Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Theories you have made up / believe to be true

• 22-10-2015 11:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭

Have you any theories that aren't proven, aren't an exact science but things that you believe in but wouldn't really discuss in public for fear of being lynched.

Like believing in Aliens - no real proof but with the vast amount of planets and galaxies we know of there has to be other life etc.

Life after death
    Reincarnation etc

I am not saying I have made up the theory of aliens, life after death or reincarnation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Stranger Danger

Men have nipples so that they can pretend to be women when they masturbate.

I have a theory that heavy people really ought to be jolly. It still surprises me when they aren't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

The zombie apocalypse could happen. But the people wouldn't necessarily be dead, it'd be more like the rage virus from 28 days later.

All it takes is for a stain of the rabis to become airborne. But that's highly unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Due to urban sprawl fairies now reside in traffic lights rather than rings in the grass.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

That contestants on likes of X factor are hand picked to a certain extent beforehand and encouraged to enter with near gaurneteed success to the later stages for them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,523 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Have you any theories that aren't proven, aren't an exact science but things that you believe in but wouldn't really discuss in public for fear of being lynched.

Like believing in Aliens - no real proof but with the vast amount of planets and galaxies we know of there has to be other life etc.

Life after death
    Reincarnation etc

I am not saying I have made up the theory of aliens, life after death or reincarnation

Lookup the drake equation.

That contestants on likes of X factor are hand picked to a certain extent beforehand and encouraged to enter with near gaurneteed success to the later stages for them!

This is true to the extent that they're vetted by a panel before they even audition for the judges.

Also, wasn't there an Irish girl who was phoned and asked to re-audition a year after she was booted out of judges houses, and she was told "you really should come back, we have a feeling this could be your year!". And she was encouraged to play up on a sob story from her past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

If your level of heterosexuality is greater than your level of homophobia then you should have a vested interest in all your friends being homosexual.
    Proof:
    Note1: Personal appearance, intelligence and “chemistry” are ignored for this proof. The maths, maths and only the maths.
    Note2: Got to ignore the occurrence of bisexuality too or it messes everything up

20 People in a room (including you). 50/50 male to female split. It is in your best interest if all 9 of the guys are gay (3 couples and 1 three some???) as it leaves you with 100% chance of attracting a mate.

With this in mind, if you have suspicions that one of your mates is gay you should encourage him to follow this path.
    Due to the sheer volume of research about the group you’re out with required, this is not a feasible theory to test on the fly but the following should give rough odds…..

Int chance_of_scoring( men_tot, men_G,wom_tot)
    {
    If (heterosexuality > homophobia)
    {
    Men_opposition = men_tot- men_G
    Odds_of_scoring = (wom_tot/ Men_opposition)*100
    Return (Odds_of_scoring)
    }
    else
    {
    printf("Why are you more interested in hating people than getting lucky?")
    }
    }

Read a book called the forever war that had some pretty interesting ideas on the topic. Anyway......

smash wrote: »
    This is true to the extent that they're vetted by a panel before they even audition for the judges.

Also, wasn't there an Irish girl who was phoned and asked to re-audition a year after she was booted out of judges houses, and she was told "you really should come back, we have a feeling this could be your year!". And she was encouraged to play up on a sob story from her past.

I have heard friend of a friend story's of this happening....I thinks it's awlfully exploitive and heavily scripted ****e playing on people's dreams....:mad:

**im just usually angry due to being sick today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭magic_murph

The X factor thing is a cert
    Same a justin Beiber
    Music Exec - not sure If we should pump money into this guy or not
    Music Exec buddy - I have an idea – why don’t we fire him up on Youtube, free, get him to release a few songs there and see what reaction we get.
    Build him up on youtube for a while, get him on big TV shows now that he was ‘found’ by Usher

Next thing you know you have a massive ‘star’ ready to take on the world without really having to spend the millions on advertising etc that would normally happen.

The X factor show is just cruel at this stage
    John – your great, have a seat. (Best day of his life)
    5 mins later
    John – your not as great as mary – give her your seat and go sign on. (Hear broken)
    5 mins later
    John – actually your not as good as mary but you are better the bob. Have a seat back (emotionally drained and doesn’t know whats happening)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

fizzypish wrote: »

{
    {
    Return (Odds_of_scoring)
    }
    else
    {
    }
    }
    Jaysus, no comments, no indenting, no exception handling. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭walshyn93

That Europe (Western Europe included) has clamped down on refugees ever since Putin entered Syria. Not sure where the theory goes from there but I presume it has something to do with either preparing for war or making it so Putin can't use refugees as pawns to destabilise Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Humans are supposed to sleep on the beach as sand is the only untouched surface on earth which feels remotely comfortable to sleep on.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Jaysus, no comments, no indenting, no exception handling. :)

I had indentation but it pasted funny. I came up with the theory, I never said I wanted to figure if it worked. Think of me as the steve jobs of getting the shift.

Humans are supposed to sleep on the beach as sand is the only untouched surface on earth which feels remotely comfortable to sleep on.

It gets EVERYWHERE though :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,802 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

I believe I can flyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy, I believe I can touch the skyyyyyyyyyyyy.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I believe I can flyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy, I believe I can touch the skyyyyyyyyyyyy.
    can you soar through an open door, that theory is yet to be proved.

It gets EVERYWHERE though :eek:

Which brings me to my next theory: sea water is salty as salt water helps get sand out of your under crackers.

What about Moss?

Rookie mistake. Moss is soft only the surface, below it, the ground is always bumpy and hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Buffalo Herd Theory
    Well ya see, Norm, it's like this... A herd of buffalo can only move as fast as the slowest buffalo. And when the herd is hunted, it is the slowest and weakest ones at the back that are killed first. This natural selection is good for the herd as a whole, because the general speed and health of the whole group keeps improving by the regular killing of the weakest members.

