Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you a saver ?

• 01-11-2015 2:11am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 736 ✭✭✭

Neighbour of mine (Batchelor) scrimped and saved pennies here and there, went to work canteen every day even when he retired cos it was cheap,then died and his Nieces,Nephews got the lot, Savings are fine but hoarding it all your life and never spending any, What's the point ?
    i

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

chillin117 wrote: »
    Neighbour of mine (Batchelor) scrimped and saved pennies here and there, went to work canteen every day even when he retired cos it was cheap,then died and his Nieces,Nephews got the lot, Savings are fine but hoarding it all your life and never spending any, What's the point ?
    i
    Security.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Shit thread, whats the point of life op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

What's the point on spending it all on pointless shite to constantly consume and discard? New car, latest iPhone, designer clothes, none of it brings any lasting happiness. You become a slave on the hedonistic treadmill.

There's something to be said for the comfort of a nest egg that keeps you safe from whatever life throws at you, while you carry on focusing on the things that you actually find fulfilling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

i

I love these "mate of mine" "neighbour down the road" stories. Always full of fact and insight.

How did he go to the work canteen after he retired? It would have made more sense for him to have a sandwich at home which would cost about 2 euros, rather then an overpriced canteen sammich.

Also, how do you know the nieces and nephews got the lot? Were you at the reading of the will? For all you know he could have saved his pennies and spent them snorting coke off hookers bellies at the weekend.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 736 ✭✭✭chillin117

syklops wrote: »
    I love these "mate of mine" "neighbour down the road" stories. Always full of fact and insight.

How did he go to the work canteen after he retired? It would have made more sense for him to have a sandwich at home which would cost about 2 euros, rather then an overpriced canteen sammich.

Also, how do you know the nieces and nephews got the lot? Were you at the reading of the will? For all you know he could have saved his pennies and spent them snorting coke off hookers bellies at the weekend.
    Security for what ? No point saving if you never spend it, His will was published in Sunday Business Post, Left 95k cash, plus the gaff, Whats the point of hoarding and spending nothing ? Relatives love it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Security for what ? No point saving if you never spend it, His will was published in Sunday Business Post, Left 95k cash, plus the gaff, Whats the point of hoarding and spending nothing ? Relatives love it !
    You serious? Job loss? Illness? Injury? You think these things don't happen or don't need to be planned for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

Yeah I save..

but then I looked at the amount of mortgages that haven't had a payment in at least 2 years..
    www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96518012&postcount=8

Now, I'm not so sure saving is something that works out in the end :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i'm a saver
    it helps when you wear army surplus and aldi work clothes by choice and enjoy older cars and bikes which don't really depreciate, i sometimes splash out but even then i make sure i'm getting value.
    i was sh!t poor for years and i don't like the idea of ever going back to t that.
    few years ago my beloved Labweiler got cancer and needed expensive surgery and follow up care and medication and when the vet asked if i was gonna go that way or the cheaper less doggie friendly way i don't know what i'd of done if i hadn't got the money to hand
    probably something criminal :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

I close my eyes, only for a moment and the moments gone.

I'm a spender when I have it, because time is closing in. Everything else is just dust in the wind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Heisenberg1

You can't bring it with you !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I would be a bit of a saver, no harm having a few bob for when you need it.

The brother takes saving to a different level though, he has about 100 k in the bank and a farm a swell.

Yeah I like saving.. I don't not do stuff cause of cash. I just don't waste money. Love the feeling of security and knowing I could head off around the world, move city or throw a bit of money at an idea without having to prepare for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

Yes, more of a preparer though. I do it for my kids and for my Wife and I in our later years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

My neighbor bought a brand new 35k car at start of year and was going round all smug . what's the bleeding point!!!

I just bought a 2006 car, she's mint, not a scratch on her ,low miles , all serviced and got it for 2k. I'm like a pig in shyte . or just a cheap bastard . I'm delighted with my choice anyway .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

i

To buy sh!t :D

I'm a reformed spender. After the last few years I've started to save to make sure I have enough to cover myself for 6 months out of work.

I've also given up credit - if I want it, I save for it then I buy it.

In practice I now save into three 'funds' - my 'nice things' fund, my 'holidays' fund and my 'if-the-sh!t-hits-the-fan-again' fund.

I agree 'hoarding' is a bit miserable - I intend to spend the lot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

i

The feeling of security that he got from having something in the bank was more valuble to him than what he could spend it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Lau2976

I like to think I have a fairly equal balance of both. I ordered markers yesterday that cost me an obscene amount and I don't regret it one bit.

