Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woods Trailers

• 24-10-2015 11:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,542 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone have one if these. Only had a quick look at one one time but it impressed me. Thinking of upgrading to one in the near future.

Screenshot_2015_10_24_12_53_12.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Reggie. wrote: »
    Anyone have one if these. Only had a quick look at one one time but it impressed me. Thinking of upgrading to one in the near future.

Don't know about the make but a mate of mine has one similar to that and they are way more practical for a farmer than a dump trailer . Heavy enough to move a few loads of dung /fill /grain and you can take the sides off if you need to get a few pallets of fertilisier /bales or what ever as a flat bed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

JJcujWc.jpg?fb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,542 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Bullocks wrote: »
    Don't know about the make but a mate of mine has one similar to that and they are way more practical for a farmer than a dump trailer . Heavy enough to move a few loads of dung /fill /grain and you can take the sides off if you need to get a few pallets of fertilisier /bales or what ever as a flat bed
    Yeah my own is getting to 10 years old now and want to replace with something similar but with double axle

Kovu wrote: »
    JJcujWc.jpg?fb

Bite me :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Bite me :P

biting_emoticon.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

We have a woods like that,good heavy well made trailer,you can buy a extension on the back of it like this.Good fast ram on it,just a single ram but I'm sure you could buy one with double Rams if you need it

image.jpg

But I'm sure you could conjure something similar up Reggie,neighbour also has one,he does his own pit silage with a single chop he has the sides like a silage trailer made,they are like the sides of s proper woods silage trailer on her,which you can hook it on or of,also usefull for turf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

Woods 13x7 trailer here hooked on at least once a week for the winter i can draw 8 bales with it will hold 7.6 tonne of stone easy pulled very stable with the tandom axel cant recommend them enough tbh. It has been coped once by my uncle trying to shake rubble out of it on a side bray. It was strong enough that all we had to do was pull it back on its wheels and draw away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭limo_100

lads what would the main difference be between a twin axle and a double wheel axle?? Have an old 10 by 6 double wheel axle that needs replacing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭fanmanad

Have a tuff mac trailer here about 5 years now and very pleased with it. Have silage sides for it as well. Was way cheaper than a woods at the time. Would definitely add a second ram if I was buying again cos they can be under pressure if tipping on a bit of a side

fanmanad wrote: »
    Have a tuff mac trailer here about 5 years now and very pleased with it. Have silage sides for it as well. Was way cheaper than a woods at the time. Would definitely add a second ram if I was buying again cos they can be under pressure if tipping on a bit of a side

Tuff mac is my other option. Dealer close enough to me also. You seem happy enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭cute geoge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭annubis

donnelly might be another one to consider reggie, not sure how they compare price wise but i have a 12x7 donnelly with extra wheels, its only single axle but its a good trailer

annubis wrote: »
    donnelly might be another one to consider reggie, not sure how they compare price wise but i have a 12x7 donnelly with extra wheels, its only single axle but its a good trailer

Priced them at the ploughing. A 14x8 double axle came in at €8800+vat with no extras

jeepers, fairly saucy, i bought my 12 by 7 2nd hand but it was literally as new for 3 grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

or in a different economy...100 lambs

jeepers, fairly saucy, i bought my 12 by 7 2nd hand but it was literally as new for 3 grand

Yeah. A woods trailer 14x8 with bale extension and hay racks comes in at €6600 +vat or heavy duty €7800+vat

Didn't get to price the tuff mac yet

here is my one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

here is my one

I think I said it to you before but those are some tyres!

Look at these ones

Screenshot_2015_10_25_22_45_28.png
    upload pictures online

Looking like I'm leaning towards a woods trailer. Have a fella looking at mine tomorrow and if that sells I'll have to go shopping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭cute geoge

I would think a lynch trailer would take some beating but i have not seen any woods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭shrubs

Had a 13x7 heavy duty woods with ramps for a digger. Very happy with it. suitable for so many things and never missed a beat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭ford 5600

I have never seen a Woods either. Good few S&M trailers near here , as they are ade locally. Don't know if he is making them at the moment , as he has started re barreling slurry tankers.
    A son was in a yard yesterday a couple of miles away , and there was a new Beresford trailer after landing a week ago. He was quite impressed with it. Gleason Steel in Gortnahoe Co Tipperary make a decent trailer . But most of them , bar the S&M which is tandem axle , would be single axle super singles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭4odh4n

have used a woods for a good few years with local contractor, although it has barley sides with silage extensions, have done a lot of miles with it and would recommend going for springs over the boggy axle if they offer it, especially if you are going to be using it a lot, or at more than 30kph (its not as bad on the 398 at home, don't notice the bouncing as much).

apart from that is been not too bad, has done all that has been asked off it, well put together, although paint went badly orange peal on it after a few years and made it look older than it was (now 15yrs old) and the tyres were a bit prone to damage (could have improved since) and were expensive to replace, so it got booted on them mini super singles few years back.

surprised at the price for the donnellys cos the last few trailers have been from them, two barley trailers and two silage trailers as they where the best on price

Looking like I'm leaning towards a woods trailer. Have a fella looking at mine tomorrow and if that sells I'll have to go shopping.

