Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's Sulky Racers

• 15-10-2015 8:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭

"the people dont like us doing it cos it's illegal"...

People dont like you doing it because it's f**king lethal, and you have no insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Nice timing rte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Could it not be done on a beach? I suppose they couldn't follow them in their cars then.

"Rules are meant to be broken aren't they" eh no

Buy your own fookin road - yis have the cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,233 ✭✭✭jacool

vicwatson wrote: »
    Buy your own fookin road - yis have the cash
    Its less the buying, more the ability to provide same with a good surface!

Jeez a woman in the programme, and she's a marshal. Omg

M

Sounds like the PSNI chopper don't like the oul traditional race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

"Rules are meant to be broken aren't they" eh no

You gotta love that line!! :(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Absolute thugs. Shocking that this is Ireland 2015.

jacool wrote: »
    Its less the buying, more the ability to provide same with a good surface!

Not buy some land and build a road no?

Is that mr bean in that blue micra?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Tuned in late here but who thought this would be a good idea for a programme?

Kenco should help youngsters out of illegal sulky racing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

Will they be showing the sulky drivers leaving their injured horses to die on the side of the road?

Shame on RTE for attempting to glamorise this.

M

If it was lads racing their personal cars on the motorway it would be easier to defend than this.

Yes Timmy I know what you mean..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Can I get subtitles on this?

Hi vis jacket makes it legal y'know

M

I suppose there's probably no offence for riding a horse on the wrong side of the road.

M

There he is on the beach, why not race there, perfectly straight for miles, won't bother any motorists.

No women allowed. Stay in the kitchen don't ya known like boss. Fecking knuckle draggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

Wouldnt it be great to live in a land where there no ISPCA, no customs, no Gardaí, no revenue department, no department of social protection. oh no hang on, we'll wholesomely acknowledge that last department alright.

M

Why are they not showing any surnames? Is it so Revenue can't track them down?

Oh William, in for the cash

Yea dude, it's great when horses are left dead at the side of the road alright. Lots to learn from there.

Everything's only 100€. Might get involved

Where are they getting all the 100 euros to bet oh wait....

M

Are horses feet ok with racing on tarmac?

There he is on the beach, why not race there, perfectly straight for miles, won't bother any motorists.

No cars AD no cars, too little law breaking

Smokes in the petrol station, stay classy

M

Smokes in the petrol station, stay classy

"Rules are meant to be broken aren't they" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

The owners of both Butterfly and The Big Show have both served terms in prison. Tells you what you need to know really.

How go the authorities allow this to continue ffs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Are horses feet ok with racing on tarmac?

Feet yes, joints and bones no.

I'm deffo getting involved if it means I can afford the north face jacket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Why can't they use a race course for horses. They choose to give themselves a bad reputation by racing illegally on public roads and scaring the general public.

How much?
    Only 5.
    5 what?
    Five grand

Jeez I'd love to come down that road in an artic

M

On a motorway, I suppose it's a one way.

Poor horse though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,055 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

5 grand???
    Why am I working??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

RobertKK wrote:
    Why can't they use a race course for horses. They choose to give themselves a bad reputation by racing illegally on public roads and scaring the general public.

Despite the fact legal sulky racing exists with strict rules and welfare... hence why they don't use it. They can't race their yearlings into the ground in a proper race.

An utter disgrace.

M

Blood on the legs.

5 grand???
    Why am I working??

"It's not about the money.**** the money"

Wait now... RTE went along with filming this illegal and dangerous racing on what looks like dual-carriageways/motorways??

This is what your TV license is funding... they'd have been better tipping off the local Gardai

Program not really tackling the law abiding public side of the argument

I'd like to see the Gardaí clamp down hard and get the registrations of all the cars breaking the law here. Disgusting behaviour.

Shameful that the state broadcaster is encouraging this sh1t

When one of my cows or heifers calves, I am happy once it is alive and well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

No surprise some traveller awareness group member isn't on here trying to justify their behaviour