"In much the same way, the human brain can only operate as fast as the slowest brain cells. Excessive intake of alcohol, as we know, kills brain cells. But naturally it attacks the slowest and weakest brain cells first.

In this way, regular consumption of beer eliminates the weaker brain cells, making the brain a faster and more efficient machine. That's why you always feel smarter after a few beers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

If your level of heterosexuality is greater than your level of homophobia then you should have a vested interest in all your friends being homosexual.
    Proof:
    Note1: Personal appearance, intelligence and “chemistry” are ignored for this proof. The maths, maths and only the maths.
    Note2: Got to ignore the occurrence of bisexuality too or it messes everything up

20 People in a room (including you). 50/50 male to female split. It is in your best interest if all 9 of the guys are gay (3 couples and 1 three some???) as it leaves you with 100% chance of attracting a mate.

With this in mind, if you have suspicions that one of your mates is gay you should encourage him to follow this path.
    Due to the sheer volume of research about the group you’re out with required, this is not a feasible theory to test on the fly but the following should give rough odds…..

{
    {
    Return (Odds_of_scoring)
    }
    else
    {
    }
    }

Read a book called the forever war that had some pretty interesting ideas on the topic. Anyway......
    *tut tut* If all the men are gay, you'll get a divide by zero there and crash - hope your theory's not true! Should all be safe though so long as everyone's not gay.

Knex. wrote: »
    Buffalo Herd Theory

In theory I like this theory :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

What about Moss?

Kate maybe , not Sterling, he's dead now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

E=MC3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

On Who Wants to be a Millionaire, they could control which two answers were displayed when the contestant used the 50/50 lifeline, even though they always said it was a random selection.

Chris Tarrant would always pressure the contestants into saying if they were torn between two of the answers. Then when the contestant said which two they were thinking of, the computer would leave those two options, thus rendering the lifeline useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,792 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I'm assuming that your theory applies equally to females.

Good luck with the 9 lezzers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

My best friend believes that when you take the label off the bottle of coke it goes flat.

She's believed that for about 15 years now, and I am so sick of it!!!! :angry:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

On Who Wants to be a Millionaire, they could control which two answers were displayed when the contestant used the 50/50 lifeline, even though they always said it was a random selection.

Chris Tarrant would always pressure the contestants into saying if they were torn between two of the answers. Then when the contestant said which two they were thinking of, the computer would leave those two options, thus rendering the lifeline useless.

I don't think so too be honest, there were often times where they would be torn between b and c and the fifty fifty would leave b and d, meaning the contestant could easily progress to the next round.

Game shows like that are independently audited, I just don't think they would ever be able to pull something like that off.

*tut tut* If all the men are gay, you'll get a divide by zero there and crash - hope your theory's not true! Should all be safe though so long as everyone's not gay.

A ha but with this theory, the person utilizing it will assure that at least 1 hetero guy exists.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 367 ✭✭justchecked

On fundmental observable truths and linguistics.

I believe our own language has been hiding truths from us and altering our perception. And that philosophy and mathematics can lead us to a truth, which i will present to you now.

Firstly for this experiment to work we must temporarily assume Plato to have been correct when he said that a man is essentially what he does.
    ie the carpenter is one who engages in carpentry. If you engage in plumbing youre not a carpenter but a plumber.

From here we can move towards breaking down a delusion of separateness which society and the physically apparent world has programmed into our brain.

First one must begin to look at the world not in the context of isolated individuals but rather as interlinked parts.
    The communist must be influenced by communism before becomming a communist...the dancer must be influenced by music before dancing.

A quick digression , calculus teaches us that if a=b then b=a. agreed? ...ill take that as a yes.

So, if we observe a test subject on a drug we normally say that he is... "affected by" the drug.
    I argue that no part of the individual is absent, rather that the individual has allowed himself to be influenced by the drug and thus is a new entity which is a mix of his normal self and the drug.

He is not 'man on drug' rather if we were to be more precise he is an entity best describef as man+drug and in some moments may be considered more drug than normal self. (Mandrug would be a better description strange as it sounds.)

He has become the drug ... the 'spirit' of the drug... if it had what could be described as a spirit is manifest through him.
    He is waving his hand about and is transfixed by glowsticks he is mdma.

The same can be said of philosophies and actions, when the man engages in racism he is commonly referred to as a racist. This is the moment of misunderstanding which is hidden by language.

Given that racism must manifest through the individual before it can have existence it is more correct to say that the man IS racism .... or communism or whatever.

We are what we do...he does racism, because he has been influenced by racism.
    Racism manifests through him.
    Racism becomes/IS the man.... a=b.... the man becomes/IS racism ...b=a... racism is the man.

(Not racist, or a racist man as our language commonly says).

The same can be said of a dance rhythm.
    When the individual hears a techno rhythm he/she moves their body to the variety of rhythm becoming that rhythm.

He hears disco he manifests disco and is now that rhythm. The man allows himself to become fully influenced by and thus becomes/is the rhythm, as with the individual influened by the drugs or the ideology.

As per Plato you are what you do, he/she who dances is a dancer.
    He/she who allows him/herself to manifest an ideology is the ideology.
    He who allows himself to be fully influenced by a drug is the drug.
    The dancer becomes/is the rhythm.
    If a=b ... and b=a then we clearly see that rhythm IS a dancer.
    Im serious as cancer when i say all of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭doulikeit

I believe that Bin Laden could have been caught years before he was, might have suited certain people/ governments to have a bogeyman on the loose threatening the world