Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE 'revamping' the Angelus slot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Pfft. No big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

A big deal for me. A state broadcaster of an officially secular country should not be broadcasting religious messages.

Please don't come back and say it's a moment of reflection etc as it's clearly The Angelus church bells.

I can only imagine a foreigner arriving in Ireland, turning their hotel TV and seeing that and wondering if they have arrived in a religious controlled state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Things haven't been the same since A prayer at bedtime was taken off the air

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

More PC bull****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Their going to revamp it with a minute of sulky racing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,557 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

should be binned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Every bit of influence from the Catholic church we can shrug off is a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

First world problems whinging about something so minor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Don't have any particularly strong feelings on the Angelus but I would keep it on the grounds that I'm fond of the eccentricity of our evening news being at 6.01.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

They should just rip off the No Comment segment in Euronews.

It would fit in perfectly before the 6 o clock news to show images from a relevant story of the day or cultural event without the talking heads getting in the way of what's actually happening.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

murpho999 wrote: »
    I can only imagine a foreigner arriving in Ireland, turning their hotel TV and seeing that and wondering if they have arrived in a religious controlled state.

rofl, i imagine that's exactly what they think too. jesus christ, ****ing atheists. some of you make not believing in any gods embarrassing to admit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

it is completely out dated ....it should never been broadcast in the first place

if you want to do the angelus.. do it in the privacy of your own home or your local church

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

A big deal for me. A state broadcaster of an officially secular country should not be broadcasting religious messages.

Please don't come back and say it's a moment of reflection etc as it's clearly The Angelus church bells.

While I agree with this I would be more embarrassed about them turning on the TV and seeing some of the gob****es on winning streak or whatever is on at that time now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭fepper

So what foreigners don't like it,our country,our traditions,our religion,1 minute of the angelus a day,get a life!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

It should be less AngelUS and more Angelthem.

State of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

strelok wrote: »
    rofl, i imagine that's exactly what they think too. jesus christ, ****ing atheists. some of you make not believing in any gods embarrassing to admit.

How do you know if I am an atheist? Either way, if I am or not , religion which is people's own private affairs should not be promoted by the state broadcaster of a secular state.
    fepper wrote: »
    So what foreigners don't like it,our country,our traditions,our religion,1 minute of the angelus a day,get a life!!

It's not our traditions, it's imposed on you by the state broadcaster why can't you see that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭fepper

I pay a tv licence and I'm happy they broadcast the angelus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

I can think of better things to worry about.

Though I do like the bit where they're going to allow home movies on a Friday. May even send one in.

I'll let you know when its on :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Links234 wrote: »
    Every bit of influence from the Catholic church we can shrug off is a good thing.

yes because the catholic church never did anything good.ever.:rolleyes:

for a person who bangs on about tolerance to your cause you certainly have little tolerance elsewhere.
    before you bang on about the crimes of the church , there are many many devout catholics in ireland who have never committed any crime and are horrified at the actions of the church but still want their angelus , why can't you accommodate these people for 60 f8ckin seconds of your day on a station I doubt you even watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

arayess wrote: »
    yes because the catholic church never did anything good.ever.:rolleyes:

for a person who bangs on about tolerance to your cause you certainly have little tolerance elsewhere.
    before you bang on about the crimes of the church , there are many many devout catholics in ireland who have never committed any crime and are horrified at the actions of the church but still want their angelus , why can't you accommodate these people for 60 f8ckin seconds of your day on a station I doubt you even watch.

Why don't they just a ring a bell in their own home? Thus saving the TV license paying public some money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

So, it's moving away from Catholicism to include those of different faiths or no faith? Well, that's good, I guess. If we're going to have it, might as well be inclusive. What would be wonderful is if they did away with it completely!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Ush1 wrote: »
    Why don't they just a ring a bell in their own home? Thus saving the TV license paying public some money.

I could say that about every niche on RTE.

All cultures should get representation and that includes the catholic church.
    This tolerance isn't an exclusive club for minorities or guardian-approved causes.

But try telling the SJW or cultural Marxists that...(yes I said it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Hitchens wrote: »

Surely retiring the Angelus would have been preferable to revamping it
    It is after all the 21st century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

It's not our traditions, it's imposed on you by the state broadcaster why can't you see that?
    Imposed, you'd swear they were locked in the hotel room tied to the bed and forced to watch it :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

One minute in the day and atheists going loony. Just leave it alone FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

I'm fairly sure there are different religions in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭bpb101

This is a bloody joke. Its becoming an offense to be fúcking catholic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,514 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Imposed, you'd swear they were locked in the hotel room tied to the bed and forced to watch it :rolleyes:

Being forced to pay for it is enough reason to dislike it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

First world problems whinging about something so minor.

I can moan about my impending ebola out break or having to walk 8 miles to a well to carry water back on my head if it helps....

