Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rubbish!

• 27-10-2015 4:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭

Any of you lads effected by casual dumping on your ground?

I'm feckin sick of it at this stage. Apart from the annual leaving a skip bag of builders rubble at one of our gates, this week I've seen:

- A deers stomach
    - Human excrement and underwear
    - lunch bags and left overs flung over the ditch from the road

Dirty b**stards......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Buy the dummy cctv cameras from eurogiant and put up signs that they are being filmed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Buy cctv battery operated game camera boxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Just this morning, driving through the road near us and there was a lot of Supermacs rubbish thrown all over the road. They should catch these guys and make a serious example of them. Lowest of the low.

I used to do a bit of hill climbing. Walkers bring food so the usual bottles wrappers etc. I never once saw rubbish thrown anywhere on the well travelled paths. Again, different type of person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Wouldn't happen as much as that here, but would still get a few bags of rubbish thrown into the ditch a few times a year... Dirty fcukers... I always try to clear it up ASAP, as I think leaving it there attracts others to do the same...

What really fcuking annoys me, is a lot it seems to be cans / bottles / party kinda rubbish, the kinda stuff you can easily recycle, for free!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

arctictree wrote: »
    Apart from the annual leaving a skip bag of builders rubble at one of our gates
    Check for any documentation or delivery addresses, and contact your local County Council litter warden :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

I had a neighbour dumping lawn clippings up against my boundary wall. Incredible. And he a reasonable normal guy who I got on well with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

Buy cctv battery operated game camera boxes.

Caught someone on video camera taking a dump behind one of our gates in the field and leaving toilet roll scattered around. Is there really any point in reporting this? Disgusting behaviour. I mean, just clean up after yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

20silkcut wrote: »
    I had a neighbour dumping lawn clippings up against my boundary wall. Incredible. And he a reasonable normal guy who I got on well with.

Very different to normal waste.

Was it on his land?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

20silkcut wrote: »

I had the same a couple of years ago but it was his side of a wire fence. Attracted the cows who, of course, leaned over to reach the grass. They broke the fence and got into his garden. As I retrieved them I said something on the lines of 'they were after the cut grass, maybe a good idea to put it somewhere else'. He copped on then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Any of you lads effected by casual dumping on your ground?

I'm feckin sick of it at this stage. Apart from the annual leaving a skip bag of builders rubble at one of our gates, this week I've seen:

- A deers stomach
    - Human excrement and underwear
    - lunch bags and left overs flung over the ditch from the road

Dirty b**stards......
    We are exactly one Big Mac meal away from McDonalds, judging by the amount of McDonalds bags, chip cartons, burger cartons and drinks containers outside our entrance every saturday and sunday morning.

We Irish are a dirty nation:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Was it on his land?

No he crossed the road from his own place and dumped it against my wall. There is a dyke between the wall and the road.
    He denied doing it when I asked him to stop and blamed another neighbour.
    But I knew it was him and no dumping has taken place since.
    It was one of a number of infringements by this guy since my father died.
    That is another weird phenomenon of Irish rural life the way neighbours think everything changes and liberties can be taken when the "boss man"in a place passes on. Have heard different anecdotal evidence from other farmers of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Drive to the middle of nowhere to dump their free needles and cooking spoons. FFS. ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Drive to the middle of nowhere to dump their free needles and cooking spoons. FFS. ...

Bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

That is shocking.

They left a Phone Credit receipt in a bag of druggie stuff on one occasion. Litter warden then told me that she would have to get the Gardai to apply to the court if she wanted to find the phone the credit was applied to but usually the court would refuse as it contravenes their right to privacy.
    So if you see something in the hedge that looks like a case containing fancy sunglasses, be careful. They are nice brown plastic cases which contain complete cooking kits.

Doesn't take a PhD to come up with a rule whereby you only get new needles in exchange for the used ones.

They left a Phone Credit receipt in a bag of druggie stuff on one occasion. Litter warden then told me that she would have to get the Gardai to apply to the court if she wanted to find the phone the credit was applied to but usually the court would refuse as it contravenes their right to privacy.
    So if you see something in the hedge that looks like a case containing fancy sunglasses, be careful. They are nice brown plastic cases which contain complete cooking kits.