Without my savings I couldn't buy them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

There's a fine line between saving and miserliness. I originally saved to buy things - a carpet, new windows etc. Then I saved to ensure I had about 6 months pay in case of illness or job loss. Eventually, I saved as part of my pension pot.
    The important thing is not to get caught in the trap of becoming afraid to spend it. If you saved for something then buy the something when the funds allow. Don't make life miserable just so you can save. Find the balance and have a specific target for your savings.

My neighbor bought a brand new 35k car at start of year and was going round all smug . what's the bleeding point!!!

You can pretend it's the same but it isn't. Noting nicer than having a brand new car untouched by anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Figbiscuithead

I'm decent at saving and don't like the feeling of not having some savings. I don't have a burning desire to buy, buy, buy anyway and would usually spend my money on travelling when I do get round to spending it - it kills me to spend it on anything else.

You can pretend it's the same but it isn't. Noting nicer than having a brand new car untouched by anyone else.

I'm not sure about that. A car that's a few months old, so someone else has taken the depreciation hit, would be my preference.

i agree totally please buy some of those new mustangs so i can have one when its finished depriciating

Jawgap wrote: »
    I'm not sure about that. A car that's a few months old, so someone else has taken the depreciation hit, would be my preference.

if people don't buy new then we cant have second hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Why not a middle ground? I go on plenty of trips, spend plenty on hobbies, enjoy life and like the latest gadgets. I put away what I don't spend, still had a large deposit when I bought my house. I have insurances that cover scenarios such as me passing away, losing my job or not being able to work. A bit of common sense of all that is required. Life is too short to be worrying about money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭booooring!

I just bought a 2006 car, she's mint, not a scratch on her ,low miles , all serviced and got it for 2k. I'm like a pig in shyte . or just a cheap bastard . I'm delighted with my neice anyway .

Same as myself, got a avensis 2006 car for 2.3k with 80,000 miles, fresh N.CT, valeted and in mint condition. Don't understand how people spend 25k on new cars when in a few years it will be worth 20% of what they paid for it.

On another note I know guy who is unemployed and had the S5. He sold it for 350 or something and bought the S6. I iasked him what the difference between the two were and he said he didn't know but its better because its newer. I swear if they rebranded the s6 as the s7 next year and nothing changed with the handset people would sell their s6 just to say to have the s7.

I save money but usually blow it on travelling!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I have no savings. I spent all of my disposable income on booze and then some which brought it's own problems!

I'm currently looking for a new place so I'll have to save for that and then I'll start saving a bit more as a cushion to protect myself for anu eventuality.

I will however buy stuff that I like, get tattoos (expensive) etc.

I don't see the point in hoarding away every penny. A safety net will be fine for me and if I want the latest phone I'll save for it outside of the savings!!

That's the plan anyway :-)

Tigger wrote: »
    if people don't buy new then we cant have second hand

sssshhhh!!

Actually, I need to go delete a post :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

I save. I just want to have a guarantee that I can fall back on something without relying on whatever disposable income I have since the last payslip or even to put a deposit on a house in years to come. Plus I like saving for something I look forward to buying. I hope to get a car before the next summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    You serious? Job loss? Illness? Injury? You think these things don't happen or don't need to be planned for?

That is when the hand is out to social welfare. Paddy doesn't do personal responsibility.:rolleyes:

Don't tar us all with the same brush.

Iwasfrozen wrote: »

Illness/Injury - shouldn't think like that unless you have a family to look after.

There's a middle path. Save what you can without depriving yourself unnecessarily.

I save for my security and for my future but I spend on things that make me happy now, within reason. I live within my means and am not particularly materialistic, I don't hanker after things for the sake of it but I do subscribe to the comfort principle - spend your money on where you spend your time.

So I have a decent bed, an expensive but very comfortable armchair to sit and work and read in at home, a reliable car, and a well equipped kitchen. In work I've a decent laptop, I use a nice pen and I make sure anything I'll be using a lot of is decent quality. I don't buy many clothes, but if I need work or formal clothes, I buy the best quality I can afford and expect them to last. Same with bags, my weakness - I like a well made and designed bag.

I don't drink or smoke, and I don't waste a lot of money on pointless stuff. You can save and still be very comfortable if your priorities are in order.

booooring! wrote: »
    Illness/Injury - shouldn't think like that unless you have a family to look after.

