Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Cafe having a troll war with vegans goes viral

• 26-10-2015 12:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭

Surprised not to have seen anything about this here. Seems a cafe called the White Moose in Phibsborough put up a post on their facebook page asking vegans to give a bit of advance notice if they want something specific made for them (seems reasonable) and it upset a lot of them. While a couple of hundred of them have been flooding the cafe with 1* reviews, the owner of the cafe on the other hand has using its facebook page to wind them up further.
    Precious vegans,
    We have received over 2,000 1 star reviews on our café over the past 24 hours. Using some of the screenshots I have on my phone, I could probably have every single one of these reviews removed by Facebook in a matter of minutes. But guess what? I'm not going to. I'm not going to do this, as, to put it bluntly, our café has never been busier than it is today. What you're doing is working (for us), so PLEASE, whatever you do, don't stop.
    All I'd ask you to do is to please keep spreading the word about us over every single conceivable vegan social network page that exists across the world (you'll find these by typing the words 'vegans against...' in the search bar). Tell them how horrible and how **** we are. The more you do this, the more you'll spread the word about our café to the people who actually matter to us (who surprisingly enough aren't vegans).
    I would also ask you to be a bit more abusive in your comments. Your hateful and abusive comments make my pages so much more entertaining for us normal people with a sense of humour. There have been some great attempts at hateful comments, but some pretty lame ones too.
    So guys, whatever you do, keep up the negative reviews, spread the word about us around the globe, and most importantly, abuse and hate me WITH CONVICTION. Come on lads, you are supposed to be vegans.
    Many thanks,
    Your beloved Paulie
    P.S. I want AT LEAST 5000 1 star reviews by midnight tonight.

Anyway, it's gone viral - with stories about this being covered as far as the US and New Zealand

Personally, I'm wondering why the vegans are getting so upset - surely they could just eat somewhere else? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,007 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Charleville lodge in being a dick shocker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Meh.
    These 'troll wars' are never funny and just cringey.

Meh.
    These 'troll wars' are never funny and just cringey.

Yep, it's a "war" akin to 2 bald men fighting over a comb.

I'm sure that cafe owner is very pleased with his clever response. The tone is a bit knobbish though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

fair play to him, anything that makes these internet mobs look like morons is worth respecting , do these loons consider that he might have to let staff go if the reviews actually caused a drop off in business?

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

I'm sure that cafe owner is very pleased with his clever response. The tone is a bit knobbish though

The only reason his response comes across as "knobbish" is because he is a knob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

silverharp wrote: »
    fair play to him, anything that makes these internet mobs look like morons is worth respecting , do these loons consider that he might have to let staff go if the reviews actually caused a drop off in business?

Seems to have had the opposite effect according to their page

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Sounds like he has discovered that there's no bad publicity.

MadDog76 wrote: »
    The only reason his response comes across as "knobbish" is because he is a knob.

I don't know the guy.

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Seems to have had the opposite effect according to their page

Doesn't he greet every bad review like that though? "Oooooooo I'm crying all the way to the bank".

It's like he's delighted with himself, and how clever he is with sarcasm. Every. Single. Time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Thread needs more vegan.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭walshyn93

Fair play. Internet mobs are disgraceful. More people need to see them for what they are. This has shed some light on veganism for me.

Apparently it's acceptable to equate meat with genocide in vegan circles. In their minds there is literally no difference and some of them struggle to comprehend how killing animals for food does not incur a murder charge. They accuse proud meat eaters of being serial killers and sociopaths. It's mad what niche Internet forums foment.

I don't know the guy.

Google Charleville Lodge owner ........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Fair play to him I think - it's his joint, he shouldn't have to put up with a mob of idiotic vegans from the US trying to dictate what he puts on the menu because something that is normal for the vast majority happens to offend their delicate sensibilities. Fcuk them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

It's amazing how many internet wars are generated about Charleville Lodge and The White Moose Café.
    It's like the owner is looking for the publicity...wait...

MadDog76 wrote: »
    Google Charleville Lodge owner ........

Thanks, I'm not that interested in him. I had a look at the Facebook page and I don't think I'd like him

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 410 ✭✭Teafor two12345

I am a flexi veggie .not too strict ...it's nice to be accommodated though...i am a very very fusy eater ....this man would get my sandwich wrong...he would get it so wrong....so wrong..i can sense it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

It's comedy gold over there.

The owner is a knob but the vegans are just as bad.

Telling people to call the police as he threatened to shot someone with an AK47, discrimination against vegans is the same as discrimination against Jews/black people. I mean wtf!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

If there's one thing i hate more than immigrants its vegans:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I am a flexi veggie .not too strict ...it's nice to be accommodated though...i am a very very fusy eater ....this man would get my sandwich wrong...he would get it so wrong....so wrong..i can sense it

Flexi veggie?

