Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Candy, elevator, windshield, hood, cookies, cell phone, movie theatre!

• 17-10-2015 9:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Too many Americanisms creeping in for my liking . . . . . .

What do you say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Windshield ain't one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Martial9

First people start speaking that bastardised American "English" with an east coast American twang and now it's October 17th and cooonts are uploading pictures of themselves enjoying "fall" and spiced pumpkin mocha living la vida loca or whatever the f*ck. F*cking disaster altogether. When you tell them to cop on to themselves and it was a long way from "fall" they were reared they will fire back with a "whatever" or "I could care less."

Did the men of '98 die for this? I think not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Martial9 wrote: »
    First people start speaking that bastardised American "English" with an east coast American twang and now it's October 17th and cooonts are uploading pictures of themselves enjoying "fall" and spiced pumpkin mocha living la vida loca or whatever the f*ck. F*cking disaster altogether. When you tell them to cop on to themselves and it was a long way from "fall" they were reared they will fire back with a "whatever" or "I could care less."

Wha ?

[quote="Martial9;97403979"

Did the men of '98 die for this? I think not![/quote]

They died so we could dance at crossroads for ever and ever and ever.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,425 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

Sidewalk, mom, butt, and my absolute least favourite... Poop. YOU WERE BORN AND RAISED IN ROSCOMMON FFS, IT'S POO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Facking Americanisms do my head in. There is new film sorry movie called The Programme, sorry the Program and its just going to add to the common misspelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Goal tender instead of keeper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Martial9 wrote: »
    Frank Sinatra? Sonny Bono? Carl Perkins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Martial9

Sidewalk, mom, butt, and my absolute least favourite... Poop. YOU WERE BORN AND RAISED IN ROSCOMMON FFS, IT'S POO!

It's shyte!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Sidewalk, mom, butt, and my absolute least favourite... Poop. YOU WERE BORN AND RAISED IN ROSCOMMON FFS, IT'S POOSHYTE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Movie theater :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

kneemos wrote: »
    Windshield ain't one of them.

In a car context it was always Windscreen on this side of the pond, and windshield in the States (as seen on many us cop shows), now I notice more and more people here on this side of the pond dropping windscreen in favour of windshield.

Same with bonnet for hood, and boot for trunk.

Is this not a case of more americanisms creeping in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

LordSutch wrote: »
    In a car context it was always Windscreen on this side of the pond, and windshield in the States (as seen on many us cop shows), now I notice more and more people here on his side of the pond dropping windscreen in favour of windshield.

Is this not a case of another americanism creeping in?

I wouldn't fancy putting my shopping in any trunks in Ireland tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Chijj

Homer: Hmm. I wonder why he's so eager to go to the garage?

Moe Szyslak: The "garage"? Hey fellas, the "garage"! Well, ooh la di da, Mr. French Man.

Homer: Well what do you call it?

Moe Szyslak: A car hole!

Too right. Its feckin everywhere, all over the sidewalk. If you had a sidewalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Asked my daughter to get her shoes out of the wardrobe. She said "don't you mean the closet?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

It's 3rd and long and the bases are loaded and your opponent has a full court press.

What's your call?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

You're a jerk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

X Y Zee . . . :confused:

Its Zed for goodness sake, not bloody Zee!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Zed Zed Top yeah! :pac: Okay that does sound odd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Makes me madder than a hornets nest.

In a car context it was always Windscreen on this side of the pond, and windshield in the States (as seen on many us cop shows), now I notice more and more people here on this side of the pond dropping windscreen in favour of windshield.

Is this not a case of more americanisms creeping in?

You may be right there true enough,it's a subtle one.

Heard a few politicians use the term "stepping up to the plate" recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭FallSilently

I do try to keep the auld tongue pure but I am kind of giving in to "candy." We don't have a direct equivalent over here and it's handy.

Though personally I think the greatest threat our society faces right now is "bae"

I do try to keep the auld tongue pure but I am kind of giving in to "candy." We don't have a direct equivalent over here and it's handy.

Though personally I think the greatest threat our society faces right now is "bae"
    Sweets FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭FallSilently

wil wrote: »
    Sweets FFS

It's not quite the same! "Sweets" doesn't include crisps and Mars Bars would be borderline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

Never been over there do they have chippers? and if they do, please tell me they don't call them fryers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

What say you?

Windshield? That's not an Americanism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Windshield? That's not an Americanism.
    Eh, windscreen..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭_Tombstone_

Yea, windshield had me aswell reading it there even though I wouldn't say it, windscreen wasn't popping into my head for some reason.

Weird one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭animaal

The only acceptable uses of the word "candy" in this country should be:

-A manufacturer of overpriced fridges
    -A dead actor
    -A candy cane (unless "sugar shillelagh" might be the local term?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Elevator's not so bad. It has it's ups and downs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Id like to stick a pin in this and spit ball it out in the PM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 NintendoGirl

Movie...its film! (pronounced fillum!)

Sneakers...its runners.

Kids...nope, children!

Truck...Lorry!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,425 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

Omackeral wrote: »
    Elevator's not so bad. It has it's ups and downs.
    Id like to stick a pin in this and spit ball it out in the PM.

OMG you two are, like, the WORST!

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Kids...nope, children!
    Childer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

X Y Zee . . . :confused:

Its Zed for goodness sake, not bloody Zee!
    I work for one of those dreaded multinationals and when we were getting training in the computer system SAP, our instructor (an Englishman based in America) would pronounce transactions like ZMAP as Zee-map. My manager was, predictably, brainwashed into using this pronunciation but I reckoned it should be a Zed-map, and have trained other people this too, and it's sticking. :D

On Stargate Atlantis, when the characters were referring to a piece of alien technology called a Zero Point Module, they abbreviated it. Most referred to it as a Zee-Pee-Em but the Canadians always seemed to use Zed-Pee-Em. :D

It's the little things...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

Take out

Douche

Awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,581 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Poop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Is cellphone actually catching on? Please tell me it's not. And surely Cinema is easier to say than Movie Theatre.
    namloc1980 wrote: »
    Asked my daughter to get her shoes out of the wardrobe. She said "don't you mean the closet?"

Oh Christ...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 367 ✭✭justchecked

What say you?

I say its American now.

Speak American.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

It's not quite the same! "Sweets" doesn't include crisps and Mars Bars would be borderline.

So...you're saying crisps fall under the remit of 'candy'? I don't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

junior asked me to pull into the "gas station" a while back , I blame youtube

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

"Mom". Fcuk off. Now.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Truck has practically replaced lorry at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

And surely Cinema is easier to say than Movie Theatre.

The Flicks is much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

silverharp wrote: »
    junior asked me to pull into the "gas station" a while back , I blame youtube
    namloc1980 wrote: »

Did you immediately disown your offspring or did you explain and give them a chance to save themselves?

(Or maybe it's all because of dodgy parenting...) ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,484 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I find American tourists to be annoying there amazed by everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

So...you're saying crisps fall under the remit of 'candy'? I don't think so.

Em, potato chips!

Now, who's for a peanut butter and jelly sandwich?

On Stargate Atlantis, when the characters were referring to a piece of alien technology called a Zero Point Module, they abbreviated it. Most referred to it as a Zee-Pee-Em but the Canadians always seemed to use Zed-Pee-Em. :D

It's the little things...

I remember that!!