Your religion......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

If this is your biggest concern in life OP you have little to worry about.

It's 60 seconds out of the day, on one channel only....change the channel if it bothers you that much.

bpb101 wrote: »

No its nothing to do with being a catholic its to do with people of religion not respecting those who disagree with them.

It's 60 seconds out of the day, on one channel only....change the channel if it bothers you that much.

60 seconds that could be used for advertising instead of state funded religious prosletysing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

"BONG.........BONG.........BONG.........BONG........."

That's the sort of religious message I want to live my life by!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

This is a bloody joke. Its becoming an offense to be fúcking a catholic.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

So if you do the maths, RTE have run the Angelas for a cumulative total of almost 2 weeks, 24 hours a day since it started.

I suppose it beats watching Marty Whelan for all that time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

arayess wrote: »
    I could say that about every niche on RTE.

All cultures should get representation and that includes the catholic church.
    This tolerance isn't an exclusive club for minorities or guardian-approved causes.

But try telling the SJW or cultural Marxists that...(yes I said it)

Why should all cultures get representation? Might be a lot to cover.

Do you think the Angelus is a good programme?

Nope. What people personally and privately believe is nobodies business. making it everybodys business is the issue.,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

So are people moaning about the existence of the Angelus or the fact that they're changing it or what or just the fact that they've been reminded that it's even a thing because let's face it most of us don't see it very often because we're stuck on public transport getting home from our jobs now that we had to take that other job across town because it pays a bit better and even though that means you have to spend two to three hours a day on a bus listening to whingey moanbags talking down the phone to their whingey moanbag wifes/husbands about their whingey moanbag kids and their whingey moanbag problems it works out ok in the end because there's an extra few bob coming in and don't we need it now because of all the stealth taxes and the water charges and I hear they're going to be taxing sugary mineral drinks next - madness wha? And sure if we're ever going to be able to afford a deposit on a house we need the cash because herself isn't going to stick around for too long if we stay in that god awful damp-ridden flat in the suburbs now is she? God, it was easier when it was four lads in a terraced house in town, Xbox and cans every night - out to the pub at the drop of a hat - tax bands, USC and pension levies were things that other people worried about. The odd ride here and there - some of them were crackers so they were - and there was nothing a shot, a pint and a pat on the back couldn't fix. I can't remember the last time I had a lie-in, there's always something isn't there? Something to fix, or buy or post or collect or someone to congratulate because they got engaged to some fool you never met or liked and that'll be another few hundred quid on that wedding - abroad is it? Who the f*ck do they think they are? Jaysus - the tiger never stopped roaring in that house hah?

So anyways - what are we giving out about lads? Foreigners is it? Grand....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

VinLieger wrote: »
    Being forced to pay for it is enough reason to dislike it.

I'm more offended by being forced to pay for Fair City, Ryan Tubridy, Joe Duffy, Republic of Telly............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

60 seconds that could be used for advertising instead of state funded religious prosletysing

There are plenty of people living in this State, paying their TV licence who are happy to leave the Angelus as it is.....should we just ignore their wishes?

I'm more offended by being forced to pay for Fair City, Ryan Tubridy, Joe Duffy, Republic of Telly............

Im offended by having to pay the license fee full stop

Where did anyone say this is the biggest issue in their lives? Where did the OP say they were incredibly bothered by it?
    I could start a thread on my love of bunnies. Doesnt mean Im obsessed by them. It simply means Ive started a thread on the matter hell of it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I don't have any objections to a minute of spirituality, mindfulness or whatever you want to call it. I'm an atheist but I think it's good to have time to reflect. The bongs have to go though, it's not the nicest sound to listen to when you are trying to do some quiet contemplation.

There are plenty of people living in this State, paying their TV licence who are happy to leave the Angelus as it is.....should we just ignore their wishes?

Let them pay for it then, taxes should not be used to fund religion full stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Sam Kade wrote: »

Is it wrong that I'm slightly turned on right now?

One minute in the day and atheists going loony. Just leave it alone FFS.

Its the obsession with the Catholic church and their annoyance with cultural rituals like holy communion for an 8 year old. That what i don't get.

A lot of what the Catholic church stands for in Ireland is cultural not religious including the reflection on RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Then walking through temple bar and thinking, nope, was probably just bells on the telly!

I'm an atheist and I have to say whereas I do find the idea of the angelus a bit objectionable, I have far better things to worry about. I console myself with the knowledge that at least as a committed tv licence dodger - at least I'm not paying for this bolloxology:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Let them pay for it then, taxes should not be used to fund religion full stop

It's not really funding religion.

In fact religious imagery has been taken out of the Angelus for the past few years hasn't it.

It's a pause for reflection.

You can't say taxes shouldn't be used to fund reflection - otherwise there wouldn't be a mirror in Leinster House ever again.