So you're not a vegetarian?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭FallSilently

Am I the only one who's disappointed when threads like this don't have a quick response with a million thanks in the first five posts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

If there's one thing i hate more than immigrants its vegans:pac:

Vegan immigrants?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

It's comedy gold over there.

The owner is a knob but the vegans are just as bad.

Telling people to call the police as he threatened to shot someone with an AK47, discrimination against vegans is the same as discrimination against Jews/black people. I mean wtf!
    He didn't discriminate against them, he merely requested that they give advance notice of their meal requirements before showing up.

Perhaps he was was ensuring that he had sufficient stocks of suitable produce available for them so they could have an enjoyable dining experience, the absolute rotter!

He didn't discriminate against them, he merely requested that they give advance notice of their meal requirements before showing up.

Perhaps he was was ensuring that he had sufficient stocks of suitable produce available for them so they could have an enjoyable dining experience, the absolute rotter!

He then went on to ban them all from his restaurant. Which he is perfectly entitled to do as they are not a protected group under the equal status act. And they deserve it because they gave him nothing but abuse for a reasonable post in the beginning and then tried to ruin his business. Good to finally see someone standing up to online ideological bullies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Am ya...I know that. It's the vegan brigade that don't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

**** that guy. Everyone should stop giving him attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Birneybau wrote: »
    **** that guy. Everyone should stop giving him attention.
    I like him and his principles:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

Do vegans actually taste good?

I like him and his principles:)

Easy to have principles when you're playing with other peoples money. Wonder if he'd be so "honest" if it could actually affect him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Easy to have principles when you're playing with other peoples money. Wonder if he'd be so "honest" if it could actually affect him.

Is it not his hotel,so his money?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

There a few months ago i went to the Big Grill Fest in Dublin basically BBQ food and craft beer read on the page someone was asking for vegan food at a festival for meat .......

What can you give them some smoked leafs ?.

Is it not his hotel,so his money?

No, it's his mammy and daddys hotel, he's just the spoiled brat who runs it (his words not mine)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Mother Brain

walshyn93 wrote: »
    It's mad what niche Internet forums foment.

Have a gander at the Flat Earth Society forums... :(

http://www.theflatearthsociety.org/cms/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

He seems preferable to Niall Harbison.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    No, it's his mammy and daddys hotel, he's just the spoiled brat who runs it (his words not mine)

It was probably his granny and grandad's before them to be fair. He has an interest in running it well.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Doesn't he always say after every stupid 'war' he contrives that his place is packed, anyone know if that is ever actually true?

Even if it's not, it's always better to say it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Dislike the guy, but the initial thing he said didn't seem that bad this time?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

walshyn93 wrote: »
    Even if it's not, it's always better to say it is.
    Aye but it would be interesting to know if it is actually the case, you know any publicity and all that is usually trotted out in threads about this guy

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Vegan immigrants?

Vegrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

Read about this yesterday. Looked up cafe and pancakes looked lovely so tried to go today. Closed though. I'll try go back though. As they say there's no such thing as bad publicity. Would never have heard of place otherwise.

Aye but it would be interesting to know if it is actually the case, you know any publicity and all that is usually trotted out in threads about this guy

Someone did an article saying the company reported a loss of a million last year. Not sure about this year. Small private companies making a loss in a single year like that usually doesn't tell the whole story though. Pretty sure they were only getting the café up and running that year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Some vegans treat veganism as an ideology rather than just an eating choice that's why any challenge to them results in a bout of self-righteous anger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Diamond Doll

Read about this yesterday. Looked up cafe and pancakes looked lovely so tried to go today. Closed though. I'll try go back though. As they say there's no such thing as bad publicity. Would never have heard of place otherwise.

Same - I have weekly appointments only around the corner for there, I'm really looking forward to visiting it after my appointment this week, and I'd never even heard of it before now!

Vegan immigrants?

Vimmigrants?

I hope those of you who can't wait to visit don't have any qualms about the food. Or service. I don't think this one takes criticism well.

I also hope they mind being filmed eating with the footage being posted online if there are any complaints ........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,828 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Internet food critics? Hope they like boogers and cum.

Glazers Out!

doesn't Morrissey normally weigh in when no one needs him? :) I'm still waiting to hear his "opinion" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,828 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

doesn't Morrissey normally weigh in when no one needs him? :) I'm still waiting to hear his "opinion" :)

Image search "Morrissey ruins Christmas".

Glazers Out!