Doesn't take a PhD to come up with a rule whereby you only get new needles in exchange for the used ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Regularly see black bags of rubbish along the side of the road and ditches. Feckers throwing them out of cars/vans. I ring the County Council and they collect them.
    A few years ago one was dumped over the hedge near the house gateway. I went to pick it up and it was heavy, took out my penknife, slit it open and nearly got sick. It was full of pig guts and two heads minus their ears and cheeks :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Caught someone on video camera taking a dump behind one of our gates in the field and leaving toilet roll scattered around. Is there really any point in reporting this? Disgusting behaviour. I mean, just clean up after yourself.

Take a big sh1t in his front garden. See how he likes it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Was it on his land?

clippings are the same as normal rubbish when it comes to dumping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Send him a copy with a note saying
    Please control your dirty hole !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

One of my neighbours was up on a ladder during the summer cutting his hedge in the middle of the day,yes the middle of the day when a range rover pulled in across the road and a middle aged couple got out and went into the field across the road,behind the ditch,took off their clothes and went at it like the clappers for about 20 mins,finished up,got back into the range rover and drove off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I know ye Cavan boys use a fork in the sugar bowl but surely you'd have some use for a spoon :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

One of my neighbours was up on a ladder during the summer cutting his hedge in the middle of the day,yes the middle of the day when a range rover pulled in across the road and a middle aged couple got out and went into the field across the road,behind the ditch,took off their clothes and went at it like the clappers for about 20 mins,finished up,got back into the range rover and drove off...

He had a right to join in !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

He was lucky he didn't fall of the ladder!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I think all areas are seeing increased amounts of fly tipping.
    We get a fair bit thrown in where we have fields along the road. Pain in the hole having to clean up after dirty people.

I snapped some people littering a few years ago and went to the council about it. I did get it pushed to fines issued but it took repeated follow up from me and a written statement confirming I'd go to court if it was required. It needs to be easy to get this done.

Dog muck in public areas is another serious problem in Ireland.

Neighbour passing this morning rang me to say a silver car parked up Iin a lane way that runs through our land. Two people in it.
    I walked down the fields with the rifle, and stepped onto the lane. Car started and drove off at once. Silver Ford people carrier. 151 CN XXX.
    Rang Gardai. They rang back in a minute to ask was I sure about the details, because that plate comes back to a Brown Nissan Quascai?

Fair play for him to go 20 mins :D

Neighbour passing this morning rang me to say a silver car parked up Iin a lane way that runs through our land. Two people in it.
    I walked down the fields with the rifle, and stepped onto the lane. Car started and drove off at once. Silver Ford people carrier. 151 CN XXX.
    Rang Gardai. They rang back in a minute to ask was I sure about the details, because that plate comes back to a Brown Nissan Quascai?

That's something to be wary of now Nek. Could have been a scout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

We're lucky enough to live up a lane with lots of houses and we're all nosy enough to watch who drives by so no experience of fly tipping here. Our bog on the other hand has had a constant barrage of stuff dumped on it as it's one of the first on the bog lane in :/
    The lake beside us gets some amount of crap left behind every summer as well, they had to remove the black & blue bins as people were just dumping their own rubbish into/beside them.

Lol Reggie, 20 mins far longer than your efforts? \o/

Kovu wrote: »
    We're lucky enough to live up a lane with lots of houses and we're all nosy enough to watch who drives by so no experience of fly tipping here. Our bog on the other hand has had a constant barrage of stuff dumped on it as it's one of the first on the bog lane in :/
    The lake beside us gets some amount of crap left behind every summer as well, they had to remove the black & blue bins as people were just dumping their own rubbish into/beside them.

Lol Reggie, 20 mins far longer than your efforts? \o/
    No comment :P

Reggie. wrote: »
    No comment :P

frabz-Heres-your-shovel-Keep-digging-36e1ee.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Went to check some land away from the house today. Drove to the gate and the place covered in rubbish. Old clothes, empty drink bottles, used condoms and all sorts. Dirty scumbags. :mad:
    The thought of having to go down there again tomorrow to clean it all up.