Might have to eat my words on this one. Just looked at tuffmac and very very impressed. Well put together, 5mm floor with 3mm sides. Cross members 10 inches apart. The 400 tyres seem more than enough with 4 wheel braking on the 14ft. Said I can make any modifications I want within reason. Plus has brackets for ramps on the back as standard

Might have to eat my words on this one. Just looked at tuffmac and very very impressed. Well put together, 5mm floor with 3mm sides. Cross members 10 inches apart. The 400 tyres seem more than enough with 4 wheel braking on the 14ft. Said I can make any modifications I want within reason. Plus has brakes for ramps on the back as standard
    nugent would be another one you could price, neighbour has one with bale ext etc, looks a good trailer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Mayo_Boy

Donnelly are much stronger than Woods from my experience. Have one here. Was looking at buying a Woods first but when I saw the Donnelly it was by far the more superior trailer. It did cost a good bit more than the Woods but it was worth it imo.

Mayo_Boy wrote: »
    Donnelly are much stronger than Woods from my experience. Have one here. Was looking at buying a Woods first but when I saw the Donnelly it was by far the more superior trailer. It did cost a good bit more than the Woods but it was worth it imo.

Woods have a standard and heavy duty version. Which one did you look at or did ya notice?

Well the old trailer is gone now. She served me well and I hope she gives the new owner as good service as I got.

Have to go shopping for a new one now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Did ya get the 3k for it? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Well the old trailer is gone now. She served me well and I hope she gives the new owner as good service as I got.

Have to go shopping for a new one now.

Poor lakill.

td5man wrote: »
    Poor lakill.

He's still holding the other one hostage. The swine

Muckit wrote: »
    Did ya get the 3k for it? :)

A guard wouldn't ask ya that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

A guard wouldn't ask ya that ;)

Didn't so.

Got a few prank calls aswell. You two wouldn't know anything about that now would ye :rolleyes:

Well I'm €7500 poorer now :rolleyes:

l knew you'd fill that shed somehow! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,547 ✭✭✭visatorro

Reggie. wrote:
    Well I'm €7500 poorer now 

tuffmac? pictures please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

visatorro wrote: »
    tuffmac? pictures please

I'd say he got a Donnelly up north

When she's built I'll stick up photos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

When she's built I'll stick up photos

Customising it ?

Bullocks wrote: »
    Customising it ?

Must be too fussy :D

Sneak peek.
    These are her wheels. The tyres will be crossply rather than radial like these ones. :)

That's the only way l could afford a trailer like that.....buying it in bits and pieces!!

Well wear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,122 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Best of luck with it Reggie. I'm sure it will last you a life-time if you look after it as well as the other machinery you put up pics of.
    What do you plan to do with it, general farm work?

Best of luck with it Reggie. I'm sure it will last you a life-time if you look after it as well as the other machinery you put up pics of.
    What do you plan to do with it, general farm work?

She will be 14ft x 7.5ft. Used mainly for turf and light material. Bale extension will bring her to 18ft so will carry 11 silage bales or 16 hay/straw bales. Well that's the theory anyways. I think I'm looking at an early Jan delivery

Muckit wrote: »
    That's the only way l could afford a trailer like that.....buying it in bits and pieces!!

Well wear!

Never too late to start :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 kun aguero

Hi Reggie

Was looking ourselves for a similar trailer with a bale extension. Was wondering if the bale extension was included in the price (€7500 + vat if im correct)? Also what part of the country are you buying it in? Would definitely like to check them out more.

I haven't seen a woods trailer up close but looked at two lynch trailers lately, one with a 10 stud axle and another with an 8 stud and with a bale extension. Both were very sturdy and heavy trailers. And both farmers couldn't recommend them enough.

Hope yours goes well for you also.

Hoping to take delivery of her tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Hoping to take delivery of her tomorrow.

Looking forward to seeing some pics!