Have you never heard of a single person who suffered long term illness/injury or who was out of work for months due to job losses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 gherkin

i

ah, he wasn't that scrimped, I never go to any canteen, cooking myself is always cheaper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

I've always saved but still enjoy myself albeit at the moment saving for a house and wedding so saving a lot more at the moment. I'll save money for the rest of my working days and beyond I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I used to work for a car distributor. Trust me, you don't know the half of it.

I have saved in the past and when I was hit by the recession, things changed. Right now I have no savings and find it very difficult to make ends meet but I anticipate this being temporary. I never really over indulged in any aspect of my life before but I learned that a curve ball or two can wrong foot any plans you have.

My feelings are simply that if I have the opportunity to save, I will. If I can't, I won't beat myself up. The trick is just knowing when you're over-indulging or splashing out on something expensive when something cheaper with a little research will give me the same benefits and enjoyment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I'm a saver, I don't go without comfort but I don't waste money. And if I was to drop dead tomorrow my final thought wouldn't be - shít I wish I had expensive stuff all around me. It would be - at least my son is well provided for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

I imagine most people would still claim illness benefit even if they have savings. Only a martyr wouldn't. Nothing wrong with getting a bit of support if you're ill.

Have you never heard of a single person who suffered long term illness/injury or who was out of work for months due to job losses?

Wouldn't think about it to be honest. If I lost my job could just move in with a friend or back with the parents until I found something else.

Illness and injury meh. I wouldn't even think about that Just not my mindset.

booooring! wrote: »
    Wouldn't think about it to be honest. If I lost my job could just move in with a friend or back with the parents until I found something else.

Illness and injury meh. I wouldn't even think about that Just not my mindset.

Great. I'll let the gubbermint know that your parents and friends are available to look after sick and unemployed people. It's very noble what they're doing, by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

I've been saving all my life and am now going to leave it all to an Eastern European lady I've been seeing and holy god is the sex with her great! She doesn't love me but I told her that I'd leave her everything if she stays around and looks after my 'needs'. I'm not leaving a penny to my scabby kids who are trying to get this girl out of my life and have even told the Gardai she's scamming me.

It's gotten so bad now they are spreading rumors about me that I can't get an erection. Those little sh1ts are not inheriting my house so that's one erection they won't be getting either.

CFlat wrote: »
    I've been saving all my life and am now going to leave it all to an Eastern European lady I've been seeing and holy god is the sex with her great! She doesn't love me but I told her that I'd leave her everything if she stays around and looks after my 'needs'. I'm not leaving a penny to my scabby kids who are trying to get this girl out of my life and have even told the Gardai she's scamming me.

It's gotten so bad now they are spreading rumors about me that I can't get an erection. Those little sh1ts are not inheriting my house so that's one erection they won't be getting either.

Eh... Ok.

petes wrote: »
    Eh... Ok.

It's a call back to a recent thread. This was a very popular joke structure on Boards in years past. Seems to be making a comeback. I think 'fair play'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

petes wrote: »
    Eh... Ok.

He's taking the pee out of another thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I'm a mad saver I have to say. If I can find a way to do "X" for less I will!

cantdecide wrote: »
    It's a call back to a recent thread. This was a very popular joke structure on Boards in years past. Seems to be making a comeback. I think 'fair play'.

I was wondering why it sounded vaguely familiar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

I still have my Communion money in my post office account(That my parents also had access to). Must be a load of interest accrued on it by now:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

i

What's the point on spending it all on pointless shite to constantly consume and discard? New car, latest iPhone, designer clothes, none of it brings any lasting happiness. You become a slave on the hedonistic treadmill.

There's something to be said for the comfort of a nest egg that keeps you safe from whatever life throws at you, while you carry on focusing on the things that you actually find fulfilling.

Two posts, completely opposite ends of the scale.

Saving ever penny you have and being a miser... pointless.
    Spending every penny you have constantly... pointless.

Find a balance, keep savings for a rainy day or what not, but don't be a miser either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

gherkin wrote: »
    ah, he wasn't that scrimped, I never go to any canteen, cooking myself is always cheaper

Started a new job recently, got invited along to the canteen and went out of politeness. Six euros for a sandwich and a cup of tea. I could get a weeks worth of sandwiches if I bring my own. And mine wont have feckin rocket in them. So yeah, the OP's neighbour wasn't exactly uber-tight by going to the canteen everyday. Still don't understand how/why he still went when he retired.