Went to check some land away from the house today. Drove to the gate and the place covered in rubbish. Old clothes, empty drink bottles, used condoms and all sorts. Dirty scumbags. :mad:

Have plenty of PPE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭emaherx

Gateway up the road from ours is completely filled with rubbish today too! Mostly cardboard from Christmas presents / beer boxes that could easily have been sent to recycling center for a very little fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Would litter warden clean it up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Did you report it to the Co. council?

If not, post a picture to your relevant co.council Twitter account and your local community development group.
    You don't want to be taking the blame for it yourself. It might shame the feckers if they see it. Otherwise you could be there this time next week at the same thing again.
    Make a bit of noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭NSAman

Not exactly the same as used needles, grass clippings, Supermac’s bags... but I suppose he did dump a load ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aravo

There was a recent case of a rubbish bag being found. A letter addressed to a person was found in the bag by a litter warden. This person lived in nearby county. Court case followed brought by Co Co against the person named on the letter. Person to whom the letter was addressed did not show. Judge dismissed the case, said one letter was not enough. Judge should have prosecuted the person. And if they want to appeal, ask the straight forward question of how do you dispose of your rubbish and provide waste invoice from bin co etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Aravo wrote: »
    There was a recent case of a rubbish bag being found. A letter addressed to a person was found in the bag by a litter warden. This person lived in nearby county. Court case followed brought by Co Co against the person named on the letter. Person to whom the letter was addressed did not show. Judge dismissed the case, said one letter was not enough. Judge should have prosecuted the person. And if they want to appeal, ask the straight forward question of how do you dispose of your rubbish and provide waste invoice from bin co etc.

If I ever found an identifying document in rubbish, I would have no hesitation in driving the lot to that address: then leaving it in front of the house with a large notice attached
    "I BELIEVE THIS IS YOUR RUBBISH>PLEASE KEEP IT AT HOME OR DISPOSE OF IT PROPERLY"
    I mean, why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭148multi

Did you report it to the Co. council?

If not, post a picture to your relevant co.council Twitter account and your local community development group.
    You don't want to be taking the blame for it yourself. It might shame the feckers if they see it. Otherwise you could be there this time next week at the same thing again.
    Make a bit of noise.

An family member had her bachelor brother in hospital long term, rubbish was being dumped in his back garden, which bounded a right of way. She contacted Co Council litter warden before organising the clean up, warden came out and took pictures, then posted fine notice with pictures to the brother. That was a big help.

148multi wrote: »
    An family member had her bachelor brother in hospital long term, rubbish was being dumped in his back garden, which bounded a right of way. She contacted Co Council litter warden before organising the clean up, warden came out and took pictures, then posted fine notice with pictures to the brother. That was a big help.
    To the litter warden it looked like the rubbish was being dumped by her brother on his property over a period of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Just this morning, driving through the road near us and there was a lot of Supermacs rubbish thrown all over the road. They should catch these guys and make a serious example of them. Lowest of the low.

I used to do a bit of hill climbing. Walkers bring food so the usual bottles wrappers etc. I never once saw rubbish thrown anywhere on the well travelled paths. Again, different type of person.

Leave it there for a week if you can stomach it. Put up a trail cam, thell be back.

Let the authorities make that decision and put up a trail cam.

I think the only way trail cam footage can be used in any useful way is if it's the council doing so and have signs up displaying of a camera in the area.

I suppose private footage could be used on Facebook though?

To the litter warden it looked like the rubbish was being dumped by her brother on his property over a period of time.

I've heard of similar things happening to farmers who's ground has been dumped on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭emaherx

whelan2 wrote: »
    Would litter warden clean it up?

In our area, they actually collect the crap fairly regularly.

ganmo wrote: »
    I've heard of similar things happening to farmers who's ground has been dumped on

That's why I posted to make a big fuss/noise about it now when it is just a small bit and obvious that it's just occurred before it could get out of hand.
    Your copybook will be clear in the council's eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Dirty good for nothing scum.anyone caught dumping rubbish should have to do 6 months cleaning ditches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

I put up a trail cam to catch dumpers. Feckin thing was nicked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

Drunk hooligans steal your empty wheelie bin before filling it with their own rubbish and dumping it in over a ditch in deepest darkest good knows where.
    Some kind of identifing mark on the bin directs dumping fines back to the original owners address.
    How would you solve that one?
    What a messy race we truly are.