthusiasts, but will shine a great big spotlight on joyriders and scumbags.

Thanks, RTÉ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Most of the footage from actually well run modified car event's such as the old school toyota run, japfest, dubshed and the IDC series have actually been omitted apparently and instead thing's such as the dublin car meet sh1te (drag racing in the industrial estates) and diffin at various junctions throughout Ireland will get plenty of air time. There's a few well known idiot's given pride of place too so all in all this probably won't be an unbiased "documentary" and the result will be the usual boy racer clamp down for the month after due to the public out cry from people who will take this all as gospel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Paddy@CIRL wrote: »
    It will give zero insight into Ireland's genuine enthusiasts, but will shine a great big spotlight on joyriders and scumbags.

Thanks, RTÉ.

thats how all these things go. Hardly any use showing up to cherrywood (sadly gone) and talking to some lad who rebuilt an M5 or a lotus and drives it on the weekends. Much more footage out of 2 lads hooning skylines around a cone.

TV Show Bingo :

atleast 2 shots of lads smoking rollies / joints

some lad revving the balls off a modified civic

some questions from the interviewers about 'do the cars get yee lads women'

some lad talking about a driving ban / conviction him or his mate got for being a tool

a bunch of lads in hoodies watching somebody do a burnout.

thick dublin accents saying 'thats whopper' to some absolute riced out craply modified car.

the presenter looking concerned or intimidated with a voiceover expressing his concern for the safety of others

a pop out interview with a gard about welded diffs or undeclared mods.

a flashback scene where they talk about those 9 lads in the passat or some other boy racer death from donegal and talk about it like it happens every day in dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

He's yer man off Republic of telly. Also plays SIM card in hardy bucks.

Had to google his name as I was afraid it was that young fella from pioc do ride

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

colm_mcm wrote: »
    He's yer man off Republic of telly. Also plays SIM card in hardy bucks.

Had to google his name as I was afraid it was that young fella from pioc do ride

I'm only after noticing he is SIM card now :D

He's brilliant in it. There's a great scene where he's trying to make small talk about GAA with the viper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

This lad is involved in that programme:
    https://www.facebook.com/shane.byrne.142035?fref=ts

He seems to be organising cruises around Dublin. If you look at his profile you can see a few videos of them drag racing and diffin.

No doubt they will be showing lads acting the mickey.

I remember the organiser of the JustJap drift days being approached by RTE a while back and they weren't interested in filming the track day. They wanted to see more back road diffing...

If he's involved in some scene, I doubt he'll be making it look bad.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    If he's involved in some scene, I doubt he'll be making it look bad.

His scene is Balleymount afaik, he's only to happy to show people around it, but the carry on around there is very poor I believe.

Oh dear.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

The insurers will be recording this I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

5W30 wrote: »

He seems to be organising cruises around Dublin. If you look at his profile you can see a few videos of them drag racing and diffin.

I remember the organiser of the JustJap drift days being approached by RTE a while back and they weren't interested in filming the track day. They wanted to see more back road diffing...

Ah the man with the infamous yellow altezza....personally I can see this being cringe worthy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I wonder if RTE wanted to do a show about show jumping, would they head off up to a halting site and interview some travelers about their pie bald's in the local field?

No? Didn't think so....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

I like the custom made power steering bottle......always wanted one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

5W30 wrote: »

That out and out gob****e has no more to do with the modified performance scene in Ireland than Michael D. The muppet-in-****box-on-the-wand-brigade however, he's like there king...

Says a lot about what road this show will go down...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭DakarVert

Gonna be a load of bollox, But sure a few lads think it's great a fierce bitta diffin and cone action on RTE.

Sadly they'll show a minority, That minority being the muppets who give the rest of us a bad name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭CR 7

smash wrote: »
    I wonder if RTE wanted to do a show about show jumping, would they head off up to a halting site and interview some travelers about their pie bald's in the local field?

No? Didn't think so....

000ae56c-642.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Dublin Meets is exactly what's wrong with the Car Scene in Ireland. I went to a Cork Car Scene "Cruise" a few weeks back, never again, just a load of scrap on cut springs, replica BBS wheels all trying to do rings and burnouts in their FWD mobiles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Yeah I have been to one of those Dublin Meets "cruises" in the past with a couple of friends just out of genuine curiosity and it was terrible. It was just a congregation of genuinely **** cars and track suits.

"bud", "pal" etc

A guy wearing Nike huaraches had the cheek to slag my shoes and we left for home shortly after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

My finger is hovering over the Liveline speed dial button already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Well that's Dissappointing after they done a fairly decent effort last week with there episode on tattoos I was hoping they would follow suit on the car front.

Looks like there going for the good old tried and trusted clichés in this one.

M

On in an hour folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

On in an hour folks.

I'll be washing my hair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭DakarVert

Heads up!!

Great Start. Diffin on a shlab and a Micra pulling hand fakes around a cone.

M

Kevin McGahern should have went in his Sim Card character, would have fitted right in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Grueller

Jaysis joe. Terrrriiibbbble terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,907 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

McGahern isn't great. He sounds like he's ready to take the hand out of them. Fair play to the young lad from cavan...wants to keep to the right side of the garda.

He gives the impression that he's new to all this.....

Scarlet for yer man didn't know what a cam was! Fair few spazzers so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭jamieh

Was the chap from EP Performance on the Irish Apprentice a few years ago!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Ok I was starting to like this but why does your man have to do donuts

M

I can understand getting a thrill from doing burnouts in a weekend car you use for thrills but the Starlet appears to be his pride and joy, I can't understand why he would do that in it.

It was converted to RWD for a reason

M

Sopporting Homeless, lol.

Bmws race :eek:

M

Idiotic

And them on and your man right now is why everyone gets a bad name, what an idiot

Whats the idiot in the 3rd car doing?

Yeah I don't mind lads acting the maggot but not on a public road.

M

mfceiling wrote: »
    Yeah I don't mind lads acting the maggot but not on a public road.

If they blocked off the road it would be one thing but it's crazy having it open to anyone who doesn't know it's going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

What in the name of fudge are they thinking????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

What a moron. D'ya see then way he slowed down at the corner, dat was to see if der wer cars coming de udder way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Kevin McGahern should have went in his Sim Card character, would have fitted right in.

Mitzi Turbo Cup, anybody? :pac:

8 times in 4 years with no insurance. Think about that if he smashed in to you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Learn from your mistakes... Only took 8 times caught

M

King Of The Cone sounds like something out of Hardy Bucks.